Sharks are working hard on their defence shortcomings and how to put pressure on the Blues back line, how that will be possible  is going to be difficult as we know the Sharks back line lack first time defence and on many occasions it takes more then 1 player to put an apposing team player down.

SHARKS coach John Plumtree has highlighted the Blues’ ability to create line breaks almost at will as one of the major threats that they will need to nullify on Saturday.

The Blues who boast one of the best back lines in the competition, although not always taking advantage of their ability and ascendancy on attack, they have regularly sliced through defences virtually every team they have faced this season.

“No doubt it’s going to be extremely tough this week, The Blues have the highest number of line breaks in the competition and that pretty much says it all. So defensively we’ll obviously have to be at our best” Coach John Plumtree conceded”.

“They have threats all over the park and man-for-man are one of the most dangerous sides in the competition. Their forwards are playing good rugby, but especially if you look at their back line there are threats throughout.”

Plumtree pinpointed scrumhalf Alby Mathewson, who once again showed his class against the Western Force at the weekend, as did inside centre Luke McAlister and hat-trick hero Joe Rokocoko.

“On attack Plumtree felt the Blues pose a similar threat to the Reds but are a bit more dangerous out wide because of Rokocoko and Rudi Wulf, who are all in good form. When we’ve played the Blues in the past some of these guys have been out of form, but they are looking really good right now and that’s going to make it pretty tough.

However, the Blues’ performances have been most unpredictable this season – their recent results read lost, won, won, lost, won, lost, won, lost, won – and the Sharks will be hoping this contrast from match to match continues this weekend.

Their uncanny tendency to blow hot and cold was exemplified during weeks eight and nine when they stunned the Bulls with a 32-17 victory before being hammered 33-21 against the Stormers the week after.

This unpredictability factor may make it rather tricky for the Sharks to know what to prepare for on Saturday, but the coastal franchise certainly seem to be fully aware of what strengths the Blues have.

“I guess if you look at those two games against South African teams, there certainly were two contrasting performances – against the Bulls they were brilliant but then weren’t quite so good against the Stormers,” Plumtree commented.

“However, they still broke the Stormers’ line quite easily and that’s no mean feat. That’s how good an attacking side they are because the Stormers have been very stingy in terms of conceding line breaks this season.”

The Sharks will also know that if they provide the Blues with opportunities to counter-attack – as they did against the Lions last weekend – that they will be punished.

“We have to be more clinical and patient on attack, we simply can’t turn ball over to these guys,” Plumtree agreed. “If we do that then we’re going to be in real trouble because they’re pretty tough at the breakdown as well. So even though they’re not in the top four at the moment there aren’t too many weaknesses in this Blues team.”

At the moment the Blues lie in seventh spot on the log, just two places above the Sharks, and it should make for an enthralling battle on Saturday as this is once again a must-win match for both teams.

Meanwhile, on the injury front for the Sharks, despite a number of players reporting to training yesterday with injury niggles, Plumtree said there was nothing serious that would threaten the availability of anyone for this weekend.

54 Responses to Sharks work hard on defence and target Blues backline

Great pic of the youngster, Lambie!

Fark, you Sharkies better bliksem the Blues!

We will beat them by 3 in another nail biter. We must just keep it tight 🙂

Nice pic there of young Lambie.

Well I would be pleased even if we beat the Blues by one point. See another heart failure game coming up. Unless the Blues run away with it. That could happen. We really need to get first time tackles. No messing up either by handling errors. Need to be sharp this against the Blues. They are a very good team.

Sharks need to defend better then ever before to beat the blues

fact is if our forwards give them hell it would take away their backline strength

and both teams here know that a loss means goodbye semi’s

Sharks defence has not been bad in the last few games… their attack is still limited, I feel though!

And they squander chances…

Sigh*** we get mark Lawrence the sharks hater again

Chiefs vs Cheetahs Hamilton
    Referee: Stuart Dickinson (Australia)

Reds vs Stormers Brisbane
    Referee: Chris Pollock (New Zealand)

Western Force vs Crusaders in Perth
    Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)

Highlanders vs Hurricanes in Dunedin
    Referee: Vinny Munro (New Zealand)

Waratahs vs Brumbies in Sydney
    Referee: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)

Bulls vs Lions in Pretoria
    Referee: Marius Jonker (South Africa)

Sharks vs Blues in Durban
    Referee: Mark Lawrence (South Africa)

Hello Sharky and GBS,

gbs, That is it, the Sharks have suqandered many chances. Just look on Saturday, we left a definite two tries begging maybe another. Just correct those handling errors and that will help. First time tackles too, especially against this Blues side that can run it from everywhere.

Blues are in a better position than Sharks to get to a semi. I don’t think we will but if they beat us they will make the semi. That is my feeling. There games after us are easy. Should beat the Cheetahs, Lions and Chiefs with a bonus point.

9@ Puma – Sharks better be up for the game, Blues will come with a huge assault.

Against the Blues you do not want to kick down their throats…. keep possession… that is key!

8 – Sharky, So we have Mark Lawrence two weeks in a row? Hope he is better at the tank.

Stormers have a good ref in Pollock from NZ. That should be a cracker of a game between those sides.

10 – gbs, That is the key, can we though? Hoping. They have superb backs we don’t. Only Lambie and Ruan. Odwa was not bad on Saturday though. JPP and Stefan were dreadful.

naand cltchplategbs 😆

good evening puma mate

clutchplate*

9 – meant – their not there

puma stefan is not a center , i have no idea what plum is thinking

bring in a young genuine 13 or murray

i wonder where ludick is??

14@ Tjarkie – Hello Rooinek!

14 – Sharky..hehehe You catching my typo desease….hehehe.

Thanks for those great pics from the game on Saturday. Really hope the Tank is full to the rafters this week. Have a feeling the supporters are going to come out huge this week. Now hope the weather plays game.

So much rain here in Joburg this week. Very unusual for this time of year to be having thunderstorms. Hope no rain for the Bulls game either.

lol a pleasure puma , as i said the wife took them for me , so credit to her

the players who have bad form right now are JPP And Stefan

16 – Sharky have no idea why Stefan is playing there, then we don’t have anyone else. I wonder where Waylon is? Zuks? Does he not play centre? Then heard he was terrible in the vodacom cup. We need centres. Ludik could play there, just not sure what is happening with him. Is he over that op now? Also read they not too sure about Swannie as he picked up a niggle injury on Saturday, think to the ankle. Now really hope he starts otherwise we then are in trouble.

19 – Sharky, Tell her thanks. They were great. Nice to see Sharks pics here for a change.

Sharky what about Mvovo? Could he play centre? HOW WE MISS Frans Steyn this year.

20 – Sharky, Yip Stefan and JPP just not playing well this year. Both had a mare on Saturday. Can never let that happen against the Blues, they will hurt us bad with those errors.

yup

Okay I am off. Back tomorrow. Going to watch a bit of tv now.

Cheers Sharky and GBS.

Hey guys we have a funny year, great storm coming our way, thunder and lightning. Might disappear soon, thats me.

24 – Sharky, before I go, what you say about us on Saturday you think the Sharks can pull off a win? Hope we can. Our backs are not really great and their centres are superb compared to ours.

Anyhow that is me out of here. Catch up tomorrow.

ciao puma tc mate

Then I thought the Reds could have klapped us and we beat them. So I suppose we could win this one. Will go with my heart on bru.

Go Sharks.

I might have to go with the Blues on SuperBru… but then again my Bru is so kak… it might be good for the Sharks if I do!

Total 15 users including 0 member, 15 guests, 0 bot online