Sharks (9) 30 / Reds (14) 28 (Final Score)

The Sharks hosted the Reds at ABSA Stadium, Durban at 17:05 SA Time. This is the match Thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1 on DSTV in SA. The Sharks won a nail-biter 30 / 28, not scoring 4 tries in the process but allowing the Reds to score 4 tries.

Sharks: 3 Penalties & 3 Conversions Ruan Pienaar, 1 Try Odwa Ndungane, 1 Try Jacques Botes, 1 Try JP Pietersen

Reds: 4 Conversions & 1 Try Quade Cooper, 2 Tries Will Chambers, 1 Try Greg Holmes

The Sharks: 15 Patrick Lambie, 4 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Stefan Terblanche, 12 Riaan Swanepoel, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Andy Goode, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 John Smit (captain).
Replacements: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Rory Kockott, 21 Andries Strauss, 22 Lwazi Mvovo.

Reds: 15 Peter Hynes, 14 Luke Morahan, 13 Will Chambers, 12 Anthony Faingaa, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Jake Schatz, 7 Daniel Braid, 6 Scott Higginbotham, 5 Van Humphries, 4 Adam Byrnes, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 Sean Hardman, 1 Ben Daley.
Replacements: 16 Saia Faingaa, 17 Greg Holmes, 18 Jack Kennedy, 19 Rob Simmons, 20 Leroy Houston, 21 Ben Lucas, 22 Rod Davies.

Referee: Chris Pollock (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Vinny Munro (New Zealand), Marc van Zyl (South Africa)
TMO: Johann Meuwesen (South Africa)

320 Responses to Sharks vs Reds – Game Thread

1 2 3 11

Gooooooooo Sharks…. salvage some SA Pride… for goodness sakes!

Turn the Sharktank into a “vlei” and imagine the Reds are paras!!!!!!!11

good day peeps

lol bluebeard

Cummon Sharkies, I need some exstacy to lift my spirits.

eish what a bad weekend for SA rugby

sharks better be at their best this afternoon

the reds know what they are playing for

6 – Sharky, Howzit mate, That sums it up. The Reds are playing for a spot in the top for this weekend, Sharks are playing for pride nothing else. We never going to make the semi. That will make the Reds harder to beat.

Sharks lose well we lose, we win we help out the Stormers and Bulls.

puma hiyas mate , well we win we still have a slim chance , but very slim , and every win keeps thats chance alive , but we have to get bonus points

8 – Sharky, That is the thing, we have to win and pick up bonus points!! Nah, just too tough a road to climb. Only thing is it will bring back the pride, also help out Bulls and Stormers. Think if Reds beat us today they will beat the Lions and will go home sitting in the top four on the log. Still have to face Stormers and Bulls in Brisbane, but this is a really good Reds side.

Few changes to their team too. Which for me makes them even more difficult to beat.

We can do it but not 100% we will. Hoping and fingers are crossed…….hehehe.

Back later Sharky. Good luck to our Sharks.

I read this somewhere I thought it was funny.

Pume – tongue in cheek

The Sharks – they are an endangered and vulnerable species prized by the Chinese for their appendages

Pume = Puma

It’s all about self-belief today, Puma. Thing is, the Sharks should be philosophical and forget about the log this year and just play to salvage pride and re-discover themselves so that they can be a threat next year. That will allow them to play with freedom in stead of being restricted by harboured feer of making mistakes and losing.

If things go well and they win and nail some bonuspoints, well great and they make the semis. If not and they miss it, they still walk tall and take from it what they can.

Hi all. Am back in the land of the living 🙂 Moved up from Durban to Jhb on Thursday,was a nightmare but am here now. Finally got my Dstv connected up so can watch sport again,its been tough not watching sport for nearly a week 🙂

Think the Sharks will take this by 5 this evening. Is Murray injured or what?

hiyas winston

cant wait for the rugga to begin

17: ek ook nie, maar dit is nog lank tot vrydag !

Bring on 5 Pm and my beloved Sharks 🙂

19 – Winston, See you have moved up here now. All the best up in Joburg buddy.

Yip bring on our Sharkies….hehehe. Going to be a really tough game I think. Wont be easy to beat this Reds team.

Sien Mils & Boon is nou ook uit die S14 met ‘n gebreekte duim. Jammer vir hom, ‘n ware ‘gentleman’ van die spel (onthou nog sy mooi woorde by laasjaar se S14 finaal). Chiefs het nou ‘n paar beserings, wat nie goed is vir die res van hul champagne nie !

Okay just checked bru never dropped as much as I thought, cause probably most backed Stormers and Bulls like I did. Now if the Sharks go down will probably drop quite a bit.

SOOOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOOOOOOO SHARKKKKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS.

11 – Walla 😆

winston you here??

eish i climbed 8 spots on super bru :mrgreen:

goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo SHARKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

Sorry,the reception on my phone is bad Sharky.

Hey Puma,yeah it will be tough but I think the key is to start well and not let them in the game from early. I wonder how Oupa is going to go at 13,Murray must be injured.

I said that the Force and Blues would win so hopefully the Bru will start looking a bit better for me because I’m awful at the moment there..

28 – Winston, Think Stefan will do fine at outside centre. Not sure what happened to Murray, if he is dropped or injured have no clue.

1 2 3 11

Total 64 users including 0 member, 64 guests, 0 bot online