The Sharks scraped home against a Lions team showing  more hunger and determination then they did in their other games prior to this weekend, A major concern was the way the sharks went well ahead and then went to sleep, not once but twice as the 2nd sleeping session nearly cost them the match.

The stadium was alive and well Saturday with thousands of Sharks supporters streaming into Coca Cola park.

The Sharks, perhaps deservedly so because they created more chances and took them well, sneaked to a very close 32-28 Super 14 win over the Lions at Coca-Cola Park on Saturday night to keep their mathematical chance of a semi-final spot alive.

However, what was clear from this match before more than 24 000 spectators is that the Sharks will have to improve immeasurably in their remaining matches to achieve it and the Lions, still winless after nine outings, have oodles of guts and commitment without the odd bit of luck needed.

It looked like the old, old story when the Sharks, with some good creation of extra players on the outside, ran to a 12-6 lead after tries by Patrick Lambie and Odwa Ndungane before 15 minutes had passed.

While the Lions’ one-on-one tackles were reasonable, the defensive structures were still not in place early on. After all, there is no miracle cure despite the attentions of Ray Mordt over the past few days.

It did improve, however, and the Sharks scored only one try in the last 58 minutes after the score had become 19-6 when the Sharks pressure told and John Smit popped to Bismarck du Plessis in the 22nd minute.

It seemed like heartbreak time for the Lions, who had scrummed well, contested well at the breakdown and did their best in the lineouts – and this they did throughout.

But then the home side came back. After a botched Sharks attack on the left touchline, the ball was swung out by the Lions, who had a line of men waiting on the outside.

Full credit, however, to Herkie Kruger who had the vision and passed it inside for the willing Michael Killian who ran nearly 50 metres for his try under the posts (19-13).

Two minutes later, Carlos Spencer broke in his own half, Jano Vermaak was there to support and when the ball went wide Franco van der Merwe stretched over. The Lions were only one point behind at 19-18 after 33 minutes.

A Ruan Pienaar penalty on the halftime hooter saw the Sharks go into halftime at 22-18, and their bonus point try after Lions lock Nico Luus had broken out just for the Sharks to pounce on their mistakes and score via good work from Jean Deysel with Jacques Botes dotting down. With the conversion good, the Lions had to play catch-up at 29-18.

They started off with a 50th minute penalty by Kruger (29-21), but eight minutes later Pienaar reciprocated. At 32-21 the Lions, as so often this season, had a mountain to climb.

That they started to do in the 63rd minute when Derick Minnie scored under the posts following a poor lineout win that was resurrected by Jano Vermaak.

Kruger, who had a very good match, stepped inside, recycled and the ball came to the left where some deft handling from Vermaak and Spencer saw flank Minnie run over to under the posts (32-28).

17 Responses to Sharks scrape home after nailbiter

The main thing is you are on a up. And your captain dont have to put up that sad face that the poor Lions captain perfected this year.

When did we say to them get a captain?

lol true super

must say smitty showed his captaincy again yesterday

i remember where you could see smitty telling the players to cool it and calm down , it seemed the players were getting annoyed with mark lawrence

i know muller was very angry at lawrence , and smitty calmed him very quickly

the photo’s from this game i will add a litle later

damn everyones asleep again

rudi bang om gesig te wys , hy weet handbriekie sal hom goed moer 😆

I am Here, just busy on McLooks blog too. This guy also know his game.

Iemand moet die swembad skoon maak en gras sny.

lol super

It was not a pretty game but I’ll take the 5 points 🙂

Ek sny NIE gras nie, nooit nie…. ek het genoeg geld om tuindienste te kan bekostig, flok!

Ek vat mos maar ALTYD Sondae af….

SIEN JULLE HOE GROEN IS DIE GRAS OP COKE BLIK PARK???

DIE LEEUS HET ALWEER DAAROP GEKAK 😆

Hello Sharky, good article bru!
    Yes, I saw John keeping the players on the job at hand, this oke is quite a leader when the going gets tough, hope he will last til the WC, we need him badly.
    Compared to the way Matfield led the Bulls yesterday, JS is streets ahead.
    Also, Schalla is stepping up nicely as a potential Bok captain, none of those antics that little Luke used to display when he captained WP….Luke always reminded me of a scene from ‘Planets of the Apes’ when he started shouting at his men and waving his tattoo….

Tank Lanning said it also on his blog, Front row grunt

“The Sharks recorded their first bonus-point victory of the tournament and kept their slim playoff chances alive by defeating the Lions 32-28 to end round 10 in ninth position on the log with 21 points. I just amazes me how South African sides will gift international sides bonus point wins, but rather die than lose a fellow South African side that has a chance of doing well in the tournament”

hiyas super , yes thats a fact

as you saw in the one pic was the pretoria sharks supporters club members , and on that bus they had one non shark 😆

a decent fella but whilst talking to him he spoke of how they would do anything to beat us , and yes even better next week if they could beat the bulls.

and i answered him short and simple…. IF ONLY THE LIONS AND THE CHEETAHS WANTED TO BEAT ANY TEAM OTHER THEN THE SOUTH AFRICAN TEAMS , they fall flat for the kiwi’s and aussies

Sharky thanks for these pics. Some really good ones there.

Sharky i really think the players want to. But they need role models , stars to lead them.
    Killian can be one if he goes on, Wikus must captain a game or 2. Grobelaar must do the right thing and step down. Jano is also a star player, but thats it, thats all i see as stars.

# to few.

that be true super

thanks puma , kirsten took them from way up where we sat

Good job there Sharky…nice to get your wife’s pictures too. Thanks….

Total 102 users including 0 member, 102 guests, 0 bot online