The Sharks just cant get away from injuries to play a full strength team against the high flying Blue Bulls, One wonders if an experiment of Kankowski at 13 is not worth a try?

Compliments to the Daily News/Craig lewis

THERE was some good and bad news on the injury front for the Sharks yesterday, with No 8 Ryan Kankowski expected to make an earlier than anticipated return to action, while wing JP Pietersen is likely to be ruled out for the rest of the season.

Ruan Pienaar has been one of the Sharks’s most consistent performers this season. Kankowski suffered a broken thumb against the Reds earlier this month and initial fears were that he would be sidelined for the remainder of the Super 14. However, Sharks coach John Plumtree said he had made a good recovery and may, should he come through training well, come into selection contention for Saturday’s game against the Bulls.

Unfortunately, Pietersen suffered a cartilage tear in his knee on Saturday and is certain to miss the rest of the competition. There is also concern over a knee and ankle injury to Ruan Pienaar and Willem Alberts, respectively, but both will undergo fitness tests later in the week. Meanwhile, flanker Keegan Daniel is expected to be available for Saturday’s game after missing the past few weeks with injury.

Although the return of Kankowski is great news for the Sharks after the athletic No 8 showed such impressive form in the opening rounds, the loosetrio of Willem Alberts, Jean Deysel and Jacques Botes has been outstanding of late. Plumtree said the physical, ball-carrying duo of Alberts and Deysel has certainly had the desired impact. “I think the two of them have combined beautifully.

They are good mates, having both come from the Lions and played together as youngsters. They are both so destructive. I saw a lot of Willem Alberts with the Lions and it really was just a case of getting him fit. We’ve done that and he’s settled into the team now.” Botes was named man-of-thematch against the Reds, and the award went to Deysel in the following game – but it could so easily have gone to Alberts over the last three matches. “The way he has played has been out of the top drawer,” Plumtree agreed. “His tackles have been huge and he carries the ball across the advantage well.

He’s aggressive in contact and his jumping has improved at the lineouts, so he’s really flourished. Looking at the combination with Deysel, they really are a couple of wrecking balls.” However, despite the tight five and the back row performing outstandingly, the misfiring backline is still a work in progress, and the Sharks can certainly ill afford to lose Ruan Pienaar to injury. “He’s probably been our best back all year,” Plumtree commented. “He’s been great and really matured into a quality player.

He’s more consistent and happy, and not so worried if he makes a mistake. The things that let him down before seem to have come right. He still makes the odd error but that’s going to happen when you’re in a play-making role.” Despite the early pre-season intention to allow Pienaar to settle at scrumhalf during this Super 14, he initially had to fulfil a stop-gap role at flyhalf before Englishman Andy Goode arrived. However, having started the last seven games at scrumhalf, he has really found his form of old.

He was man-of-the-match against the Blues last Saturday, and Plumtree said it was fantastic to see the 26-year-old revelling in his preferred position. “I can’t speak highly enough of Ruan. He’s been outstanding this year and if he’s not the best scrumhalf in South Africa then he must definitely be the second best. “So we really hope he gets over his knee injury to front up against (incumbent Bok flyhalf) Fourie (du Preez) this weekend.”

24 Responses to Kankowski’s back, but Pietersen’s out

Kankowski will have to fight his way back into the Sharks team, the loose-trio of Botes, Deysel and Alberts have been a huge success!

i say play kanko at 13 😆

He will be a good impact player, but Sharks rest him another week, like we did with Bakkies. Dont play him too early. A Bakkie might run him over . 😆

2@ Tjarkie – Flok, have you got Dicky Muir Disease, wanting to play Kanko out of position…. Oi vei!

2 – Sharky…hahaha. Never thought of that. Why not? Stefan is playing terrible there.

1 – gbs, They have been but until Kanko got injured he was one of our players that was playing superb.

Bring on Kanko in the last 25min.

REALLY hope that Ruan is fine. If he is injured that is us a goner. He has made a huge difference this year. Also hope Alberts is not injured.

After the Bulls game we have a few injured. Going to be very physical. Really want a full strength side this week and next.

lol gbs did you notice the 😆 <<<<< lol

8@ Tjarkie – Yeah, I did, but I also know you….. you’re freegin serious….. hahahaa

if we lose ruan we in deep kak

lol nope

10 – Sharky we will be. Then can we send a SOS for any saffa in Europe like the Stormers are supposed to be doing for BJ…..hehehe.

Serious we lose Ruan we are gone against both Bulls and Stormers. He is playing superb. Never knew he was struggling with a injury. Last week he had to go again from scrummie to FH.

Why so worried , Kokerot will be more suited for the Bulls game, in fact i hope Ruan is right.

I hope the weather comes right… fark, enough bloody rain now… let the dry season commence!

14 – gbs, The weather has been terrible. Hope it is not like this on Saturday especially being a night game.

13 – Ruan makes a huge difference when he goes to FH once Goode comes off. We need a fit Ruan.

If it continues to rain I will have to build an Ark, like Noah…. and load my computers in it, 2 by 2…

If it goes on I will have a waterfront property soon, looking out over Brakkenjanpan Dam!

Puma you guys cant settle on a flyhalve, Goode did some good things last week. He is not that useless. And the Ruan buggering around continues…….. contin…….

If i were Ruan i would pack my bags too. He is really challenging FDP at no 9 but will never be given the chance to play out a game there. I feel your pivot, no 10 MUST stay on the field.

17 – Super, not sure why they put Ruan on for the last 20min or so at FH. Maybe it is PdV wish. Have no idea why that happens. He is playing great at scrummie. Goode is okay but kicks way, way too much.

16- gbs, Yes and the rain just keeps coming down. Very cold here too. Think it will clear up from tomorrow or Thursday. Hoping otherwise that field at Loftus not going to be good with all this rain.

16 – Super, Like I said above Ruan also makes a difference at Fh. We really need to get a FH for next year. Just leave Ruan to play scrummie. He is kicking well at posts too. Missed some this past week but is far better than last year.

Kockott was great with that long range kick. Never knew he could kick that far.

When Kockott comes on and with Ruan moving to No 10 the Sharks have been good…. but their problem lies in the centres…

I recon Wynand at No 13 (with J-L Potties at 12) will be difficult to keep at bay…

20 – gbs, You are very right there. We have a problem with our centres. Bulls are far better than Sharks there.

Maybe like Sharky says, play Kanko there…..hehehehehe. Damn we need some good centres for next year and a good FH.

Firstly, can you quote this “I saw a lot of Willem Alberts with the Lions and it really was just a case of getting him fit.”

LOL, what the HELL is going on at the Lions.

Then, you guys should really not be complaing about the weather. Here in South Korea we have been having winter for 5 months now! 5 MONTHS. The highest temp we have had this whole time has been 16. Avg: 2.

Most snow in Seoul for 30+ years or something.

NIE LEKKER NIE

Okay I am off. Been at the pc most of the day. Just rain and more rain.

Catch up a bit later.

Changeing the Deysel,Alberts and Botes combination now would be reallllllllllllllllly stupid, i say again, play Kanko at center, think he would be better suited to it, he does not put in the hard work as a forward.

Total 49 users including 0 member, 49 guests, 0 bot online