Naas Botha has emphasized this since I can remember. We all know a lot of rugby games have been won or lost by the difference in goal kicking. Where are our SA teams currently in this equation ?

Jóhann Thormählen

South African Super 14 teams are not kicking well enough at posts and this may well come back to haunt them.

That is the view of former Springbok fly-half Braam van Straaten on the latest place-kicking statistics from the Bulls, Sharks, Cheetahs, Stormers and Lions.

Van Straaten believes that “anything above 85%” is a good success ratio, but none of the teams are approaching that after eight rounds.

“Joe Pietersen’s (Stormers) average of 75% is not good enough. Even that of Morné Steyn (Bulls) and the others are too low. It can be higher,” said Van Straaten.

Ruggastats.co.za has the Bulls as South Africa’s leading place-kicking side with a success ratio of 82.45%. The Sharks (82%), Cheetahs (79%), Stormers (76%) and the Lions (63%) follow in the pecking order.

The Stormers, who are currently fourth on the log, are strong contenders for the Super 14 title, but Van Straaten believes they will have to kick the ball through the posts more often.

“It can trip up the Stormers. If you want to win games overseas it’s important that you get points on the scoreboard,” said Van Straaten.

The Stormers will be relieved and delighted after fly-half Peter Grant managed a 100% success ratio against the Western Force.

Even Springbok fly-half Steyn is struggling a little. His average is 82.1%, which is less than the Sharks’ Ruan Pienaar (83.3%). Steyn succeeded with only 55% of his kicks against the Force and 60% against the Blues.

Van Straaten believes Steyn will be able to improve because the Bulls are South Africa’s only team with a recognised kicking coach in Vlok Cilliers.
He says Steyn makes small errors and someone like Cilliers is required to point them out.

“There is definitely a future for kicking coaches, particularly because it is such a specialised department” said Van Straaten.

“It’s important to have someone looking at your kicking. You may think you are doing something right, but may not be striking the ball correctly. I struggled for three months in my career because I was too close to the ball.”

Van Straaten believes Pienaar’s good kicking may have something to do with the fact that he is playing scrumhalf.

“Ruan is more comfortable at scrumhalf and you can see that he has more confidence. His form is better and it’s as if he has more time.”

It leaves me with one question… Is the Bulls truely the only SA Super Rugby franchise with a recognised kicking coach?  Surely this can not be true…  Maybe the other supporters can shed some light on this…?

23 Responses to Is our goal kicking up to scratch?

Morne Steyn seem to have left his kicking boots back in SA…

Hope he can find a decent pair down under !!!

Come on TheSaint, Morne and you other guys, surely your provinces must have a person in a kicking coach capacity…

Let us know…

2 – Howzit Blouste, Sorry on the Bulls loss this past weekend. Though think Bulls will put that right against the Chiefs. Bulls should win this one.

Morne should get the kicking back, think once he gets it right over there that will be it. All about confidence. He gets all his kicks over this weekend then that will be it sorted for the Reds game. Hoping he is a damn fine goal kicker.

Pleased Ruan is getting em over. Sharks really need that. We do have back up with Goode, that is one aspect of his game where he is quite good is kicking at goal. Just pleased Ruan is doing it and doing it well. Better for the Boks that Ruan is taking the kicks. Need back up to Morne.

Stormers used to have Louis Koen I think, but he’s with Boland now as Assistant coach…

Sharks have never had a kicking coach… not that I’m aware of, Cheetahs Union is not rich enough to have such a diverse amount of support personnel…

Lions are just fast asleep in general… they do not even have a defensive coach…

Well here comes the rain think it will be on for the day.

Enjoying this weather, think after this rain spell we having the dry weather will set in. Jeepers even thunder now. Unusual for thunder this time of year.

Hiya Puma

Yes that was a bad loss…Bulls were shocking imo (maybe complacency)

Sharks proved me wrong AGAIN 😆

Stormers missed out BIG time !!! That game might come back to haunt them, but they are a good team, time will tell if they’ll be able to pick up and go on…Tough touring games for them aswell…

Cheetahs was a no brainer, and well at least the Lions did’nt lose 😉

Hi Ash

See you hanging around too..
    Jy het duidelik die regte naweek gekies om die rugby te mis!!!

Darem jou naweek geniet ?

6 – Blouste, Told you Sharks would cost you on Bru if you never picke em……..hehehe. It was very close though.

Was gobsmacked to see the Stormers lose to the Force, really thought Stormers would have picked up a win there easy. Will be tougher this week but they have selected better this week. Better scrummie and inside centre. Will make a difference. Also they will see what went wrong for the Bulls. Think Stormers could win this one. Though went with Blues on my bru, thinking now I might have made a mistake there.

Well my bru is in sy moer… 😯

Might aswell go with my gut feel from here…

Hi all. Is it true that the type of ball affects the kicking of players because I know Percy also battled in Australasia when he still played?

Winston

Yes it does, but I’m sure they play with basicly the same type of ball down there.

Only differs in some parts of Northen Hemisphere as far as I know.
    Stand to be corrected though…

10 – Howzit Winston, Hope you enjoying the cooler weather up in Joburg.

Puma

What do you reckon the Sharks chances are of making the play-off’s still ?

Who do you still need to play ?

Interesting question… I know they also use Kukri (sp) equipment in NZ…

I suppose it’s like golf balls in a sense…. to ball hackers on a golf course the type of ball does not matter, I suppose… but to finely tuned golfing machines… they get more spin from certain balls, some fade or bend better…. et cettera.

I suppose it must be the same with rugby balls of different makes and / or origins.

Bulls still got…

* Chiefs – away
    * Reds – away
    * Lions – home
    * Sharks – home
    * Saders – home
    * Stormers – away

Thanks Blouste,but if thats the case I wonder if they are practising with the correct ball when they are overseas.

Hi Puma,yeah the weather has been chilled since I’ve been here. The job search has been on today,have my second interview at a place this afternoon,hopefully it comes through 🙂

Well Winston

Good luck then !!!

17 – Winston, Good luck with the interview, it that does not come through, just keep looking. Plenty companies up here something will come up.

13 – Blouste, No wont make a semi just too late for that.

Lions
    Blues
    Bulls
    Stormers
    Force.

Tough games against the Blues, Bulls and Stormers. Then don’t count out the Lions. Saffa derby games are always tought. Not even Stormers got 5 points from the Lions.

meant tough

Thanks guys,will keep you updated,I must get ready for the interview. Go Sharks 🙂

Jislaaik !!!

Lyk my almal is besig vandag, maar min mense wat hier inloer vandag. Self maar aan die gang, kyk maar weer later of hier lewe is 😀

Total 92 users including 0 member, 92 guests, 0 bot online