I found this very interesting piece on Rugby365, it was just too good to pass up. Rugby365 has always been a reliable source of information.

Springbok coach Pieter de Villiers could use 2010 as a ‘trial’ for the legion of South Africans currently plying their trade abroad.

With a record 15 internationals awaiting the Boks, player management a year out from the World Cup – in New Zealand in 2011 – has become a heated topic for debate.

And with the addition of a June 5 Test against Wales in Cardiff there was an outcry, with critics questioning the wisdom of the South African Rugby Union – who accepted the lucrative trip to the Millennium Stadium on top of 13 other Tests and a game against the Barbarians.

However, we can now reveal that in a break from the stated intention this year will see a host of overseas-based players being used by Bok coach Peter de Villiers and his coaching staff – to help avoid burnout of those players expected to go to the World Cup.

And in an additional spin-off it will be an ideal opportunity for De Villiers to have a look at those players based in Europe, the United Kingdom and Ireland.

It has been revealed that when the Boks kick off their international campaign against Wales in Cardiff the bulk of the team will consist of overseas-based players who have already played for South Africa.

Although key players like captain John Smit and veteran lock Victor Matfield will come into the selection frame, the team will consist mostly of players from abroad.

Players like BJ Botha and CJ van der Linde, who were called up in an emergency measure for the 2009 year-end tour, could join up with the likes of Jean de Villiers, Francois Steyn, Gcobani Bobo, Butch James, Derick Hougaard, Michael Claassens, Neil de Kock, Wikus van Heerden, Marco Wentzel, Daan Human, Faan Rautenbach, Danie Coetzee and Peter Dixon.

And De Villiers will only consider players who already have Springbok colours, meaning the Bok jersey won’t be cheapened.

This will apply not just for the Welsh Test, but also other internationals – such as the Boks’ year-end tour in which they will attempt a grand slam against the four Home Union – England, Wales, Ireland and Scotland – and finish off with the international against the Barbarians in December.

Piet Heymans, the Chief Executive of the South African Rugby Players Association, confirmed that they are “aware” of the planning for the Wales Test and the management of the national team players for the remainder of the year.

“We have been in contact with [Bok coach] Peter de Villiers and his management team since January,” Heymans told rugby365 Thursday.

“There won’t be a blanket recovery system, as in the past, for the Bok players,” Heymans said, adding: “It will be based on the data obtained on individual players and how much each has played and trained.”

Another aspect that will be factored into the selection equation for the Welsh Test is which – if any – South African teams make it into the Super 14 play-offs.

If, for argument’s sake, John Smit’s Sharks fail to reach the semifinals, Smit will captain the Boks in Cardiff.

If the Bulls do make it into the play-offs, it will rule Matfield and several other Boks out of the equation.

Heymans also revealed that new technology being used in the Super 14 will allow De Villiers and his medical staff to monitor exactly how much time the Boks are spending on the field.

Devices sewn into the jerseys of the players will provide information on distances covered during a game, running speeds, heart rates, intensity of player impacts and energy expended during matches.

24 Responses to Overseas Bokke on “Trial”

I do not know whether to applaud this or be seriously worried about this….

I suppose, healthy management of the current Springboks core group dictate that we rest some of them… and what better than letting players who have played for the Bokke step in and show what they still possess.

Welcome Bewer, say hi here!

2 – GBS, Need to play the players that are playing overseas and ones that maybe should be tried out for Boks.

Remember S14 is only a week before this game. Then we have to play France the following week after this game. Also the travel we have to do.

No players need a rest. Think Bulls will be in the S14 a lot of Bulls players are Boks, they will have to rest for at least 10 days after that final.

Sorry, Meant Think Bulls will be in the S14 final.

HaHa,
    Hi. As long as they leave all the bulls alone they can do whatever they want. Its not going to be easy to put together a team over there and the welsh will obviously complain when we dont send our 1st team.

3@ Puma – One can select a bloody strong team from the overseas guys… look at the possible Front Row… CJ van der Linde, Danie Coetzee, BJ Botha

Look at the Loosies…. Wikus van Heerden amongst them

Scrummie… Niel de Kock

Fly Half… Butch James

Centres…. Jean de Villiers & Bobo

Fullback… Fransie Steyn

Just fill in the other blanks and you have a farking team and a half!

5@ Bewer – Hello, mmmmm see you support the best team, the Bulls… good for you!

5 – Hellow Bewer welcome here mate. Yip, think those Welsh will complain if we don’t send our best, just this time we really can not do that. Need the players to be rested and ready for the French.

I always say send the best but for this game we will have to rest players if Bulls make the final. I think they will too.

6 – GBS

Sowerby, there must be more quality out there.

I had a nice chat with Mark Lawrence this week about the Sharks. He reckons our biggest problem is the discipline on the field. Fixable if you ask me.

Pos net die twee dup boeties.

Boeties Bliksem

10 – Hello Snoek, Agree that is our biggest problems is our discipline. Mostly the Dup Brothers. Just hoping they keep their discipline on Saturday.

Puma 8 – I will be furious if we get dished up another ‘dirt trackers’ team.

Remember I went all the way to Wembley to see the Sarries beat the Boks last November!!! Grrrrrrr 🙁

10 – Mark Lawrence a credit to your country. Great ref……

Easy on the eye too!! 🙂

13 – Hi Carol, I always want us to send our best, but this time think we will have to rest our players.

We have some superb young talent that are not Boks yet that could play and plenty that are playing overseas at the moment.

14 – Carol, Yes he is one of our best refs.

Hi Puma

It is not nice to see our team struggle. But we can turn things around, we definately still have quality players in our ranks.

We should focus on winning at all cost from now on, and if there is some disruptions in the team, i hope they get sorted without delay.

Carol, i was sitting watching some tv when my phone rang, it was Lawrence on the other side. He knows my brother-in-law, and the latter asked Mark to phone me to cheer me up regarding the Sharks. I must say, i was really surprised, and used the opportunity to delf in his rugby mind. It was lekka.

15 – Puma, it was really embarrasing taking friend to see ‘My Wonderful Springboks’……!!! Get beaten!! 😳

18 – Snoek, wonder if Wayne Barnes would make that call to a British fan? 😯

17 – Snoek I really hope we can turn it around.

19 – Carol, Not even sure why we having this test in June in Wales. Think it is about money.

We will still have a strong team to send. Look at our players overseas and some youngsters coming throuh here now.

Going now to watch what is left of Boots.

Cheers Carol. Good to catch up again. Enjoy the rest of your evening.

this is an excellent idea.

The only people that should be “on trial” are the useless administrators that are slowly poisoning Rugby.

Faarking amateurs should all get a lethal injection of brain cells!

Hi Bewer…

Ai-ai-ai, not another Bulls fan. :Grin:

GBS, you must do recruitment drives eh? This is very much a Bulls site, although all great minds think alike, and I see many great minds here, it would be nice to have some lesser minds (Lions, Stormers, Sharks, Cheetah etc, supporters) here.
    Smile

Total 19 users including 0 member, 19 guests, 0 bot online