After 3 weeks of gruelling Super 14 rugby we start to see patterns of the various problems emerging in the South African Super 14 sides. Here is a sideways glance at how I see the respective shortcommings and possible areas to work on.

Although the Bulls are top of the log and have achieved a full 15 from 15 possible Log points, there are areas of concern. Firstly, there is still a slight problem on outside centre, the Bulls simply do not have an International standard No 13. In addition, although Gerhard van den Heever has performed on attack, his defence needs radical improvement.

The Bulls will have to better their kick-off accuracy as well, with most kick off’s going too far and with the Bulls losing quite a few kick-off’s which they should receive and control.

The Bulls cannot continue to get behind on the score board early on either, then come from way behind to win the game.

Β 

3 Losses on the trot, 2 of them at home, says it all. There is something dramatically wrong in Sharks infested waters!

Let’s start up front… I believe a lot of the woes stem from very average locks, who let their front rows down substantially, who are sloppy at line-out time and who do not graft hard enough in the loose. In addition there is a dicipline problem with key players… the Duppies…. or as I call them, “the Doctor and the Mental Patient”. Too many penalties which could easily be avoided is given against the Sharks for ill dicipline. How do we fix this, well start with Steven Sykes at No 4 and with Wilhelm Steenkamp at No 5, put Muller and Splitpin van den Berg out to pasture…. and tell Hargreaves that he better shape up or ship out. Tell the Duppies that they are on a very short leach regarding dicipline…. and move John Smit permanently back to hooker.

Then we move slightly back…. who knows who the ideal starters should be amongst the plethera of loosies at the Sharks… the balance seems wrong, the combinations not clicking. Fix this by playing a combination of Deysel (6), Alberts (7) and Kankowski ( 8), with Botes on the bench as more mobile flanker and impact player.

At Halfback, there is a conundrum of note…. I would put Ruan Pienaar at scrummie and never ever play him at Flyhalf again. In addition, I would bench Kockott and I would start with Andy Goode at Flyhalf, with young Lambie also on the bench. Seems radical, does’nt it, yet something has to be done towards creating total change in this very important and pivotal link between front and back.

At centre I would choose Riaan at inside centre, Adi at outside centre and forget about ever playing Waylon Murray again. At wing I would tell JP Pietersen that he better get himself sorted out and if he still does not regain form, I would bench him… teach him a lesson in humility that way. Odwa on the other wing has been OK’ish but I would be tempted to start with Mvovo.

Stefan Terblanche has been the only solid fella in the whole Sharks backline, so I would leave him there and slowly bring Ludik through from the bench.

Β 

There is such a lot of promise in the Stormers and one senses that they are very near to clicking as a 15-man unit, but they’re still far from perfect.

Firstly, Wikus Blaauw needs to return from injury, Schalk Burger too, then the forwards are pretty much sorted, with Andries Bekker and Tiaan Liebenberg having impressed me so far.

Behind the scrums is where the problem lies…. Ricky Januarie has performed well, against expectation, so keep the little meerkat there, but for heavens sake a change is needed at Flyhalf.

When others swooned about Peter Grant in the past, I have maintained that he is incapable of dominating the territorial game, like a good flyhalf should. Willem de Waal should get the nod now, at least he dominates territory from No 10, but I will try and bring Lionel Cronje through more and more to eventually be the first choice No 10.

At No 12 Juan de Jongh still has to grow into the role of inside centre, having played at No 13 mostly before, so I would leave him there to settle properly.

Jaque Fourie has been solid, albeit a bit quiet, Aplon is a perfect fit at right wing and Habana is a perfect fit at left wing (despite his wayward game this past weekend).

At Fullback, one does not disturb the points machine, Joe Peterson, leave him exactly where he is.

The Stormers defence has been solid enough but they have not scored enough tries, largely due to 2 things, namely firstly the defence-minded approach as a team and secondly the bad link at No 10 (Grant). Fix that and you have a team which should go very far.

Β 

I think the Cheetahs mainly need a kick up the bumper…. damnit, why should they always give easy Log Points to overseas teams, yet play their hearts out against SA opposition?

They have a solid tight 5 and good loosies, no problem… but once again, it is behind the scrums where things go wrong. Tewis de Bruin is just not up to it in the Super 14, play the much more attacking option of Sarel Pretorius, for goodness sakes!

Naas Olivier is very average, although good as a kicker for posts, but that’s exactly where his game starts and stops. He is a weak defender and the 2nd weak link apart from Tewis, in the backline.

Is it not time to bring Robert Ebersohn through as Flyhalf next to the nippy Sarel Pretorius.

With the back 3 there is nothing wrong, speed to burn and solidity, no problem.

So, apart from 2 key players, the only thing the Cheetahs need is a total mind and focus shift!

Β 

Where does one beging to analize this broken lot of ball chuckers….

Unfortunately for Dick Muir, he is now forced to work within the current structures and group of players contracted, which is where I feel the core of the probelm lies… too many ordinary Club Level Players in an International Competition, amongst the ranks!

Let’s not be over critical though, they have a solid enough front row, average locks and very good loosies, so the forwards should compete well enough.

There are problems beyond the forwards though! When will Jano Vermaak be ready from injury, because JP Joubert is just not fit for this kind of tournament…. must say that the little Puma scrummie has impressed though, from the bench. “King Carlos” has been average at No 10 but still is a better option than Burton Francis, who is of Vodacom Cup standard only.

In the centres, the Lions have been porous and leaking the tries by the numbers, they better shore up defences here, big time. On the wings they have 2 speed merchants but one cannot help but wait for Chavanga to get injured sooner rather than later.

Earl Rose at No 15 has done his thing and I would leave him there.

In general, the Lions attitude of all out attack at the expense of a milder blend of better defence with structured attack has been their biggest downfall. Shore up defences all around, Lions, and you might actually win a couple of games!

70 Responses to How to fix SA sides

GBS

Only 2 points to add.

The Sharks: I fear for them. I have it on very good authority that all is not well in paradise. Financially and people.

How can you leave your defensive coach behind when you go on tour for “financial reasons”? It seems there have been a couple of “blunders” committed (albeit last financial year) that is going to cost the team dearly.

The Lions: (My beloved Lions) What can I say? I asked what DM had done at this level previously. He won nothing with the Sharks, and the Lions seem to think that taking Pirates Rugby Club to the Club Championship nearly a decade ago actually counts for something. Seeing him having a good laugh and joke about “defensive coaches” with the Chiefs coach on SS after the game in JHB made me want to laugh and cry at the same time.

I can’t help feeling that Kevin and Manie have got this call massively wrong.

The defence is shocking with missed 1st time tackles in greater abundance than flowers and tears at a funeral.

“King Carlos” needs to be de-throned I’m afraid. I don’t know what they paid for him, but I’m afraid there are players just as good playing on a Monday evening.

Earl Rose? well maybe he has some insider info’ on someone soemwhere which keeps him in the team. He seems to be better than previous years (so far) but I’m VERY far from convinced that he will have a consistent season. His goal kicking is at best erratic. As for using him from the bench as an “impact” player, well he only ever seems to be able to do anything when the game is loose and the Lions need to play some “catch up Rugby”. He’s about as structured as a bowl of Spaghetti Bollagnaise that my 7 year old daughter has been busy with for 20 minutes.

I’m afraid that the hype of all of the Lions supporters prior to the season starting may well be totally unfounded. They are going to struggle to win any games I think. (I hope I’m wrong.)

As for the other SA sides, well I can honestly say that only the Bulls have impressed. I think their start to the S14 campaign could be quite ominous for the rest of the competitors.

I wouldn’t be surprised if the Lions, Sharks and Cheetahs all end in the bottom four.

Good summation Webmonster. Did you get the e-mail yesterday?

i knew it
    i’ve always known it
    gbs is a stormers supporter!!

well you can finally relax bru …. you dont need to hide in the closet anymore!!

oh
    and
    proooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooovince!!

Only one question…

Are the Stormers officialy converting de Jongh into an inside center or are they just using him there now because they have J.Fourie ?

Sometimes these coaches makes me think about primary school coaches…

..” Yes you are a brilliant flyhalf, but you are also the tallest in the squad, so you will play lock 😯 )

Blouste

“Yes Earl, you are definetly the nicest guy in JHB, but because I cuaght you in the sack with my sister, I’m going to play you in the S14 until all of the biggest ugliest loose forwards from the Southern Hemisphere have taught you a lesson, and I don’t care if we come last (again).”

BULLS…

Need to up their defence, but I know J.Macfarland will fix this…

SHARKS…

Just a couple of changes will see them bounce back…
    For example : fire the whole management, including the coach. πŸ˜†
    keep J.Smit away from tighthead
    stop buying overseas players and develop your youth..

STORMERS…

I don’t agree with Ricky, he should get the chop ( his tactical kicking is non-existant )
    Get a flyhalf or yes give Cronje a chance…
    ( Teach Habana not to shake his head from side to side after each penalty against him πŸ˜† )…

CHEETAHS…

Hire a decent shrink, the problem is between your ears, OK probably the ears of the coach aswell πŸ˜†

LIONS…

I still can’t believe how they appointed D.Muir over H.Meyer, hey I’m not complaining, just can’t understand this.
    Also Dick should stop with his rotation bullshit and allow for the team to get settled !!!

πŸ˜† @ 5…

I am really sorry to say this, but I use to be a huge PG fan. Now though… well… he is still a good player, make no mistake, but there has to be someone better out there.
    I think the Stormers management should, like the webmonster said, bring in Lionel Cronje. As far as scoring tries goes, the Stormers could and should have secured the bonus point deal in 2 of their three matches in the last 20 minutes. Maybe it is then not a bad idea to bring Cronje onto the field with 20 minutes to go, from now on.
    When the management do that, they could also shift Grant from 10 to 12 so there is a lot more creativity in the backline. You will lose the attacking power of De Jongh, but thats what Fourie is for.
    I would also then start with Duvenhage to back the 10-12 positions of Grant-De Jongh with a kicking boot, and bring on the mongrel in the last 20-15 minutes to up the anti.

The Stormers have only had 2 tries scored against them in 3 games. The three teams they played against have scored a total of 25 tries in 3 rounds. So there is nothing wrong with the defense. But then, they scored only 6 and the teams they have played against have allowed 34 against them!

I still firmly believe that the Bulls (1st) and the Stormers can make the top 4. As for the Sharks and Cheetahs, maybe a mid table reunion. Lions. wel… yes…

Bath – Butch James will not be joining the Stormers for the 2011 Super 15 season, according to his management company.

According to the Sky Sports website, there has been mounting speculation that the World Cup-winning flyhalf would return to South Africa next season, having left the Sharks to join Bath in 2007.

However, reports that he has signed a deal with the Western Province franchise for the 2011 season have been dismissed.

Craig Livingstone, MD of Prosport International said: “Butch James has not signed for the Stormers for 2011 despite media reports. His contract with Bath extends until June 2012.”

James is currently facing a month on the sidelines after injuring his shoulder against Worcester.

The Stormers currently have Peter Grant as their No 1-choice pivot as Willem de Waal is eased back slowly into the frame after a serious neck injury.

The Stormers are currently in fifth position in the Super 14 standings after three rounds of play.

Lees die volgende op supersport:

“In fact, the Loftus scoreboard has been ticking over so regularly this year that Bulls flyhalf Morne Steyn (77) has scored more points by himself than the supposedly free-scoring coastal franchises the Sharks (44) and the Stormers (70).”

Skande Sharks !

Skande Stormers !

πŸ˜‰

# 10

ROLMFAO πŸ˜†

Seeing as I have not had an “Uitkak” from moepels here regarding this Article, I take it that most of you agree with the contents… hehehehe

Good opsomming GBS.
    Taking nothing away from the Bulls, who are clearly the best team in the competition at this early stage, I am a little disappointed in the standard overall.
    This is the way I see it with the non SA teams.
    Reds
    Got some structure with Ewan Mc Kenzie as coach, but are not championship material this year.

Waratahs
    Will be hard to beat in Sydney.

Force
    Simply dont have it.

Brumbies
    Most potential of Aussie teams.

Crusaders
    Not the force they have been before, no matter what they tell us.

Hurricanes
    Have the potential to go all the way.

Highlanders
    not bad, but cannot win the S14.

Chiefs
    Can beat any team on their day, but inconsistent.

Blues
    magnificently skilled players who are completely ruined by their unstructured approach, thanks to the wrong coaching mentality.

11: ja, die Bulle se se 10,11 en 12 het meer drieΓ« gedruk as die Sharks en Stormers saam !

gbs

Gee kans… hier is nou maar eers 13 posts van net 7 bloggers… πŸ˜†

Op hierdie stadium, na 3 rondtes, dink ek die volgende spanne kan dit maak:
    1. Bulle
    2. Brumbies
    3. Canes
    4. Chiefs
    5. Saders
    6. Stormers
    7. Tahs

Daar gaan die argument van Bulle kan nie ‘n oop game speel nie… he he he he.

Aai, maar dis lekker om ‘n BUL te wees !!!

15@ Blouste – Hahaha, ja… maar ek wil die ouens effe uitlok!

Hulle is maar versigtig vir my… hehehehe

Min bloggers van die ander spanne op die blogs hierdie week, ek wonder hoekom… giegiegie!

gbs
    sommige van ons WERK!!
    en watse f*kken moffie giggel is daai?
    giegiegie se g*t man!! πŸ˜†

gbs @ 18
    nee dink die ouens is bewus daarvan dat jy maar sensitief is
    ons wil nou nie veroorsaak dat jy ook wegtrek vannie site af soos baie van die leeus nie, hehehe

helloooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!
    anyone?

20: en, wanneer klim jy uit jou asblik uit en erken jy is eintlik ‘n bul bewonderaar ?

gbs

Jy kon dit so opgesom het…

“Die Sharks,Stormers,Leeus en Cheetahs was die naweek …uuh,…wel K@K…”…

Dit sal dalk van die mense an die gang kry πŸ˜€

gbs

Jy kon dit so opgesom het…

“Die Sharks,Stormers,Leeus en Cheetahs was die naweek …uuh,…wel K@K…”…

Dit sal dalk van die mense aan die gang kry πŸ˜€

Dis so goeie punt hy kom sommer twee keer deur… πŸ˜†

22: my naam is nie anyone nie.

Hello Asdrom…

bdb @ 23
    😯 nee flok bdb jong, eks dan self Γ± bul (of Γ± man in menstaal) … hoekom sal ek dan nou ander bulletjies wil bewonder? πŸ˜†

Flok, daar hakkel Blouste ook….

20@ Asbak – Dis wat ek noem ek lag in my mou! SΓͺ my, hoekom drop jou span ons toe so Vrydag?

Total 18 users including 0 member, 18 guests, 0 bot online