So much was said this week about the outcomes of the weekends games. We will argue about it forever and your view might just be influenced by our allegiance to a certain team. I read this article on Sport24 by Gary Boshoff. This article opened my eyes a bit, i was totally against the touch rugby the Lions played. Maybe i must rethink my view.

During this past weekend’s Super Rugby fixtures, two very distinct approaches to the new rule applications became evident.

One, displayed in the Lions v Chiefs and Bulls v Brumbies games showed a definite shift to a more attacking, ball-in-hand approach, the intention of which is to capitalise on the momentum or flow resulting from the increasing space and opportunity created by the new law applications.

The other, on display in the Stormers v Waratahs, Cheetahs v Sharks and Crusaders v Reds games, showed how disciplined defensive structures can still win you matches, and valuable ones at that. The Cheetahs and Stormers can testify to this.

So while opportunities to advance and score tries will present itself more often, quick turnovers will more often than not leave the attacking team vulnerable to lethal counter attacks. Three opportunistic tries by the Reds saw the Crusaders suffer their heaviest defeat in recent memory.

It is therefore imperative that teams find the right balance between attack and defence and it is here where we’ll be able to judge the tactical nous and innovative abilities of the 14 coaches on display in the tournament.

The Stormers were the best defensive team over the weekend, primarily through the intelligent utilisation of labour at the breakdown.

They very rarely committed more than two players to the tackle and resultant ruck, releasing defenders to spread out across the field.

This frustrated the Waratahs throughout the match and also allowed the Stormers to swamp ball carriers trying to breach their well organised defensive lines.

A disciplined defence was also the main reason why the Sharks suffered their second successive defeat in Durban. Poor handling did not help their cause as the match was riddled with handling errors on both sides, particularly the Sharks. They now have to travel Down Under for five tough games with a team that is playing with very little confidence – it will be a true test of character.

The pressure was clearly evident on the field where John Smit openly questioned referee Pro Legoete’s decisions and later stormed off the field after the final whistle, not turning up for the customary post-match television interview. New backline coach Hugh-Reece Edwards must be having visions of his earlier encounter with Super Rugby.

Renewed attempt

Meanwhile, an interesting twist in the Eastern Cape’s bid to acquire a Super Rugby franchise is the renewed attempt by the Southern Kings to be included in the 2011 Super 15 competition.

In a statement, reported in the weekend papers, the Kings’ CEO, Stephan Pretorius, allegedly argued that the inclusion of the Southern Kings into Super Rugby sooner rather than later makes perfect transformational sense.

He apparently also suggested that the way to do it was to amalgamate the Cheetahs and Lions franchises to create a space for the Kings.

What I found fascinating about this statement is Pretorius’s use of the “transformation argument”. I am delighted to see that he has become a champion of transformation overnight.

During his tenure as CEO of the Blue Bulls Company the sum total of his transformational effort was having an African theme and dance group at the Blue Bulls Awards function during his first year as CEO.

During the rest of his term he resisted genuine transformation of the franchise which in my view hardly makes him the person to take seriously when advancing a transformation agenda.

I shudder at the thought of Pretorius at the helm of the franchise that is supposed to embody the future of black rugby in South Africa – the more things change, the more they stay the same.

73 Responses to Where attack meets defence

tighthead @ 27
    had the same problem
    but
    being very intelligent
    i
    just asked the guy taking the photo to stand back a bit!!

O, het net gewonder, ek mis nogal ‘n paar van die manne se chirps…kakpraters van formaat!

26@ The Saint – Huh????

HAHAHA brilliant…goeie werk, buit jou posisie uit…

hellooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!
    anyone?

OK, manne en maninne en hoendermoordenaar, kliente het opgedaag, laat ek my daaglikse brood gaan verdien… flok!

27 – Tight head……hahaha.

hey gbs
    djy sallie wiet wie was nou by my nie!!

38 – Howzit Ash, Let me think. Piet?

Hello Ash, Puma…

38 – Nou hoekom vertel jy ons nie sommer nie ?

Lions gaan op hulle moer kry

Sharks ook (sorry Puma)

Stormers…verdict still out on that one…

38 Ash.
    Die polisie.

Blouste, Can a bru pick be changed, well it has too. Last night I picked Cheetahs to win by 12. Then noticed on the bru picks it showing I said Cheetahs to win by bloody 120!!!! Bugger man I am not that stupid…..hahaha. It is a error on their side. My pick was for 12. They need to change it. Sent a mail to them. If they don’t change it that will be me down wont ever make up that deficit. They have to change it as it was a error coming from their side. How the heck can 12 turn to 120? They give you numbers no way can you add on a zero. I know mine was 12 as re-checked all my picks before submitting. If it is not changed I may as well resign from superbru S14 as I will never make that up. It is their error they must change it.

I sent them mail straight after I saw their mistake but nothing has been change.

41 – Blouste, Yip that is a huge game. Saders will never ever be as bad as last week. Not ever at home that is for sure. But I still say Sharks by 3. Keeping em fingers crossed. Jeepers mind says Saders by 10 but wont go against my team. My downfall on bru cause of that.

BLOUSTE WHERE YOU GONE? Asking you something brudda, check my post 43. Now don’t laugh hey!!!!!! I never picked Cheetahs to win by 120. NEVER bru must change it to my pick that was 12.

tighthead @ 42
    😆 nee

puma @ 39
    yep. so pas vir pietman en sy pampoen ontmoet!!

Hi Puma

Sorry man, the signal buggering me around here…

Sure they will change it, you did sent them a mail right?

Just check up or sent another one boet.

Who knows, you might just get lucky with that score 😉

Kockitt linked to a move to Ulster.

Jeez but the personel swing at the Sharks are HUGE !!!

blouste @ 41
    stem saam oor lions
    sharks gaan wen (net-net)
    stormers? o, flok ek weet nie …. brumbies het goed gelyk laas week!!

puma @ 44
    yep … thats why i can be good one week and poor the next … luister te veel na my hart!!

47 – Blouste…….hahahaha. You know when I went in to look last night and saw 120 for Cheetahs to win. I thought which clown put that up!! Then saw it was next to my NICK……..HAHAHAHA. I must say had such a laugh then felt a bit angry. How can they make a mistake like that? It has to be changed. I checked my picks before submitting it. I said 12 NOT bloody 120 🙄

Will send them another mail.

o
    en
    prooooooooooooooooooooooooooooovince!!

(ekke) hello
    (ekke se echo) hello hello hello

Asbak, ek sien dit was Pietman en Pampoen…. wou so raai… of hulle of die Balju… hehehehe

Fark, this poor signal is almost as frustrating to me as the Bulls were in 2008 😯

47 Puma.
    Just ask them to change it to 120 points for the Canes.
    You should be close.

Balju… 😆

gbs @ 54
    obviously gaan ek nooit die einde van daaaaaaaai storie hoor nie nê?

gbs se echo @ 57
    jaaaaaaaaaa boet!! 😀

58@ Asbak, die Verweerder op die Dagvaarding – Ou Pieta is darem maar die sout van onse aarde se mense, nie waar nie! En Pampoen, sy is korrrrrrt jong, seker korter as jou mini-me!

gbs @ 59
    ja
    was nogal so bietjie senuagtig toe pietman my vanoggend bel om te sê hy kom ñ draai maak
    maar
    wat ñ gawe ou!!
    hoop beslis om hom en pampoen beter te leer ken!!

Total 10 users including 0 member, 10 guests, 0 bot online