The Sharks problems keep getting worse even though Ruan Pienaar’s return for the start of the Super 14 is now possible, the other injuries makes for bad reading as the backline depth is now being severely tested.

The other problems still up in the air is the Ludick and Alberts issue, there still is no finallity into whether they may play for the Sharks or not .

The article below with compliments to Craig lewis and the Daily News.

THE Sharks got through another high-intensity training session at the Absa Stadium outer fields yesterday afternoon, and it was a most welcome sight to see the continued involvement of Ruan Pienaar as the team builds towards next weekend’s opening Super 14 match.

Pienaar is an integral player in the Sharks team and has worked tirelessly with the medical staff over the past few weeks as he looks to return to full fitness after off-season knee surgery.

The versatile 25-year-old, who has an impeccable work-rate and is so often one of the first to arrive at the training field and the last to leave, will be hoping he can look forward to an injury-free season.

There seems to be some way to go still before he is once again operating at 100 percent, but the Sharks are holding thumbs that he can perhaps play some role next weekend and if not, definitely by the time round two arrives.

Pienaar is the one man who can always provide the Sharks’ backline with an attacking spark, whether that be in the No 9 or No 10 jersey.
Two other men who could do that are Louis Ludik and Adrian Jacobs, but unfortunately both are still battling a bit with injury. Ludik is in the final stages of his rehabilitation from a knee injury and it has been good to see him getting more and more involved in training. The “former” Lions player is able to offer an option at centre – where he may well be considered – as well as at wing or fullback.

However, it is unlikely he will be ready to face the Chiefs next Saturday, while Jacobs’ availability is touch and go because he is battling with a hamstring strain that also limited his involvement during the warm-up matches.

Jacobs may have some detractors but he’s often had the invaluable ability to make something happen on attack, and although this is perhaps an element of his game that has gone missing over the last season, he is clearly determined to rediscover his form, his confidence and his magic-making ability on the field.

Unfortunately, he may have to wait another week or two before he gets an opportunity to do that, similarly for fellow centre Riaan Swanepoel who is battling with an ailment and is in a race against time to be ready for next weekend.

The Sharks will reassess their options next week before making any final decisions on player availability, and it will be interesting to see what team takes shape to face the Chiefs.

19 Responses to SHARKS INJURY WOES CONTINUE

Ek voorspel ‘n teleurstellende jaar vir ons Shark fans. Dinge lyk nie vir my lekker in Durbs nie. Hoop maar ek is verkeerd.

Phew!! Not good. Now Swannie may not start. We have problems at centre for sure.

Good to read that Ruan is making good progress. WE need him fit soon.

sharks backline could be very poor come next week, specially if ruan is not 100%

starting backline it seems will probably be

stefan
    odwa/mvovo
    murray
    strauss
    jpp
    ruan
    cockott

bench, lambie,vulindlu,mcleod/meyer

out will be … swannie , ludick , adi , ??

Our backline is mediocre at best Sharky, very concerned about the lack of real quality. Our forwards should ensure a top 7 finish, but the backs will cost us semi.

3 – Sharky, That is a blow if Swannie is out. Then we are in trouble.

3 – Sharky, You think Ruan will start at FH? Hope he does if Kockott is scrummie no worry about the goal kicking.

Better be 100% over that op otherwise may just ruin that op and NO more Ruan for the rest of the season.

I would start with Mvovo instead of Odwa. More speed. Plum probably go with Odwa.

3 – Sharky, I read someone on Rob’s blog say try out Meyer at centre. What you think? He is big strong player I heard. Maybe that would be our answer to our centre problems.

hiyas puma bro and snoek

no matter how we look at it we in trouble, my problem being the lack of depth , even if adi ludick and swannie were fit, well and ruan

my gut feel is for now to stick with the most experienced players

The Sharks forwards are a formidable bunch with awesome depth…. but the backline is shaky, shaky, shaky…

Ruan at No 10, whilst he is actually a No 9… and a recovering sick note at that… in addition a very mediocre centre pairing, not Super 14 standard at all… till Adi Jacobs returns fully fit… both mentally and physically.

… hell even the back 3 is not settled…

Like the Bulls, the Sharks need the injuries to subside now and for guys like Ruan, Adi and Ludik to steady the rocky boat of backline woes!

9 – Sharky going to answer again. Damn just typed a long answer back and said I was posting to quick…hahah. All wiped out in a second.

Yes think we are in trouble mate, last year this time we were looking sleek with Adi, Fransie at centre and Ruan at FH. Then it all went out the window once Ruan got injured and Fransie had to play FH. How I would have liked to have seen what they could have done if they both played there for a season. Pity about those injuries last year.

We must NOT start Ruan at FH if he is not 100% over that op. Otherwise our woes could be worse with no Ruan at all for the S14. Needs to be over that op 100% before we start him. What about Meyer for centre? Read someone on Rob’s blog suggesting to play Meyer there, maybe that could be a good idea, him being a big oke. Then we need him probably for FH if Ruan can not start. If Ruan is over that injury and can start what about Meyer playing centre?

I would also start with Mvovo and not Odwa. I know Odwa has experience but Mvovo done well in the CC and has more speed.

Also now we may have Dollie coming too. I have not seen him since the U21’s. He was good there but that was yonks back. Has not done much since then and has never played at this level before.

Will just have to see how it goes. Maybe our team surprise us and do much better than we think. Well hoping but have my doubts.

10 GBS, Sharks backline is very sharky boet. Hope our injured players get fit soon. We need them. Like Sharky says we in trouble, I feel we are too.

Eish you guys have trouble at the back. Last year the lack of bonus points for tries cost you dearly, only 3 made. How can you change that?

Chiefs to take Tjarks down in Durbs…eishhh…

blouste @ 14
    hmmm ….. possible, but highly unlikely bru … unless of course, they repeat their pattern of last year and hit the ground running … then the sardines might just be in a spot of bother!!

ec …. ag flok, los dit maar liewer!!

Total 41 users including 0 member, 41 guests, 0 bot online