In Africa, few creatures inspire such lore and legend as the majestic king of the beasts and this is why they symbolize power and respect all through the continent, and even across the world. The masai , a nomadic warrior people from Tanzania and Kenia, believes that killing a lion with your bare hands is the single greatest achievement a man can accomplish in his lifetime (short as it may be).

However, let it be known that the Jozi-jungle is not like the rest of Africa, not even a lion can walk around unscathed in this city it seems. Here, lions frequently get slaughtered by cows, koalas, ponies and even a flower or two, slaughtered and devoured. It is therefore quite appropriate that their lair is known as Coca-Cola Park, because coke goes well with any meal.

The Lions are probably most famous for their incredible ability to self-destruct. The effort that the Lions sometimes go to, to lose a game is absolutely astonishing, if there was a way that you could score an own goal in rugby, the Lions would absolutely jump on it.

Delving into the Lions’ style of rugby and their general approach would bring us nowhere, simply because there is no real structure in the game that they play. They do not possess a dominating pack of forwards or a vindictive flyhalf that can control the game. As a result, they have evolved into scavengers, hunting down balls in the loose facets and then using that possession to counter-attack. If they cannot win the ball, they attempt to spoil opposition ball, which in turn leads to a game that may be physical and brutal, but isn’t rugby as much as it is a wrestling match.

Yes, this approach sometimes leads to a victory, but it remains a gamble, especially when the opposition can rumble as good as you can. Once the Lions team attempts this against a structured team, everything goes to pieces, literally.
The main problem at the Lions camp seems to be their approach to rugby as a whole, it seems as if the Lions still approach rugby in the way that it has been approached in the amateur era, where teams relied on individual abilities, player and supporter loyalty, luck and generally roughing it, when the going got tough. Well the going IS tough, and before long something, or someone needs to get going.

I believe that the blame for poor form of Lions Rugby, should be placed squarely on the shoulders of the Gauteng Lions Rugby Union.
Rugby has been a professional sport since after the 1995 World Cup, the players became contracted to their different unions, and the game evolved from being a Saturday afternoon pass-time, to being a business. The players being the most expensive and temperamental commodities were in essence assets of the organization, who in turn started appointing people to aid in managing the players’ careers to ensure that they received the maximum return on their investment.

Or rather, that is how everyone else did it, the Lions Rugby Union only appointed a contract manager late in 2009, 14 years after the game turned professional, and this was only after the whole Jacque Fourie debacle. The GLRU lost masses of players, simply because their paperwork wasn’t up to scratch.

The question begs asking: If you were managed like you were an amateur, would you play like a professional?  In fact, will you play at all?

The Team

2010 sees a new Director of Rugby take up the reigns at Coca-Cola Park. But do not expect miracles to follow immediately, a recipe is only as good as the ingredients, and good food takes time!

In the front row Hans van Dyk, JC Janse van Rensburg, Ross geldenhuys, Lawrence Sephaka and Heinke van der Merwe seem solid enough to withstand most of the other Super 14 teams, but only because scrumming isn’t particularly emphasized in super rugby. In the second row Nico Luus and Jannes Labuschagne have been around the block, with young Franco van der Merwe developing nicely, but injury to any one of these players, leave the Lions seriously exposed, as their cover comes from first division teams that has never played super rugby before, and judging on the poor line-out work during the Currie Cup, the three of them already have their backs against the wall. At least there should be no problems in the backrow, Alberts, Baywatch, new boy Mokuena and Minnie are all superb players, and with the overflowing wealth of loosies in SA, I wouldn’t be surprised to see one of the new bucks becoming an overnight sensation.

Amongst the backs they have a few new acquisitions, at scrumhalve Jano Vermaak (incidently the Lions’ player of the year) picks himself, with Chris Jonck providing cover, however, JP Joubert from the Cheetahs have also been training with the Jozi side, which might leave Jonck out in the cold.

Herkie Kruger was mostly solid during the Currie Cup, and is busy regaining some of the form that saw him front up the Sharks a few seasons back, new transfer Burton Francis from the Bulls looked good enough in one or two games during the Currie Cup, but I seriously question his ability under pressure, performing behind a retreating pack is quite different than the other way around. Of course there is also the Rose duo to consider, both Earl and Jody showing some ecstatic form during the past season, unfortunately, Earl is about as consistent as cellphone coverage in the Karoo, and can either win or lose a match for his team, from flyhalf, wing or fullback.

At centre Doppies le Grange, Alwyn Hollenbach, Jannie Boshoff, Walter Venter and ex-bull Marius Delport should be solid enough if they remain fit and focused, none of them being truly flashy, but maybe dependable is what the Lions require at the moment. While on the wing Jackson, Frolick, Killian, Mentz, Noble and Mr. Lightening Chavanga have more than enough pace to burn. Louis Ludik was spotted at a few Shark training sessions during the off-season, hopefully the Lions retain him, for he and Rose make up the fullback berth. However, I wouldn’t be surprised if Chavanga is also given some time at 15, watch this space!

Overall the Lions seem to have pretty decent players in most positions, their lack of depth and experience at lock though could become very costly, this goes for the entire front row unit as well, you cannot play the game without the ball. I however can’t see them shaking their choker tag, Lions to finish last of the SA teams, but hopefully that is way up the log. Results to follow in 2011, when Muir has had a fair chance to shine.

Clashes to watch
17 April 2010 – Lions vs Sharks (Jozi) – They almost got the better of them in the CC, maybe their time has come
12 February 2010 – Lions vs Stormers (Jozi) – It seems that the Lions has the Stormers’ number, for once it could be a game not spoiled by negative play.

Forwards:

JC Janse van Rensburg, Kevin Buys, Wayne Swart, Lawrence Sephaka, Ross Geldenhuys, Charl de Plessis, Hans van Dyk, Derek Harwood, Nico Luus, Wouter Moore, Franco van der Merwe, Jannes Labuschagne, Jacques Lombaard, Jeffrey Taljaard, Willem Alberts, Cobus Grobbelaar, Jonathan Mokuena, Derick Minnie, Johan van Deventer, Robert Kruger, Danie Crous, Thuliphatu Marole, Warren Whiteley, Justin Wheeler, Stephan Kruger, Mina Nassif, Heinke van der Merwe, Gert Muller, Johan Snyman

Backs:

Alex Kock, Chris Jonck, Herkie Kruger, Ruan Boshoff, Divan Kotze, Jody Rose, Allistair Siegelaar, Dusty Noble, Michael Killian, Henno Mentz, Johan Jackson, Wigan Pekeur, Jannie Boshoff, Justin St Jerry, Pieter Engelbrecht, Alwyn Hollenbach, Doppies la Grange, Rouan Cloete, Shandre Frolick, Warren van Rooyen, Walter Venter, Marius Delport, Deon van Rensburg, Burton Francis, Earl Rose, Louis Ludik, Jano Vermaak, Tonderai Chavanga, JP Joubert

The players joining the Auto & General Super 14 Lions from the Leopards and the Pumas:

Leopards:
Draad Linde
Ryno Landman
Thabo Mamojela

Pumas:
Marius Coetzer
Hannes Franklin

105 Responses to The Saint’s Super SA Showdown – The Lions

Next to be sledged….the Guppies, please return next week!

The Lions need to up their defence to be more competitive imo.

Is Alberts playing for the Lions this year? I thought he was on his way to the Sharks.

And Chavanga at fullback! He has speed, a little side step, and thats it. His ball & takctical sense is shocking.

As ek so na die span kyk herken ek omtrent net die helfte van die spelers. Is dit ‘n kwessie van beserings en hulle het moeilikheid met kwaliteit vervangings.

Mina Nassif? Is dit ‘n vrou?

3 – Ekskuus Willa, het dit nie lelik bedoel nie. 😆

4 Snoek – Mina Nassif was n egiptenaar wat Aussie Rules gespeel het wat saam die squad ge-oefen het. Maar hy’s nou weg. Nie deel van die squad nie.

The Saint, you don’t even mention Kevin Buys? If you can recall, he’s the guy that left Province’s front row trying to get their heads out of their poephols after the last game. He’s also the one that scrummed Beast to Kingdom come.

Problem with this is that you have no first hand knowledge of most of the players and this will only happen after a couple of games. Walter Venter and Alwyn Hollenbach nothing flash? Eish. Given time they WILL develop into the best centre combo in the country. Hollenbach is bigger and faster than Mossie – and he can actually spot a gap.

Bryan Habana holds the record for most tries scored at outside centre in the Junior Lions league and Jaque Fourie holds the record for the most tries scored in a season for Monument. Guess who was their inside centre in both seasons? Walter Venter.

No mention of Henning Gericke and Sherylle Calder? No mention of Ruan Boshoff? No mention of Wouter Moore. He’s a lock. 2.04m and tips the scale at 120kg. No mention of Jacques Lombaard? No mention of new scrummie Alex Kock. Huge future af scrumhalf.

I predict a finish no worse than 7th and 3rd of SA teams.

But hey, I’m not here to convince you otherwise. Having Superstars doesn’t always guarentee you success. Just ask the Stormers.

And all Superstars was at sometime unknowns. We’ll have the strongest scrum of the SA sides and our defence will be brutal. But thank goodness it’s only just over a month away. Good luck all for Super 14!!

think earl lewis is also still in the bigger squad

Willa

As to Kevin Buys’s heroics in the scrums, it was 2 games where he actually featured, and might I add not for the full 90 minutes, I am not convinced with the man’s attitude and staying power.

The only flash that Alwyn Hollenbach is, is a flash in the pan. He tends to disappear in tight games and his defence as well as that of Walter Venter is nowhere near Super 14 standard.

As for Walter Venter, I don’t doubt his credentials, but as you would surely know, he wasn’t a regular starter, he played when Le Grange was injured or as a substitute for Le Grange (who is IMO, THE most dependable player in the Lions backline)

Gericke and Calder might be significant insofar as preparing the team goes, but if you looked closer at my article, you would see that I never faulted the coaching or the preparation, but the professionalism of the management. Merely appointing people that worked with Jake White, doesn’t prove anything, ‘Winning Ways’ never got the lions winning did it?

As for Alex Kock, he won’t get a game. I am certain of that, he will have to bank on a string of injuries.

Realistically the Lions will never see seventh spot, it just won’t happen, maybe 9th, but the will still be chasing the other 4 teams.

5@ Willa – The Saint has been totally objective regarding the Cheetahs and now the Lions in my opinion… and I agree fully with his sentiments.

It would be folly for you one-eyed Lions supporters to think that all problems are solved and that suddenly, yes suddenly, Dickie Muir and his team will perform miracles with the Lions.

Expect a building phase, surely you can expect the Lions to perform better in the Super 14 this year….. but miracles….. no way.

In general, all the SA Super 14 Teams have their shortcomings (my Bulls too) and I do not expect a SA Team to take the Super 14 this year.

This Lions Team lack true game breakers and some of the puchases have been astoundingly short sighted…. in this regard I refer to the perrenial sick-note – Chavanga, the Giraffe – Marius Delport and in general the feeble attempt to acquire adequate depth.

Defend the Lions all you want…. but try to be objective in the process!

Oh, and by the way… so Mina Moo Nasif, the Egyptian giant, who according to some Lions web sites, was going to scare and play the socks off guys like Bakkies and who Bakkies was supposed to get to fear this year… he’s not even in the Lions squad. Was that what we call “counting the chickens before they hatch”?? Fark!!

#7 Saint = Walter Venter was the first choice inside centre ahead of Doppies. Unfortunately he was stuck down by Swine flu and lost 13 kilo’s. But he’s back up to 97 kilo’s and rearing to go. As to Alwyn? You have to be kidding me!

Buys played 2 years rugby in France. And he played 90 minutes for 4 games of the season. Unfortunately he started out with an injury.

Winning Ways wasn’t appointed to get the Lions winning again. They were appointed to audit the union and identify weaknesses. And that they did exceptionally well. The one absolute rubbish statement. Alwyn en Walter’s defense not up to Super 14 standard? Eish.

#8 GBS – I don’t have blinkers on. I realise it’s a rebuilding phase and that thing won’t change to success overnight. That’s why I’m not saying we’ll win it or even make a semi. But don’t tell me that we don’t have a chance of ending in the top half.

Chavanga en Delport approached us. And that’s not say that they’ll feature. Vodacom Cup? Depth? Nevermind.

And the Nassif story, if you really read what we said – you would know that all of it was a joke. And most comments were that he wasn’t going to make it. Where is your sense of humour? Fark???

How do you know we don’t have any game breakers? You have no idea who half the side is. You guys look through a list and look for “big” names. All Big name were no names. And don’t tell me that the Lions don’t have talent. ‘Cause if you do, your the one with blinkers.

But anyway. Every-one has the right to their own opinion. Only time will tell. Good luck for the Super 14 2010.

9@ Willa – Let me put it this way…. with your deft defence of the Lions squad “full of game breakers” it certainly seems that the blinkers are firmly in place…. but hey, that’s how I see it…

Where do you see the weakenesses in the Lions squad and amongst management and amongst the support staff and amongst the coaching staff….. or is everything now PERFECT EVERYWHERE?

I see some glaring weaknesses, The Saint sees them… just like we see in the other SA Super 14 setups….

@10 – I never said we are “full of game breakers”, I said it’s wrong to assume we don’t have.

Weakness is definitely inexperience within the squad. We have depth in most positions, but some not quality. With regards to the support staff and coaches, there are no apparent weaknesses. A Lot has changed that you guys have no idea of. But what’s the point in telling you, you’ll just shoot it down as another stupid mistake by the GLRU.

Management has improved. And PLEASE!! Don’t always believe what you hear about Manie and co. All management are on board and want to get the Lions back on top. It’s gonna take time, but we WILL be competetive.

Saint good article. Enjoy your sense of humour too.

Well hope the Lions have a better season this year. Not good to see SA sides sitting at the bottom of the log in the S14 year after year.

Now wait in anticipation for your article on my Sharkies. Should be good.

Please note my comments are entirely my own, and my views are not necessarily supported by anyone associated with RugbyTalk.com, ok that being said….

Willa

Please understand that I am not saying this because you did not like my article, I am saying this, because either your head is very far up your own arse or you hold a position within the GLRU management and as such, is in heavy denial.

That has to be one of the above choices for you to actually rate Hollenbach as anything more than an average Currie Cup player, his defence is nowhere, that is why he never was a regular with the Cheetahs. Venter has the potential to be good, but as I said, his defence is lacking, he frequently steps out of his channel and has a tendency to come up too slow, why don’t you watch a game or two, then come back, unbiased!

If ‘auditing and identifying weaknesses’ isn’t part of getting the Lions winning again, I don’t know what is. Winning Ways is a consulting agency, they do not only identify, they also make suggestions on possible ways of improvement. They DO try to get the Lions winning again, that is why they are there, otherwise, why bother? I can easily get about 20 people to tell you the Lions were shit, why pay someone thousands or rands to tell you only that?

The Lions do have talent, I don’t know where it is though, because even at age group level, all the way down to Craven Week, Lion teams get their asses handed to them. It is glaringly obvious that the GLRU are to blame, because your structures are clearly not in place. Few people are better that Heynecke Meyer when it comes to setting structures in place, however, the GLRU opted for Dick Muir, who will only be with them for the Super 14, after which Springbok duty calls, I am sure that strengthens the bonds between coach and players… (just in case you were wondering, I am sarcastic)

Lastly, yes, most people have no idea who half the side is… and unless the Lions perform, it will remain that way.

As I said, Dick Muir might be the turning point, but the Lions will still bite off more than they can chew in the 2010 Super 14.

#13 Saint – I never said I didn’t like your article, and I never said that you were wrong. But all you are pointing out is the past. Not the present or future.

How do you expect Winning Ways to get a team winning in only 2 months? Jake was almost never involved with team preperation. That was all Hans Coetzee.

And about Hollenbach and Venter, let’s just wait for that first game against Stormers. De Jongh and Fourie against probably Venter and Hollenbach. I’m not gonna go on and on about this. Fact is that the GLRU cannot do any good in any other union’s supporters eyes, no matter what we do and say.

And yes, my head is very far up my own arse, and thanks for pointing that out. Most think the GLRU has no money, where people get that idea is exactly why some people have no clue of what’s going on at the GLRU.

But let’s stop this, it’s getting boring. We can chat again after Super 14. Once again, Good luck! Looking forward to beating WP/Stormers in consecutive matches at the park. 😆

Kan ‘n ou hier by ‘n superbru groep aansluit vir die S14 ?

Willa

Deal, I also hoist the white flag. Even though I think the Stormers will be fielding Grant/Fourie against Le Grange/Hollenbach.

Stormers gaan die Lions trap die 12 February!!
    Wonder of Hans hierdie keer vir sy vuilspel en bytery uitgewys gaan word?

#17 Kingpaul – Dankie tog!!!!

Want die game is eers die 13de. 😆

Hy was uitegwys.

15@ Blouste – Hang bal….. daar sal ‘n Rugby-Talk Super 14 groep wees… maar ons sal hier op die site self ook ‘n behoorlike kompetisiestelsel van ons eie hê!

So what does Ed the Lion think about this?
    Talking of Lions!

Carol, this is a very non-fact base article hence the reason nobody can take it serious. Maybe it was intended as a joke, because clearly “the Saint” knows less about rugby than a 2 year old American.

Where is ED
    Does anybody know where is ED
    ED the Kitten

Ah, I see, so the Lions in your absolute ‘fact-based-opinion’ will therefore probably stand a chance of winning the Super 14. Have no in-house problems, and are not currently the joke of SA Rugby?

I obviously challenge your view of my rugby knowledge, but consider it below my dignity to even start arguing with you. Lions supporters are notoriously one-dimensional and simplistic. No offense Willa.

Ooo ek moes eers refresh het , daars hy . Magtag ou waar op aarde was jy.
    Voorspoed vir 2010

Sinner, in your so called vast rugby knowledge you still think Alberts and Ludik are part of the team??

Eish…

21 – Hi Ed – Heheheh I see fireworks here!! 😆

How is you my little lion?

trupi jy leef ook magtie die plek se ysters keer terug uit hul winterslaap. Jy ook he maar n goeie 2010. Go big

22 – superBul – I just ‘addore’ kittens!! 😉

25 – Trupsi too…..are you guys all gently sliding out of the woodwork now super 14 is within sniffing distance?

Yes i tooo, and the Bulls would love to play with them too. I dont know what is all this hype in the Lions camp about DM, but i will watch with interest. They played a nice game last year under Loffie, hope for them it is not a step backwards.

Cant wait for the article about the Stormers by The Saint.

Total 112 users including 0 member, 112 guests, 0 bot online