No-one can wait any longer, the nerves are on a knife’s edge. The camps are going through their preparations. The new recruits are fitting well into the teams. They feel ready. Let the games begin. But there is still 26 days left before the games begin.The fans are getting nervous.

Read what some supporters had to say.

A passionate Stormers supporter wrote this-

Look, as Stormers fans we get treated with the biggest promises known to man every year during Jan and Feb in the build-up to the Super 14. The Cape media spin doctors do their thing and we all go for it. Not because we believe that THIS will be the year, but simply because we WISH, hope and pray that this year will be the year. And as Stormers supporters, why shouldn’t we.

So history does suggest that the Stormers does not SUCK so badly. And lets face it, the squad this year, just like in SO many other years looks really good. I mean, just to have Habana, Jaques Fourie and Jantjies (Yes, there is a reason why he has 24 Caps) in one backline is pretty awesome. Then to have a loose trio of Burger, Louw and Vermeulen would make many a coach smile, while the lock pairing of Bekker and van Zyl is not too bad. All in all, a good team. So as a fan, I expect them to at least finish in the top 4. But they wont… is it because of their laid back Cape Town fashion? No. Is it because there are too many ego’s in the team. With Luke out, no. Is it because the coaches are useless and there is no depth in the squad? No. None of the above is event present, let alone a factor. IMO.

A Lion Supporter had this to say-

So, to those who call us idiots, pathetic and disillusioned. We will, can and have the right to believe in our team and new set-up. Call us names, call us stupid. But please call us when we surprise you, and end in the top half.

We have every reason to believe that we will do better and be competitive. We have no reason to believe that we will remain the whipping boys of Super 14 and that we are a walking bonus point. The point is we are more professional. We are fitter and stronger, we have experience, and we have depth. We also have hugely talented players with a hunger to perform.

Die Vodacom Cheetahs moet nie net in die Vodacom Super14-reeks probeer meeding nie, maar moet glo hulle kan dit wen. Só sê Eugene van Wyk, spanbestuurder, oor dié streekspan se benadering tot die Super-reeks waarin hulle nog nie juis hond haaraf kon maak nie.

The Sharks we all know felt robbed, so they might be the most desperate of them all. That last 90 seconds in 2007 robbed them of the title they worked so hard for, sadly for them the Bulls arrived with a team that played their guts out in the semi final and the Sharks thought they wont last 81 minutes. They feel that somehow the Rugby Gods owe them one, how could it happen. The questions hang in the air every time they start a new season. Since I can not find a Shark blog site I don’t really know what the supporters say and feel. But I know that the 3 Lion players bolstered their team and hopes.

The Bulls have the toughest job of them all. Unlike the other teams who might be happy with a semi final spot or a top half finish the Bulls supporters want them to retain the trophy. No second place , No semi will be good enough, they want to make history by retaining it.

Bulls President Barend van Graan had this to say in a question and answer session-

Question Baie sogenaamde “kenners” voorspel dat die Bulle se S14 aanslag gekelder gaan word deurdat ons sleutelspelers fisies en geestelik op die planke is na die uitmergelende 2009 internasionale seisoen. Dit is sekerlik ‘n bedreiging, maar hoe lyk dinge werklik? Het Frans en Heyneke “contingency plans” opgestel om hierdie kwessie te probeer teenwerk? Om die S14 suksesvol te verdedig sal ‘n ongekende prestasie in SA sport wees. Gaan ons manne skerp genoeg wees om dit realisties aan te durf? Dankie.

Barend van Graan answered: Beste Shannow, Frans en sy afrigtingspan is hard aan die werk vir 2010 uitdagings in Super 14! Frans en Heyneke werk saam en die “vibe” in die kamp is baie positief!

I realize that we might be in for a very hard season. If we fall back to a 10th position like in 2008 it will be a sad and very disappointed Bull supporter here. When we had that down to earth year in 2008 , we started off very bad. At the end off the season we had a great finish and our spirits lifted, the signs was there for all to see. 2009 proved that those signs were read right.

So what will be my escape clause this year. Probably the further growth of our young players. And that we can keep our next generation players. Our structures is good we must just keep our faith in them and prevent our opponents from poaching them. That way good times wont be far away.

52 Responses to The nerves are on a knife edge

The war of words on the WTR site and our old friends at Voldys prompted this article on WTR. “Lions will do better”, well the better is a top half finish for them. Okay thats also not that bad , it is a improvement, up from the bottom.

Stormers players looking forward to a successful Super14

i was looking at this article heading the whole weekend and wondered, what are the other teams looking forward too

Crusaders will have RM & DC back & in full stride, plus a few other fellows coming home from the “north” such as Chris Jack & Aaron Mauger – I think, come the end of the S14 season, the boys will be “in with a look” as my Oirish nana used to say 😉

I have not heard the final word on where Hayman will be plying his trade this year – this warrior’s return round things off nicely for the ABs & make for an interesting 3N were he also to come home 😀

Jan asked:
    Barend;

Eerstens baie geluk met die prestasies van die Bulle en die Bloubulle laasjaar met die CB en die Super 14. Tweedens baie dankie dat julle Heyneke weer by die Bulle betrek. Ons vertrou dat sy kennis en insig baie vrugtevol aangewend kan word.

Ek het twee vrae. Die eerste is eerder ‘n bekommernis / opmerking. Die Bulle is baie dun in die voorry, senters en vleuels. Hoe word hierdie probleem aangespreek. Dit is nog steeds ‘n bitter pil om te sluk dat ons Bryan Habana laat gaan het terwyl ons voorry verniel is in die CB laasjaar.

Tweedens is ons almal bewus van die berigte in die media rondom die klere, “brand” and kleure wat sogenaamd verander moet word. Ek hoop die Unie staan sterk en laat nie hierdie goed toe nie.

Dankie vir die vertroue wat ons in die huidige bestuur kan stel.
    Barend van Graan answered:
    Beste Jan,

Baie dankie vir jou mooi woorde en wense! Ons is bly Heyneke is terug en ek glo ons sal binnekort die vrugte daarvan pluk!

Sien my post oor voorrye in vorige chat hieronder: Die afrigters werk hard aan 2010 en die skrum en voorye is hoog op hulle agenda!

Die volgende spelers is deel van die groep:

Loskoppe

* Guthro Steenkamp
    * Jaco Engels
    * Dean Greyling
    * Corne Fourie – Junior vlg jaar senior

Vaskoppe

* Werner Kruger
    * Bees Roux
    * Frik Kirsten – besig om te rehabiliteer
    * Rossouw de Klerk

Hakers

Chilliboy Rallepela
    Gary Botha
    Bandise Maku
    Derrick Kuun – Opsie in nood

Die junior strukture se spelers sal blootstelling kry en ons moet in in die strukture vertroue stel!

Sien berig op blog oor kleure en logo.

RP, i see your team have a lot of brothers playing for them this year
    Franks, Ben and Owen
    Whitelock, Adam, George and Sam.

Adam Whitelock is the first Crusader to break eight minutes in the 2.4km running time trial.

Whitelock recorded 7min 53sec today at the Canterbury University’s running track.

Andy Ellis (who is on an extended break and didn’t run today) is the previous record holder with 8min 3sec.

The time trial is a fitness measuring tool which is used in conjunction with pre-season training.

The fastest forward, and second fastest player overall, was Adam’s brother George, who recorded 8min 29sec.

Both Whitelocks recorded the fastest times at the corresponding test last year.

Wonder what the times will be for the SA teams.

Super @ 5

Well, in Cantebury country there is not a lot to do late at night – hence lots of Rugby Players are “made” 😉

Also, NZ is a lot like RSA in regards to family traditions – with brothers coming up together or sons following in their father’s footsteps 😀

Here is some news that stands is the Bulls way.

The BRUMBIES are going to be in the semis….possibly the waratahs.

Wallabie

Come on now … seriously ? 😯

The only team that really can fail this year is the Bulls. They need to win the competition this year, or they will be worse off than last year. The other teams did nothing last year, so have nothing to lose.

6 – My best 2.4 km time is 9min 14Sec, and i am built like a lock. But that was back in the day. Now i would do well to go under 13 mins.

Snoek

My best 2.4km time is about 18 seconds … Being the “getawway” driver is a great incentive 😉

#11 and 12 My best 2.4km time is 18 minutes!!!!! 🙂

Mizz Trip-E

I trust you were not driving ??

Bloody slowpokes, these Crusaders… and all of you too.

The 2.4km distance was often run in our good old Army days here in SA…. during JL’s (Officer’s Course) I think I did not run a single 2.4km run above 7 Min 40 sec…. and looking at peak marathon, 10 000m, 5 000m athletes, they average faster speeds per 2.4km for the whole duration of a full marathon, which is 42km.

In fact, 7min 53sec is still terribly slow, considering my fastest time was 7min 11sec…

…but hey, that was in 1984… hehehe… today I do not run anymore… I have a car….

GBS

Hey you – Just back off my Saders & no one has to get hurt ! 😡

ps : Happy Monday 😀

In fact, Comrades Marathon front runners do the whole Comrades Ultra at that speed… and if I’m not mistaken that is about 89km long

GBS, I got gatvol of the part where us Engels manne had to go back and do it again, because we did not hear right in the first place!!
    And later on that day when us Souties went back 3 times to pick that leaf off that tree on the top of the hill, because we always picked the wrong leaf!!

18@ Tight Head – Hehehehe, believe me, it was not only the souties who had to go pick leaves… knowing my surname and also knowing who the head of our Defence Force was in the ’80’s, I was particularly picked on with the phrase “Is jy familie van die Generaal?”… if I answered yes, then I was told that they would have to make me a good troupie to keep up with tradition… if I answered no, I was told to run anyway… heheehe

Goeie dag almal.

Lees in die koerant vanoggend dat al die afrigter groot asb vir Snorre vra om die Bokke te onttrek aan die CB hierdie jaar, veral ou Naka.

Wonder hoekom ? 😉

Hier is die artikel: http://www.beeld.com/Content/Sport/Rugby/1915/efa260bdf773449bb25c8bf4a6cc720d/18-01-2010-01-46/Super14-breiers_wag_in_spanning_op_Div

GBS hehehe!!
    If we get a good lawyer, maybe we came win a case against the previous government, like those guys having a crack at the multi national companies in the USA!!
    You know, all the pain and suffering us white youngsters went through in the defence force, against our will!!
    It has scarred us for life!!!
    Hehehehe!!

21@ Tight Head – Tell you what, those 2 good years (which you never want over again) set a lot of us on the right path as well… hell in 1983 I was at Varsity, a real party animal and skirt chaser and did not pass all my subjects, then went to do National Service in 1984 and 1985 and came out a changed person with lots of ambition and self-dicipline… and did well at Varsity.

Never lost the Party Animal though… heheheehe

21@ Tight Head – The only good Lawyer is a dead lawyer… hehehe

Im gonna make make a prediction and say the following…

Bulls 1st or 2nd place on the log…
    Stormers 5th or 6th
    Sharks 4th or 5th
    Cheetahs… somewhere between 10 and 7… probably 9th.
    Lions will avoid a bottom two spot, but then there is always 11th.

But I could be horribly wrong.

The ultimate would be if the Sharks, Stormers AND Bulls make the top 4. And the Lions and Cheetahs finish top 10.

24@ Greenpoint-Tailgunner – Bold predictions….

10 – Snoek, You are 100% there, pressure on em Bulls 😀

Saying that think Bulls could be in the final again this year and probably win it. Saders will be right up there for sure too. Hope with the Sharks rubbish draw we can too, just cant see us doing it this year. We play some great teams on their home turf. Going to be tough for our Sharkies.

8 – Walla…. Maybe 😆

One thing I would like to see from ALL SA Super 14 Franchises this year is the killer instinct to not only get well ahead on the score board but NOT TO SIT BACK AND DEFEND A LEAD, but rather to go for the total kill when they’re ahead!

28 – GBS, Think we would all like to see that killer instinct. Like Bulls had against the Chiefs in the final last year.

If the Boks is going to be rested during CC, i predict a Cheetahs win in final.

Thinking the Weepee is gonna complain if their new Boks can`t play. Hehehe

Total 123 users including 0 member, 123 guests, 0 bot online