Just yesterday I posted an article about the Reds where Will Genia said that the success of the team will greatly depends on the mindset of the players. Low and behold, today I came across a similar statement, this one from yet another perennial cellar dweller, the Cheetahs.

Returning team manager, Eugene van Wyk said the Cheetahs should not only aim to be competitive in the Super14, but have to believe that they can win it.

“They should not just focus on making the semi-finals or doing better than the Lions, but rather on winning the series,” he said.

He believes the Free State Cheetahs’ success in last year’s Currie Cup is down to a similar goal and believes it can do the trick in the Super14.

He said the success of the Cheetahs in the Currie Cup and lack of success in the Super competition is due to a psychological matter.

“When I was at the Bulls it went just as badly early on. I believe the Cheetahs will have a better year this time,” he said.

Better continuity will, according to him, also help the side to perform better

“It’s the second year where we will play with virtually the same side,” he said.

He also believes they will be up against virtually the same sides of the Bulls and Sharks in the Super14 that they played against in the Currie Cup.

“The players showed in the Currie Cup that they can do the business against these teams.”

He identifies scrumming power, the cohesion in the pack, a more direct approach by the backline and team unity as points that helped them perform well in the 2009 Currie Cup. These elements now have to be carried over into the Super14.

Talk is cheap and all I see is a lot of believes but very little in way of change to make sure we don’t see a repeat of the previous Super 14 campaigns of the Cheetahs. I was very outspoken about Naka towards the end of the 2009 Super 14 which carried into the first part of the Currie Cup. Somehow he managed to restore some faith with reaching the final but the closer I get to the kick-off for 2010 the more worried I am getting. I have seen very little to give me comfort about Naka having learned some lessons and using that to improve results in the Super 14.

Hopefully the team will surprise us but I unfortunately foresee yet another long season for us supporters, culminating in me reviving the “get rid of Naka” supporters club long before the last game in the Super 14.

14 Responses to Talking up the Cheetahs

Swanie good morning
    There is a lot off talk now. Think it will build up more and more, the first 3 games will show the way this season will pan out. Your team have a tough start. So do all.

More SuperB! True but I am gatvol of hearing how things will be better this year, there is really nothing to tell me it will be the case at the Cheetahs.

Swanie if i must rank the Talk this year i would find it difficult to pick between the Lions and Stormer fans being the most self assured.
    At this stage i would give the credit to the Stormers and Rassie for slowing down a bit.

Now it is for sure Lions, Lions this Lions that and Dick Muir this and Dick Muir that , new players gives them orgasms it just go on and on. Well maybe it is their time to talk now, they might just disappear later in the season.

Stormers try to keep quieter but it is difficult, The player say a lot. J Fourie is a real motormouth.

hehehe superB, ja jong, they need to get their talk in before there is nothing to talk about! I do find it funny though that it is always the bottom feeders that have the most to say before a ball is even kicked in anger, wonder why?

Then of course you get the same people usually saying, just watch us NEXT year! Well you know, I said that for 28 years and then gave up…and what happened, we did it in the 29th year! Maybe I could learn from these people and be more patient…

To be fair what do you expect them to say? Oh we hope to win 1 game? They have to be positive, or am I wrong?

Loosehead also true, thats also why we participate on a blog, to say something. But as long as we are man enough to take it on the chin when things do not go the way we proclaimed. If we can give it we must take it.

Dunno Loosehead, maybe something like we looked at last year and the year before that, we identified certain serious issues/problems which we addressed and expect these to pay off in the upcoming compitition.

I like the idea of being positive because if you are not you should rather stay home but the Cheeyahs needs a little more than positive thinking I think.

superBul: for sure.

Swanie: Without a 10 we are in deep kak. Forwards should be close to as good as any in the S14.

More more
    Swanie en Super, is julle twee al weer skaam vir julle moedertaal?
    Oor spelers wat dit en dat sê, ek was al op ‘n nuuskonferensie of twee, en dit wat jy in die koerante lees en hoe die spelers voel is meeste van die tyd twee heel verskillende goed. Die joernaliste sal byvoorbeeld vir Jacque Fourie vra “dink jy jy is die beste senter in die wereld?” Antwoord hy nee, skryf hulle more hy het geen selfvertroue nie, antwoord hy ja, skryf hulle hoe windgat hy is. Almal van ons is gou om te sê die spelers moet hulle bekke hou en op die veld praat, maar tog wil ons die “inside” storie hoor en almal wil weet wat in die spelers se koppe aangaan.
    Die Lions ouens raas baie vanjaar, maar dit lyk my hulle is van plan om hul plek in die semifinals oop te koop! Lees vanoggend in die plaaslike koerant een van die Stormer spelers vertel ook hulle wil die beste S14 seisoen nog ooit vir die Stormers he. Eers ook gedink, “hou jou bek!”, maar toe weer, as jy nie deelneem om te wen nie en nie glo jy kan wen nie, hoekom dan in die eerste plek deelneem?

Saturday, September 19, 2009
    Saving her hat

An old lady was standing at the railing of the cruise ship‚ holding her hat on tightly so that it wouldn’t blow off in the wind.

A gentleman approached her and said: “Pardon me‚ madam. I do not intend to be forward‚ but did you know that your dress is blowing up in this high wind?”

“Yes‚ I know‚” said the lady‚ “I need both hands to hold onto this hat.”

“But‚ madam‚ you must know that your privates are exposed!” said the gentleman in earnest.

The woman looked down‚ then back up at the man and replied‚ “Sir‚ anything you see down there is 85 years old. I just bought this hat yesterday!”

Posted by lazerjock66 at 9:55 AM 0 comments Links to this post

Friday, November 28, 2008
    The Warden

A game warden was driving down the road when he came upon a young boy carrying a wild turkey under his arm.

He stopped and asked the boy, ‘Where did you get that turkey?’

The boy replied, ‘What turkey?’

The game warden said, ‘That turkey you’re carrying under your arm.’

The boy looks down and said, ‘Well, lookee here, a turkey done roosted under my arm!’

The game warden said, ‘Now look, you know turkey season is closed, so whatever you do to that turkey, I’m going to do to you.

If you break his leg, I’m gonna break your leg. If you break his wing, I’ll break your arm. Whatever you do to him, I’ll do to you. So, what are you gonna do with him?’

The little boy said, ‘I guess I’ll just kiss his ass and let him go!’

😳 cant even cut and paste today?

anyway gbs
    are you waiting for me to kiss the turkey’s ass before we get a cricket thread?

An older, white haired man walked into a jewelery store one Friday evening with a beautiful young gal at his side. He told the jeweler he was looking for a special ring for his girlfriend.

The jeweler looked through his stock and brought out a $5,000 ring.

The old man said, “No, I’d like to see something more ‘special’.”

At that statement, the jeweler went to his special stock and brought another ring over. “Here’s a stunning ring at only $40,000,” the jeweler said.

The young lady’s eyes sparkled and her whole body trembled with excitement. The old man seeing this said, “We’ll take it.”

The jeweler asked how payment would be made and the old man stated, “By check. I know you need to make sure my check is good, so I’ll write it now and you can call the bank Monday to verify the funds and I’ll pick the ring up Monday afternoon,” he said.

Monday morning, the jeweler phoned the old man. “There’s no money in that account,” he said.

“I know,” said the old man, “But let me tell you about my weekend!”

11 – Ash,…hehe. That was funny mate. 😆

GBS where is our crici thread?

A man walks into a restaurant with a full-grown ostrich behind him. The waitress asks them for their orders.
    The man says, ‘A hamburger, fries and a coke,’ and turns to the ostrich, ‘What’s yours?’

‘I’ll have the same,’ says the ostrich.

A short time later the waitress returns with the order ‘That will be $9.40, please,’ and the man reaches into his pocket and pulls out the exact change for payment.

The next day, the man and the ostrich come again and the man says, ‘A hamburger, fries and a coke.’

The ostrich says, ‘I’ll have the same.’

Again the man reaches into his pocket and pays with exact change. This becomes routine until the two enter again.

‘The usual?’ asks the waitress.

‘No, this is Friday night, so I will have a steak, baked potato and a salad,’ says the man.

‘Same,’ says the ostrich.

Shortly the waitress brings the order and says, ‘That will be $32.62.’

Once again the man pulls the exact change out of his pocket and places it on the table.

The waitress cannot hold back her curiosity any longer. ‘Excuse me, sir. How do you manage to always come up with the exact change in your pocket every time?’

‘Well,’ says the man, ‘several years ago I was cleaning the attic and found an old lamp. When I rubbed it, a Genie appeared and offered me two wishes. My first wish was that if I ever had to pay for anything, I would just put my hand in my pocket and the right amount of money would always be there.’

‘That’s brilliant!’ says the waitress. ‘Most people would ask for a million dollars or something, but you’ll always be as rich as you want for as long as you live!’

‘That’ s right. Whether it’s a gallon of milk or a Rolls Royce, the exact money is always there,’ says the man.

The waitress asks, ‘What’s with the ostrich?’

The man sighs, pauses and answers, ‘My second wish was for a tall chick with a big butt and long legs who agrees with everything I say.’

Total 231 users including 0 member, 231 guests, 0 bot online