The Sharks took on the Western Force in a warm-up match at Newlands, Cape Town tonight. This was the match thread for discussion of the game. See match summary below.

Check these stunning Photo’s of the game:

[cincopa 10545820]

Match Summary:

So the Sharks lost the game. But, like warm-up games are supposed to be, it really taught us nothing. At some stage I would prefer to have watched paint dry, than watching the game.

The two John’s, Mitchell and Plumtree, obviously had two different approaches to the game. The local John as expected said that he was happy with his preparation and that the score really meant nothing, where the Ausie John said that his first 15 combinations were tried and tested.

Plumtree admit that the areas of concern were the scrum and line-outs as well as the number of turn arounds. Both coaches admit that the penalty count of 31 was too much, but was expected.

Mitchell said that they will leave South African shores happy and content with the fact that they achieved what they set out to do.

The Sharks at some stages looked as if they were suffering from typical first game syndrome, but it would be a stupid man not to have seen the class in the second half team of the Sharks. The Stormers should expect a different team to the one that was on the pitch tonight come Friday.

It is difficult to single out any players in the Sharks team as the team changed way too much during the 80 minutes. Kankowski caught my eye and I think he had a “if you want my place, beat my performance” mind set which he obviously wanted to send out to Alberts. Plumtree obviously avoided questions around legal battles around Alberts, but did go as far as to say that he has already accepted Alberts as a Shark. Tank Lanning, a well known journalist, sat next to me and we agreed that Alberts looked overweight. Louis de Villiers from Rapport rates Alberts highly and thought he had a good game, a sentiment I don’t share. It is my opinion that Alberts will be competing with Deysel in the Sharks team this year.

Players that would want to forget this game is Dumond, Kockott and Ndungane. I had no idea what Plumtree was doing when he had a backline of Kockott, Lambie, Andries Strauss and Vulindlu next to each other. From what was exhibited tonight in the backline, Plumtree has no idea who he will be playing where.

To bet against the Sharks would be foolish. There is simply too much quality players. I expect Plumtree to start with his strongest team on Friday, and like all local derbies, this one would also be played with all guns blazing.

Like a mate of mine commented: No South African team likes to lose against another, warm up game or not. I, for one, am looking forward to great game on Friday night.

Sharks: No score

Western Force: 2 Conversions Andre Pretorius, 1 Try Sam Wykes, 1 Try Ryan Cross, 1 Try Cameron Shepard, 1 Try & 1 Conversion James O’Conner

The Sharks:

15 Stefan Terblanche, 14 Luzuko Vulindlu, 13 Waylon Murray, 12 Riaan Swanepoel, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Monty Dumond, 9 Rory Kockott, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Steven Sykes, 4 Alistair Hargreaves, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements – from: Bismarck du Plessis, John Smit, Johann Muller, Jacques Botes, Charl McLeod, Andries Strauss, Odwa Ndungane, Patric Cilliers, Willem Alberts, Gerhard Mostert, Patrick Lambie, Adrian Jacobs, JP Pietersen.

Western Force squad:

15 James O’Conner 14 Dane Haylett-Petty 13 Ryan Cross 12  Sam Harris 11 Cameron Shepherd 10 Andre Pretorius 9 Brett Sheehan 8 Richard Brown 7 David Pocock 6 Matt Hodgson 5 Nathan Sharpe (C) 4 Sam Wykes 3 Matt Dunning 2 Ryan Tyrell 1 Kieran Longbottom 16 Ben Whittaker 17 Nic Henderson 18 Tom Hockings 19 Ben McCalman 20 Chris O”Young 21 Mitch Inman 22 Mark Bartholomeusz 23 Mark Swanepoel 24 Josh Tatupu 25 Joelin Rapana 26 Tim Fairbrother 27 TBA 28 Richard Stanford

Date: Tuesday, January 26
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-off: 19.00 (17.00 GMT; 01.00, January 27 WAST)
Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Matt Kemp (South Africa), Quinton Immelman (South Africa)

330 Responses to Sharks 0 vs Western Force (19) 26 – Game Thread (Full time)

Aag julle.

Ek sal nie te veel in die game lees as ek julle is nie.
    Moet by se, ‘n span kan seker ook nie so sleg wees nie 😯

It must be Shark breeding season, or maybe these are the Raggies and not the Blue Pointers….I’ll reserve judgement.

KP, dink jy dit sal ‘n regte besluit wees as die Stormers dit doen?

One thing is for sure – this will certainly spice up the exchanges between players and management.

Nothing like a good reality check before the results really start to matter. This loss will ensure that the Sharks are competitive in the Super 14.

265 (Now my 4th time trying to post) Snoek I feel the same, think though against the Stormers we should know our best starting team. Well hoping. Then not too worried as long as we get it right against the Chiefs. Seems a lot of homework needs to be done.

Cheers snoekie..

OK, Isi, will read your report tommorow.

Cheers

274@ willievz – I agree Willie… same happened to the Bulls pre-2009 season!

GBS, gooi bietjie die Bulls se span vir Saterdag in ‘n nuwe draad. Sien die span is beskikbaar by die Bulls se webblad.

272 – 4Man… 😆

How you mate? Has the weather got any better in London? We had a all mighty storm here in Umhlanga about a hour back. Our weather not as normal this time of year, although the humidity is in full swing at the moment.

Jis!!!!!!now I see Keith Richards has given up dopping, Sharks playing not so well, the Rolling Stones stopping rolling….what next!!!!, my generation is hitting the milestones big time.

281 – 4man, It is called getting OLD…hehehe. Damn don’t feel like it though!

@272
    Howzit Puma, ja it warmed up considerably, but the last two days have been a bit nippy with a wind from the north again. You must stick a picture on your nic for the superbru….I have a feeling that when I see your picture I am going to know you. Umhlanga, I remember driving up there on a dirt road and sleeping under the wild figs one the edge of the cane at Umdloti….that whole area is developed now, a lot has happened in the last 30 years or so!!! Do you remember Mitty Lahana (he owned super tyres efore retiring down to cape st francis at 52) anyway he also fell over a year ago or so…routine operation and his heart stopped…klaar en gedaan. I am now seriously focussing on doing all the things I want to do before I cant do them anymore. hows things with you…particularly business wise…oh the UK officially moved out of recession today.

ok guys I’m out

cheers

Good night all.

Cheers vir eers…

Tjorts Sammajoor en tjorts Blousteballas

Manne en maninne, die site het gehol vandag…. die Page impressions het gevlieg!!

Sowat net oor die 600 comments vir die dag….

Blosteballas… you’re losing you touch !!!

288@ BLOUSTEballetjies – Waar lees jy dit??

283 – 4man, Pleased your weather has warmed up. Here humidity has come with a bolt. Very, very humid at the momeht, tonight rain like it was a thunderstorm like Joburg. Now dead STILL and the barmy warm sub-tropical night is hear with the crickets and african noice of small insects and small frogs. Just the way I love it, espeically hear that in the estate I live in. Brilliant. Been very hot the last 3 days, so the rain is a welcome.

Business wise everything is going spot on so far. Going to sell my Joburg home probably after the world cup. Looking at buying a holiday home in Europe. Spain, Italy, Portugal well somehere in the south where you get good weather. Want to spend 6months there and then here in Umlanga, Probably April to September here. (Best weather in the world that time of year here). Need to sell my Joburg home though. Hoping by June or July or if I don’t get my price for it, just hand onto it for now.

Nah, you will never guess who I am boeta…haha. Well maybe!

4Man our football stadium is BRILLIANT. Superb mate, like nothing you have seen in the world. I feel the best out of all the stadiums in the country that was built. We have a vernicular train that goes over the top or you can walk it like you do on Sydney bridge. Damn fantastic. Have put in application for 4 tickets to the Brazil/Portugal game. HOPING I get em tickets. Will only know on the 1st of Feb.

Good to catch up with you 4man.

290 – Meant, balmy sup-tropical warm nights are (here)

# 289 grootbloubullshit…

Dis boereverneukery… 😯

290 – sorry a few typos there, hear is meant for here.

GBS boet exactly

last season the lions klapped the bulls in the warm up game , need we be reminded who holds the super 14 trophy?? i think not

294 – BdB, I have lost all respect for Rapport. They have become a TABLOID paper. That is such a load of complete crap about Fransie. Get A LIFE RAPPORT. Bloody hell. Bugger them, hope no-one buys there paper ever again.

Fransie is NEVER EVER a gay. Go get your sensantional news somewhere else RAPPORT. Rubbish newspaper, will never ever take them serious again NOT EVER.

295 – Howzit Sharky, Yip think it is all about getting combinations right really. Then we should have put a point or 10 past them. Never seen the game so have no clue. Just reading what is on here.

296 @ Puma – Hehehehe

Noooooooooo man, my Handbriekie works for Media24, to be exact RCP Media, which controls all their Sunday newspapers and Rapport falls within their stable…. she’s not envolved on the editorial side though but holds one of the higher positions there on the Advertising side….

So, the newspapers must sell, and sell well… because that helps her and her Advertising team to sell Advertisements and for her to reach those targets that the fellas at director level at Media24 sets for her to reach.

All newspapers are heading towards the freegin tabloidy-type of shit world-wide… unfortunately that is what the human race thrives on…. humans are a bunch of sheep really!

Oh fark, I see Sondag is envolved as well… another one which falls under Handbriekie’s stable….. hehehehe

294 – What a load of rubbish!!!!!!

GBS, this site and the Facebook site looks great. If this is how RT is starting the season, it is going to be GREAT one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Total 28 users including 0 member, 28 guests, 0 bot online