Provincial rugby unions and other stakeholders will be asked for input on a comprehensive rest plan that Springbok coach Peter de Villiers is planning for South Africa’s top players.

De Villiers told Sport24 on Tuesday that he will consult widely to ensure that top Boks are well rested and at peak physical condition for next year’s Rugby World Cup in New Zealand.

He believes all South Africa’s leading players have been refreshed by an off-season break, but nevertheless views it as important to manage them with an eye to next year.

“It’s the right time now to be considering 2011. I want recommendations by rugby unions because we have to work together in the best interests of the players,” said De Villiers.

“My job is to consult with all the stakeholders – there is many more than just SA Rugby. There are unions, sponsors, suite holders … there are also agreements with SANZAR that need to be honoured.

“I want to see what the unions have to say. What is easy for the Lions and Cheetahs may be difficult for the Blue Bulls and Sharks. I sincerely believe that the unions will make decisions in the interests of the players and SA Rugby.

“As soon as I have finished consulting with the unions, I will go to the sponsors. The findings of the report will be made public as the public are also stakeholders.”

De Villiers also thanked the country’s top unions for co-operation that has already been given.

“Every player that was on tour got four weeks rest. Here I have to give the unions full marks for the co-operation with SA Rugby,” he said.

“Show me any person whose body is not refreshed after four weeks’ rest.”

He added that the Super14 teams’ week plans are also aimed at keeping players fresh.

“Rest is the component that will be very important in the discussions (with unions). I know some of them have already cancelled Monday training sessions. It’s a step in the right direction as it is 14 weeks of Mondays, which amounts to two weeks’ rest,” said De Villiers.

The Bok coach believes that the players’ success in the first part of last year played a role in their disappointing end-of-season tour.

“Your exhaustion is linked to a number of components – psychological, physical and even social – that impact on your performance,” said De Villiers.

“If you go and see how many highlights the Boks experienced in 2009 and you consider everything, including the players’ performances in the Super14 and Currie Cup, there would have been fatigue based on the players achieving their goals.

“The end-of-season tour was a direct result of there being so many highlights.”

South Africa’s contracted Springboks were on Sunday lectured by sports scientist Professor Tim Noakes in Cape Town about managing themselves ahead of next year.

“The general theme was that they need to cut back this year and do everything next year,” said Noakes.

“South Africa’s players cannot expect to be competitive in the World Cup unless they play less.

“The captain (John Smit) also made the point that it is not in the players’ hands as they cannot fight with their employers. The directive has to come from above.”

22 Responses to Div’s comprehensive rest plan for Springboks

Asking the unions what to do is not the way to go imo. They need to contract the boks nationally and then they decide how to play them.

Blouste, dit lyk op jou foto of jy vooroor val. 😆

Gelukkig het jy ‘n lekker bos hare om jou val te keer. 😆

Klomp lelike bliksems op RT, en die boonste foto stel ‘n standaard van lelik. 😆

Die wat nie foto’s op het nie is seker nou lekker nuuskierig.

From what I read 22 Boks will be rested for the CC. (I know some wont agree on this or the unions) I have no problems with that. Players have to rest somewhere during the year. I am a strong believer of always sending your very best to play the tests. So for me resting them during the CC is the way to go. Should have a 5 week rest after the eoyt as well.

One bye in the S14 is never enough rest either. There should be two. Not one after the other, rather split it, one bye after 5 weeks then the next around 10 weeks. Add that with the rest after the CC and after the eoyt, players would be getting around 11 weeks break on and off during the year. Which for me is better than 8 or 7 weeks straight after the year end. Body needs little breaks all the way through the year.

Tim can probably tell us more on this.

Helloooooooooooooooooooooooooo

4@ Snoek – So gepraat van lelik… jy is self nie juis ‘n “Oil Painting” nie, soos my oorle Pa, GBS Maksimus sou sê.

Jy is eerder ‘n abstrakte moderne kunswerk… een van daai waar die proporsies verwronge is en mens moet raai wat skree die kleure vir jou…. hehehehe

O, en die wat noggie foto’s ingestuur het nie is seker EERS SKREEULELIK…. hey Puma…

8 – GBS 😆

9@ Puma – I take that shy 😆 as a confirmation….

He he he

@snoek

Jong die kriteria was ‘n “ordentlike” foto.

Dis al wat gehad het jong, die ander is almal gesensor… 😆

O ja ,more almal !!!

10 – GBS, You said it….hehehe. 😀

More, Blouste.

12@ Blouste – Hoe hang die balle?

O ja snoek, daai hare kom so saam vanaf ‘n paar jaar se paramedic wees.
    Baie geriefliker as ‘n ou 2 uur in die oggend moet opstaan en jaag na ‘n call toe.

Nou is dit plain luigeit… so ekstra 15 minute le elke oggend 😆

Gbs

Nee mooi man…

Die een so effens laer soos dit ‘n stoetbul betaam… 😆

Both Asblik (Ashley) and Stinkvis (Snoek) has sent new pictures in for me for the bloggers gallery… I will set them up shortly…. what do you think?

Asblik:

Asblik

Stinkvis:

Snoek

@ 18

ROLMFAO !!!

Snoek

Ek sien jy’t sommer ‘n familie foto ingestuur, word dit toegelaat ?

18 – GBS, 😆

Watch it boet, they will get you back….hehehehe.

Whe do the Bulls have their bye, after the 2nd week ?

So most injured players should be back after that hey ?

Total 82 users including 0 member, 82 guests, 0 bot online