Would a loss against the Irish make this year a disappointing one for the Springboks?

This is a question that I hear many rugby lovers ask in the wake of a disappointing tour of Europe. Let’s firstly have a look at the results of tests played this year.

SA 26 – Lions 21 (H)

SA 28 – Lions 25 (H)

SA 9 – Lions 28 (H)

SA 28 – NZ 19 (H)

SA 31 – NZ 19 (H)

SA 29 – Aus 17 (H)

SA 32 – Aus 25 (A)

SA 6 – Aus 21 (A)

SA 32 – NZ 29 (A)

SA 13 – France 20 (A)

SA 32 – Italy 10 (A)

This gives us a winning record so far of 73 % which could become 67% if we lose to Ireland or 75% if we manage to win this weekend. These results gives us an aggregate score against everyone of 24 – 21.

The third test against the Lions was played with an inferior team, and had we played our top players in that game, a win was possibly on the cards. The game against Australia that we lost this year was the most disappointing one for me. We where outplayed that day, and looked like a shadow of the team that won every Tri nations game up to that point.

The test we lost against France was on the cards, and I called the French to win by 8 before kick off. The signs that the players where tired was to be seen in the Currie Cup Semi finals and to some extent in the second half of the final. And to make matters worse for the France game was the fact that we missed some key players.

So in my humble opinion, this was a great year for Springbok rugby, win or lose this weekend, and if we can manage the players better next year, we can have an even better year.

146 Responses to Was this a successful year?

1 2 3 5

Eish, my journalistic juices was flowing this morning.

I honestly believe we had a goodyear (not the tyre), this year. And if we can pull one over the Irish, it will be a great year.

Agreed Snoek, great year if we manage to beat the Irish but only a good year if not> Damn Im still hurting losing to the frogs

Grootblousmile, geluk, jy is die trotse draer van die geel hoedjie in ons Superbru compo.

3 -Disa

The frogs are a much improved team this year, and they look good for 2011 WC.

Dark Horses?

A successful year is ending at the number one ranked team in the world. Can Ireland beat the second ranked team? I think so.

The stupid media saying the boks are falling fast! Can only serve as motivation for the big one.

Irish

This will be a close game, make no mistake, If the boks bring their a game they will win this one in my opinion, but the Irish will give their all to take it.

It’s gonna be a cracker of note.

#8 – Snoek – This is the Big One for us this year! The guys are really motivated. With 80 000 + supporters it is going to croak at Croke Park. The weather is really bad and this could only be a good omen for the Irish, especially if it is going to be played amongst the forwards.

Yrs this has been a great and successful year for the Boks. If Puff Divvy picks BJ at 3 , John at 2 Wian at 1 and Meisiekind at 12 we will smash the rubbish Micks.

How does one measure a successful year?

Do you take the year as a whole and say, “We won 75% of our games”?
    Whom do you measure against?
    Do you take IMPROVEMENT or REGRESSION into consideration, in other words, where the team stands now compared to where they stood at the biginning of the year?
    Do you factor out CLEAR MISTAKES in management and only look at the broader picture?

If measured according to percentage, then 67% will not be good enough, but 75% will… and we should always strive for more than 80%.

If measured against the rest of the World’s teams, sure, most of them would give their eye-teeth to achieve this, but if measured against the All Blacks (they strive for more than 80% win ratio and achieve that every year except for the annus horabilus of 2009), then it would be a normal year, provided we win against the Irish.

IMPROVEMENT or REGRESSION is a difficult measure, on the one hand we have beaten the All Blacks 3 times, home and away, on the other hand our scrums have rapidly deteriorated and we still do not have a clearer picture about who are our REAL SECOND STRINGERS, we have a shortage in key positions (tight head, fly half, right wing and fullback).

Factoring in clear mistakes or rather, bad choices and selections and bad timing and a lack of proper management, can be an embarrassing excercise…. think about the crazy mass substitutions which is still being made in every Bokke game, think about the BADDDDDDDDDDD selections in the front row, think about the third rate 2nd stringer selections, think about the current list of injuries and how fatigued the front line players are now, think about Prof Tim Noakes’s warnings that we’ll feel the effects next year and thereafter…. then it might actually be considered a baddddddddddd season.

My plea is for balance when all is considered, with my measure we had a goodish / OK-ish / adequate season… and that is not good enough, there MUST BE IMPROVEMENTS… adequate is not good enough…. only world domination over an extended period is good enough!

Next year we must dominate the WORLDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD!!

@10 BWAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

But if Smit is at 3, Kankowski on the field and Jacobs at 12 the Boks will see their arses without a mirror.

Sorry Loosehead I had to laugh

@12 Wot yer laffing at eh?

9 – Irish

I have always liked the Irish most of the Northern Hemisphere teams, they are very passionate about the game like most people in SA. But this weekend is all about the green and gold.

May the right shade of green win. 😆

It seems certain to us that he will pick Beast Smit BJ, but Jacobs is a certainty at 12

The Micks [and their supporters] remind me of the Sharks [and their supporters].
    Lots of talk and hype and only the occasional trophy.

Ireland’s Call – only our rugby anthem

Come the day And come the hour Come the power and the glory – We have come to answer Our country’s call. From the four proud provinces of Ireland – Ireland, Ireland Together standing tall Shoulder to shoulder We’ll answer Ireland’s call – we’ll answer Irelands’ call.

#18 🙁

Loosehead – Hey, watch it! Leave the Sharks out of this.

But agree on your front row. This weekend is all about the right personel for the job.

And what do you think of Deysel’s test debut?

Loose forwards will be: Burger, Brussouw, Roussouw

19- On Saturday it will be called Irelands Fall. 😆

22 @ Irish

They should play Brussow, Deysel and Roussouw/Potgieter in my opinion.

Loosehead – I think a lot of people are underestimating the Irish. We love it.

Snoek – I’m only saying what they are saying here. Agree with you. Seems the team is picked but not announced yet. Unless they pulling wool over our eyes. They got Deysel on the bench.

Snoek……sorry boet. [Farkin Poachers GGGGRRRRRRRRRRR]

You know that I don’t rate Deysel, but he was huge on the day. He played a very very good game and should start alongside Brussouw and Paksla on Saturday.

#25 Hi Irish,

Talking about underestimation: what are the odds on a Bok win in Dublin?

Irish, I do rate Ireland and if Snor picks his [read Jacobs at 12 and Smit at 3] team you will beat the Boks.

I just can’t stand all of this buddy buddy chummy chummy shite before a game. I prefer a little spite between the supporters, and the Sharks of course.

27 – LH

Good to see you acknowledge greatness for a change 😆

1 2 3 5

Total 57 users including 0 member, 57 guests, 0 bot online