Tonight, the 2nd and last midweek game takes place for the touring Springboks when their midweek-team takes on a South African laden Saracens team at the Wembley Stadium

All in all it looks like it will be 32 South Africans on the pitch out of a possible 44.

This midweek-outfit looks decidedly stronger in the forwards than the team which lost against the Tigers at the start of the tour, but the same lame backline has been selected… and by lame I do not mean to say that there are’nt great individuals amongst them, what I’m referring to is that pivotal players, who are not in form playes yet again.

Heini Adams at scrum half looked out of sorts behind a pack going backwards and Ruan Pienaar has continued his abysmal form of late.

In the centres, the 2 brilliant players, Wyanand and Juan, did not get any ball in the previous encounter and we hope that they get opportunities tonight.

Tonight we see a quality front row playing for the Bokke and Jean Deysel replaces Raubenheimer, who looked totally out of sorts in the 1st tour match.

My worry is still centred around combinations in the Bokke team, or rather the lack of combinations.

Saracens,  who were founded in 1876, (just after Pietman was born – hehehe), is a rich club, with strong South African backing and a host of players from South Africa.

Saracens will be a settled side, fielding nearly their strongest combination, who has taken them to the top of the Premiership.

The Saracens will be up for it – 10 South Africans with their greatest opportunity to prove their worth while at the same time they are enjoying meeting old friends. When old friends become rivals there is likely to be added spice to the rivalry.

Personally I think this should be an epic match, great duels between players from both sides who all want to show they still have what it takes to wear the Green and Gold.

It is extremely difficult to pick a winner for tonight…. on the one hand the Bokke with a clear lack of combinations chosen, yet they are still some of the best SA can offer… and on the other hand a bunch of ex-saffas who are playing in a very solid team. My prediction will be Saracens by 5 – 10, simply because I value settled combinations more than individual brilliance. The best Team will win and Saracens is a TEAM.

From the published and announced teams, it seems that Jean Deysel will be wearing No 6 (Openside Flank in SA) and that Dewalt Potgieter will be at No 7 (Blindside Flank in SA)…. does this mean that Dewalt is eyed as Scalk Burger’s possible replacement for the Italy Test, at blindside… or is this just a co-incidence?

Saracens:
15 Michael Horak, 14 Noah Cato, 13 Kameli Ratuvou, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 Michael Tagicakibau, 10 Derick Hougaard, 9 Neil de Kock, 8 Ernst Joubert, 7 Justin Melck, 6 Wikus van Heerden (captain), 5 Hugh Vyvyan, 4 Mouritz Botha, 3 Richard Skuse, 2 Ethienne Reynecke, 1 Rhys Gill

Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Carlos Nieto, 18 George Kruis, 19 Andy Saull, 20 Kevin Barrett, 21 Alex Goode, 22 Rodd Penney

South Africa:
15 Earl Rose, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Ruan Pienaar, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Dewald Potgieter (captain), 6 Jean Deysel, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Wian du Preez.

Replacements: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Davon Raubenheimer, 20 François Hougaard, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Riaan Viljoen.

Date: Tuesday, November 17
Venue: Wembley Stadium, London
Kick-off: 19.45 (19.45 GMT; 21.45 SA time)
Expected weather conditions: Scattered clouds with a high of 13°C dropping to 11°C and a southwester of 21 km/h freshening.
Referee: James Jones (Wales)
Assistant referees: Rob Debney (England), Paul Dix (England)
TMO: Brian Abrahams (England)

86 Responses to Preview: Saracens vs Bokke

57@ Pieta – Hello

Check die videos op R-T nou!

Puma
    Saries by 6 or so, you got your pics right this time?
    Hougaard and De Kock are going to kick us to pieces, to the corners….and then those big Saracen drivers, oh vey!!!
    Hougaard to score about 15 points tonite, check.

58 – Irish, I remember that day when you went to work with a huge hangover. Remember you telling us…hehehe. Enjoy your youth bud. You only have it once. I know I did. I had a huge jol at that age. Was a party animal too. Sometimes even at my age I still have a good time. The mind just wont give up saying the body is 30……hehehe.

Well Hello Boys ….

Irish, you are enjoying some down time too…excellent! Hi Piet and Puma…

They are sold out Puma, but sometimes you are lucky if you arrive at the gates. Always someone selling one or two. I’m a poor lad – so can’t negotiate.

62 – Howzit Piet, I hope not. Our loosies for tonight are very good and so is our front row. Hoping we have a better game with the changes.

#64 Carol – I am too. Going to check out for you tonight. You wearing that natural outfit I suggested hey.

@61
    Gesien GBS, moosa bru!
    Jy maak n lekker nuwe rugbyblog hier, ek se jou.
    Ek het jou bvan dag een af gevra vir videos, nou het ons dit…..en as die manne stry oor n ding soos die Habana ban, dan het ons die evidence, hier op RT!
    Well done old son!
    Praat later….’gaan voort met jou goeie werk, oor weinig was jy getrou, oor veel sal jy aangestel word…..’ 🙂

Listen all my girlfriend has just arrived, so will speak to you all later. Go Boks. Cheers till later.

65 – Maybe you will pick up a ticket. The ones that have tickets and resell them rip you off mate. Go and watch it in a pub the vibe will be good. But nothing like going to the game that would have been awesome.

When Lions were here I went to the first game against Boks and Lions at the tank. Was probably the best time I have ever had with supporters. They were all Irish. They all sat next to me about 8 of them and behind some Scots, one Welsh guy and some from England. We had a brilliant time together.

69 – Irish, Cheers mate. Enjoy the game and try and post with us later.

67 – Piet you going to blog with us later during the game?

67 – and scare all supporters…no I will go fully clothed thanks!!
    Have a great afternoon….!!

irish devil @ 40
    as puma mentioned in #43 voldy is mentioned on here when someone speaks of keo.
    voldy is of course a referal to lord voldemort, the dark character in the harry potter series. i think guys started using the name voldemort (and later voldy) cause in the potter series voldemort is mostly refered to as
    you-know-who or
    he-who-must-not-be-named!!

hope it helped!! 😆

64 – Hello Carol,

What time are you leaving for the game?

Habana has been found NOT GUILTY!
    HeehaaaHaaa!
    Justice at last!
    And that Frog #15 is in deep kukkas for trying to pull that one off
    FRU looking int it, I see…
    Mooi manne, get rid of those round ball imitators, this is a man’s game called RUGGAS!
    Up yours Mr Ozzie Citer, I say.

75 – Puma, probably leave here at 4.30 our time (6.30 over with you) so we can have a few beers and soak up some atmosphere!!

pietman @ 76
    good news, piet
    hope they take action against the mentioned French player, cause he couldve started a nasty incident!!

62@Pietman – Seriously you don’t fear Neil te Kak? Derrick Hougaard is a good player but a little one-dimensional at times. They should’ve started Francois Hougaard at scrumhalf. I really hope Ruan has a cracker tonight. Would certainly silence some fickle bastards.

Can anyone enlighten me as to where I can go to see the pics? Or is it for regulars only? Fanks.

@79 Ruan better pull finger. He has been kakkas most of 2009.

Irish Devil,

My cousin is in Ireland and will be attending the game, he says they have an extra ticket for the game. Let me know if you are interested and I will give you his details.

77 – Carol, If you read this before you go. Take your camera and take some pics for us.

Hope it is a good game to watch. Enjoy it Carol.

83 Puma Camera packed, off now byee

See you guys go Bokke,,

80@ Onerb – Send your pic to webmaster@rugby-talk.com and I’ll put it on.

The rule here is that you pay to see the other pictures, with a pic of yourself. So everybody who has sent a pic gets access to the Bloggers Photo Gallery… simple as that.

Liefling – kan jy nie maar vergeet en vergewe (en die Bokkies laat wen??)

Total 60 users including 0 member, 60 guests, 0 bot online