The All Blacks are using Italy to blood a few players with Bay of Plenty pivot Mike Delany being one of three new caps named in Graham Henry’s All Blacks side that will face Italy at the San Siro Stadium in Milan on Saturday.

The banning of flyhalf Dan Carter opened the door for Delaney to get his first start with wing Ben Smith and centre Tamati Ellison also making their test bows in the All Blacks shirt. Rodney So’oialo will captain the side for the fifth time.

But that is not all, old Henry kept just three players from the side that won 19-12 against Wales at Cardiff’s Millennium Stadium last Saturday.

“It will be a marvellous experience playing at the AC Milan ground in front of 82,000. I’m sure that will create a lot of edge for the Italian side and hopefully also for the All Blacks,” said Henry, who defended his selection of a largely inexperienced team.

“We’ve done it before, I dont know if New Zealanders get annoyed about it or if you do.”

Assistant coach Wayne Smith used to live in Italy and knows how passionate the country’s rugby fans can be. He said it would be a test of character for his players.

“I went to the Italy-France game in Rome this year and in the stand opposite me the fans held up cards making out the Italy flag,” he explained.

“It was impressive, it’s going to be passionate and loud. It’s hard to explain that to the boys until they get out there.

“We’ve got to make sure it doesn’t hit them all of a sudden. I think last year against Munster we got caught in the lights a bit, we can’t afford to do that.

“It’s all about: can you stand up under that pressure, have you got the character to be an All Black, and we’ll find out about some young men on Saturday.

New Zealand: 15 Cory Jane, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Luke McAlister, 11 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10 Mike Delany, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Rodney So’oialo (captain), 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Anthony Boric,  4 Tom Donnelly, 3  Neemia Tialata,  2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Replacements: 16 Andrew Hore, 17 John Afoa, 18 Jason Eaton, 19 Richie McCaw, 20 Jimmy Cowan, 21 Stephen Donald, 22 Mils Muliaina.

Date: Saturday, Novermber 14
Venue: San Siro, Milan
Kick-off: 15.00 (14.00 GMT; 03.00 NZ time, Sunday, November 15)
Referee: Stuart Dickinson (Australia)
Assistant referees: Alain Rolland (Ireland), David Changleng (Scotland)
TMO: Tim Hayes (Wales)

20 Responses to Delany steps into All Black hotseat

Because they all household names in the super14 competition, i could have been fooled that this is the AB no 1s.
    Still cant see them losing. AB by 20-30, will be my guess.

What about a surprise in this game?

superB, I think it may be a close affar until the subs come on! Italy is/will be a tough opponent for any second team we, the ABs’ or Wallabies can push out. Henry is taking a chance…

Nee wat die All Blacks sal dit vat met ten minste 15 punte hoor my lied

All Black 2nd stringers will adapt better than the Bokke 2nd stringers…. All Blacks by PLENTYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY !!

How is this for an ooOOHHhh moment :

A decade before Delany, Donnelly & Messam were all team-mates on the Rotorua Boys High First XV dreaming of becoming All Blacks. On Saturday the young boys collective childhood dream comes true 🙂

AB second stringers is their second stringers not like the Springbok second stringers who in fact might some be our 4th stringers.

The game at the 80’000 seat San Siro stadium was a complete sell-out more than a month before kick off. At 80’018 tickets sold this makes for the second largest ever attendance at the stadium for a non-football sporting event.

The largest being, prior to the law where all spectators must be seated, in 1960 super-lightweight world boxing title between Duilio Loi & Carlos Ortiz.

Hello Super !

Got any up to date pics of your kitties ? Seems ages since I saw your babies 🙁

Hellooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo muppits, moepels & mopkoppe!

6 – RP

Morning RP, I think it is great for them and wish them the best. Nothing like getting selected for a team you have dreamed of being in all your life.

Now wish our daft selectors selected our 2nd best side to play Tigers. Think it is our 3rd or 4th best that played there. Except for about 5 players the rest never deserved selection. Now 2 of the 2nd best that were left at home are on our bench for the test against the French 🙄 The mind wonders with these selectors. Those two should have played last Friday and yes be on the bench this Friday but match fit. Now they come in cold. Daft.

You lucky in NZ you don’t have this to go through. So good luck to your players that got selected and GOOD LUCK TO ABS for the rest of their games in the NH. They my 2nd team from abroad always have been.

11 – RP

What I meant there is my beloved Boks will always be my first team and the ABs my 2nd. Support ABs always BUT only when they are not playing the Boks 😉

10 – GBS

Morning boeta.

Good team the ABs have up there. I go with you Super ABs to win by about 20 or so.

13@ Puma – Morning Oerwoudkat…

15 – GBS

Howzit boet, Just reading the article by Super. Phew!! Going to be tough against the French but think our Bokke going to sneak it.

Think the adrenalin is flowing in them. They win these tests then we on top of the world. Creamed the lot then this year. Now hoping.

Good team, AB’s should still win.

RP, i will get the latest photos next week. Watch out, they are almost ready to be released.

More AB 🙂
    This is why i love being a kiwi – Solialo on the team & being captain this week :

“These guys are hungry, they haven’t played for a while & we’ve got three guys playing their first caps,” he said. “You don’t have to say anything to get them up. They’re playing for themselves, their families and their country. They don’t need any more motivation than that.”

As to his captaincy “That’s always an honour, first it’s an honour pulling on the jersey itself, but to lead the boys makes it pretty special.”

Super
    Could you release one to me ? 😉

Spoiled for choice …

Graham Henry toughest assignment this was week picking his team … the team to represent the All Black Brand & New Zealand to feature in an episode of Italy’s “Next Top Model” where they paired up with models to cook with fresh NZ ingredients.

In the end cooking pinnies were handed to 5 brave souls – Ma’a Nonu, Andy Ellis, Andrew Hore, Anthony Boric and Mils Muliaina … Hopefully their envious team mates will be talking to them by game time ! 😆

Total 52 users including 0 member, 52 guests, 0 bot online