Springbok coach, Peter de Villiers, has made a few changes to the Bok team as some are rested and some injured.

Springbok coach Peter de Villiers and the National selectors have made four changes to the forward pack for Saturday’s Test against Italy in Udine.

Cheetahs prop Wian du Preez will make his Test debut, while Adriaan Strauss, Andries Bekker and Danie Rossouw replace Bismarck du Plessis, Victor Matfield and Schalk Burger respectively.

Du Plessis and Burger are injured, with Matfield included on the bench.

The Springbok team is (Test caps in brackets):
Zane Kirchner (2)
JP Pietersen (31)
Jaque Fourie (52)
Adi Jacobs (29)
Bryan Habana (55)
Morne Steyn (10)
Fourie du Preez (53)
Ryan Kankowski (11)
Danie Rossouw (44)
Heinrich Brüssow (11)
Andries Bekker (19)
Bakkies Botha (64)
John Smit (91) – captain
Adriaan Strauss (6)
Wian du Preez (uncapped)

Replacements:
Tendai Mtawarira (20)
BJ Botha (17)
Victor Matfield (90)
Jean Deysel (uncapped)
Francois Hougaard (uncapped)
Ruan Pienaar (35)
Wynand Olivier (25)

197 Responses to Changes to Bok team as some are rested

@180
    Oh, and less I forget, add Pierre Spies to the my list of MIA.
    He is sadly missed on this tour.

So the official line from PDV about the scrums is that we only use the scrum to restart play and so we only push until the ball is at the feet of the number 8, whereas the NH teams make the scrum a contest and like to push on from there further.
    Poor Wiaan on his test debut is made to say the same thing and that know that we have learnt this the scrums will be better.
    All former prop forwards must be shaking their heads and crying into their breakfast this morning!!
    It is no use even trying to explain how ridiculous this explanation is.
    It merely highlights just how far backwards we have become about scrumming.

182@ Tight Head – I started listening and watching Boots & All last night and when it came to Snorrie’s interview I wanted to listen with special attention…

He made me cringe at the things he said, the way he and Dick and Gary seems to perceive things….. I lost all appetite to watch further.

How anybody will convince them of the absolute MUST of a solid scrum is beyond me. Problem is, the 2 excellent front rowers in Wian du Preez and Adriaan Strauss will battle on Saturday, not because of their own ineptness, but rather because of the lack of co-hesion in the scrum as a whole, the lack of a 120% joint effort.

Surely Gary Gold MUST take a LOT of the blame here… is it co-incidence that whilst he was forwards coach at WP/Stormers they regressed into the now famous “light five” and have managed to ressurrect themselves to a tight five again since he has left to join the Bokke?? Now the Bokke clearly seem to have a “light five”.

Practise, technique, technique, technique…. practise
    Scrum, scrum, scrum….
    Timing the hit…. timing the shove… timing the shift… again and again and again… until it is flawless, that is what is need, for weeks and months on end from now onwards!

GBS you are 1000% correct in your post, and I had the same feeling last night when I watched boots and all.
    The most disturbing thing for me is the total lack of understanding that I hear from the coaches about this scrumming problem.
    If they dont understand the problem, how can they fix it?
    Obviously bring in an expert.
    However it is not a quick fix, and will need a solid committment over time.
    It seems to me that the coaches just talk kak about this to defend their positions because they simply dont know anything about it.
    I would like the coach to stand up and say:
    We have a problem with out technical scrumming in SA.
    It is a highly specialized area and we realize that we have to find the right scrum coaches to set about a national program that ensures that we put our scrumming on the road to recovery, where we can out scrum the best in the world in years to come.
    We are in favour of setting up a scrumming school under the banner of SARU.
    This school will develop a SA scrumming method that will be taught from under 10 schoolboy rugby all the way through to the Boks.
    It will take time but eventually all teams will scrum with the same technique, discipline and attitude.

184@ Tight Head – You dreamer…. hehehehe

Yeah, that is what SHOULD HAPPEN, but it’s not going to happen…. trek af, plak toe, pos die pakkie oorsee….

Bring back the ELV`s and the Scrumming problem disappear!

Actually, i blame the ELV hangover for the scrum problem.

Just hope Kanpoefskie doesn`t run himself fattup against an Italian lock again!

Posting by meself in this wilderness.

GBS hehehe!!
    You are right!!
    Why introduce any common sense into SA rugby!!!
    HEHEHE!!!

190@ Tight Head – I sent you a Mail… wanted to put it here, but thought better and mailed it to you!

188 – Pill, Huh! Kanpoefskie 🙄 😆 😆 That is a new one…..hehehe.

Should have had Deysel next to him instead of Danie.

Should still beat Italy though.

183 – GBS,

Morning boet, bottom line Gary Gold is NOT A SCRUM coach. Why can PdV not see that? We need specialist scrum coach like TH has been saying for a very long time.

See that Matfield, FdP and Habs are going to play in the Barbarians team. Gosh!!!!!!! Their season is just never ending. They tired now by that time they will be wishing to just come home.

Just not injuries there please. Not worth it. They need a rest.

Gary Glitter should be ashamed and/or lucky to be involved in any capacity with the Boks….

Crazy stuff there Puma

196 – Pill, It is really daft for those 3 to be playing in sthe Barbarians side. All 3 played in the CC final and went straight into training for this eoyt. They need rest and now hope no injuries.

Cheers out of here now back later.

Total 22 users including 0 member, 22 guests, 0 bot online