It is not often that I listen to Freestaters but this one made quite an interesting point.

The statement he made raised one question for me; “What are we building towards?”

The Boks enjoyed a brilliant 2009 season, one that will go down as one of the best ever in Springbok history, through that many players that were part of this season, and the build-up to it which started in 2004, will in future be remembered as legends of Springbok rugby.

Unfortunately in rugby, as in life, things evolve and change, and if you do not adapt and change with the times, you are often left behind.

Rugby worldwide basically runs on a 4-years cycle, from World Cup to World Cup. Whether we like it or not this is the reality. After most World Cup campaigns the World Champions at the time went through a transition period following their success as most players either retired or moved on and signed lucrative contracts with clubs.

South Africa was lucky in the sense that we were in another cycle, that of the British and Irish Lions which we only see every 12 years, and for most players, something that only comes around once in a career. That meant that South Africa and Peter de Villiers were able to hang onto most of the guys that won the World Cup in 2007 by dangling the golden carrot of winning a series against the Lions in 2009.

As it worked out, the Boks not only achieved that but also managed to record wins in New Zealand twice in two years (something that eluded most Springbok players in the past) and also won the Tri-Nations, South Africa’s third only time they achieved this.

Now as we close out 2009 with a European tour coming up, the only thing left for players is one thing no other team in the world has achieved, retaining the World Cup which comes around again in 2011.

The question on most people’s minds however is whether the heroes of 2007, and 2009 will be around in 2011 to achieve this?

Some of our stalwarts in Victor, John and others would be in their 30’s, with their bodies taking a battering for a good part of 6 years on the international circuit and by the time the next World Cup comes around, it would be 8 years – a tough ask in anyone’s books.

So what are we building towards? Retaining the World Cup in 2011?

If so, are we going about it in the right way?

Will John, Victor, Bakkies, Juan, Jean, Habana and some other guys’ bodies hold out till 2011? Can we be assured they will be conditioned well enough to compete against the world’s best just under 2 years out from now given the battering their bodies have taken, and are still to take leading up to the event?

And how are they going to survive mentally for another 2 years for a bunch of guys that has basically achieved everything the world of rugby had to offer?

The recent semi-finals of the Currie Cup clearly indicated that most of our top Boks, following one hell of a year in 2009, seem jaded, faded or just plain tired, both physically and mentally. Even in the press conference following the Blue Bulls memorable semi-final victory at Newlands Victor Matfield looked like a ghost whose mind was everywhere except in that press conference.

Now if a guy like him seemed mentally tired to even fulfil his duties as player and captain to keep focus in a media conference, how difficult will it be for him to maintain focus and the desire required to hold out until 2011 given the crazy schedules these guys are exposed to every season?

If the focus of the Bok management now shifts to the World Cup in 2011 which by all accounts it probably will, it might just be time for Peter de Villiers and his team to start making the tough calls.

Do we risk sticking to the guys that has done so much for Bok rugby in the last 6 years but run the risk of complete player burn-out in 2011, or do we gamble and introduce young blood two years out from the event to ensure we have a core base of players with enough experience, and hunger and desire to go and compete against the world’s best, and succeed?

Questions have continually been raised on the performance of guys like John Smit and his move to tighthead prop. Recent performances in the Currie Cup semi also did his reputation no good – and although it needs to be judged in perspective and the fact that John has had one hell of a season behind him, people will always only look at how he performs on the park.

Same goes for Fourie du Preez, Victor Matfield and Bakkies Botha who for the first time this year, looked like mere mortals against a very young and very inexperienced Western Province side.

Last weekend might just have served as a warning of the risk Peter will take if he does decide to stick with these guys.

Rugby unfortunately forces you to make the tough calls if you want to stay ahead of the pack. Rugby is not won on sentiment. Sentiment saw the Boks get klapped 19-0 at Newlands last year thanks to the sentiment surrounding Monty’s 100th cap, and sentiment for Bakkies Botha saw the Boks get klapped in the 3rd test against the Lions at Ellis Park.

So do we make the tough calls and tell John, our most successful Bok captain in history thanks for everything you have done, but it is time to step aside now?

Honestly, I do not know, which is why I am glad I am not the one who has to think about, and make these decisions.

49 Responses to What are we building towards?

The problem I see is that in certain positions we are not grooming players, Bakkies-no backup captain-no real backup.

Guys like Fourie/Vic/Bakkies/Juan can make the next WC but must be managed.

So by the way, was Bakkies not cited for the elbow incident? Does anybody know?

@AB

Nee, hy was nie. n Cheetah slot is wel.

Vic, Juan, Habana, Bakkies etc. can all make the 2011 WCUP. Lees than two years away. They just need to be MANAGED properly. Jake rested them in the Tri-nations before the WCUP. They need a long break like that. When I heard they are all playing CC, I actually hoped they would be rested for the European tour.
    Vic, Bakkies, FDP, Habana are all still playing untill the 5th of December!

The decision is simple really…. play the best in their positions in the Bokke Team.

If guys like Bakkies, Victor and Fourie du Preez are no longer the best, replace them with the best.

It’s been a long and tough season, yet Victor stole the 2 line-outs which counted in the semi-final. Similarly Fourie du Preez will be up for Nomination as IRB Player of the year…

So what is “old”??

If you remain good enough, you remain young enough.

The guys will have their rest period in December… and in 2010 we’ll see some rejuvenated war horses… no doubt.

cant certain senior players be on the bench while trying to introduce new talent into their positions and then brought back into play later in the game. That way we might have the best of both worlds.

Am not knowledgable at all about this, am just wondering if it is feasible.

Very good article Morne.
    This has been on my mind for some time.
    Our coach and management are about to be tested like never before in terms of how they build a team for the WC.
    I suspect that some of our very best are not going to make it to the WC, as the bodies cannot last forever.
    As GBS says the best players must play, but it is a little more difficult to manage as tough decisions have to be made about which players are the right ones to invest in and stick with.
    You cannot simply chop and change new players as they perform from game to game as that is not how to build a team.
    You have to back the core players that you identify and build them into a unit.
    I for one, will watch the coaches decision making in this regard with a lot of interest.

@Treehugger – not even for all games, just ones that should be sort of easy.

The EOY Tour provides ample opportunity to take some youngsters with… Mapoe, Juan de Jongh, Ashley Johnson, the scrummie from Griquas, Joe Petersen, WP Nel, Wian du Preez, Coenie Oosthuizen…

Let them phase in, in the “midweek games” or come on as subs when Tests are clearly won (we hope)…

Problem areas in SA Rugby are… tight head prop, depth on lock (after Vic and Bakkies), proper depth on scrummie (after Fourie du Preez), inside centre (since Jean’s departure), depth on both wings and full back (since Fransie Steyn’s departure).

Who stands out to fill these shoes… the young players I’ve mentioned above.

@grootblousmile
    There is no doubt that we have the players.
    Most other countries simply do not have the quality and quantity of good young players that we enjoy.
    That is why our problems are always about how we manage our embarassment of riches.
    That is the key to success.
    It is in the hands of the coach.

PDV and his team have some very tough decisions and hard questions to ask. Now is the time to get squad rotation in. Start blooding new players now, get them used to the structures in place already. We have seen how our second string players fared against the BI Lions. Most of them are great players but in that combination did not work out, yet each one had he been brought in as replacement for the “1st”team, would have performed ably.
    Is John Smit for example the best TH in the country? Unfortunately not, but he is the best captain at the moment, so how do we utilise him to build for the 2011 show piece?
    And similarly who are next 2 tiers of players that can stand in in terms of injuries, and that crucial thing of resting your players at the right time, yet still retaining match sharpness?

It will not just be the 30 odd players that go to NZ tat will help us retain the WC, but also the other players who will play for SA on and off the next couple of years or so.

Morne, thanks and I agree. Is this Deja Vu 98/99 and are we going to see a replay of the whole Teichman incident again? Gee, I don’t hope so…

My biggest concerns are replacements for Smittie and Victor and then also Bakkies’ ability to cope emotionaly with an ageing body. Like Pompa has noted, we don’t have a ready replacement for Bakkies.

In my opinion, Smittie and Victor are virtually irreplaceable in terms of savvy and should ideally be kept in the WC camp in an advisory capacity if they are deemed past it in terms of their playing ability.

This is just a general reply to all who have commented so far as many of you mentioned some vital things in your posts.

I believe, as someone said, the identification of a core group of players is vital.

Around them you can introduce younger blood over the next 2 years.

The core does not need to be position specific but I would venture to say that a core group should consist of about 6 players.

3 of which must be in the engine room, one loosie, at least one from the 8, 9 and 10 axis, and one in the midfield and at fullback.

Ideally I would then have my core group as follow:

John, Victor, Bismarck, Juan Smith, Fourie du Preez, Frans Steyn / Jean de Villiers. Also add Jaque Fourie perhaps

Around them, I would start building my team I want to take the field in the play-offs in 2011.

With these guys you can introduce new talent in the 6 vital combinations in the team, front row, second row, loosies, scrummy first 5/8 and second 5/8 combo, outside backs (11, 13, 14 and 15).

Vitally, we need John and Victor’s leadership.

When the one rests on rotation of the team, the other one takes over as captain, with PDV identifying the captain to take over from them in 2011 NOW (My choice, Dewald Potgieter).

OK guys, behave yourself, even if badly…. I’m going all over the show now… Banks, Midrand, Pretoria… see you lot of numb nuts later !

Moenie die plek afbreek en bottels rondgooi nie!

@grootblousmile – Sal jy asb vir my ‘n pakkie sigarets saam bring?

@grootblousmile – Of een van ouma se vetkoeke….

17@KingPaul – Damn, ek is nou self lus vir ‘n lekka vetkoek!

Wat rook jy, behalwe jou ou kouse?

Very interesting article Morne. It does make one think.

Your core group in your post 14. Is spot on. I would have them too. Probably with Brussow there as well and Bakkies if he is still fit to play and hoping so. Just hope that PdV still selects Frans Steyn at FB even if he is playing overseas. Think if he does FS will be superb in that position come 2011. Will never forget that monster kick he done agains NZ this year. 60m jeepers thats awesome.

Agree 100% if we can still have John as our Captain and Matfield as Vice captain. Players need that type of leadership and I think all players respect both of them.

D. Potgieter captained the E. Boks so well against the Lions and showed he has true leadership qualities there. I think he will be the future Bok captain after 2011. Great player as well.

Partizan, you have registered and been APPROVED.

Kindly complete your Profile by adding real NAME & SURNAME and start blogging.

@grootblousmile – 18

GBS you eat all the wrong foods….hehe. Vetkoek? Cholestrol boet..haha. Its lekker though.

#23 Morne,

I reckon it was Juan…

fender,

Very interesting! Have been at a few myself, never had your kind of experience though.

Morne,

LMAO!!!

Supa die Bloubul,

Die persoon wat dit vir jou gese het het geen smaak nie.
    Ek het al al sy boeke gelees, almal briljant.

Egiptiese reeks is regtig iets anders, When The Lion Feeds is een van die beste boeke ooit geskryf.

Hy sien Afrika soos dit is, hy is histories en kulturieel akkuraat en sy sin vn humor laat jou partykeer le van die lag.

Supa die Bloubul,

Begin met ‘River God’ en as jy daarvan hou lees die res. Daar is 5 boeke in die reeks. Ek besit hul almal, sowel as die Courtney reeks en die boeke wat handel oor Lothar en Manfred de la Rey.

26@ die valk my persoonlike gunsteling is men of men seker ma omdat dit my eerste ontmoeting met mr.smith was ek kort net die laaste een dan het ek als gelees van hom

@Die Valk – Is jy seker daar is vyf? Ek het vier gelees : River God, The seventh scroll, Warlock en The quest.

Nie geweet daar is nog een van die Egytian Novels nie. Watter een mis ek?

Moet sê dat die Egyptian novels baie goed is, ek dink Taita is een van Wilbur se beste karakters in al sy reekse.

Wat die artikel betref, my opinie is dat die beste moontlike span elke toets van die jaar moet speel. Toetse is nie daar vir groom nie.

Spelers kan groei in reekse soos die S14 waar hulle gereeld teen internasionale spelers speel. Die meeste S14 spanne is in elk geval beter as die meeste toets lande.

Laat die amper bok spelers saam met die bokke oefen en leer, maar speel hulle slegs as daar ‘n besering is aan die top spelers of as hulle beter raak as die top spelers.

Die kans dat jy meer as 3 spelers op ‘n slag aan die begin span sal blootstel is baie skaars, so die integrasie van die spelers sal geleidelik gebeur.

Snoek,

Jislaaik, jy’s reg. Het ‘Assegaai’, wat ek nou die dag gekoop het bygetel. Blonde oomblik.

Ons is ‘n klomp belese manne. LOL

Total 32 users including 0 member, 32 guests, 0 bot online