The Lions hosted the WP in the last match in the play-off rounds for the Currie Cup of 2009. The Lions won a very hard fought match, 27 / 25.

We knew the Lions were on an upwards curve, we knew the Lions pushed the Sharks close last week, yet most of us, me included, doubted wheter they could beat the high-trotting WP Team.

… well, it happened !

WP came out firing and scored an early try through Juan de Jongh after Andries Bekker went one one of his bullocking runs from the centre-position. WP were leading  7 / 0 with just over a minute played.

Herkie Kruger pulled the score back to 7 / 3 with a penalty and the sure-kicking Joe Petersen followed that with a penaly of his own, making the score 10 / 3.

The Lions fought hard and only had bad turn-overs to blame for trailing.

Before Half Time, WP scored again through a Joe Petersen try after yet another storming run by Andries Bekker.

The gutsy Lions heaved back with 2 tries from Doppies Le Grange.

At Half Time the score was WP 20 / Lions 17.

After Half Time the Lions were first to strike with a try by Dusty Noble and suddenly they were in the lead and WP was playing catch-up.

WP scored their 3rd try by Francois Louw and re-took the lead, the score now WP 25 / Lions 24.

The Lions, at this stage a well-oiled machine, earned a penalty and Chris Jonck calmly slotted it, reversing the lead once again. Lions 27 / WP 25.

WP threw everything at the Lions, including the proverbial kitchen sink, the Lions calmly absorbing the pressure.

With less than 30 seconds remaining, WP won a scrum in the Lions 22m area but resolute defence ensured that the Lions bundled WP out on the right-hand touch line.

The game was over!

Lions: 1 Penalty & 3 Conversions Herkie Kruger, 1 Penalty Chris Jonck,  2 Tries Doppies le Grange, 1 Try Dusty Noble

WP: 2 Conversion2 & 2 Penalties Joe Petersen, 1 Try Juan de Jongh, 1 Try Joe Petersen, 1 Try Francois Louw

Golden Lions: 15 Earl Rose, 14 Dusty Noble, 13 Jannie Boshoff, 12 Doppies la Grange, 11 Johan Jackson, 10 Herkie Kruger, 9 Chris Jonck, 8 Willem Alberts, 7 Derick Minnie, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar (captain), 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Nico Luus, 3 Kevin Buys, 2 Hans van Dyk, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Replacements: 16 Torrie Meyer, 17 Wayne Swart, 18 Willem Stoltz, 19 Todd Clever, 20 Ruan Boshoff, 21 Walter Venter, 22 Michael Killian.

Western Province: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Tonderai Chavhanga, 13 Frikkie Welsh, 12 Juan de Jongh, 11 Sireli Naqelevuki, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Luke Watson (captain), 7 Duane Vermeulen, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Anton van Zyl, 3 JC Kritzinger, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Wicus Blaauw.
Replacements: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 JD Moller, 18 De Kock Steenkamp, 19 Pieter Louw, 20 Dewaldt Duvenage, 21 Matt Toomua, 22 Gio Aplon

Referee: Marius Jonker
Assistant referees: Ben Crouse, Madel Herselman
TMO: Michael Cupido

269 Responses to Lions (17) 27 vs WP (20) 25 (f/t) – Game Thread & match summary

OK, semi’s sorted, exactly like I predicted…

Sharks play Cheetahs in Durban
    WP play the Blue Bulls in Cape Town

206@superBul

Super jou bliksem! Kry jy n halwe punt om bo my in te skuif op Sbru! hehhe

Leeus se verdediging is baie goed. Goeie game gewees.

Go LIONS, Damm Im proud, What a way to end our season…..Well done BOYS

WELL DONE LIONS MY 2ND TEAM. BOTH MY TEAMS WON TODAY………..HEEEEEEEEEEEHAAAAAAAAAAA.

Loving this. :-))

K9 allias Staples, well done!
    Vat ma ‘n Amsteltjie boet!

Doppies is my MOTM.

@superBul
    Ek het lank gedink, wou Leeus pick…..maar nouja, WP kos my nou al twee keer in n ry op SB, fokkers!

@Pietman – 210
    Jy weet dan, hulle kan net voorentoe gaan, en beter raak. BIG Things to come next year

208@isigidi

Dont worry too much..still a second spot finish. Next week is gonna be tough!! Ons WP en Bulle gaan mekaar doodmaak!! hehe

215@Puma – We may just get to see the final you and me are hoping for….

@Mr-T – 214

Very proud of the Lions. They a far better team than people give them credit for. Read that Jake made sure they were very well conditioned too and they said they have never been fitter. Great stuff. Loving this.

Well done once again Lions.

216@isigidi

Goeie sport jy! Kudos!

@Mr-T
    Geluk maat!
    Volgende jaar gaan die ‘Blik’ kook, het jy die mense gehoor vandag?
    Maar waar kom daai klomp WP-mense vandaan wat so boe in Jozi 🙁

WP should give Bekker a huge bonus if it was not for him, WP would have 50% less ball, and 2 tries less.
    Good, hard, tough game.

Now the semis – Go my 2nd team, go the Sharks

Lion Pride!

Well done to the Lions and their suporters.

Great game to watch.

Comiz WP fans

This year WP have played the best for a number of years. Now the Lions are ‘on the up’. Good for the CC and also the Bokke. :clap:

222@Puma

Howzit Puma. Told you the Sharks will still finish first! Its gonna be real tough semis, but maybe, just maybe we will see each other in the final. But WP at hom einfront of their fans will be tough though…eish…Im cant wait.

@grootblousmile – 221

YES, YES. THE DREAM FINAL MAY STILL BE ON……….BULLS/SHARKS. HOPING.

@Mr-T
    Geluk Mr T!

@Puma
    @222 Some okes on the ‘other side’ must have pooped in their panties with this one, luv it :rotfl:

VRYSTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!

@Supa Die Bloubul – 227

Was just not sure.

Dream Final may just still be on. Bulls/Sharks final. The best rugby ever to watch.

Bulls full strength will slaugter WP. They took a lot out of themselves today in the highveld. Bulls to win next week. Have no doubt about that. Sharks have to face their bogey team and we may have a few injuries. Still hoping for that Dream Final. Bulls/Sharks nothing gets better than that.

@Pietman – 224
    Geluk aan jou my mede Leeu.
    Dis mense wat van Delmas en Nelsruit af kom, en dan die Anti_leeus wat WP truie gehuur vir die game……LOL
    Maar 1 ding is verseker, daai span, met die nuwe signings en coach……kani wag nie

@Loosehead – 231

Our bogey team. Jeepers its turned out like we wanted this weekend Loosehead.

@isigidi – my staples het gepop…ek soek die stapler!!!!

@Supa Die Bloubul – 229
    Thanx Supa.
    Gaan taai semis wees vlg naweek, sterkte aan almal behalwe WP…….LOL

@K9-MonsterLeeu – 235
    vat ducktape sal werk vir eers

@Puma – Jeez Puma, more than a dream now. Maybe justice after all!
    If Sharks and Bulls end up in final, nobody can complain!
    Would however bring in a nice flavour if another team makes it.
    Good luck to semi contenders!

@K9-MonsterLeeu – vroeer gese jy moet jou gaan wrap op JHB iNt.

@Puma – I have tickets to Newlands next weekend.

Total 102 users including 0 member, 102 guests, 0 bot online