The Springbok coach has caused a mini-stir in New Zeeland by explaining the Bokke’s late arrival in New Zeeland in his own special way.

When asked why the Bokke have not travelled to New Zeeland but chose to stay on the Gold Coast in Australia before they will eventually go to Hamilton in New Zeeland, he apparently said, in his own special style “There’s nothing in Hamilton !”

De Villiers added that they want to stay away from any negative Press.

The Bokke will only arrive in Hamilton on Thursday.

“We will only know afterwards if we did the right or wrong thing. One thing I’m always aware of is not to tire the guys out psychologically”

“It is also quite nice to be around positive reporting”, said De Villiers.

The typical De Villierism’s has not been met very kindly by a few New Zeelanders, who take exception against the stance he has taken. The statements by De Villiers has definately not endeared him with members of Hamilton or the people of New Zeeland in general.

Say what you like, our Bokke coach has his own “special” style to treating media.

Whatever the situation, let’s hope it works for the Springboks, who looked listless last Saturday against Australia and let’s hope the Gold Coast Surfer’s paradise manages to re-focus the Bokke.

79 Responses to Piet Helium “endears” himself with NZ public

Speaking of old Hansie, may he rest in peace, I had a conversation with a drunk in a pub the other day.

It basically centered around sportsmen and respected sportsmen, specifically captains.

Now this guy had major issues with Corne Krige, calling him the biggest disgrace to Bok rugby in the history of the sport.

I then asked him what he thought about Hansie Cronje.

After a moment he said Hansie was one of the best sportsmen and captains that this country has ever produces and unfortunately made some mistakes…

Now obviously this oke was from up North somewhere so I asked him what the difference was…???

Both were very good sportsmen in their own rights, both good captains too, Krige’s WP record will show he lead his team with distinction, but as with Hansie he made some mistakes later on in his career, yet the one is still celebrated as a hero and the other as an utter disgrace!!!???

After he tried to mumble something I then asked him if his biggest gripe with Corne was Staaldraad?

He said without a doubt it was. All other things could be forgiven but not that.

I then asked him what he thought about the concept of Staaldraad and like most, he hated it.

The I asked him about Joost, if he liked him (he did) and why then Joost not only supported (and still does as he never condemned it publicly) Staaldraad but would do it again if given the chance and he, unlike Krige, never apologised for Staaldraad to the nation and supporters – and he was vice captain (or captain if some okes are to be believed).

Us supporters are so fickle at times…

@Supa Die Bloubul

I am a Hansie, Fanie, Corne and Joost fan! 🙂

@fender

I think with professionalism okes forgot just how much fun touring can actually be…

Rugby and sport for that matter has lost so much in recent times.

Krige wasnt really a successful Bok Captain. Boks won only 38% of test matches under him. Sy koppie het hom maar soms verlaat.
    Joost captained less but had a 80% record.

@Morné

I have spoken to a few indians (they obviously love cricket talk) and they have real respect for Hansie because he admitted his quilt.

@Supa Die Bloubul

Who did we play against mostly when Joost was captain?

Somehow I am struggling to put a time or year to when he captain the Boks…

@Supa Die Bloubul

I still believe Hansie took the fall for many okes who still remain around in cricket circles today…

@Morné

Australia and All Blacks twice each, England and others.

@Supa Die Bloubul

When was he captain?

@Morné

True. Thats why the indians repect him. One guy told me, Hansie had the guts to admit everything when Azzurhidan and other involved in match fixing wouldnt.

@Morné

35@Supa Die Bloubul – Unfortunately I think that Hansie was the “fall guy” for a lot of things in that fiasco.

When one thinks about it, it would also be so easy for key players to throw even Rugby matches.

A missed kick here, a fumble when crossing the try line there. Maybe that’s why the Lions are so erratic!

Really PdV does not have to explain himself why he has kept the team at the Gold Coast. If the Kiwis don’t like it that we are not there yet, so be it.

Good on you PdV. For once I really don’t care what our coach has to say. Get them frustrated PdV who cares, as long as we win this Saturday that is all that matters.

Go Bokke.

@Morn̩ Р37

Morne that was a superb article you wrote here the otherday. We need some more boet.

Beat NZL
    Lost to Aus
    Beat England
    Beat Uruguy
    Beat Scotland
    Beat Aus
    Lost to NZL
    Beat Uruguy
    Beat Scotland

Cant find the other

@Scrumdown

I agree Scrumdown. Many were involved in matchfixing and still are, at least Hansie had the guts to face everything. Must have been rough, the media ripped him apart and everyone judged him.

So how do we go about estimating the worth of a captain and what barometer do we use? Can it be done by cold win vs loss stats only or do we attach a certain moral decorum as well?

What Morne’s pub story tell me is that we tend to estimate worth based on our heart and its loyalties. In my experience of interacting with fans of many different sporting codes, that hold true.

Ah okay got it.

He won once and lost once against both NZ and Aus.

beat Eng once and the other games were non events really.

Captained 10 tests, lost two (NZ and Aus) and won eight (Eng, Aus, NZ, Sco x3, Uruguay x 2)

@fender

One coming again tomorrow or Thursday!

@Puma

Yup, we are an emotional lot.

Anycase I am out, till later.

46@Supa Die Bloubul – The question is, how much do others like Ali Bacher, Shane Warne, Herschel and Azzuruhudin etc know that’s never been let out?

I must say I really enjoyed Hansie’s biography, just a pity it didn’t really reveal the whole sordid truth.

@fender

We will never agree on that. Simply because statistic can be manipulated. And the coach, player around you, home and away etc plays a role. I toke notice of stats, but its not the beginning or the end.
    Although Joost has and 80%record, I didnt particularly rate him as a captain. Krige wasnt a good Bok captain in my opinion. My favourite three would be JS(71%), Pienaar(65%) and Teichmann (72%). But maybe that beacause I assaciate them with trophies and that 17 wins in a row.

48@Morné

Like I said in 45. He captained SA in the WCUP 99 when LArkham gave his one and only dropgaol to sink us!

Sorry guys, my typing is shit! I should read my posts through…

@Scrumdown

Ja scrumdown. We will never know. Just like Bob Woolmer’s death. I will always wonder how far everything stretched.

Supa, I agree – we will never agree, hehe!

Gotta run. See you.

Cheers all. Home for the first time since Saturday.

Middag almal.

GBS, geluk met jou verjaarsdag. Mag daar nog vele wees ! Hoop die Bokke en Bulle gee jou saterdag ‘n mooi geskenk.

57@bdb – Dankie man… ek hoop ook so.

Moet sê, ek is heeltemal dwars-deurmekaar hoe ek op Superbru moet predict vir die Bulls game en ook vir die Bokke game.

Ek het so lastige gevoel dat ons gaan verloor teen die Tjarks en teen die All Blacks……

Ek gaan julle groet vir nou… ek is aangesê om in my kar te klim en aanwysings te volg na ‘n seekos-restaurant….

Dit was weereens ‘n aangename dag, hier op die blog !

PS! Julle moet bietjie ernstiger blog in die aande na 19:30 tot so 23:00 kyk of ons nie bietjie ons eie naguile kan versterk nie….

Groente,

Die lewe is ‘n Lied, sing hom uit volle bors !

Just read on the otherside that Spies and Habs are out for this weekend. Huge blow.

Not sure now if we can win this. Kanko will probably slot in at 8 but who will play at 11? Odwa? Jeez he was not that good last week. Frans will probably play 14 this Sat. There wont be any back up wing if any get injured.

Total 53 users including 0 member, 53 guests, 0 bot online