The Springboks completed a 2009 Tri-Nations WHITE-WASH over the All Blacks and claimed the Tri-Nations title for 2009 by beating their rivals 32 / 29 in a thrilling match which went right to the wire.

The All Blacks clearly showed their intentions early on that they wanted to run the ball at the Bokke and initially they had good field position.

Frans Steyn kicked a monster penalty, from his own 10m line to open the scoring, then added another huge one. He later added a third monster penalty conversion.

Dan Carter pulled the score back repeatedly converting some dodgy penalties into points.

Morne Steyn was equally on song with the boot, calmly slotting a drop goal, 2 penalties and 2 conversions… for his 100% kicking record for the day.

The Springboks scored 2 tries, one through Fourie du Preez, the undoubted BEST RUGBY PLAYER IN THE WORLD, and an intercept try by Jean De Villiers.

The All Blacks also scored 2 tries, one through Sivivatu and one through captain Richie MacCaw.

The game was won up front again, with the Springboks reigning supreme in the line-outs and getting parity in the scrums (with the Bokke absolutely monstering one All Black scrum).

On the deck, the combination between Schalk Burger and Heinrich Brussouw worked almost flawlessly, one complimenting the other.

At the back of the scrum, Pierre Spies had mixed fortunes… battling to pick up ball behind the scrum but putting in some very special tackles.

At the half time break, the Springboks were up 22 / 12.

In the second half the All Blacks gave their all, clawing their way back slowly but surely and when they scored through MacCaw with a couple of minutes to go, it was nail biting stuff.

They nearly scored with time up, but the Springboks held fast to record en epic win.

When Schalk Burger went off injured and Bakkies was subbed, one could again see that it affected the Bokke. In comparison, the All Blacks subs provided more impetus to their game.

The Bokke coaching staff replaced Fourie Du Preez with Ricky Januarie, near the end and also brought on Adi Jacobs, Jannie du Plessis and Chilliboy Ralapele.

It was like ice in the Bokke boots, our hearts in our throats, when these needless substitutions were made and ultimately nearly cost the Springboks the game.

When will the Bokke management ever learn that you do not HAVE TO make substitutions for the sake of substitutions. Why fix something that is NOT BROKEN ?

With this important win, the Bokke took the Freedom Cup and the Tri-Nations trophies.

Next week we see the All Blacks take on the Wallabies in the last Tri-Nations match of 2009,it having been reduced to a dead rubber, with the only thing at stake to see who ends SECOND and who ends LAST in ths year’s Tri-Nations.

Well done Bokke !

All Blacks: 5 Penalties & 2 Conversions Dan Carter, Tries Sitiveni Sitivatu & Richie MacCaw

Springboks: 3 Penalties Frans Steyn, 1 Drop Goal & 2 Penalties & 2 Conversions Morne Steyn, Tries Fourie Du Preez & Jean de Villiers

New Zealand: 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Joe Rokocoko, 13 Ma’a Nonu, 12 Stephen Donald, 11 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Isaac Ross, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock
Replacements: 16 Aled de Malmanche, 17 John Afoa, 18 Adam Thomson, 19 Rodney So’oialo, 20 Brendon Leonard, 21 Isaia Toeava, 22 Cory Jane.

South Africa: 15 Frans Steyn, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 John Smit (captain), 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Adi Jacobs, 22 Ruan Pienaar

Date: Saturday, 12 September
Kick-off: 19.35 (09.35 SA Time)
Venue: Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
Expected weather conditions: There is 70 percent chance of rain, lessening, with a high of 17°C, dropping to 11°C and a northerly of 25 km/h
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant referees: Wayne Barnes (England), Stuart Dickinson (Australia)

531 Responses to All Blacks (12) 29 vs Springboks (22) 32 (f/t) – Game Thread & Match Summary

449@Ashley

Ja, that type of skill level will only achieved at Province in 2020! hehe

@Puma

Frans Steyn add another weopan in our arsenal with thos long kicks. It really helps if you have someone who kicks them over from 60m out.

@Supa Die Bloubul – 448

Its been soooooooooooooooooo many years since we last beat teh ABs 3 zip. To beat them in NZ too was just fantastic.

Wish we beat the Aussies last week too. Played too loose there and should have had Steyn at FB. Never mind now hope that NZ go and whip their butts next week.

@Puma

I dont know who to pick on superbru next week. Im leading our pool but picking the wrong team will cost me!

450@Puma
    think they plan on using him at 10 …. hmmm, oppertunity here to get him out of his contract, perhaps?

we can always “insist” that they play him at 15.
    dont know who their current 15 is, but what if they decide to deny us our “friendly” request?

@Supa Die Bloubul@Puma

Howdy Puma,

Great game, just still trying to fathom why the Bokke came out in the second half to defend their lead, if that’s what the intentions were. As i think you said, just need the Sharkies to win today to complete the weekend.

Supa,

Yeh, heard his name ‘in dispatches’ but watched him last night (from a Bok view) and wasn’t that impressed. Still, Ricky will be remembered for his try last year in NZ but what else, ‘off the cuff’ can you, remember him On the plus side) for rather than his mistakes? I can’t remember him doing anything out of the ordinary.

@Supa Die Bloubul – 452

Its like freakish to see someone that can kick so far. Just damned pleased he is a Bok….hahaha.

@Supa Die Bloubul – hoesit supa ja nee ek dink thorn gaan lekker kak voel as hy daai tackle more op youtube sien bit was die mother of all tackles

@Supa Die Bloubul -453
    There was a discussion once with Tackler involved and he reckoned it will take us 10 years of winning everything against the AB to catch up the deficit, news for him this is cutting deep into that lead they have got. Another year like this and the knives will cut the whole AB empire to shreds.

Such a lovely feeling to do it in NZ. John Smit you are a greeat leader of men. I’ve been on your case about your scrumming but you certainly improved in that department tonight. I’m very happy. SA is a sweet place in spite of it all. We have a beautiful spirit. BOKKE we dig you the most!

@Supa Die Bloubul – Tough one. Not sure who will win today between Sharks/Bulls both have so many players in the Boks. It could go either way.

Me being a Shark supporter just backing them to win. Going to be tough at Loftus.

@smallies72 – John het hom mooi opgeline daar…..payback time!

@Jinx – 461

Nice post Jinx. I too am such a proud South African today.

Boks have been just awesome this year. John Smit what a captain. So pleased he is ours.

Cheers guys, I will pop in later for the CC. Im hungry now. Supa needs breakfeast!!

ek dink ek gaan so ‘n bietjie daar op voldy rondhang net om the tackler se gat vir hom te krap,wat ‘n ass hole

@Puma

Yeh, haven’t always been such a fan of FdP (he’s sometimes petulant) but this year he’s really shone. Can’t think of anyone close. M. Steyn maybe but he’s somewhat out of his depth if it’s not a ‘kicking game’. SHowed today that he couldn’t get his midfield away.

@Puma
    Francois came good today….just luv it it when he sticks it to those Kiwi commentators with those long rangers 🙂

@OCO – 456

Could be that they were tired. 3 in a row now on the road. Just pleased they hang on there. Just great to win in NZ.

Between Sharks and Bulls really have no idea who will win. Just too many Sharks and Bulls out playing for the Boks. Hoping for a Sharks win though being a Shark supporter.

@Puma

I wonder if Julius Malema will be at O.R.Tambo Airport to meet the boys. 😉

@Pietman – ja nee my maat hy het hom sien kom dit was ‘n thing of beuty

oscarthedawg, you have registered and been APPROVED

Start Blogging after completing your Profile, to include NAME & SURNAME

460@superBul
    do you know how the current win/lose ratio between the 2 sides look?

Anyway Chaps and Chapesses, off to watch some more sport.
    Hopefully catch you later.
    one way or another will sleep soundly tonight with the win 🙂

@Pietman – 468

He did Piet, Damn those kicks were monsters and right through the middle. Just wish he was staying on here in SA next year. Should try and buy him out of that contract with Metro. PdV should do everything to keep him here until 2011.

@Jinx – that is a good question

@Puma

I thought Odwa was superb and very cool under pressure. The whole squad is tightnening the victory nut. The roots are growing strong.

@Jinx – 😀 I wonder?

470@Jinx
    jinxiiiiiiiee!!
    how are you my bru?

@OCO – 474

Cheers Oco. Good to see you here posting.

Total 77 users including 0 member, 77 guests, 0 bot online