Sitting here this morning bored out of my skull, wondering what to speak or write about got me thinking how big a part rugby plays in our daily lives.

And with no rugby this week everything seems empty and lost, blogger’s have gone into limbo, I mean can life go on? My point here is we should just talk about what we all do best, Just talk KAK…….

We can talk rugby yes, even though it is a quiet week, but there are a lot of things we can speak about, I mean we can speak about Puma’squeaky knees, Rudi’s slet sappies and hand brakes and brake shoes.

I mean there are the clowns on Voldy we can all laugh about? Or my fight against anyone dissing my Sharks or Loosehead (Loskoppietjie) can tell us why he is a fitter and turner? Lions supporters can tell us how they are going to get through the next year with no Super Rugby.

Oh hell, I can babble away all day but come on peeps, lets discuss all the issues on hand, Smallies come tell us how much you dislike the Sharks and that we have stolen all your players, Just For Kicks come tell us about ostriches and how their vision is clouded with their head up their @sses, I mean in the ground?

And of course let’s post some music and funny clips, I mean this is the ONE and ONLY blog where we can enjoy ourselves, this is the first year I have known Morné (Pissant) that he is smiling (WP trophy cabinet has a trophy at last).

Guys, all that is asked is that we do not get personal to the degree of insulting each other or each other’s family, but get your asses over here and kick up a storm!

145 Responses to The let’s talk K@#$k thread!

etzebeth or habana will win

Did you break the internet again??

61 @ Sharks_forever:
    Or JPP. I have a feeling it will be JPP for player of the year. It could be any of them actually, but somehow think it will be JPP.

Eben for young player and Bryan for the big one.

When do they announce the Super Rugby Squads for next year? NZ have announced all of theirs already.

prolly lol

knowing Plum?? probably end of Jan lol

64 @ Stormersboy: Eben will get young player of they year, the big one will be between, Habs, Eben and JPP. Anyone of them, but just have the feeling JPP could win it. He was in blistering form for Sharks in their last 5 games in SR. Then the England tests he was our top Bok there. Only thing I think that will count against him is missing the RC.

I don’t think most of ours would announce before a couple of weeks before the start, it depends on injuries etc.

Thing is, in the case of NZ it makes sense because of the centrally contracting system which now gives some of the other left out players to compete for spots in other franchises as those opportunities arise.

In our case it’s mostly meaningless as those that don’t get into the squad will do Vodacom Cup duty and some of them will get called up during the year as injuries require,

Take the Likely Stormers 32:

Forwards (17):

Kitshoff, Cilliers, Carstens, Scarra, Fourie, Liebenberg, Harris, Malherbe, Etsebeth, Bekker, Steenkamp, Rhodes, Elstadt, Burger, Vermeulen, Kolisi, Carr

Backs (15):

Schreuder, Groom, Vermeulen, Grant, Jantjies, Habanna, DeAllende, JDV, JDJ, Brache, DuPlessis, Van der Heever, Aplon, Taute, Pieterson.

There are some fringe players who will fight for selection through the VC system, and bide their time.

I would be surpised if JPP win it, not he’s not good enough, but because of him missing a fair amount of games this year. I personally think that Keegan would be the Sharks’ best bet for a winner.

A thread so awesome it compelled me to login after not commenting for ages! I am still mildly hungover after the win on Sat.
    So – in the spirit of talking kak – for the Capetonians on this site – whereabouts do you guys (and girls) watch rugby? Friends of mine have recently opened a bar and restuarant in the CBD and are keen to get rugby supporters in for the Bok games coming up. What do you look for/want in a sport watching venue?

67 @ Sharks_forever:
    Long wait that. We can sort of discuss the players before that as we know probably for sure who will be selected, just with some not sure who he will select.

There players will be in the squad for sure.

Props:

Beast
    Jannie
    Herbst
    Chadwick

Hooker:

Bissie
    Burden
    Cooper
    Hadebe

Lock:

Bresler
    Van der Merwe
    J. Marais
    PSDT
    P. Marais

Loosies:

Alberts
    Coetzee
    Daniel
    Deysel
    Botes
    Kanko
    Mtembu

Scrumhalf:

Reinach
    McLeod

Flyhalf:

Lambie
    Butch
    Bosman

Centre:

Fransie
    Jordaan
    Bosman
    Whitehead

Wing:

JPP
    Mvovo
    Odwa
    Sithole

Fullback:

Ludik
    Viljoen
    Prinsloo

I think we can count on those players being selected. I may have a too many players not sure how big the squad has to be, could be only 32. Then some will have to drop out of my selection there.

72 @ Puma:
    Should read: These players should be in the squad.

Jeez it is just pouring, so pleased no rugby at the Tank this week….hahaha.

70 @ Stormersboy:

I would like Keegan to win it, as he got us to a Super Rugby Final and a CC final. He has been in awesome form this year, but doubt he will win it only because he never played the whole of the RC.

71 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    Howzit bud,

I take it you a Province Supporter. So congrats on winning the Currie Cup final.

We normally watch at a pub, or go to the club mostly to watch. Sometimes having a braai with mates is good too.

You talking about which CBD? Joburg or CT?

Hey Puma – Yeah, Thanks for the congrats. I stay in Cape Town. Just trying to help friends who are Bok supporters to get a few more people to their place – it’s been fairly busy earlier in the year at times, but they want to make it a place that people will come to, to watch the game and then stay to have supper or play pool or whatever, and just wondering what people look for – cost, comfort, big screen tv’s – what’s the most NB?

@ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    tell them to phone me lol

One huge thing is to be neutral, no matter what,

69 @ Stormersboy:
    You gonna have a great team for next years SR. With Cilliers, Rhodes, Elton and Jaco there, they all definitely boost your team. Also Groom at sh with Elton will be far better than you had this year. Actually excellent team. Definitely a team that could win it.

@ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    Not sure how to get my Phone no to you

77 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    I like comfort, big screen, good food and wine, also a good vibe. Here I mostly go to the club.

In Cape Town think you need to speak with Shark_Forever here. Not sure where to go and watch down there.

80 @ Sharks_forever:
    Send it via Rudi as he will have GBAI e-mail addie.

Rudi already has my phone no

@ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    Ask GBS for my phone no, he will provide it via email

here is the Sharks squad plus a few extra.

BACKS:
    Full Back: Louis Ludick, Riaan Viljoen, Gouws Prinsloo
    Right Wing: JP Pietersen, Odwa Ndugane,
    Outside Center: Paul Jordaan, Tyler Fisher, Marius Joubert
    Inside Center: Frans Steyn, Tim Whitehead, Meyer Bosman, Heimer Williams
    Left Wings: Lwazi Mvovo, Sibusiso Sithole, Rosco Speckman
    Flyhalf: Patrick Lambie, Butch James, Fred Zeilinga, Robert Du Preez jnr
    ScrumHalf: Cobus Reinach, Charl Mcleod, Conrad Hoffmann, Hanco Venter

Forwards:

Eighthman: Ryan Kankowski, Keegan Daniel, Lubabalo Mtembu
    Flank: Willem Alberts, Jean Deysel, Marcel Coetzee, Jacques Botes, Chris Cloete, Franscois Kleinhans, Brynhard Stander
    Lock: Anton Bresler, Jandre Marais, Peet Marais, Pieter- Stef Du Toit, Franco VD Merwe
    Tighthead Prop: Jannie Du Plessis, Wiehann Herbst, Jullian Redelinghuys, Nick schonert
    Hooker: Bismark Du Plessis, Craig Burden, Kyle Cooper, Monde Hadebe, Franco Marais
    Loosehead Prop: Tendai Mtawarira, Dale Chadwick, Danie Mienie, Allan Dell

Cool – or next time you in the CBD pop in at a place called Characters – on the corner of Roeland and Buitenkant street – just down the road from Perseverance Tavern. The owners are Ruth and Tim. If you can bring rugby supporters (doesn’t matter which teams), they’ll go out of their way to accomodate you! Just don’t moer me when I’m supporting Ireland!

Pooms he knows where to go, his need is that his friends have opened a bar/ sports pubs, but its not getting busy, and they need advice as to how ro go about making it a place that people want to go to

86 @ Sharks_forever:
    Okay, then it has to be good food, good beer/wine, big screen and good vibe. My advice..lol.

You know better about that so you could help.

@ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    Ok i have Ruths no, will give her a call

84 @ Sharks_forever:
    How big will the squad be?

Have to say when I saw Rosco Speckman play in the wet conditions against Province was really impressed with him.

I just put down who I know probably will get selcted. What happened to Hoffman? Never really lived up to his potential?

Also really impressed with Reinach this Currie Cup. Not at his best in the final though and have to say when McLeod came on he was better. A pity Plum never brought him, Cooper and Deysel on sooner. Also thought Deysel looked very good for the short time he was on. It was Deysel off loading to Odwa who also had a nice off load to Ludik that almost put us away for a late try. I know the pass from McLeod Lambie dropped, but he was tackled by that stage so it would have happened to most. If only Ludik went inside instead of a pass to McLeod, Ludik would have been under the poles. Why we never played like that for most of the game? We kicked too much in that game too. Anyhow all gone now for Super Rugby next year, that is a Cup I would truly love us to win, seeing we have not won it yet.

Thanks Puma (And Sharkie!) All good advice. I’ve hung out at various times, at – Ferrymans, Firemans Arms, Perseverance Tavern, and in Long street – Bobs, Slug and Lettuce. It seems a general thing that people seem to leave immediately after the game is over.

Total 77 users including 0 member, 77 guests, 0 bot online