Springboks lock Bakkies Botha has been ruled out of the rugby world cup due to an Achilles tendon injury and will return to South Africa on Friday.

The 76-Test veteran suffered the injury during training and has become the second Springbok player in a week to be forced out. Centre Frans Steyn departed on Tuesday because of a shoulder injury.

A decision on a replacement has been postponed pending the outcome of Sunday’s quarterfinal against Australia in Wellington.

Botha, 32, said that it had been an emotional decision to admit his World Cup was over, but that he still intended to return to Springbok team.

“I am a person who normally keeps my emotions out of sight but it was emotional to talk to the team this morning and tell them I would be going home,” he said.

“I told the team to cherish every moment of their time in the green and gold because you never know when it is going to be your last.

“I’m very disappointed – after all the hard work that has been put in over the past few months – but it’s not about me, it’s about the team now and there’s still a big job to do. I’ll be sitting at home with my family on Sunday with a tear on my cheek as the team takes on the Wallabies.

“But we can’t stop here – there are still three games left to play.”

Botha said he would see a specialist on his return in order to determine what course of action was required so he could be ready to take up his three-year contract with Toulon in France on November 1.

“This is definitely not the end of my Test career as far as I am concerned,” he said.

“I’ll be aiming to give 100% to Toulon to help them get into the Heineken Cup and I’ll still be available for South Africa next year.

“I still have the desire to play for my country and that will be there for as long as I play. It’s a special thing to pull on this jersey and that hunger has not left me.”

Botha made his Test debut against France in 2002 and was appearing at his third Rugby World Cup – having collected a winner’s medal at the 2007 tournament. He played in the Pool D wins over Fiji and Namibia in this tournament but separate Achilles and hamstring injuries kept him out of the matches against Wales and Samoa.

The latest Achilles tendon injury was a new injury, he said, affecting the opposite ankle. “I knew straight away that something wasn’t right,” he said.

“I knew I wasn’t going to be 100 percent and with great players like Victor (Matfield), Danie (Rossouw) and Johann (Muller)all fit there was no need for me to hang around and be a distraction to the team.”

Meanwhile winger JP Pietersen successfully completed a fitness test on his injured knee at Thursday’s training run and was declared fit to take his place on the right wing.

60 Responses to RWC: Bakkies – My World Cup is over, boys!

hahahha kom ek te hard voor? Moet darem n intro he , al is dit rof.

i might be wrong will verify , but so by the way did JdeV get a medal in 2007?

@ 4man:
    losing ones best friends is like death in the family , you had Bubezi for a long time, sad news indeed.

31 @ superBul:
    Ja, jy storm hier in soos ‘n SuperblouwildeBees…. jou moegoe.

Lykmy die plante het flokkol vir jou geluister vandag nie!

@ superBul:24 – So you telling me that Zane if does not play at all he then gets a medal and not Fransie or Bakkies?

Then there is something wrong in the way they do things at the wc.

A player that does not particpate gets a medal, when a player has put his body on the line does not? Then they can shove the wc. Just bring on the tours.

@ Puma:35 – Should read. Zane does not play at all. Ignore the if.

Jeez my brain and fingers work at different speeds……….hahahaha.

hehehe, that will kill you hey, Zane getting one and Fransie no, no. Fransie have one mate. Let me make sure will search like hell.

35 @ Puma:
    Look, they present only 30 Medals for players on the day of the game, but all players who participated get their participation medal…

@ grootblousmile:23 – Think we are all thinking the same things gbs.

That kicking away everything and giving them back possession does my head in. Really does. Only if we do it to perfection does it work properly.

@ grootblousmile:38 – Well then the ones that played should get the gold medals. The ones there that replaced the injured and just sitting in their suites, should not get a gold medal.

If they gave it to me if I replaced a player and never played one min of a game. I would just give it to the player I replaced.

It just does not seem fair.

Cause it is a damn stupid rule if you ask me.

@ superBul:37 – Yes it would. Fransie put his body on the line against those bloody Samoan thugs.

Zane it looks to me won’t even get a game.

Anyhow we have to win it before we get excited about medals.

WE have Oz this Sunday. Gonna be damn hard but we can.

Cause it is a damn stupid rule if you ask me.

almost like giving Springbok colors to a guy who comes on in the last minute

Bubezi is laat gestraant skielik oorlede.

Dankie ou grote.

43 @ 4man:
    Jammer om te hoor, vrind… het vir jou ‘n boodskap op Vleisboek gelaat

@ superBul:42 – Something like that Super.

@ 4man:43 – 4man mate, not sure what has happened but picking up here that you lost your best mate. If so, very sorry to hear it. Not great losing anyone close to you.

47 @ Puma:
    Bhubezi was Sammajoor 4man’s Rhodesian Ridgeback dog… and his best friend

Ek het gesien danke Maat, ek waardeer dit. Kan nie glo dit het my so hard geslaan, ek raak seker sag met die jare wat aan jaag. Nandi die Great Dane soek haar maat al die tyd, sy was van kleins af by Bubezi….dit maak my klaar….sal seker beter voel na n slaap vanaand. Ek probeer nou dink aan al die mooi dinge in die lewe….en daar is baie. Ek is eintlik happy dat Bakkies nou “clarity” gekry het op so beserings…..ek het tevore op die blog gese ek dink Danie het in elk geval die reg gehad het om te begin. Is Muller oor sy besering? Hulle het in elk geval Alberts die laaste tyd gebruik in die slot posisie. Net die lineouts kan n probleem wees, maar soos tevore gese….Spies moet sy kant bring.

49 @ 4man:
    Strife everywhere for people I know this week…

Handbriekie’s sister, Wyeboude (the one who has the fat child), has been in hospital for more than a week now, and was operated on this morning… so Handbriekie and BonzaiHandbriekie has been at hospital in the evenings, leaving me to fend for myself a bit for grub, so you imagine the diet I’ve followed… Biltong, Kondensmelk, Buttermilk Rusks, Souskuitjies…. sweets….

Sounds like you’re camping….can you tell me what the op was….week is a long time? Ja…I am farly sure our purgatory is here on this physical plane….there are so many ordeals one faces….but I suppose it is character building….but I want to talk to the boss….enough already….my character is formed. Fact is, people seem to gravitate to me in times of stress and anxiety….I suppose because I am a pragmatist.

I actually reckon Wales are going to be in the final!!

OK guys I’m out, going downstairs, time for family and supper.

@ grootblousmile:48 – That is sad. Jeez my old dog is 13 years in Jan. He is not doing well either. We grow so attached to our animals they like one of us. They become part of the family.

4man if you read this. Sorry mate. I know what it is like losing a best friend in your pet. They are like family.

Okay I am out of here. Catch up tomorrow.

Good night everyone.

So Bakkies was picked with an injury. Played a minimal part on the field of play, and is now returning home, unable to play in one of the games where his attitude and character are probably most needed.

Brainless morons we have selecting our squads IMO.

Sarge,
    Sorry to hear about Bubezi, strength bru, I know the feeling, had old Asjas put out before I came over, never recovered from that snake bite (cape cobra).

GBS, jy hier.
    Pietvrou het so 3 vm vanoggend geland, sy le nou grootoog en wag vir more se rugby 🙂

GBS,
    Ek bedoel ‘is jy hier op RT’?

Hallooo Pietman, hoe gaan dit?
    Wou net vra is jy seker sy wag grootoog vir die rugby en nie iets anders nie hehehehe

@ Tripples:
    Jisjong! Weet jy, jyt dalk iets beet daar, laat ek gou gaan tjek (wink-wink)!!!!

Total 65 users including 0 member, 65 guests, 0 bot online