It is with great sadness that we have learnt of the passing, yesterday Saturday 11 December 2010, of Michael Copley, aka Jinx. He was our friend and fellow rugby blogger.

Michael was our poet and musician and dare I say old Jinx did not have a bad thing to say about anybody. A more pleasant and spiritual fellow you wont find.

The earth is poorer without Jinx…

(For purposes of allowing unhindered tributes to our late friend, Jinx, and in the spirit which Jinx lived, the Rugby-Talk blog has been opened for EVERYBODY to comment!

If you are a registered Rugby-Talk blogger, Login like normal and comment.

If you’re not a registered Rugby-Talker, kindly state your Nickname (if from another Blog) / your Name and an E-Mail Address…. and leave a comment.)

Funeral Details:

Monday 20 December 2010
Maitland Crematorium
Voortrekker Road

10am

Rendevous Wake at A Touch of Madness
Nuttal Road
Observatory
12pm onwards

Cash bar.

Here’s a bit of information I have gathered:

Michael Copley:

Michael Copley was a singer/songwriter, poet, actor and voice over artist who lived in Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa.

Michael’s music came from a diverse mix of influences ranging from blues, rock, folk, country, Celtic, goema, mbaqanga, boeremusiek, jazz, soul and many other strands and feelings.

Michael was a storyteller of note and his writing and singing covered his journey. His music feels the soul of his South Africa in its many colours and layers.

His voice was like a blend of an acacia, a baobab, a yellowwood and an oak tree. There is wood down there in abundance.

He felt the Earth nuances beneath his feet and felt its hard history and the possibilities for transformation and new pathways to healing, understanding and redemption. He successfully attempted to re-represent and channel a slice of the South African soul.

The rivers, mountains, the weather, the wild animals, the people, the beauty and the country’s tough challenges are fused into these songs. Whether it’s from the cities to the towns, from the Karoo to the Bushveld, from coast to coast…it’s all going straight to the heart.

Training/Education
1980 BA (UCT) Social Anthropology, Industrial Sociology and Comparative Government & Law

Theatre Experience
EDGE OF THE WHITE WORLD
SONGS AND TALES OF AFRICA
CARVINGS OF CONFLICT
KING LEAR

Television
THE HISTORY OF AMERICA/Merchant – for the History Channel with Film Africa
INTERROGATION ROOM III/ Prof Zach Black – Interrogation Room Productions
CHARLIE JADE/Krog – Afrika Prod
SCOOP SCOOMBIE/Mr Wolvaart – Penguin Films
MADAM AND EVE/Prof. – Penguin Films
ARENDE 2 – SABC
MORENGA – Germany Winning ; People’s Justice; Brent House ; Orpen House; Inspector Carr Investigates; Baragwanath; Sinbad;

Film Experience
LUCK ON TOP OF THE WORLD /Painter – Two Oceans Productions
WOMAN IN RED – Two Oceans Productions
ENDLESS HORISON/Judge – Two Oceans Productions
THE PIANO PLAYER/German Customer – Film Afrika Worldwide (USA)
GLOBAL EFFECT/Sub Captain – Buckle Productions
SANDMOTHEr/Voice – Sandmother Prod
DISSONANCES/Benson – Made in Afrika Films
GROOMSMEN/Dr Deveroux – Do Productions
BUSH DECISION / Dr Frank Muller – Two Oceans Prod
DIAMOND HUNTERS /Dr Brickhill – Film Afrika Worldwide (USA)
LAST HOLIDAY/Consulate Official – Two Oceans Productions)
RENT A BABY/ Policeman – The Imaginarium
MAPANTSULA; DESERT ROSE – German Feature (TOP)

Commercials
Ford Courier; Cirio Milk; Koffiehuis (SA); Sunshine D (SA) ;Mrs Balls Chutney (SA)
Panasonic (Canada); Visa (Canada); Sprint Internet Provider (USA);Cetelem (France)
Molehill Cake (Germany); Corny Muesli (Germany);Cochonou Salami (France) ; Dreher Beer (Italy); EB Beer (Poland) and many more

Voice Experience
Numerous voice-overs for radio and television

… but Michael was much more than that…

Here’s a Rugby Song from Michael.. Go Bokke Go

[cincopa AcMAtZa_cMhL]

… and of course his poetry…

CD: Messages from trees ( Michael Copley ) Spiritual poems, prayers and meditations inspired by trees.

1. Message from trees
 2. Know thyself
 3. Morning prayer
 4. The old man said
 5. Love circle prayer
 6. An acorn said
 7. Thank you
 8. Gift from the moon
 9. Coming back and flowing out
10. Stranger than fiction
11. Realizations
12. The tree queen
13. Affirmation *
14. A prayer for Africa
15. One love

CD: Meditations from Africa ( Michael Copley & Guy Gibbon ) Poems prayers and meditations with atmospheric animal and bird sounds of the African bush.

1. A prayer for Africa
 2. Giving the gift
 3. The people
 4. Inner child meditation
 5. Kudu-man
 6. Kalahari moon meditation
 7. Children of the light
 8. Four trees meditation
 9. Gratitude prayer
10. Bushveld meditation
11. Thunderstorm

We remember him for the following too…

Soul Petrol

In your face, eye to eye
Draw the line… with self-respect
That lone eagle in the sky
Is saying things, straight up, direct

There’s no place to hide
Got to face it, do your best
Stand true reach deep inside
The flame encourages your quest

Wheels turning
Day and night love patrol
Believing and loving
Burning…your soul petrol

Listen there’s no time to waste
No frills… this is it
Come on now… cut to the chase
Own the fire in your spirit

Wheels turning
Believing and loving
Burning…your soul petrol
Feel…your soul petrol Sweat on the streets

Come into the moment
Lightning bolts of heat
Show the commitment

Wild and true… it’s a must
Be honest… down the line
Hang in there… trust your gut
Take the risk…be your own sunshine

Life moving
Believing and loving
Burning…your soul petrol
Feel…your soul petrol
Heart to heart…with soul petrol

…. and here are a few more inspired poems…

Love Is Like A Window

From the well of secret graces
You can know and really see
The finer things in life
That shimmer in strands of creativity 

With heaven silver traces
That sketch automatically
Connecting the dots
Between you and me

Love is like a window into places
That feels the unknown mystery
Where silence takes you by the hand
And sets you free…

Answering My Guardian Angel

It was in the wreckage of my life
where I found my purpose,
It was in the cracks of my breakdown
where I found my breakthrough,
It was in my burning anger where I found
my first steps to learn self-forgiveness,
It was in my broken dreams
where I learned the gain in loss,
It was in those trials
that I learned failure is only feedback,
It was in those setbacks
where I chose to be successful,
It was in sorrows thorns
where I found  the keys to perseverance and wisdom,
It was from the blade of betrayal
that I learned to take responsibility,
It was in the ugliness of life
where I found my beauty,
It was through searing temptation
where I found my value system and principles,
It was through loving others unconditionally
that I found my humanness,
It was through knowing I’m loved no matter what,
that I found my self-belief,
It was in the agony of waiting
where I learned patience,
It was in the hardest storms
where I found my strength and resources,
It was through sharing
that I found my brothers and sisters,
It was through honouring nature
where I learned self-respect,
It was from giving up the need to be liked
that I found my courage,
It was through taking a step back
where I learned to go forward,
It was through confronting my shadows
where I found my sunshine,
It was through trusting myself
where I found my soul-smile,
It was through laughing at myself
where I found my freedom,
It was in making a decision
that I turned it around,
It was through the Great Spirit
where I learned to say, thank you.

Pen

I fill my pen
With blood ink from my heart
And put words on paper.

I hope that in the process
Of new roads to thoughts and feelings
I can make sense of it later.

By facing these words again
That mirrors my entire journey,
I can let go by understanding deeper.

I am given experiences that shake my soul
To cry and sing, to long for and touch,
To make my awareness of life greater.

For without this tool, this friend, my pen,
I couldn’t calm the storms
And be my own trusted healer.

I Am / You Are

I am the dream,
You are the beat,
I am the journey,
You are the streets,
I am the seeker,
You are my treasure,
I am a bird,
You are my feathers,
I am a student,
You are the light and dark,
I am the flood,
You are the Ark,
I am the wind,
You are my message,
I am love,
You are the blessing,
I am my rebirth,
You are my witness,
I am my freedom,
You are my joy,
I am my friend,
You are my family,
I am the music,
You are my song

[cincopa AoEA3a6ccM3O]

106 Responses to Ode to Jinx – Rest in peace, brother

Hell, such a loss…

I’ve asked people near to him to send me some video, possibly a TV advert or something like that..

… here’s hoping they send me some.

Jinx, you are the spirit of SA, may we all become big South Africans like you were!

I must be honest , i can not recall my inter action with him. Maybe out of sight out of mind. But watching this tribute to him, i realize we lost one of our big trees again. Artists like these give us so much pleasure, he will be missed.
    RIP
    Jinx

Puma for you……

307. JINX :

Those days the okes didn’t play with gum shields and if the false teeth were out is was like toofless wonder. That Police scrummy was a classic. Blonde kop.

308. DAVID :

Jinx
    I was born and grew up in England. Came to SA in 1965 via what was then Rhodesia as a 19 year old. Hitchiked down to avoid Smithies declaration of Independance. I only arrived in Capetown in 1966, realising, as I entered the Hex River Valley that I was coming home.

309. JINX :

david

Well all the guys I’ve mentioned were post ’67.

’65 I was only 8 years old.

310. DAVID :
    August 2nd, 2006 at 11:15 pm
    Jinx
    Shame, you missed a great period! Although you seem to’ve caught up.

311. JINX :

David

You would have been 21 in ’67 and The Beatles came out with Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band. ’67 The SUMMER OF LOVE. Jimi Hendrix came out with Electric Ladyland, The 1st Doors album. Cream were doing their thing. It was a big year. I was young but learned real fast that music was my passion. I wasin Std 2 and thought my teacher was hot. She was a flower child.

312. DAVID :

Jinx
    I lived in a block of flats in Gardens that had two brothels and an impromptu cannabis garden.
    One Sunday morning I was woken up by the sound of a sax playing on the roof. Not badly, but not well either. It was a young guy called Fourie who was practising.
    We used to take Winston back to Gugs after his gigs at the Troubador. ****, memories.

313. JINX :

David

Excellent…

Must zzzzzzzzzzzz.

Adios

Yep, a great man has passed.
    Jinx got his nic from the late Jannie Barnard,Transvaal and Springbok flyhalf, whom he adored for his jinking runs.
    Jinx was up in Yeoville then, on the music scene, hanging out as a back-up bass player and singer with the likes of the Peanut Butter Conspiracy, and such.

Jinx used to be programme seller at Newlands, which gave him free access to the games! His uncle Alan worked for Logan Sport in Darling Str, always wearing a jacket and tie behind the counter. Last time Jinx and I spoke he told me uncle Alan was still alive and doing well.

He was also an expert on the old boys of WP club rugby, I often asked him about names I had forgotten and he would immediately come up with names of the likes of Andrew Janson, Rob Wagner, Gert Kotze, etc, he remembered them all, the programme seller of Newlands. That was Jinx, a man of many talents.

I am sure he and Taliep Pietersen will be making some great music ‘up there’ soon again.

So long Michael.

286. JINX :

keeping_it_real

I would not say I KNOW all the reasons, but Jake didn’t like it when Lukezade refused to play hooker at one of the U21 training camps. Luke in his forthright way said…”No, I’m a flank…I won’t play hooker.” Jake is a sports school master and that didn’t go down well with him. He felt Luke belittled him and undermined his authority. A stronger master would have seen the positives in such an attitude, rather than be threatened by it.

Luke is a free spirit and not a conformist and some sports master/school types take umbrage to that. I’m sure you can think of those kinds of teachers from your days at school. They like to think they are God at their schools. Out in the business world thay probably would have shat themselves and not made anything of themselves.

Luke reflected Jakes arrogance and weakness back at him and Jake didn’t like a lightie being “too big for his boots.”

Another story goes like this…Luke was made a prefect at school at the end of STD 9 ( grade 11) and he turned down the offer to his then headmaster.

He’s a maverick, but I believe a true leader. The conventional conservative types can’t take him because he dares to be who he is…take it or leave it attitude. He keeps it real. He does’t kiss arse and Jake prefers having people around him that don’t question his way or his view of reality.

514. JINX :

Okes, Jake lacks rhythm.

What CD’s does he need to listen to to lighten him up,educate him and get that funky feel for the game. He is way to rigid and needs some lurv.

Jake…I say you need to listen to reggae, especially Bob Marley and the Wailers. Will keep you grounded and make you go with the flow. Local reggae man I can HIGHLY recommend Jake is a chap from Venda…Colbert Mukwevho. He is such a mind blowing talent. If he wasn’t touring so much I’d say he’s your solution to the No. 10 jersey. Doebie is optional you understand.

Also, a little bit of blues…eg, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Muddy Waters,John Bonnamassa, Ry Cooder, John Lee Hooker, Robert Johnson, Keb Mo and Howling Wolf. Just to get a little street cred. You been a square teacher for too long. Need to toughen up son.Check local blues man Dan Patlansky. Hot stuff Jake. Get with the program.

Jake, also you need to go beyond listening to FreshlyGround’s Do-bee-do-bee do… and embrace some Jazz like Phil Mkhize, Steve Dyer, Erol Dyers,Selaelo Selota,McCoy Mrubata,Louis Mhlanga, Jimmy Dludlu and Abdullah Ebrahim.

Let me know Jake if you need some music tips to get the team gelling. Good luck for tomorrow Jake. Remember to ask for guard when John Smit goes in. Two leg, or centre, or even off stump.
    Enjoy the cricket cousin.

5. JINX :

COMMERCIAL BREAK

Do you like mediocrity?…do you like the same old, same old…? You like emptiness and that feeling of clueless creativity? Do you like going into depression and misery? Do you like the pulling down spiral of hopeless sorrow? Do you like living your life in fear and limitation?

Well, we have the beer for you.

Drink Jake Lager

Never dry, never sweet, never bubbles, always bitter.

Enjoyed by those that love failure and heartache.

Now available in the maxi can for extra dark failure.

Available at bottle stores, bars and sheebeens near you.

Jake Lager

Guaranteed to put the sun out in your life.

Jinx certainly did not like Jake , many of his posts give Jake gas. Who said Jake had a plan , …

13. JINX :
    Dan Carter and niknak

I didn’t know the Boks had a plan A. Now you talking of a plan B…that’s way too much for our collective brain capacity. We like to just biff it up the middle with no clue on how to run into space. I still see our Bokke staring into the Kiwi headlights and saying, ” They using our 4×4 vehicles from the fat pay that we earn to embarrass us. Not fair”.

Maybe Bokke need John Cena, Ray Mysterio, Triple H, The Undertaker, Kurt Angle and the mal koppe from WWE to help them out. The only problem is that they’ll test positive for steroids and Coke.
    Anyway, I just wish Eddie Andrews was Eddie Guerrero. Even a dead Eddie Guerrero is better than a live dumpling Eddie Andrews.

9. JINX :

Kabamba Floors teaches us good lesson. The man is polished and sharp-sharp in his awareness. Hy blink soos ‘n kombuis vloer en ‘n lounge floor. We are so abundant in this fair country, yet we live and believe we are lacking. Lacking in whatever department in our lives. The commonly known South African chip. Now many that were dossing dikly are owning up the the vast fetcher talent in this country. Yoh,yoh,yoh. Alleluia.

The problem is how to get Jake in a flash and a wosh of magic and put some eye-drops in his eyes so he can check it out for himself. Jakes Road to Damascus light bulb moment. Ting-a-ling-ling. Ja, boeta Jake, jy moet bykom. As die pap daar, dan moet jy skep. What did Bob Marley sing? “In the abundance of water the fool is thirsty…”

Stay cool you rugby hearts…at least WE’RE turned the corner…Jake will catch up later.He’s is battling in the lesson of keeping quiet and not revealing his rugby stategies to the opposition camp.

He owes us big time.

Jake and Jill
    went up the hill
    to FETCHER pale of water
    Jake fell down
    and Jill left down
    and Jan “Boland” Coetzee, Piet Greyling, Thys Lourens, Andrew Aitken, Luke Watson, Rob Louw, Kabamba Floors, Tim Dulane, Warren Britz, Corne Krige, Rueben Kruger and a whole span of okes in number 6 shirts including MADIBA said,”What a doos”.

Lekkerness with vegetarian biltong

… Jinx used to say; It’s lekker cause it’s lekker…

I spoke to Jinx’s agent… and got his mother’s phone numbers… do you think I should phone her??

Phone her on behalf of all here, tell her we all feel her loss and tell her to one day read some of the stuff he entertained us with on the rugby blogs.

After a bit of searching i remember him now, he was my right hand in our fight against Jake the game thrower.

Still so sad about hearing the passing of a real gentleman. Never met Jinx but spoke to him so many times on keo also a few times he blogged here too. We had many a laugh blogging during the IPL once. He changed his nic to the team he was supporting during the IPL tourney that time, but spotted Jinx straight away cause only he could write with such passion and humour. We had plenty fun posting together during that tourney.

A great poem and song writer who loved his rugby with a passion. Only ever had good words to say to everyone. Also had a great sense of humour.

RIP Jinxie. You were my favourite blogger on keo.

Super, Thanks for some of Jinx posts. He was a really special person. Always fun. Wrote some great poems during the cricket when we beat Oz in Oz. Go back and see if you can find the post he wrote a poem about KP? Was brilliant. I have no idea how to find it.

I really think you should wait a couple of days before you phone, they all in shock right now, grieving and trying to deal with their loss.

@ grootblousmile:10 – gbs, Yeah I remember that well.

Found this poem by Jinx in my E-Mail…

Day of Reconciliation

If I made friends of my enemies
    And let my disappointments go,
    If I could travel the circumference of forgiveness
    And let my heart glow.

If my mind threw away all the clinging
    Of my ego’s idea of justice,
    Perhaps I could cut through
    The tension of my prejudice.

If I could empty personal history
    See the shimmer of new vision,
    Where the melting pot of people chose
    To abandon victimhood’s territorial division.

If I absorbed the wind in the mountains,
    Cried tears of deep longing,
    Saw my footstep’s story gaining
    Strength in my belonging.

That place of peace where the Atonement
    In the veld was true soul education,
    I’d be transformed to receive the gifts
    From my country’s Day of Reconciliation.

16/12/2008

Jinx had a healthy sense of humor too… he sent me this pic under the heading of: England’s Final answer to the boks

England's final answer to the boks

@ grootblousmile:17 – Thanks gbs. Just been reading some of his poems on the net. Michael/Jinx sure had a gift for writing poems.

@ grootblousmile:18 – gbs, Where is the pic?

Jinx also sent us (SARSU South African Rugby Supporters Union) the following after the Bokke won the 2007 World Cup:

“Courage, determination and a squad of single-minded men focused on the task at hand has brought us sweet victory at the Rugby World Cup Final. It’s always very lonely on the extra mile as only the brave dare to go on that road where sacrifice, pain and endurance demand their payment.

Jake and the Bokke have often been misunderstood as they could not explain in all its layers where they were headed and how they were going to achieve this monumental feat. This victory is a series of victories over all the obstacles that lay before the coach and the players. It is a victory too over the previous self in each of the players and coach…a victory that showed that these guys went into the zone of the unknown where faith turns pain into a flower. The price was enormous to rise above the ego’s and power play of the critics and the politics. Our guys went into this rugby mission as boys and truly became men in the battle of the best. They drew on a kind of warriorship, honour and code that goes deep into the male psyche. That fire that transforms men into role models and leaders, as they have earned respect by being true servants of the game and society at large.

They have gifted us with the flame that never quits, the self-belief that never wavers, the brotherhood that lays its heart on the line so that the country and her people may benefit from the victory in many, many positive ways. True victory hurts very deeply…it cuts to the core of the brave before the tears of elation and joy flow into the vacuum to soothe the price that was paid.

To Jake White, John Smit and the team: You have done yourselves and us proud. You will never be forgotten. We are humbled by your bravery and we too shed tears of joy as we know and feel that we can push the envelope further in all areas of our life in South Africa. We can rise up as one nation and improve our collective self-esteem and go forward into the future believing in ourselves. We are the new Africans.

Eddie Jones we salute you. You will always be welcome in South Africa. May you always know that at each and every home in South Africa you are welcome to pop in for a braai. We love you like one of our own.

I trust that in the days ahead rugby decisions are wisely made by the powers that be and that petulant side-shows with hidden agendas are put aside for the benefit of the bigger picture.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Copley (Jinx)”

Maybe, in due course, we could find some way of collating the posts on this thread and pass them on Jinx’s mom and family.

@ grootblousmile:21 – Gbs, Thanks for that post by Jinx. The first time I have read it. Really moving.

Plenty reading our tribute to Jinx here gbs, maybe we could have a open day for all to put a post here before you send anything to his mother. Like you had a open day for all bloggers on RT’s birthday. None had to register if I recall for that day. Just a thought brother.

@ grootblousmile:18 – hahahahahaha. Trust Jinxie. He sure had a great sense of humour.

24@ Puma:
    OK, also a good idea… I’m opening the Blog now… go spread the word.. and ask that they post under their known nicknames or state who they are…

@ grootblousmile:26 – Thanks gbs, Will do that now.

For purposes of allowing unhindered tributes to our late friend, Jinx, and in the spirit which Jinx lived, the Rugby-Talk blog has been opened for EVERYBODY to comment!

If you are a registered Rugby-Talk blogger, Login like normal and comment.

If you’re not a registered Rugby-Talker, kindly state your Nickname (if from another Blog) / your Name and an E-Mail Address…. and leave a comment.

Jinxie turned me onto Joe Bonamassa, late in the evening talking Blues and Rock on the blog, entertaining hours. Sorry I never met the man….time just didn’t allow. Dont put off to tomorrow what you can do today, see your friends, laugh and love often.
    Hamba Kahle Jinx

We leave you to go and prepare the campsite at the big beach in the sky….make sure the beers are cold, we’ll all see you soon enough.

4man

@ grootblousmile:27 – gbs, Just left over on keo for everyone that wants to post a tribute to Jinxie here on the thread. Told them to blog under their nics and like you said everyone is welcome for today.

Thank you brother much appreciated. Hope all that were his friends posts a tribute.

Today we can again just hold hands and be brothers. Jinx would have really loved to have seen this day happen. He was a really kind man.

Total 56 users including 0 member, 56 guests, 0 bot online