AustraliaScotlandWallabies (15) 35 / 34 (16) Scotland (Final Score)

The Australian Wallabies and Scotland did battle in the 2015 Rugby World Cup at

Twickenham Stadium, London, England at 17:00 SA Time (16:00 BST, 15:00 GMT, Monday 02:00 AEDT).

Wallabies:

• Penalties – Bernard Foley (2)
  • Tries – Adam Ashley-Cooper (1), Drew Mitchell (2), Michael Hooper (1), Tevita Kuridrani (1)
  • Conversions – Bernard Foley (2)

Scotland:

• Penalties – Greig Laidlaw (5)
  • Tries – Peter Horne (1), Tommy Seymour (1), Mark Bennett (1)
  • Conversions – Greig Laidlaw (2)

Australian Wallabies
Scotland
18 October at 17:00 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Will Genia, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Kane Douglas, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Stephen Moore (Captain), 1 Scott Sio
  • Replacements: 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 James Slipper, 18 Greg Holmes, 19 Dean Mumm, 20 Sean McMahon, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Matt Toomua, 23 Quade Cooper
  • Team: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Mark Bennett, 12 Pete Horne, 11 Tommy Seymour, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Greig Laidlaw (Captain), 8 Dave Denton, 7 John Hardie, 6 Blair Cowan, 5 Richie Gray, 4 Jonny Gray, 3 WP Nel, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Alasdair Dickinson
  • Replacements: 16 Frazer Brown, 17 Gordon Reid, 18 Jon Welsh, 19 Tim Swinson, 20 Josh Strauss, 21 Henry Pyrgos, 22 Richie Vernon, 23 Sean Lamont

Expected weather: Cloudy, with a high of a 12°C
Assistant Referees: Glen Jackson (New Zealand), Pascal Gauzère (France)
TMO: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)

262 Responses to Rugby World Cup 2015: Australia vs Scotland – Live Game Article

200 @ nortie:
    Bokke het geglo Japan gaan maklik wees… so wat’s jou punt?

Nou weet almal hul volgende game is nie ‘n maklike game nie.

Punt was, Australia het dalk gedink Skotland gaan maklik wees

http://www.worldrugby.org/worldrugbytv/video#

Check the last 30 seconds of the clip, it is all there….Joubert almost doing a “Clive Norling jumping for joy ” rendition as he blew for the penalty.

looks like a knock on by Laidlaw, hit forward by Strausses shoulder, caught by the Scot in an offside position… looks about right.

MacroPolo wrote:

looks like a knock on by Laidlaw, hit forward by Strausses shoulder, caught by the Scot in an offside position… looks about right.

Nope, I agree with the following commentator on the incident in question, and his views on Joubert’s performance as a whole:

“Replays suggested that Joubert may have been wrong though.

Scotland may have knocked the ball on, but Wallaby replacement scrumhalf Nick Phibbs then touched the ball before Scotland replacement Jon Welsh played it – and was penalised for doing so.

The decision came minutes after a clear late interference by Australia’s Drew Mitchell – for which the wing apologised – which went unpunished despite the largely Scottish 77 110 crowd baying for Joubert to refer to the TMO.

In a third contentious decision, in the 42nd minute of the match, Joubert yellow-carded Scotland wing Sean Maitland for a deliberate foul which was harsh in the extreme.”
    (Source: News24 today).

according to the rules the player has to touch it intentionally (i.e. a chargedown) for an offside player to become on side.

11.3 Being put onside by opponents
    (c)Intentionally touches ball. When an opponent intentionally touches the ball but does not catch it, the offside player is put onside.

Do you think Phipps played the ball back intentionally? I could not see that clearly from the footage.

@ MacroPolo:
    Will check later, I am running late for class….see you in 2 hours or so.

My goodness but that bar’s filling up quickly.

And don’t anybody expect the Scotsman to buy a round.

Beer

@ bos_otter:
    When that final penalty was awarded, I also felt a sense of karma, not for the above reason, but for Stuart Hogg’s dive trying to milk a penalty or yellow card in the pool match against the Boks.

Any sympathy i held for the jocks then disappeared when they boo’ed Stephen Moore when he was being interviewed.

The good old days when watching rugby with the jocks was a lesson in humility have long gone – they’re as bad as the poms these days for their whingeing.

@ bos_otter:
    Yes, interesting indeed! So, Japan could have been there instead of Scotland if it weren’t for Laidlaw’s “no try” against Samoa? Pity, I would have loved seeing the Japanese progress to the latter stages.

Yeah, that would have been awesome.
    One of my Australian mates was at Twickenham yesterday. He mentioned the atmosphere turned very hostile towards the end of the game. Was not the right thing to do, but might explain why Craid decided to make bee-line for the changing rooms….pity he didn’t stay and defended his decision.

@ Charo:
    Howzit Charo! Well, since you put it THAT way, maybe it is just as well the Jocks fell out. Unfortunately I haven’t watched any of the games lately, being out here in the sticks, so I wasn’t aware of those instances of bad behaviour and unsportman-like attitudes on the Scottish side of the fence…not lekka that Angry

bos_otter wrote:

Yeah, that would have been awesome.
    One of my Australian mates was at Twickenham yesterday. He mentioned the atmosphere turned very hostile towards the end of the game. Was not the right thing to do, but might explain why Craid decided to make bee-line for the changing rooms….pity he didn’t stay and defended his decision.

Yip, I would have high-tailed out of there as well, I can just imagine!

Hi Piet,

Back in 1999 RWC I had the pleasure of being at Murrayfield for the Scots/Bok game.
    Was lucky enough to chat to Gordon Brown (RIP) the Broon from Troon before the game.

In those days there was a good cameraderie at games and the only enemy was the English.

All changed now sadly.

@ Charo:
    The Scots were based I Pretoria during the 1995 World Cup, had some of them over at my place and at Loftus Restaurant during that month, great bunch of lads they were!
    By the way, have you read the late Gordon Brown’s autobiography? Check the chapter about the 1974 test at Boet Erasmus, where he tells the story about the “one-eyed grass monster”, referring to Johan de Bruyn the Free State lock, who stuck his glass-eye back into its socket after that big “99 call” punch-up, with a clump of grass sticking out!

Ja, read his book, loved it. Such a gentleman of the game.

I am reading comments on the Scots/OZ game from as many sources as possible and the reaction of the jocks has been unacceptable. Gavin Hastings, of all people, saying he was disgusted by the late penalty decision. Lots of emotion from the jocks without considering how lucky they were to get even close (Oz giving away soft tries got the jocks close). They are also going on about the yellow card – that was the call of the Kiwi TMO (yet Joubert gets all the heat).

Even Gregor Paul can’t help himself from putting the boot in.
    All emotional claptrap which wil come back to bite them in the cold light of day.

One of my favorite Springbok vs Scotland anecdotes is the one about Hennie “Die Windhond” Muller: during that 1951 test at Murrayfield which the Boks ended up winning 44-0, Muller apparently felt so bad about the beating they were giving the Scots that he went over to the Scottish players during half-time, to offer them a bit of tactical advice on how to counter the Boks’ attacks;-)

As an aside, when my dad was a boy, he saw Muller play against the All Blacks during that 4-0 whitewash series, and to this day, you can’t convince him that there has ever been a finer nr.8 on this earth.

Vrystaat wrote:

One of my favorite Springbok vs Scotland anecdotes is the one about Hennie “Die Windhond” Muller: during that 1951 test at Murrayfield which the Boks ended up winning 44-0, Muller apparently felt so bad about the beating they were giving the Scots that he went over to the Scottish players during half-time, to offer them a bit of tactical advice on how to counter the Boks’ attacks;-)

As an aside, when my dad was a boy, he saw Muller play against the All Blacks during that 4-0 whitewash series, and to this day, you can’t convince him that there has ever been a finer nr.8 on this earth.

One of the All Blacks, I think it was Colin Meads* said those days the All Blacks already watched their diet, and didn’t drink or smoke before the test series. Ate a big steak the night before the game etc.

He said Hennie Muller played the crap out of them, and he was surprised when Windhond lit up a cigarette at halftime

Didn’t impede his performance because he played even better the second half

I see Nick Phipps has admitted that he attempted to play the ball as it bounced off him “We were all going for it”

So therefore the penalty was wrong, The player was played onside by Phipps.

Knock on seems to have been the best call.

@ RobbedbyCraigJoubert:
    #261 World Rugby has issued a statement saying Joubert made a mistake it shouldn’t have been a penalty BUT that he was correct to not consult TMO.

Total 112 users including 0 member, 112 guests, 0 bot online