CrusadersCell C SharksCrusaders (13) 25 / 30 (1) Sharks (Final Score)

The Crusaders and Cell C Sharks did battle in Super Rugby at

AMI Stadium, Christchurch at 09:35 SA Time (19:35 NZ Time, 07:35 GMT).

• Penalties – Colin Slade (6)
  • Tries – Colin Slade (1)
  • Conversions – Colin Slade (1)

• Penalties – Francois Steyn (2), Tim Swiel (1)
  • Tries – S’Bura Sithole (1), Cobus Reinach (1), Kyle Cooper (1)
  • Conversions – Francois Steyn (2), Tim Swiel (1)

Crusaders

Cell C Sharks

17 May at 09:35
  • Team: 15. Tom Taylor, 14. Johnny McNicholl, 13. Reynold Lee-Lo, 12. Ryan Crotty (Captain), 11. Nemani Nadolo, 10. Colin Slade, 9. Willi Heinz, 8. Luke Whitelock, 7. Richie McCaw, 6. Jordan Taufua, 5. Sam Whitelock, 4. Dominic Bird, 3. Owen Franks, 2. Corey Flynn, 1. Wyatt Crockett
  • Replacements: 16. Ben Funnell, 17. Tim Perry, 18. Nepo Laulala, 19. Jimmy Tupou, 20. George Whitelock, 21. Andy Ellis, 22. Tyler Bleyendaal, 23. Nafi Tuitavake
  • Team: 15. SP Marais, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Sibusiso Sithole, 12. Paul Jordaan, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Francois Steyn, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Willem Alberts, 7. Jean Deysel, 6. Lubabalo Mtembu, 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Ettienne Oosthuizen, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis (Captain), 1. Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Ryan Kankowski, 20. Keegan Daniel, 21. Charl McLeod, 22. Tim Swiel, 23. Heimar Williams

Referee: Rohan Hoffmann (Australia)
Assistant Referees: Mike Fraser (New Zealand), Mike Lash (New Zealand)
TMO: Chris Watt (New Zealand)

356 Responses to Super Rugby: Crusaders vs Cell C Sharks – Live Game Article

Meant : should325 @ Nama:
    We scored 3 tries with a man down…hehe damn good even if I say it myself. We beat a very good Saders side with playing at one stage with 13 men. That was a brilliant victory for my team boet. Shows a lot of guts by the players. So very proud of them. Jake will have a huge step in his feet after that game. First saffa coach to win there I believe since 2001 and the first time Sharks won there and with 13 men nogal… Wink Happy

Your team did brilliantly to win the game but I also think that the Saders thought that the win will just “happen” playing against 14 men. Would’ve been a different story if they played against 15 men the whole game, I believe.

323 @ grootblousmile: hahahaha. No not ever. Never did I think we stood a chance with 15 men but when we lost Deysel thought the flood gates were going to open against us. It never happened. We just kept going at them with sure guts by the players. That takes believe. It was a massive victory for Sharks today because of the circumstances… :mrgreen: That win made my year… Haha. Don’t even care if we lose the rest of our games that game has made my year. The game I wanted my team to win the most. Nothing beats beating the Saders in Christchurch… Who-s-the-man

Jaco Peyper would be proud 😀

nothing…except winning the super rugby

335 @ MacroBull:
    Not worried about that now. For me that win was a victory on its on. Much as I felt when we beat Stormers after travelling to play in Brisbane in 2012 and had to play them in a semi after being dead on our feet and winning that game. Those two games stand out for me forever. Great wins with our backs to the wall.

@ Puma:meant = victory on its own.

Think I should throw this useless iPad in the trash. Just not made for people like me… Distort

I am 150% sure that you want to win the trophy more, or will be again on Monday.

Nama wrote:

Your team did brilliantly to win the game but I also think that the Saders thought that the win will just “happen” playing against 14 men. Would’ve been a different story if they played against 15 men the whole game, I believe.

Nama thinks the Sharks had an unfair advantage because they were a man (or sometimes two men) down 😆

@ kaksioek:
    hahaha…. 😆

kaksioek wrote:

Nama wrote:
    Nama thinks the Sharks had an unfair advantage because they were a man (or sometimes two men) down

hqahahhahahahahahahahaha

Now where’s our New Zealand friends of the blog… I see them skulking around in the background but not commenting.

Do they not have an insult against SA sides today… yet?

Surely after the Sharks beat the Saders, with 14 men to boot and with 13 at a stage, they could be magnannimous enough to come say well done to the Sharks???

Well done done Sharks.

And who exactly is skulking?

In a way I agree with Nama, the red card galvanized the sharkies team, they played like they have nothing to lose, if Nadolu could have held on to that ball a few meters from the lines and crusaders scored and the sharks lost it would not have mattered. I am not saying they would not have shown the same level of commitment with 15 players, but I highly highly doubt that they would have done any better today if Deysel didnt have that brainfart.

343 @ cane:
    You and you and you… and the China oke!

Great win by your Team Puma.
    Enjoy the moment.
    Crusaders were very poor. Something lacking in the top 2 inches. They should have taken scrums at every opportunity, instead of kicks for 3 points.
    Whatever…………………………………..great win.

I hope that was the last time, Ryan Crotty ever Captains a NZ side.

@ cane:
    he was pretty bad, i never evem knew who was the saders captain, he was just in the background the whole game.

I just logged on. (and have not viewed the site today at all).
    So you can apologise for the skulking remark anytime you like.

349 @ cane:
    You must sort out your priorities, get them straight… it is a shame you only logged on just now!

Delighted

I was working so didn’t see the game, a very good win for the Sharks but they’ll still choke they always do. How many weeks for the headstomper?

351 @ NZINCHINA:
    If he is a New Zealander or an Aussie, he just gets a warning, if he is South African he cops about half his lifetime plus a heavy fine!

@ NZINCHINA:
    Crusaders are the ones who choked NZC.
    Why Ritchie wasn’t running the show, I can not fathom.
    Sharkies won, through determination.
    If those pri-ks get a home final, we could kiss the Super Trophy goodbye.
    Lets face it,
    they are not getting much competition in their Conference,
    so they will continue to stack up the points on the log.

If it was a Nzer or an Aussie you would have had a record day for hits by now. They should ban him for life.

354 @ NZINCHINA:
    Ahhh, Mmmmmm… Maybe THAT’s why I’ve been getting so many hits on Rugby-Talk since 2014.

It explains it ALL!!

Dirty farkin basttards!

Epic win Sharks.

The intensity and commitment shown was unbelievable.

Total 39 users including 0 member, 39 guests, 0 bot online