South Africa and New Zealand did battle in the 3rd T20 International at St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth at 14:30 SA Time on Wednesday 26 December 2012.

This was the Live Game Article for the match.

South Africa posted a mighty 179 / 6 in their allotted 20 overs.

New Zealand started the chase well but after Martin Guptill and Brendan McCullum departed, it was all over bar the shouting.

South Africa won comfortably, by 33 runs and with only 1 New Zealand wicket left standing.

South Africa: 179 / 6 (20 overs)

New Zealand: 146 / 9 (20 overs)

Match over

• New Zealand in South Africa T20I Series – 3rd T20I
  • T20I no. 297 | 2012/13 season
  • Played at St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth
  • 26 December 2012 (20-over match)
South Africa innings (20 overs maximum) R M B 4s 6s SR
H Davids c Anderson b McClenaghan 68 67 51 7 2 133.33
F du Plessis* b Hira 1 5 9 0 0 11.11
Q de Kock† c Anderson b McClenaghan 2 12 4 0 0 50.00
JL Ontong c Anderson b Franklin 48 39 30 1 3 160.00
DA Miller c Anderson b Bracewell 28 27 15 4 0 186.66
F Behardien c McClenaghan b Bracewell 22 19 11 2 1 200.00
RK Kleinveldt not out 0 2 0 0 0
Extras (lb 4, w 6) 10
Total (6 wickets; 20 overs; 86 mins) 179 (8.95 runs per over)
Did not bat RJ Peterson, R McLaren, AM Phangiso, M Morkel
Fall of wickets 1-2 (du Plessis, 1.5 ov), 2-26 (de Kock, 4.4 ov), 3-115 (Ontong, 14.5 ov), 4-135 (Davids, 16.3 ov), 5-179 (Miller, 19.5 ov), 6-179 (Behardien, 19.6 ov)
Bowling O M R W Econ
MJ McClenaghan 4 0 24 2 6.00 (2w)
RM Hira 4 1 24 1 6.00
NL McCullum 3 0 27 0 9.00
JEC Franklin 3 0 30 1 10.00
DAJ Bracewell 3 0 35 2 11.66 (1w)
JDS Neesham 3 0 35 0 11.66 (3w)
New Zealand innings (target: 180 runs from 20 overs) R M B 4s 6s SR
RJ Nicol lbw b McLaren 5 2 3 1 0 166.66
MJ Guptill c Peterson b Phangiso 24 26 20 3 1 120.00
BB McCullum*† c Ontong b Phangiso 25 31 22 3 1 113.63
C Munro c †de Kock b McLaren 3 14 10 0 0 30.00
JEC Franklin c Ontong b Phangiso 16 17 13 1 1 123.07
JDS Neesham c Morkel b Peterson 12 15 10 2 0 120.00
NL McCullum c Peterson b McLaren 17 23 14 2 0 121.42
Corey J Anderson run out (McLaren) 12 16 9 1 0 133.33
DAJ Bracewell not out 15 9 2 0 166.66
RM Hira c Ontong b Kleinveldt 12 11 9 2 0 133.33
MJ McClenaghan not out 1 1 0 0 100.00
Extras (lb 1, w 3) 4
Total (9 wickets; 20 overs) 146 (7.30 runs per over)
Fall of wickets 1-6 (Nicol, 0.4 ov), 2-53 (Guptill, 6.6 ov), 3-56 (BB McCullum, 8.3 ov), 4-60 (Munro, 9.4 ov), 5-84 (Franklin, 12.3 ov), 6-87 (Neesham, 13.1 ov), 7-116 (Anderson, 16.4 ov), 8-116 (NL McCullum, 16.5 ov), 9-137 (Hira, 19.2 ov)
Bowling O M R W Econ
R McLaren 4 0 25 3 6.25 (1w)
RJ Peterson 3 0 24 1 8.00
M Morkel 4 0 37 0 9.25 (1w)
RK Kleinveldt 4 0 25 1 6.25 (1w)
AM Phangiso 4 0 25 3 6.25
JL Ontong 1 0 9 0 9.00
Match details
Toss South Africa, who chose to bat
Player of the match tba
Umpires JD Cloete and AT Holdstock
TV umpire S George
Match referee AJ Pycroft (Zimbabwe)
Reserve umpire BG Jerling
Match notes
  • Powerplay: Overs 0.1 – 6.0 (Mandatory – 36 runs, 2 wickets)
  • South Africa: 50 runs in 8.1 overs (49 balls), Extras 4
  • 3rd Wicket: 50 runs in 42 balls (H Davids 27, JL Ontong 25, Ex 2)
  • H Davids: 50 off 41 balls (6 x 4, 1 x 6)
  • South Africa: 100 runs in 14.1 overs (85 balls), Extras 5
  • South Africa: 150 runs in 18.1 overs (109 balls), Extras 9
  • Innings Break: South Africa – 179/6 in 20.0 overs (RK Kleinveldt 0)
  • Powerplay: Overs 0.1 – 6.0 (Mandatory – 45 runs, 1 wicket)
  • New Zealand: 50 runs in 6.1 overs (37 balls), Extras 0
  • New Zealand: 100 runs in 14.5 overs (89 balls), Extras 1

203 Responses to Cricket: 3rd T20 – South Africa vs New Zealand – Live Game Article

145 @ superBul:
    McLook is excellent in giving a analysis of the game. Then doubt he will write about all the games. Well the saffa games he just may, then it is a lot of work that.

The thing there will be 5 of us selecting a team of the week. We don’t discuss it AT all between each other. We send in our team of the week and from there the player that gets most votes in that position gets onto the team of that week. We can moan if our favourite player of that week in that position is not there, but that will be it. Nothing we can do if he is not selected by most. Fair if 5 votes and none know which the other are selecting. That is fair and square. Then if we moan after so be it. Lambie though will be there, first up even if sick……….. Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy

149 @ superBul:
    I give my GRANITE guy a 3 out of 10…. hehehe

His craftmanship is tops, but he has now taken money from me and has not installed the rest of my stuff.

He eventually phoned me last week and promised to install the rest before the 10th of January….

AF wat is dit, nee jong die besigheid is jonk ek werk dat dit bars

Gister was dit so 42 grade heel middag, entoe kry ons die wonderlikste reen, n hele 80mm, en raai wat toe werk ek sommer weer met nuwe geesdrif. Maar ja iewers moet ek bietjie rus , sal probeer na die Mango seisoen.

150 @ grootblousmile:
    That has to be done……hehehe. I do blog while watching but have to move damn fast to my study to say something about that minute of the game. By that time I know it is a bit late in saying something, but I always do as you know…………… πŸ™‚ I am not the fastest either πŸ™‚

I need to use my laptop I know, but just too much strain on my neck. Will HAVE to get a tv in my study. I do use my laptop sometimes though.

153 @ superBul:
    Na die Mango seisoen is dit Perske seisoen, dan druiwe… dan die volgende.

Die swart mense het ‘n gesegde…. die werk raak nie klaar nie, die man raak klaar.

who on Earth would pick any Spears player for their team, damm you must be joking in asking a Lions supporter to give them any positive rating, oohhhhh
    maybe GBS would do it for them, at least he knows them better than anyone with his research for his articles.

154 @ Puma:
    One gets a special Notebook table, which slides over your Lounge chair, almost like that table one gets in Hospital which slides accross the bed… that might be your answer… hehehe

157 @ superBul:
    As long as I NEVER, EVER have to rate Luke Watson… hahaha

149 @ superBul:
    I do complain about quite a few players Super. I just don’t really rip them apart. Though the way it does end up like you can read on some sites it is just not on. I don’t enjoy ripping a player apart. That is not me so sorry I won’t do it. Will if we do it with decency. Then will, not the way I see it done on other sites. Hope we never become like that here. Journos do enough of it anyhow.

hahaha , die sequence is hier perske, litchi, druiwe, mango avo,s ,suurlemoen, pomelo, lemoen, ….
    ek is nou al so slim soos n porra

158 @ grootblousmile:
    Jeepers, that is not for me………. Distort NOOIT boet….. Overjoy

161 @ superBul:
    En die Guav’s & Grindelsh?

Solank jy netnie soos ‘n Porra begin lyk en praat nie, is jy nog OK!

πŸ˜† super is al klaar n groente gees πŸ˜†

157 @ superBul:
    Gbs will give them zero that is why…….. πŸ™‚ I just said Lion as he blogs here a lot. Not sure who should, you could Super if you want…. πŸ™‚

Any ideaas re the changes yet?? or you still building courage to start ?:lol:

Als boet we gonna do an article for each team as a team in a afew weeks?? in other words an article coming out of the breakdown article’s we have done??

164 @ Sharks_forever:
    Yip, let’s sommer call him Carlos Gomez from now on… hehehe

Ok so we give Luke Watson a -10 rating handicap πŸ˜† so when and if he does have a good game he will example end up with a -3 or 04 etc πŸ˜†

152 @ grootblousmile:
    If any granite installer took my money and not installed yet, I would give him a big fat 0 and that would be too much.

I would probably give myself -0 for giving him the money first before installing……… πŸ˜›

I just don’t really rip them apart.

i sort of agree , look by now you must know me, just think Dean. I believe any player can make a comeback.

So when i “RIP” , it is in fact his play of the day, not his person.
    I will tell a Morne Steyn he kicked like a arshole and cost us a few tests this year, but i know he can do better, and i wont write him off. Thats how i feel about players.
    They are not 10 year old kids , if they played bad and cost their team, they must face the music.

166 @ Sharks_forever:
    If you look under the Top menu on the site, under Super Rugby, 2012… you will see the Full 5 squads of 2012… so when we’re all done, I will condense all of a team’s players and put them up on the top under 2013… team by team.

We might also do an Article for each team tin total like you suggest… we’ll see.

I have not started with the design changes, that will happen from Friday onwards… to busy on the stuff in and around the house still… except for today, I did vet mooi nokkol on the house.

Not sure who should, you could Super if you want…. πŸ™‚

dan gee ek weer 9 vir Luke al sit hy op die bench Delighted

Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy This is luigi Luigi Super Mario Bros the Porra from the far north, he is a onyon, potatsche, gringadelsch, Bonnansche, gwavs, grapsch Overjoy Overjoy

die gendelchh en kwawas is ook al deur my hande, sheez maar hul raklewe is kort hier in ons hitte

πŸ˜† that’s fine bro,

170 @ superBul:
    Hey Carlos Gomez… you do veggies and salad stuff too?

170 @ superBul:
    Of course we should say something Super. I do all the time if a player lets his team down. I just don’t go into a frenzy and call them despicable names, like we see on many, many sites. We do our criticising with decency we get taken more seriously than if we do it in a disgraceful way.

eish Ya daai valley van jou is a blerrie oond

169 @ Puma:
    Don’t worry, ek sal nog hard op sy ballas trap…. hehehe

Total 96 users including 0 member, 96 guests, 0 bot online