South Africa and New Zealand did battle in the 3rd T20 International at St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth at 14:30 SA Time on Wednesday 26 December 2012.

This was the Live Game Article for the match.

South Africa posted a mighty 179 / 6 in their allotted 20 overs.

New Zealand started the chase well but after Martin Guptill and Brendan McCullum departed, it was all over bar the shouting.

South Africa won comfortably, by 33 runs and with only 1 New Zealand wicket left standing.

South Africa: 179 / 6 (20 overs)

New Zealand: 146 / 9 (20 overs)

Match over

• New Zealand in South Africa T20I Series – 3rd T20I
  • T20I no. 297 | 2012/13 season
  • Played at St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth
  • 26 December 2012 (20-over match)
South Africa innings (20 overs maximum) R M B 4s 6s SR
H Davids c Anderson b McClenaghan 68 67 51 7 2 133.33
F du Plessis* b Hira 1 5 9 0 0 11.11
Q de Kock† c Anderson b McClenaghan 2 12 4 0 0 50.00
JL Ontong c Anderson b Franklin 48 39 30 1 3 160.00
DA Miller c Anderson b Bracewell 28 27 15 4 0 186.66
F Behardien c McClenaghan b Bracewell 22 19 11 2 1 200.00
RK Kleinveldt not out 0 2 0 0 0
Extras (lb 4, w 6) 10
Total (6 wickets; 20 overs; 86 mins) 179 (8.95 runs per over)
Did not bat RJ Peterson, R McLaren, AM Phangiso, M Morkel
Fall of wickets 1-2 (du Plessis, 1.5 ov), 2-26 (de Kock, 4.4 ov), 3-115 (Ontong, 14.5 ov), 4-135 (Davids, 16.3 ov), 5-179 (Miller, 19.5 ov), 6-179 (Behardien, 19.6 ov)
Bowling O M R W Econ
MJ McClenaghan 4 0 24 2 6.00 (2w)
RM Hira 4 1 24 1 6.00
NL McCullum 3 0 27 0 9.00
JEC Franklin 3 0 30 1 10.00
DAJ Bracewell 3 0 35 2 11.66 (1w)
JDS Neesham 3 0 35 0 11.66 (3w)
New Zealand innings (target: 180 runs from 20 overs) R M B 4s 6s SR
RJ Nicol lbw b McLaren 5 2 3 1 0 166.66
MJ Guptill c Peterson b Phangiso 24 26 20 3 1 120.00
BB McCullum*† c Ontong b Phangiso 25 31 22 3 1 113.63
C Munro c †de Kock b McLaren 3 14 10 0 0 30.00
JEC Franklin c Ontong b Phangiso 16 17 13 1 1 123.07
JDS Neesham c Morkel b Peterson 12 15 10 2 0 120.00
NL McCullum c Peterson b McLaren 17 23 14 2 0 121.42
Corey J Anderson run out (McLaren) 12 16 9 1 0 133.33
DAJ Bracewell not out 15 9 2 0 166.66
RM Hira c Ontong b Kleinveldt 12 11 9 2 0 133.33
MJ McClenaghan not out 1 1 0 0 100.00
Extras (lb 1, w 3) 4
Total (9 wickets; 20 overs) 146 (7.30 runs per over)
Fall of wickets 1-6 (Nicol, 0.4 ov), 2-53 (Guptill, 6.6 ov), 3-56 (BB McCullum, 8.3 ov), 4-60 (Munro, 9.4 ov), 5-84 (Franklin, 12.3 ov), 6-87 (Neesham, 13.1 ov), 7-116 (Anderson, 16.4 ov), 8-116 (NL McCullum, 16.5 ov), 9-137 (Hira, 19.2 ov)
Bowling O M R W Econ
R McLaren 4 0 25 3 6.25 (1w)
RJ Peterson 3 0 24 1 8.00
M Morkel 4 0 37 0 9.25 (1w)
RK Kleinveldt 4 0 25 1 6.25 (1w)
AM Phangiso 4 0 25 3 6.25
JL Ontong 1 0 9 0 9.00
Match details
Toss South Africa, who chose to bat
Player of the match tba
Umpires JD Cloete and AT Holdstock
TV umpire S George
Match referee AJ Pycroft (Zimbabwe)
Reserve umpire BG Jerling
Match notes
  • Powerplay: Overs 0.1 – 6.0 (Mandatory – 36 runs, 2 wickets)
  • South Africa: 50 runs in 8.1 overs (49 balls), Extras 4
  • 3rd Wicket: 50 runs in 42 balls (H Davids 27, JL Ontong 25, Ex 2)
  • H Davids: 50 off 41 balls (6 x 4, 1 x 6)
  • South Africa: 100 runs in 14.1 overs (85 balls), Extras 5
  • South Africa: 150 runs in 18.1 overs (109 balls), Extras 9
  • Innings Break: South Africa – 179/6 in 20.0 overs (RK Kleinveldt 0)
  • Powerplay: Overs 0.1 – 6.0 (Mandatory – 45 runs, 1 wicket)
  • New Zealand: 50 runs in 6.1 overs (37 balls), Extras 0
  • New Zealand: 100 runs in 14.5 overs (89 balls), Extras 1

203 Responses to Cricket: 3rd T20 – South Africa vs New Zealand – Live Game Article

Now to be serious… this was not even our strongest T20 side… AB de Villiers and Dale Steyn was not even here… so too Amla, Smith, Kallis

120 @ grootblousmile:
    Since the Oz tour he has been really good with the bat. Not going to say much if a batsman gets our quick in this format. Here is is luck sometimes as you just going for everything.

Only sports24 and ourselves have a thread on the cricket. Though we done a live commentary here. This has to be the best site not only for live games in Rugby but the cricket too. Well done gbs very impressive with running of this site.

be back in a few

121 @ grootblousmile:
    This is most definitely not our strongest side. So them winning this series tells us what good shape our cricket is in.

I wish we had England touring here now. Now that would generate HUGE interest especially in the tests coming up.

122 @ Puma:
    I’ve actually gone and bought the Domain names and rights of the following as well:

http://www.cricket-talk.co.za
    http://www.soccer-talk.co.za

So who knows, one day we might be a conglomerate of Sport sites, covering Rugby, Cricket, Soccer…. and maybe Motorsport and Golf too

Gbs what happened to the Loose Forwards article? We had one up this morning commented on it then…. WEG so vinnig? Waar is dit nou? 😯

126 @ Puma:
    I’ve put it back on Draft Mode, told Tjarkie so earlier… I still had to put the Bulls & Southern Kings locks on… and Kickers still has to put the Stormers locks on, before we start with the Looseforwards.

125 @ grootblousmile:
    I think that is brilliant. We could cover almost anything here. Just need some knowledgeable Soccer heads here as I am most definitely not one of them. I know more about golf……. 🙂 Not that much into Motorsports though some are. Would get into Athletics as I really enjoy that sport too. For that matter enjoy the tennis as well, then only the Grand Slams none of the rest. Rugby the best of of the lot though… 🙂 Cricket is my 2nd best sport then the rest.

127 @ grootblousmile:
    Okay thought you were the gremlin that took it off…… Overjoy

128 @ Puma:
    I know shit-all about soccer… and I would have to get an equally dedicated dude to run the full-time Soccer or Cricket sites… I simply can’t do all.

Maybe I should build up an Advertising leg for the sports sites, then EMPLOY a dedicated soccer guru to handle that one… and also a dedicated Cricket dude, to handle and run that one… and earn money off those in the process.

130 @ grootblousmile:
    You should as you do a heck of a lot of work here. Get something out of it for sure boet.

131 @ Puma:
    You know of course that you’ll be one of our Sharks Authors in 2013… you promised!

132 @ grootblousmile:
    I am useless at it. Sharky does a expert job at doing it…….. 🙂 I will do the team of the week for S15 as we don’t have that here, that kind of thing I said I would do. That should be easy enough…. lol.

133 @ Puma:
    Oh fark, it will be full of Sharks players every week… hehehe

132 @ grootblousmile:

Another thing other sites to Rating of players after each game, I DON’T like it, just not fair on players as everyone but everyone has their own view and then there are about 8 different ratings about for a player that week. So for me personally don’t agree with that. Team of the week would be great as we don’t have to have a rating next to the player. Rating players with a score for me is a cheap skate thing to do to a player. End of story.

134 @ grootblousmile:
    Probably……………….. Tounge-Out Happy-Grin Happy-Grin

134 @ grootblousmile:
    I have thought of a way to do it. We will get the regular bloggers here that watch all the games to send me their team of the week. Say 5 of us, none speak to the other who they think are their team of the week. Then from that list each player that has the most selected for that position gets selected as to the team of the week. That way it will be fair who gets onto team of the week. It should never be one persons choice. Best way to do it.

😆 pooms

😆 Pooms atleast the team of the week is a start

As for the player ratings? Maybe we should have it where Rudi, Myself, For Kicks and cheetah4neva discuss each match and then do a unanimous rating.???

i love ratings, i can build a story around it, it usually expose the Sharkies, hahaha

Hi guys i missed another sports game, this clinging sound of the “tille” GBS calls it is adictive

. Puma bro?? you know of course Lambie will always be in the team of the week?? @ Puma:

Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy

Blogging on R-T has made Puma and Me tough bloggers 😆 we just ignore you other okes chuning our Sharks Happy-Grin Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy

139 @ Sharks_forever:
    I just don’t like rating a player. Think it is unfair on a player. Some sites have a player at 9 while other give 6 it is just hit and miss really.

Team of the week is a far better. Making a team from all 15 teams is excellent. Need one supporter from each franchise to select their team of the week, then we see who has most votes for each position that week and that is how they will ge nominated for team of the week.

gbs
    Cheetah4Eva
    Sharks one week then me the next…. 🙂

Stormersboy one week then JFK the next
    For Kings have no idea at all. Our Lion friend will have to do that one.

Remember we could only do a saffa team of the week or a overall from all teams. I think overall from all teams is the way to go. So it has to be someone that watches all the games. Unless some don’t have time to watch all the games, then we just do a saffa team of the week as we all watch all the saffa teams playing.

139 @ Sharks_forever:
    I think closer to the start of Super Rugby, we will know which bloggers have time available and will be able to see all the games.

Then we could easlily compile a panel to send their Team of the week to Oompie Puma to publish.

Now the excercise and huge task would be to teach Oompie Puma how to publish articles AND how to use his EDIT keys before submitting the article…. hehehe

Shark – fornever and pooms, we had it here before , in fact well organized with a spreadsheet and all the thing is , people who pick have their own favorites and dont like it if their players dont make it.

Discussing a player after a game is also something some dont like. Remember we must stand by him… bla bla bla

Another thing i miss is real analyses of the game , McLook is still trying his utmost best to explain his views, most other here just stick to their “my province/franchise is the best” seldom do they analyze the players flaws etc.

141 @ Sharks_forever:
    Oh absolutely! Know it already….. Approve Happy-Grin Overjoy AND Frans Steyn and JPP also Keegan …………. Overjoy Sommer all the Sharkies every week……… LOL.

145 @ superBul:
    Ou Wille Bees… het jy darem ook paar af-dae gehad nou oor die Feesseisoen?

Of werk jy ELKE dag?

😆 pooms player rating and team of the week is kinda the same thing, by putting a player in your team of the week it is your point of view, someone else will for example pick a different team to what you would?

It seriously does not matter what team of the week you put or what ratings people will always differ, If you see rugby 365’s team of the week?? they have 5 Journo’s selecting their team and then form a unanimous team

superBul wrote:

seldom do they analyze the players flaws etc.

with the above in mind Puma , why do you feel it is unfair to criticize a player? He is well trained , gets paid to do his job. Do you feel the same way about the plumber who farks up your house.

146 @ Puma:
    We would HAVE TO teach you how to blog AND watch at the same time though…. hehehe

Total 144 users including 0 member, 144 guests, 0 bot online