Springboks (6) 22 / (6) 17 England (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and England did battle in a Test at Mr Price Kings Park, Durban at 17:05 SA Time.

The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 1, SHD  M-Net on TV in SA.

• Penalties – Morné Steyn (4)
  • Tries – Morné Steyn (1), Jean de Villiers (1)

England:

• Penalties – Owen Farrell (4)
  • Tries – Ben Foden (1)

Springboks: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jean de Villiers (captain), 12 Francois Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis (vice-captain), 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Keegan Daniel, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Patrick Lambie, 22 Wynand Olivier

England: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Manu Tuilagi, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 Ben Foden, 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Ben Morgan, 7 Chris Robshaw (captain), 6 Tom Johnson, 5 Geoff Parling, 4 Mouritz Botha, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley, 1 Joe Marler
Replacements: 16 Lee Mears, 17 Paul Doran-Jones, 18 Tom Palmer, 19 Phil Dowson, 20 Lee Dickson, 21 Toby Flood, 22 Jonathan Joseph

470 Responses to Internationals: South Africa vs England – Live Game Article

yeah i know boet,only other 8 there then is Daniel and Kanko @ grootblousmile:

448 @ Just For Kicks:
    No, I’ve been critical of him and do believe he has his faults…. I just do not amplify his weaknesses that you guys unfairly try and pounce upon…

Ek dink hoe HM se kop werk is, dat hy kies die ervare gevestigde speler al is hy op gemiddelde vorm. Die ou wat hom moet vervang moet skitterend op dreef wees, dan sal hy hom eers kies. Daarom dat hy nie sommer sal rondval met spankeuses nie.

Positive changes for next week must be Ruan and Pat in

452@ grootblousmile: Perhaps Spoes is just camera shy then?

Spies developed this reputation as an awesome number 8 a few years ago, after the WC if my memory serves me, and has been living on that reputation since. Now the people that have been outspoken about how great he was then won’t admit that he is ordinary because it’s like admitting they were wrong in the first place. Just human nature.
    In any case, I won’t throw my toys out of the cot if HM sticks with Spoes. Vermeulen is injured after all, but I just don’t like to accept mediocrity from the Boks. I want to see the Boks fielding the best players in the world in every position, or at least trying until they get it right.

454 @ Just For Kicks:
    That’s what I said too…

Guys, enjoy the rest of the rugga tonight… I’ll be watching it, possibly, from the comfort of my bed.

Cheers

Goooooooooi Mieliesssssss

At least we saw a Bokke win… and that’s what matters….

457: wie sal jy nou agsteman speel in Spies se plek ?

By the way, i watched the matched online and with the Skysports coverage so heard nothing at all of the saffer commentators. I’m a bit worried about JdV though. He took some big knocks and he is prone to injuries. Wouldn’t want to see bissy be the captain. Would rather they made Spoes captain or better yet promote Strauss to the play on team as captain and Bissy to the bench.

@ bdb:
    Read my other comments.
    I’m also going to call it a night. Ciao a tutti!

Or wait, I see the Italy vs Arg game is on at 8. Is there going to be a thread for that?

don’t think so Turky

Sorry, busy day here but congratulations to your boys…..

Did you enjoy the game? That is the most important thing……Rugby is a sport, a game, a pass time and it should be savoured and enjoyed in equal measure 🙂

Hope it was fun.

Spoes is a lineout option and then nothing else.
    Hougie is such a brilliant player, yet such an average 9.
    If Steyn isn’t kicking 100% then he offers very little at 10
    Sideshow Bob,managed to sidestep into the tackle.

The team was good, very good at times. Exciting times lay ahead for them.

468 @ Loosehead,
    Agree entirely, and this worm thingy they do, to give Hougaard time to clear is so pedantic, and well advertised, that he more oft than not kicks into opponents. Hougie and Steyn as a combo, might add colour to Heynecke’s cheeks, but it is a snorefest of note. In addition, we will never consistently beat the AB’s with this drivel!

Steyn’s try made a dreary performance look only better.

Better to blood van Zyl now, as a future 9, as Mc leod, is even slower than Hougie. And rather play Lambie at 10, at least until Goosen can recover, and challenge.

No complaints with the rest of the pack, and maybe now that Meyer’s blue-eyed biy Britney Spies has broken the 8th man record, we can board him as soon as possible. Maybe we can kill two birds with 1 stone.

Play the following team, against the Poms:
    Beast, Bissy, Jannie
    Eztebeth, Kruger
    Brussow, Alberts, Coetzee
    van Zyl, Lambie
    Habana, Frans, Jean, Pietersen, Morne Steyn

Coenie, Strauss, Flip, Kolisi, Whitehead, Kirchner

That way we will get faster ball, and van Zyl has a quick long pass. Yes Hougie is a good cover defender, but van Zyl is no slouch either.

Phew….my lewer het ook maar net-net hierdie naweek oorleef.

Dink dinge lyk baie belowend and dit gaan net better raak.

Total 60 users including 0 member, 60 guests, 0 bot online