Sharks coach John Plumtree has named his team to face the Free State Cheetahs at Kings Park in the Currie Cup in the Semi-final with a new front row.

“Beast” Mtawarira, Bismarck and Jannie du Plessis have been named to start but the medical staff will deliver a late decision on Jean Deysel on Friday – he has been bracketed in with Anton Bresler at lock.

Willem Alberts, Ryan Kankowski and captain Keegan Daniel form a potentially devastating loose-forward trio while JP Pietersen starts ahead of Lwazi Mvovo who has been struggling with his hamstring this week. He will play off the bench along with Adrian Jacobs who replaces Jacques-Louis Potgieter.

“Everyone has to bring energy – this is a big game, a huge game,” explained Plumtree on the Sharks site.

“It was great to have the Boks back last week, but after having to integrate them, this week we’re a team, everyone has a big responsibility, not just them.”

Another significant achievement worth mentioning is the probability of flank Jacques Botes playing in his 100th Currie Cup game for The Sharks. “Since 2005, I’ve had some good times at The Sharks and I’m very grateful to still be playing,”

Botes explains, “and there are still a few more game left in the tank. It’s been awesome, it’s gone fairly quickly and I’m excited to celebrate it in front of a home crowd.”

The Sharks
15 Patrick Lambie, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Stefan Terblanche, 12 Marius Joubert, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Frederic Michalak, 9 Conrad Hoffmann, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Keegan Daniel (C), 5 Ross Skeate, 4 Jean Deysel / Anton Bresler, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai “Beast” Mtawarira.

Replacements: 16. Craig Burden, 17 Eugene van Staden, 18 Marcell Coetzee, 19 Jacques Botes, 20 Ross Cronje, 21 Adrian Jacobs, 22 Lwazi Mvovo.

39 Responses to Currie Cup: Strong Sharks side named for Durban show down

OK, good night… I’m off to La-la-land!

Nou gaan ‘n matras kak!

Swak geslaap vir 2 nagte in ‘n ry.

Man i loved the 2:00 o,clock games earlier, i could watch and go do my work at 07:00, now this game is buggering up my whole day, i think i will treat it the way most feel about this 3rd place play offs. Just ignore it.

But i think the 2 best running teams is worth a watch, maybe another Cooper booing session, eish i dont know….

Scant consolation after a below par season by the Bulls.

That is putting it mildly , but then again we all know the Bull camp dont accept a new leader(coach) so easily. Maybe the pattern will be kept intact and Pine wins it the following year. WELL HE BETTER IF HE KNOWS WHAT IS GOOD FOR HIM. There is many Jakarandas to hang him.

32 @ superBul:
    I better be up at 06:00.

Need to do about an hour or 3 before the game, then straight after the game go and install a host of PC’s on site, build and configure their Network… get their mails going… ect. Cramp a whole day into a few hours…

hahaha… well, I think its gonna take a while. The last time that the Bulls underperformed was during the 2008 SR season. Habana had left for the Cape, Matfield was overseas, Bakkies threw his toys out of his cot and “wou nie meer saam speel nie.”
    Fourie was captain, but many argued that the captainship threw him off his game, and he was also not happy about the new rules, so he “rebelled” by playing kuk.
    All in all, basically a season with a new coach and many seniors of their form.

Now, those same players are gone again. Steenkamp, Gary, Kuun, Matfield, Bakkies, du Preez, Russouw. AND you have a new coach.

Its gonna be toughies for te Bulls in years to come.
    (And it doesn’t matter if you have JJ and Sadie and Basson and Kichner and Hougaard. As long as Meisiekind, Morne and Spies is playing, few of them will see the ball.)

Not that I say the Bulls will suck for a long time, Im just saying they could struggle a bit for a while.

And Sharks to win (TOO much class all over the park)

Smaak my die mielies gaan in die dam duik die naweek..Die mielies fans kan maar die verskoonings op n notepad neerskrywe..die ref was teen ons en die bokke mag nie currie cup speel is altyd treffers onder die suurdruiwe fans.face it die vodacom cup is verby dit is nou currie cup..

Greenpoint-Gunner wrote:

Its gonna be toughies for te Bulls in years to come.

WP have a tougher time ahead if they dont lift the Currie Cup this year.
    They must be very glad that their was a new creation in the Super competition, conference winner trophy.
    The Bulls will have to bounce back in 2012 or else we can go cup-less for a long time. That wont sit well in Pretoria. We do not accept that for long, the heads will roll much faster than anywhere else.

Total 50 users including 0 member, 50 guests, 0 bot online