Stormers (22) 32 /Sharks (9) 12 (Final Score)

The DHL Stormers hosted the Sharks at Newlands, Cape Town at 19:10 SA Time. This was the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1, SHD & M-Net on TV in SA.

The Stormers comprehensively outplayed the Sharks, for a full bag of 5 Log points…. the Stormers are on fire!

Stormers: 1 Penalty & 2 Conversions Lionel Cronje, 1 Drop Goal & 1 Try Gio Aplon, 1 Conversion Kurt Coleman, 1 Try Jean de Villiers, 1 Try Jaque Fourie, 1 Try Deon Fourie

Sharks: 4 Penalties Patrick Lambie

Stormers: 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Lionel Cronje, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Schalk Burger (captain), 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Rynhardt Elstadt, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 Wicus Blaauw.
Replacements: 16 Ethienne Reynecke, 17 Brok Harris, 18 De Kock Steenkamp, 19 Nick Koster, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 Juan de Jongh.

Sharks: 15 Louis Ludik, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Stefan Terblanche, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Charl  McLeod, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Ross Skeate, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Eugene van Staden, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Conrad Hoffmann, 21 Adrian Jacobs, 22 Lwazi Mvovo.

Assistant referees: Christie du Preez (South Africa), Phillip Bosch (South Africa)

142 Responses to Super Rugby: DHL Stormers vs Sharks – Game Thread (k/o at 19:10 SA Time)

@ bdb:
    Ja en ons het TWEE games teen hulle so ons kan ons eie moeilikheid probeer uitsort

Stormers were brilliant!

Great win Stormers , everyone did his bit and more

Stormers: Penalty – Lionel Cronje ,
    Tries – Jean de Villiers, Gio Aplon, Jaque Fourie, Deon Fourie ,
    Conversions – Lionel Cronje (2),
    Drop goal – Gio Aplon,
    Conversion – Kurt Coleman

Sharks: Penalties – Patrick Lambie (4)

Geluk Stormers, baie goeie en oortuigende wen. As jul so speel gaan die Saders swaar kry volgende week.

@ bdb:
    Ek dog Lambie kan amper iets soos Cooper doen, aaikona

OK well done Stormers, Bulls and Freestate…..Sharks sucked hind tit today and it sounds as if deservedly so.

I’m out, enjoy the rest of the weekend….I still have two days of holiday!!

Oh and good luck to all the guys shooting at SA Combat Rifle Champs, the International is against Nederland this year. I’m glad I don’t have to maintain those fitness levels any more!!

@ 4man:
    Sorry 4man, but your team did not play good clever rugby, the Stormers deserve this one.

121: Bulle sal die hele wedstryd moet speel soos die 15 minute na halftyd vandag. Ons is nog glad nie goed genoeg om Sharks of Stormers op hul tuisvelde te wen nie. So harde werkl lê voor.

Stormers nou baie groot gunstelinge in die kompetisie. Ons sal nou moet sien of hul die ding een stappie verder kan neem hierdie jaar. Soos hul vandag gespeel het, definitief. Maar hul gaan nie sommer weer teen sulke swak en stadige senters speel nie. SBW en Freuean is in ‘n ander klas.

@ 4man:
    Thx bru, will check mail.
    G’nite all,see you laters.

Thats cool, its just a game….lets hope for a final between them!
    I loved those Cheetah pictures by the way, its always amazing how the cubs look like a King Cheetah with the ridge….then it goes away. My favourite cat though is still leopards.

You must enjoy this evening….your team played well.

That’s my boys!!!

Showed their true class today!

Yeah baby!

5 points.

I’ll leave you with this thought.

My Favorite Animal

Our teacher asked us what our favorite animal was, and I said, “Fried chicken.”She said I wasn’t funny, but she couldn’t have been right, because everyone else in the class laughed. Anyway, my teacher sent me to the principal’s office. I told him what happened, and he laughed, too. Then he told me not to do it again.

My parents told me to always be truthful and honest, and I am. Fried chicken is my favorite animal. I told my dad what happened, and he said my teacher was probably a member of PETA. He said they love animals very much. I do, too. Especially chicken, pork and beef.

The next day in class my teacher asked me what my favorite live animal was. I told her it was chicken. She asked me why, just like she’d asked the other children. So I told her it was because you could make them into fried chicken.

She sent me back to the principal’s office again. He laughed, and told me not to do it again. I don’t understand. My parents taught me to be honest, but my teacher doesn’t like it when I am.

Today, my teacher asked us to tell her what famous person we admire most. I told her, ‘Colonel Sanders. ’Guess where the f*ck I am…??’

@ 4man:
    i will put up my best Leopard photos in a album on my photo site, go well enjoy your weekend

@ 4man:
    :LOL: Great one hahahaha

Well done Stormers. Congrats to the Stormer supporters here.

Hope your team beats Saders next week. All the best for the Stormers tour as well. Our only Saffa side that will make the play offs.

Sharks just never ever gonna be truely competitive with our centres. Hope by next year we can better centres. Joubert is coming but that will be almost this season done. Hope we can get some youngsters that are coming through. Like Jordaan.

Anyhow that was a hiding and pay back time for cc final….hehehe. My Sharks have to go away and think hard about this game.

Catch up tomorrow or during the week if I can. Will be off next week Friday overseas for a 5 week holiday. Can’t wait.

Cheers everyone.

135: goed gaan Puma, onthou, die seisoen is nog lank, baie kan nog gebeur.

@ bdb:
    het jy gesien GBS het op die Bulls thread die Bulle gerate , soort van

137: ek gaan daar kyk.

Thanks Puma, I agree that your centres were the weakness yesterday and that you guys are going to have to find a genuine combo sooner rather than later. Also, I’m not sure that Plum got the gameplan right. The strength off the bench strategy was always going to be risky if the Stormers opened up any sort of lead in the first half, which of course they did.

Lots of injuries on both sides will impact the respective efforts going forward.

Groente

Plumtree was full of generosity for the log-leaders, even as he rather bitterly judged his own players.

The big New Zealander basically conceded that South African bragging rights in terms of physicality had now shifted to Cape Town.

“They had a better attitude than us: they wanted to smash us, really. It hurts what happened out there.

“We’re disappointed with ourselves – it was boys against men. We’re a proud team but we’ve been embarrassed.

“Our attitude is not right and we have to look at it.”

Asked whether the Sharks remained realistic contenders to win the SA conference, Plumtree said acidly: “Based on that performance (by the Sharks) I’d say they’re home and hosed.

“It will take a really complete side to knock over the Stormers.”

Well, I really thought yesterday I had made a huge error choosing Stormers over the Sharks, but so interesting how a game pans out…..Some of the Keo boys were at Newlands and had a fantastic time there. Always better when your team achives a great win against worthy opponents.

Bad luck Sharks fans, but as you know rugby is a ‘funny old game’ 🙂

Apart from excellent backs, I think too little credit is given to how the forwards (especially the loosies) have been tackling their opponents backwards this season. That has robbed teams of sufficient go-forward ball and any decent momentum. That creates pressure, leads to handling mistakes, penalties and the taking of higher risks. And right at the head of that ‘stormram’ stands Duane Vermeulen, I reckon … 🙂

Total 125 users including 0 member, 125 guests, 0 bot online