A lot was said already and a lot more will be said in the psychological war of words this week. No one wants to be the favorite this week.  It is quite funny how every team digs up stats to show that their opponent is the favorite.

The Free State Cheetahs are questioning the legality of Western Province’s scrumming tactics ahead of Saturday’s Currie Cup semifinal and have e-mailed André Watson and Mark Lawrence about it.

“I have e-mailed them about the so-called slingshot engagement at the hit. And also about the loose forwards that release their bind a little early,” said Drotské.

“I have an undertaking by Mark Lawrence and André Watson that they will study footage of it. It’s important for us,” he said.

The so-called slingshot engagement to which Drotské is referring means that the eighthman pulls his locks back and pushes them forwards at the hit.

This results in the team and its front row gaining more momentum at the engagement.

The laws state that all eight players have to be static at the hit and no movement forwards or sideways is allowed. If an eighthman’s shoulders are bound to his locks, it is effectively impossible to use this tactic.

Province are the favourites on paper – as they were when they lost semifinals to Free State in 2004 and 2005. Rugby, however, is not played on paper and Free State’s performances in the Currie Cup in recent seasons have been impressive.

“We had a strong belief in our ability in the Super 14, but the Currie Cup is Free State’s terrain. That is where they flourish,” said WP captain Schalk Burger.

Sharks coach John Plumtree is playing a psychological game with his players to get them motivated for Saturday’s Currie Cup semifinal against the Blue Bulls in Durban.

It is being widely stated that Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha and Danie Rossouw will make mincemeat of Steven Sykes and Alistair Hargreaves, and that is where the seed will be planted for a Bulls win.

However, that is precisely what Plumtree wants to hear. You can bet your Ferrari that Plumtree will ensure his two young locks will get to hear about it.

“It will serve as motivation,” he admitted.

“We realise the magnitude of the challenge ahead. The Bulls are not the Currie Cup and Super 14 champions for nothing. But that puts a little pressure on them. Everybody is talking about them as the big favourites to beat us. Even so, my players are looking forward to the opportunity of measuring themselves against the Bulls’ big names.

Ludeke said form running up to the playoffs was not as important as the team’s performance on the day.

“The league phase is over and this is a new competition and hopefully another opportunity. Nothing counts and they (the Sharks) are experienced campaigners and they have international players so you can’t look at what happened last week.”

Ludeke said the Bulls would have to show improvement if they were to make it to the final. “Our performance wasn’t where we wanted it.”

100 Responses to The psychological war of words

kaalgat! Afrikaans is a great languuage if you really want to express yourself….sy was kaalgat maar het eintlik kak gelyk want syy is te vet….we arent talking about you by the way, youu wouuld be quite delicious kaalgat I think.

OK guys and girls, I am out Allan is here and we are mmaking tracks for “Trax” no doubt to abuse my liver once more!!!

@ 4man:
    :blush: !! Hehehehh

@ 4man:
    Have a great time, say Hi to Mrs. 4man too, catch up soon I hope!

dont you? why do youu live on a farm then.

I’ll tell her howzit, she is outta here tomoro nite.

I’m going to be out of here for a while, busy preparing a Notebook which has to leave for Malawi in darkest Africa tonight…

Chat later

@ 4man:
    That’s just the way it is!!

I am going to do Bulls and Province to win, the margins are critical at this stage and my crystal ball needs polishing!!

Have fun with 4man. Hope you get to meet up.

I am outta here too…

See you

Eish i missed 4man and GBS and my favorite Lady blogger. Watch out for some new pictures , yesterday afternoon i saw a great Lion kill , almost right in the road. I was 2 meters away from the one fat cat.

Will warn you when the new picks are up.

Where are you RP, hope you watch the pictures too. We miss you too.

Hiya superBul, sadly I am rarely in the right place at the right time these days!!
    I have not given up tho…..we will have a propper RT gathering at the weekend I hope!

The Bulls are going to win….but you know that!!

and I am looking forward to seeing your lion pics…just hope they have not eaten a baby springbok or something ‘cute’!! 🙂

Total 149 users including 0 member, 149 guests, 0 bot online