What a great game of rugby. Credit to the players for staging such a fantastic spectacle.

In the end, a rather disappointing result if you are a Springbok supporter. A heart-broken loss is the word that has been thrown around in the newspapers. I’ll concur with that and with that in mind I believe it is important to dissect what went wrong as that is the only way to learn from your mistakes and to move forward. The Springbok team would undoubtedly do their own dissection but for us Springbok supporters dissection and discussion of the match helps to brings closure. 

I believe we showed massive improvement at the breakdowns (as compared to our previous two games against the All Blacks) for 90% of the time. However, the 10% of the time that we were not up to it -at the breakdowns- actually cost us the match. 

For me there was six reasons why we lost the match. 

Fitness 

The primary reason why we lost is fitness or more exactly a lack of fitness. Most of the other errors/reasons –for the loss- that I list below stemmed from our inability to keep up with the pace of the game. The Springboks were clearly just not fit enough to keep up; they ran out of puff and started making silly errors that essentially handed the match to New Zealand –not that the AB didn’t play well. 

The coaches and fitness trainer should take the blame here. We were unable to control the pace of the game because we couldn’t keep possession partly due to the aggressiveness of the New Zealand defense but mostly because our team lack precision at the breakdowns at fast tempo. Why? Probably because they don’t train at a past pace and because of lack of attention on detail in training. 

Unnecessary substitutions 

Most of the substituting I believe was done because the players was exhausted but there were a few very dumb and unnecessary substitutions that indicate a total inability by the coaching staff to read what is happening on the field. 

I see in the media that John Smit blame himself –after missing the tackle on Nonu- for the loss. I think the coaching staff member(s) who called for the substitutions of Hougaard and Juan Smit should take the blame. In fact I think he or they should feel so guilty about these bad calls that they should hand in their resignation papers with immediate effect. Both Hougaard and Juan Smit were instrumental in our improved performances at the breakdowns and they were clearly not tired when being subded. 

Juan Smit was for me man of the match and was the man that kept us on the front foot at the breakdowns. The moment he went off our improved performance at the breakdowns started to change for the worse. 

Hougaard was instrumental on defense. He was the man who policed Carter and ruined all attempts by Carter and Nonu to set play up in the midfield. His speed allowed him to get to these players and because he played of the base of the scrum/rucks he came from the side and could counter the block runner scissors move that New Zealand use to make line breaks. 

The block runner scissors move is where the ball carrier start running on a 45 degree angle just before contact –drawing the defender sideways- and then hands the ball back to a supporting player coming straight through or angling in the opposite direction. They used this quite a lot on the blindside but this is also how Carter tend to put either Smit or Nonu in space in the midfield. Hougaard was fast enough to get to the ball receiver and strong enough in the tackle to not only stop the receiver but also to slow the ball down. When Hougaard went off New Zealand started to break through our defensive line on a number of occasions with this manoeuvre. 

PdV’s inability to see the role that Juan and Hougaard played at the breakdown and in the defensive structures is absolutely shocking. The subbing of Hougaard and Juan Smit is without a doubt the main reason why we couldn’t slow the game down and why our defensive broke down in the last 5 minutes of the match. 

We lost crucial turnovers in the last 10 minutes 

We lost a few crucial turnovers which allowed New Zealand to keep us under pressure -speeding the game up- and preventing us from controlling the tempo. Nonu’s break which lead to Dagg’s try came after one such a turnover. We had the ball went into contact and were literally blown of the ball by the New Zealanders. The ball went wide at speed and Nonu slipped past Smith ran an extra 10 meters or so –without Hougaard to get to him- before sending the ball to Dagg who ran through for the try. 

The interesting fact about this turnover is that McCaw actually played the ball with his hand on the ground. Now they would probably have won the ball anyway -as they were blowing over us- but the speed at which the ball came out on their side -which was the reason why they scored- was due to the fact that McCaw scraped the ball backwards with this right hand while on his knees.

Fitness is one reason why these turnovers happened but the other reason was the absence of both Hougaard and Juan Smit. 

Simple concentration errors 

There was quite a few but at least two were crucial in context of the outcome of the match. The one was the scrum right in front of the New Zealand goal post when we were still leading. This was an ideal drop kick position but we got penalized before we ball was actually put into the scrum. 

New Zealand started running from that position and McCaw’s try came shortly thereafter. I am not sure who did what to give away the penalty but that was and unforgivable blunder that eventually cost us the match. 

The second big blunder was the line kick that Steyn made against the right hand sideline. All he needed to do was to kick the ball out but he kicked the ball all the way over the dead-line and play was brought back to our 10 meter line with the possession then being handed to New Zealand. An absolute unnecessary and stupid mistake which kept us under pressure. 

These are the type of mistakes that you just don’t make at test level. 

Not using our opportunities 

At the start of the second half a Carter kick was charged down and we were meters from the goal line. McCaw got his hands on the ball and slowed the ball down just long enough for the New Zealand defense to regroup. Reason why McCaw got his hands on the ball was because we were not rucking forcefully enough; just standing over the ball. 

I’ve got a feeling McCaw came in from the side and not through the gate but would like to look at the replay again. Anyway this was a scoring opportunity that we didn’t take. 

Referee blunders 

There was a forward pass in the movement that lead to McCaw’s try. It boggles my mind how this could have been missed by both the linesmen and the referee. 

Lastly I have my doubts over McCaw’s try. It was simply too close to call but that was not something the players could do anything about. 

Fitness, inability to use and keep the ball as well as ridiculous substitutions being the main reasons why we lost. 

The fingers has to point at the coaching staff.

85 Responses to Soweto post-mortem

Imported views
    gary
    8/22/2010 7:57 PM
    truth of the matter is the boys are not coached correctly we are still the fittest and strongest rugby team in the world. The difference comes in on a technical point in that the aussies and all blacks have learnt to play with dead weight i.e. if you weigh 100kg and you hit the tackle you hit with a 100kg, the all blacks would double the weight and hit you with 200kg, the result is your players can play for longer with less fatigue.South africans are still been coached to use brute strength which taxing on the body and you cannot play as long.Backs are still drifting meaning they are moving away from the ball carrier as opposed towards we can go on forever with but I wont. In short we have the exact players we want on the field but they are simply not been coached correctly on a technical level and that is where the problem lies.

I spoke with GBS after the test on Saturday night, he told me about the subbing of Juan and Hougaard. What worries me is that the subs brought nothing to the game. Neither Januarie nor Louw did anything, which begs the question: why are they on the bench if they are not up to standard?
    The Boks are also playing with 1/2 a wing in Habana, he should be dropped.
    Spies is a joke. His defence is crappy and he goes AWOL when things get tough. On Planet-Rugby’s forum they are taking the piss out of him big time. Get rid of him and bring in a real 8. Just not Kankowski.

Compare the following:
    Gio Aplon’s tackle on Mealamu with huge passion, agression and heart.
    Pierre Spies pathetic attempt on Carter.

Who would you rather have in your team?

Hi everyone….

I was unable to watch the game this weekend as we were on a girls outing in the bush for the weekend. From what I have heard is that Ritchie was at his best, playing foul of the rules even apparently slapping Schalk through the face etc etc and NOTHING happened to him? Is this fair to say? Maybe you experts can tell me hehehehe cos we all know what disgruntled supporters can be like, seeking to blame anyone or anything?

55 &56 @ superBul

bwahahahaha!!! skerp!!

50: KP, as Snorre nie eers vir Januarie wil drop nie, terwyl 7 en ‘n half biljoen mense op aarde dink hy hoort nie in ‘n bokspan nie, hoe dink jy gaan hy vir Spies drop, terwyl 6.95 biljoen glo Spies moet nog daar wees ? 😉

bdb @ 67
    hehehe,
    waar kry jy daai syfers?
    anyway,
    stem saam oor ricky
    veral na hougaardt se vertoning die naweek!!
    nog
    een of twee van daai
    en hougaardt gaan pdv se hand “force” soos wat heinrich brussouw gedoen het!!
    anyway, kan nie wag om hougaardt teen genia te sien die naweek nie … gaan ñ lekker stryd wees om dop te hou!!

After this weekend’s game it is clear that some players are a guarantee and others either need work as there is not enough quality replacements and others are simply not good enough.This is where I see our players at the moment.

Those I deem are on top of their game and is a definite.

Guthro Steenkamp. ( Beast is my second choice with his all round play)
    Jannie du Plessis ( niemand is beter as hy nie)
    Schalk Burger ( sorry boys, but put him at 8)
    Juan Smith ( best 7 in SA by a country mile)
    Francois Hougaardt(although he will be replaced when Fourie du Preez is back)
    Jaque Fourie ( and Juan de Jongh)
    JP Pietersen ( solid)
    Aplon ( I liked him at Full Back, Frans Steyn as well , but horses for courses)
    Heinrich Brussouw ( let’s hope he returns to form after his injury)
    Danie Rossouw
    Andries Bekker

Those that need to work on their game.
    Bakkies Botha need to work on his discipline.
    John Smit, mobility, the tackle he missed was because he was flat footed.
    Morne Steyn, needs to become creative, and stop his elementary errors
    Jean de Villiers, his defensive lines weren’t perfect, but he is getting there.
    CJ v d Linde, Fitness
    BJ Botha, strength and technique.
    Francois Louw, physicality

Not good enough.
    Zane Kirchner
    Wynand Olivier
    Ricky Januarie
    Pierre Spies

Guys that need an opportunity before RWC.
    Duane Vermeulen
    Jean Deysel

When we lose everybody has an opinion on how the players have performed, and who should be dropped.
    The reality is that in South Africa we do have the best players in the world and our overall pool of players is better than anywhere else in the world.
    Our problems are not about the players and it is short sighted to think that if we make some changes we can do better.
    Simply ask yourself this question:
    If the coaches were swopped around and the Boks had the NZ coaching team, while the All Blacks had the Boks coaching team, then who would be the better team over this tri nations?

Don’t expect too many changes in the Bokke line-up for the game at Loftus against the Wallabies.

I would think Gio Aplon should keep his fullback berth, with Fransie Steyn on the bench only… considering that none of us knows his true form at the moment and having been at the Bokke for a few days only.

I for one, expect the same run-on side, maybe a change or 3 on the bench. I would swop Butch for Fransie Steyn, I would swop BJ for CJ, I would swop Flo for Dewald Potgieter… and dammit I would get another scrummie in in place of Rickie but it won’t happen.

@ tight head:

It is not that simple tighthead. If Henry was coaching the springboks, you would see a different team as well.

72@ biltongbek:
    There is a class-difference in the coaching stakes, biltonge, that’s what Tight Head is trying to say… and I cannot fault him on his argument in that regard….

@ biltongbek:
    That is exactly my point.

tighthead @ 70
    hehehehe, no doubt you know what the “butterfly effect” is, tighthead?
    but
    anyway, lets play along … lets say the coaching staff of the two teams was reversed
    now lets go further and saaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay for eg (just to play devils advocate) that the ab still won on the weekend
    i guess you mightve felt then
    that
    “anyone
    can
    coach
    the
    all blacks?” 😀

@ Ashley:
    😆 jy weer te skerp vir jou size en color

@ Ashley:
    Yes Ash and if my aunty had balls she would be my uncle!!!

77@ tight head:
    …. and you would have fewer cousins…

Another round of apologies coming soon. 😀

“Coach De Villiers lacks the authority to clean out the old guard and make tactical changes. He is groping in the dark, and his latest backline was too lightweight for the modern rugby battle. Their battle plan is confused,” wrote Chris Rattue on the NZ Herald website.

rest of what he said–

“The All Blacks were magnificent, nullifying South Africa’s famed home advantage and finishing them off with two late tries that should rank high in any memory that can cope with the cluttered modern day Test schedule.

“As for the Springboks, they are in even bigger trouble than we thought. If that’s the best the world champs can come up with in a home colosseum while celebrating John Smit’s century of Tests, then they are indeed one large tank skidding out of control down one very steep hill.

“Luckily for their World Cup opponents, South Africa’s rugby administrators are so immature that a few rough on-field decisions get them barking about quitting a multimillion-dollar broadcasting deal they’ve only just extended,” he continued.

Rattue and other NZ critics, are of the opinion the Boks may improve when influential scrumhalf Fourie du Preez returns, although Francois Hougaard was lively on Saturday.

They believe the calm Du Preez should be the logical captaincy replacement for the fading Smit.

Wonder of die AB’s die lyn so baie sou gebreek het, as WO op senter was, want terwyl ons hierdie skop al die balle weg plan speel, wat net gefokus is op verdediging, dan is WO mos juis die speler wat daar moet wees ?

Nee man, ons spelers is goed en kan die ding doen, maar die motivering en planne van ons afrigters laat die ander spanne in die wereld lag. Hulle hoop en bid maar dat die afrigtingspan dieselfde bly, en dat SA nie wakker skud nie.

Maar, al hierdie gekla gaan niks help nie, politiek bepaal sport in SA, en dis nou maar hoe dit is. Ons moet gewoond wees om ‘mediocre’ te wees, nie die ‘beste’ nie.

Daarom geniet ek S14/15 en CB meer, want daar is die inmengery (nog nie?) so groot nie.

tighthead @ 77
    isi goeie maniere om onner jou antie se rok te loer nie!! 😯

@ Ashley:
    Nee is okay , dit was my oom!!!

tighthead @ 83
    huh-uh nou’s ek deu’me’kaa
    is jou antie nou ñ oom
    of
    is jou oom ñ antie? 😀

84@ Ashley:
    … or almeskie dalk ‘n Auntie wat soos ‘n Oom aantrek of ‘n Oom wat soos ‘n Auntie aantrek… jy weet, ‘n Homopaat of a Lebanees… hehehe

Total 31 users including 0 member, 31 guests, 0 bot online