We will talk about the Bulls loss for sure. Lets start here! They say a picture is worth a thousand words or something like that. Need i say more.

Will Genia of the Reds attacks the Bulls' defence. <em>Photo: Getty Images</em>

Min Event Player Score
70 Missed Conversion Morne Steyn 19 – 12
70 Try Pedrie Wannenburg 19 – 12
65 Missed Penalty Quade Cooper 19 – 7
59 Missed Conversion Quade Cooper 19 – 7
58 Try Rod Davies 19 – 7
50 Penalty Quade Cooper 14 – 7
47 Penalty Quade Cooper 11 – 7
40 Missed Penalty Morne Steyn 8 – 7
39 Penalty Quade Cooper 8 – 7
30 Missed Conversion Quade Cooper 5 – 7
29 Try Scott Higginbotham 5 – 7
19 Missed Penalty Quade Cooper 0 – 7
7 Conversion Morne Steyn 0 – 7
6 Try Derick Kuun 0 – 5

As a guideline here is one minute by  minute commentary of the game.

Min Commentary
80 Genia puts it out from the lineout and it is all over!
79 Free kick to the Bulls for early infringement. Tap and go. Last chance saloon. Holding on by the Bulls! That should be it! Cooper clears
77 Tap and go. Wide to Van der Heever who can’t control a poor pass by Steyn. Is that all she wrote?
76 Stegmann with a good run. The flag is up…Chambers called out for a high tackle. The Bulls take it quickly. Another penalty 5m out and a warning
74 It goes wide to Kirchner who’s tackled into touch. Cooper finds touch from the resulting lineout
73 Crucial turnover on the ground and Du Preez kicks down field. The steal another one and win a penalty for diving over. Attacking lineout
71 The Bulls are caught offside 48m out. It’s out of Cooper’s range so he finds touch
70 The Bulls pile on the pressure. It pops out, Wannenburg picks it up and scores in the corner. The Bulls are back
70 Try: Pedrie Wannenburg
70 Missed Conversion: Morne Steyn
69 They maul it up and win a penalty as the Reds collapse. Here we go with another lineout and driving maul. Wannenburg loses it in contact
67 The Bulls need to get going. They win a penalty and Steyn sets up the lineout. They have to score from here
65 Missed Penalty: Quade Cooper
64 Hands in the ruxck by the Bulls. Cooper will try his luck from about 47m out on the angle
62 Penalty against the Bulls at the scrum. Matfield is frustrating. It’s out of range so Cooper kicks for touch
60 Forward pass this time by Cooper
59 Missed Conversion: Quade Cooper
58 The Reds with a turnover. Great offloading by the backs to Davies who dives over for a crucial score
58 Try: Rod Davies
57 Genia clean through but his offload to Ioane doesn’t go to hand
56 Kirchner slices a kick straight into touch, poor error!
54 Ioane runs strongly upto the 22m. The forwards bash it up. Now to the backs who lose ground and then there’s a turnover for obstruction
52 The Reds wheel a tired looking Bulls pack and win a scrum feed
50 Penalty: Quade Cooper
49 Stegmann, in his first play, concedes a kickable penalty for tackling Braid in the air, silly stuff
48 High tackle by Steyn. The Reds have all the momentum at the moment
47 Penalty: Quade Cooper
45 Penalty to the Reds at scrum time. Cooper steps up to try to extend the lead
44 Cooper thinks he’s scored a try but Ioane spilled it earlier
42 Steyn starts the second half. The Reds run it – not surprisingly – until Faingaa kicks down field. Kirchner counters but the Bulls lose possession. Genia chips and Ioane grabs it out of the air but he’s isolated and the Bulls win the penalty
40 Davies penalised after the restart so Steyn can regain the lead for the Bulls…he shanks it and that is half time
40 Missed Penalty: Morne Steyn
39 Penalty: Quade Cooper
38 Penalty against Potgieter hands Cooper a chance to put the Reds in the lead…
37 The Reds are relentless on attack. Genia goes blind and passes to Daley who spills it in contact before conceding a penalty
34 Davies slices through but Steyn taps his ankle, try-saver! It’s recycled but then coughed up. The Bulls under pressure but Steyn manages to find touch
31 The Reds set up the lineout after a penalty on the deck
30 Missed Conversion: Quade Cooper
29 Try: Scott Higginbotham
28 A turnover and Genia kicks there’s no one back. Now the race is on. It’s Higginbotham against the Bulls centres and he wins the race. Would you believe it. Try!
27 Davies tries a chip but it’s out on the full
26 Spies and Du Preez combine to put Potgieter into space who makes 30m. He stays down – looks to be injured – so Steyn goes for a drop but it’s wide
25 Good interplay by the Reds but the Bulls are defending well. It’s spilt and Du Preez belts down field. Again they run it back. Knock on. What an electric and high pace start
21 Genia puts Braid into space but the Bulls secure a turnover penalty on the deck
19 Missed Penalty: Quade Cooper
18 Collapsing the maul was Matfield. Cooper will have a shot
16 Steyn happy to clear the line
15 Not rolling away by Steenkamp. Attacking opportunity from this lineout. Braid takes a long lineout ball. It goes wide to Hynes who’s thundered into touch but it was a forward pass
14 Kirchner settles things down with a good touch finder
13 Penalty against the Reds at the resulting scrum but Steyn doesn’t find touch. The Reds run it back into the 22m. Cooper tries to stab a kick through but it’s straight into a Bulls player. Wrong option
10 Ioane makes 20m with a speesdy run taking the Reds into the 22m. Cooper to Chambers but he loses it in contact
8 Ruthless defence by the Bulls, forcing the Reds into touch
7 Conversion: Morne Steyn
6 Try: Derick Kuun
5 Genia and Cooper proving elusive early on. Kirchner cuts straight through and finds Olivier who’s brought down. Potgieter runs strong. Kuun snipes and he’s over! Try time!
3 Hynes sparks a counter-attack. Houston sets off but he puts a foot in touch. Full of running are the Reds
1 Here we go…the Bulls field a grubber kick-off. Steyn finds touch but Hynes takes it quickly and ultimately they find touch 30m out from the Bulls line
0 It’s time for the big one – the Reds v the Bulls in Brisbane

108 Responses to How the Bulls game unfolded

Daar is n paar spelers wat mooi bygekom het die jaar. Ek het moerse respek vir so speler , as jy leemtes het werk daaraan.

Netso het Brok en Werner baie beter geword.

super,

ek sien dat hulle eie refs die Saders bevoordeel teen hulle eie spanne ook, hoe sal hulle dan ooit verloor?

En die onbekende buitelandse refs word ook lyk my maklik ge-intimideer deur die Saders.

88: ek sê maar niks oor die ref nie, anders kry ek weer raas !

Op ‘n ander blog was daar selfs ‘n paar wp ouens wat dit nie kon glo dat Joubert nie daai flank van hulle onkant geblaas het nie, hy was meters onkant.

Wonder of Bulle al ooit ‘n wedstryd gewen het met Joubert aan die stuur ?

Maar, dit gesê, Reds sou nog steeds gewen het, en het dit verdien op die dag. Bulle was swak en hul kan gelukkig wees Cooper het sleg geskop.

En, die beste ding wat dalk met die Bulle kan gebeur, is dat ander spanne hul begin afskryf …

Vier beste spelers in die toernooi so ver:
    Bekker
    Burger
    Genia
    Cooper

FS
    As jy goed is glo die refs jy weet als, die Bulle het met moord weg gekom in die eerste 5 tot 6 weke die jaar. Maar ons betwyfel eerder n ou as om die ding wat kwansuis verkeerd is te vervolmaak en tot ons voordeel te gebruik.

Nou is amper alles wat die Bulle doen strafbaar, nadat hulle in die eerste deel van die seisoen alles reg gedoen het kyk die penalty stats so teen Woensdag.

Stormers is volgende. Watch my woorde.

super,

Ek’s bly my Sharks het klaar hul ‘fire baptism’ deur gemaak die jaar, ook maar dinge waarmee hulle laas jaar weg gekom het het hulle kom haunt hierdie jaar.

Wens nou net hulle wil bietjie een wedstryd gemaklik wen, hierdie naal skraap wedstryde is nie goed vir die bloed druk nie…..hierdie seisoen was een groot roller coaster rid (behalwe vir die saders en landers games).

Ek het nogal high hopes vir die Sharks, julle het baie min geluk gehad. Maar julle beweeg nou vinnig na jul beste vorm.

Vandag was die Leeus wild, ek dink amper hulle het hul hele hart en siel gegee vir die wen en dit is hoe naby hulle gaan kom daaraan. Nou gaan dit moeiliker word vir hulle. Daai onderhoud met Cobus , hul kaptein, shame die ou suffer.

Bulle gaan met Loftus se skare dit baie moeilik maak vir hulle.

@ WESWP I am making a mental note of your pre ejaculated statements. Don’t get ahead of yourself, it might come back to bite you in the arse.

rugbybal me too,
    and if they dont WIN the Super 14 it leaves them empty handed, nothing , zilch , f**all achieved. They pushed the bar up for themselves. Good luck.

OK i just had a call from HM

The Bulls did rest Wo, MS, and FDP yesterday.
    They also rested GS and WK

Victor was also instructed to rest but the bloody oke did not listen, he might be sacked for the Lions game.
    Hahahaha
    What a sh#t joke

I find this statement quite right.

The Reds capitalised on a clearly fatigued Bulls side to win 19-12 in Brisbane.

A tired performance was inevitable, given that the Bulls’ key players have played an exorbitant amount of rugby in the last year. Pierre Spies, the Bulls’ fulcrum to date, was anonymous; Victor Matfield was ordinary, Fourie du Preez average and Morne Steyn crippled by the inability of his forwards to put him on the front foot.

Defeat is not insurmountable, but the Bulls will have to manage those players, and others like Gurthro Steenkamp, Gary Botha and Danie Rossouw, carefully in the next week. Failure to do so will result in similarly tired performances in the coming weeks, and in the business end of the tournament, they simply cannot afford anything but optimal showings.
    RV

It would be amiss not to credit the Reds for their performance. Tactically they were excellent and their ability to sustain their effort for 80 minutes suggests they must be considered one of the favourites for a semi-final berth.

windgat Aussie says-

What did I say eh!! I flamin told you bunch a galahs that the Reds were the real deal but you fellas weren’t havin any of it!!! Maybe now you’ll believe old Bruce eh??? Cos I gotta tell ya I’ve been watchin footy since 1965 and the Reds played some of the best stuff I’ve seen in decades. It was like watchin an expert matador toy with his prey in the Madrid bull ring. Our fellas flashed the red jersey at the snorting Bulls and then they whipped the ball away leaving poor Bully looking like a right flamin mug!!

And what about the Bulls FITNESS???? Jeez, this is a supposed to be a game for ATHLETES not for fat waddling farmers whove been munching too much biltong. If Fat Werner Kruger ever explodes then I reckon its fair to say the resulting ash storm will shut down African air space for months if not years!! And big waddling Guthro aint much beter. Your boys should take a look at athletes like Chambers and Houston and maybe ask for some gym tips from the bronzed Aussie Adonises eh??

Us Queenslanders are totally wrapped with the Reds. Aint it great to see a team just goin for it. Ewen Mackenzie deserves a whole lotta credit. Its looking like a Reds-Bulls-Stormers-Saders playoffs, and the Reds gotta be confident of running the Bulls off their feet any time they like. Saders and Stormers will be a different kettle of fish but with Genia/Cooper you gotta say we have a great chance.C’MON REDS!

Bruce

i love this Aussie

Bruce
    18 Apr 2010, 12:20

Mate, it wasnt the Reds props puffing and panting and crawling on their knees to every lineout. Those Bulls fatsos are a disgrace to rugby. We have big competition from NRL here in Queensland and its embarassin when my leaguey mates point at the African fatties to back up their case. Some of those cheetahs forwards look like theyve swallowed a couple of sheep each.

and you obviously missed ben robinson dominating fat boy smit (he’s another one who needs to stay off the sheep) all last year!

Must say the picture let Steenkamp look fat, a fast dieet needed maybe?

Some reaction from Australia.
    With 26,669 fans cheering them on, the Reds looked to have the game in the bag midway through the second half after taking a 19-7 lead. But they had to withstand a ferocious late charge from the tired but bloodthirsty Bulls to hold on in the most desperate and memorable of scraps.

For the final 10 minutes the Reds were camped on their line for so long they almost had to start paying rates to the council. This was do-or-die. As the Bulls tried the thrust with their signature maul, which has been unstoppable for most of the season, the Reds parried with the deft hand of veteran hooker Sean Hardman, who may have had the single touch that saved the season.

McKenzie wasn’t billing this as a defining contest, but it was. He challenged his pack to stand up and they repaid his faith. With ball in hand, the Reds never stood still. Sensing a fatigued side at the end of a long tour, they ran at every chance, sometimes to their own detriment.

“Outstanding effort – I’m very proud,” Reds skipper Will Genia said after the game. ”We spoke all week about not having an excuses. We adjusted really well and this is an outstanding result.” The crowd was drowning him out. It’s been a while since that happened in Queensland.

Bulls & Lions commit too many players to the breakdown, then get’s pressurized out wide, I think that needs a looking at, the Stormers only commit about 2 players to a tackle situation, one guarding, the other trying to steal the ball, that is why the defensive line is always there.

As an objective Stormers supporter, I would like to say WEZWP is a bit out of line, I prefer to stay UNDER the radar as far as the STormers’ performances are concerned…

The Bulls need to get their act together, stop trying to run the ball, for farks sake, you can’t, the Bulls have about as much flair in their backline, as the amount of victories the Lions notched up this year.

Go back to the game that made you guys famous, kick and charge, scrum and dominate, those are Bulls strengths, just accept that the Bulls cannot compete with true running teams, with a makeshift running effort. The same way, that no running team can compete with the territorial dominance that is Bulls rugby in full flight.

and so say Saint, but at least the Bulls managed to score the most tries 35 this year. And somehow Steyn, Hougaart, Wynand and Gerhard are amongst the leading try scorers.

Maybe we must not play the tight game you advocate. Maybe we must run like mad again.

But more seriously we must start playing towards a peak. 4 weeks to get it going , sounds about right.

Super, check out the stats after the first 4 games, you will be shocked. SInce Round 5, they have been nowhere.

Total 97 users including 0 member, 97 guests, 0 bot online