Highlanders (12) 26 / Waratahs (10) 10 (Final Score)

The Highlanders hosted the Waratahs in a gale in Invercargill, New Zealand at 09:35 SA Time. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The game was broadcast live on SuperSport 1 on DSTV in SA. The Highlanders totally outplayed the Waratahs, turning over a lot of Waratahs ball and playing to their strenghts. The Highlanders won by 26 / 10.

Highlanders: 1 Conversion Israel Dagg, 3 Penalties Matt Berquist, 1 Try Steven Setephano, 2 Tries Adam Thompson

Waratahs: 1 Penalty & 1 Conversion Daniel Halangahu, 1 Try Kurtley Beale

Highlanders: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Kenny Lynn, 12 Jason Shoemark, 11 Fetu’u Vainikolo, 10 Robbie Robinson/Mat Berquist, 9 Jimmy Cowan (captain), 8 Steven Setephano, 7 Alando Soakai, 6 Adam Thompson, 5 Hayden Triggs, 4 Josh Bekhuis, 3 Clint Newland, 2 Jason Rutledge, 1 Chris King.
Replacements: 16 Peter Mirrielees, 17 Bronson Murray, 18 Joe Tuineau, 19 John Hardie, 20 Scott Cowan, 21 Matt Berquist/Robbie Robinson, 22 James Paterson.

Waratahs: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Lachie Turner, 13 Tom Carter, 12 Berrick Barnes, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Daniel Halangahu, 9 Josh Holmes, 8 Ben Mowen, 7 Phil Waugh (captain), 6 Dave Dennis, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Al Baxter, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Dan Palmer.
Replacements: 16 Damien Fitzpatrick, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Chris Thomson, 19 Patrick McCutcheon, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Rory Sidey, 22 Sosene Anesi.

Referee: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Josh Noonan (New Zealand), Kane McBride (New Zealand)
TMO: Garratt Williamson (New Zealand)

170 Responses to Highlanders vs Waratahs – Game Thread

148@ Oldie – Hello

Now your Ozzie hopes rest on the Reds, I suppose.

It just shows again that no game can be taken for granted in the S14. Yesterday i gave the Tahs a 80 / 20 chance to win the game, and they don’t even get a bonus point.

148 – Old Griquas, If Tahs win their next two games they could still make it. Will be tough but they can do it.

I know they still to play the Canes not sure who else. Will have to look.

151 @ GBS Indeed, Reds are our only legitimate contenders, I believe.

Bad start to SuperBru and SportsPool Club for me, but a great start for the SA Teams in the comp.

Of course this opens the door slightly for the Blues as well..

Puma

I picked the Landers to win, but with a slightly closer margin 😀

😯 You breaking my heart ! 😥

Hey Puma @ 153 tahs might sneak in, but finals rugby, played away from home, is pretty tuff, as we all know.

Da kak my superbru sommer met game 1 😯

Okay see Tahs, have the Chiefs and Canes to play. They should beat the Chiefs. Not too sure about the Canes. Going to be tough from here.

Then all the top teams games are tough from here on.

Waratahs have got the Chiefs in NZ and Canes in Aus.

157 – Old Griquas, they could still make it. Win their next two games and they will be in.

156 – Rugby Princess, there will be plenty people from Cape Town at Newlands supporting Saders. Not sure why it is only down there that happens. Also only the kiwi sides they support. Not many about a 1000 or so. The other 47 000 will be Stormer supporters. I have to support my saffa sides. I always do. Sorry RP.. 😉

160 – Snoek, then they have a good chance of beating both sides. Chiefs are terrible at the moment. Too many injuries.

Okay after this game it looks like this.

Bulls, Stormers, Saders and Reds. It changes per game now the top 4. Have to see after tonight and tomorrow.

Puma, yes the Chiefs are terrible at the moment, but so is the Landers. So who knows, if the Landers can do it, the Chiefs might as well.

hmmm
    nie ñ slegte begin vir my sportspool nie … wens net ek het my gutfeel op superbru ook gevolg!!

score op sportspool: landers 25 tahs 13

Puma

Nuh-huh … Talk to the hand cos the rest of me is not listening 😥

Okay guys, enjoy the rest of the day and good luck to the Stormers tonight.

Cheers

I’m off, good luck to all the teams this weekend.

What a great way to the weekend to see the Tah’s lose. Stormers have to win tonight,if they dont I dont think they will make the Semi Finals.

168 – Cheers Old Griquas and Snoek.

166 – Rugby Princess. Sorry I just always support the saffa sides. Should still be a great game.

Total 71 users including 0 member, 71 guests, 0 bot online