Rugby is a game that I, as well as, I am sure, multitudes of people from all around the world feel very strongly about. We will wait in anticipation for the season to kick off, moaning constantly about the lack of any “real” sport in the off season. During the games, we will sit, breathlessly waiting until the final whistle, whether the result is a foregone conclusion or not. We will passionately defend our team in any situation, blaming anything from the ref, the touch-judge, the other team’s supporters or even imaginary people “read 1995 World Cup’s Suzie” instead of admitting that our boys were in the wrong.

Then, keeping this in mind, you turn on the television in the hopes of seeing an ugly burnt duckling, rising from its ashes like a mythological Phoenix, who, even in defeat, keeps its proud head aloft, by giving as good as it gets, and then some. Assuring all of its supporters that it will not die, that it may in the end crawl from the battlefield, but not before severely crippling its adversary.

With all of the above in the back of your mind, you then witness the abomination that was the Lions vs. the Waratahs.

As a SAFFA supporter, I was sickened by the display. So complete was the destruction of the Lions Rugby team, that the only positive to take from the match was the fact that it was only 80 minutes long with no extra time added. To make things worse it was against the Aussies, the most hateful of opposition, which obviously had something to do with my mindset as I took my place before my computer.

Many of my fellow bloggers felt that the lashing I gave the Lions was uncalled for and out of place, and that Dick Muir cannot be blamed for the Lions failing, as he has only been in charge for 5 games, while the Lions were already losing long before that.

Let’s entertain that notion then, 5 games and as he was appointed 0n 17 October 2009, about 4 and a half months? Oh wait, no, he was with the Springboks for the year end tour, where he coached 22 up and coming week-day Boks into oblivion.

I keep on forgetting that the Lions Director of Rugby is also the Springbok assistant coach, but obviously all his attention is with the Lions, isn’t it? I mean it has to be, because the Lions didn’t want to appoint Heynecke Meyer, a man that is so firm in his creation of structures, that he made it possible, for Frans Ludeke, a man sacked by the Lions because he couldn’t win a game that’s been bought, to win a Super 14 title, 3 years after his initial departure.

Muir obviously had to bring something to the table then, something huge. My guess is, he told the GLRU management, that he wants to play running rugby, exciting, bring the crowds back to Coca-Cola Park, running rugby…so much better that the tedious kicking orientated, “winning” brand of rugby that Heynecke Meyer is renowned for.

The same style of rugby that initially killed off the Sharks, before the introduction of John Plumtree, a structure freak, albeit not really a people’s person, which was where Muir came in, the two complemented one another perfectly. Dick Muir showed when he was a provincial captain,that he could get people around him to perform far above their potential. Even now, the Lions are clearly motivated, they just seem uncertain about what they are motivated about.
So how will the Lions turn their fortunes around?

I don’t think it will be that difficult, as incredible as that sounds. Just a few minor adjustments.

Firstly, Cobus Grobbelaar needs to be relieved of his duties as captain immediately, ironically, the only times you ever hear of a captain courageous, is in a losing team, read Corne Krige, World Cup 2003 or Andre Vos, during his whole reign. Sometimes a captain needs to do more than just lead by example, and unfortunately for Cobus, albeit he is an excellent player, leading by example is all he has in his captaincy arsenal. Jano Vermaak, Tod Clever or even Pumas Captain Franklin needs to slot into this role. I especially like Franklin, luring him to the lions’ den permanently might not be that bad a call.

Secondly, for heaven’s sake, appoint a defense coach, the Crusaders and the Stormers, the two stingiest sides in the tournament, has one day a week set aside for ONLY defense training…surely someone should see the benefit in this? There are many defensive experts looking for a job, names coming to mind are Andre Snyman, Pieter Muller, Henry Honiball, all guys who were tasked with organizing the defense in their respective teams, I am sure they have a lot to share, just be humble enough to accept that help is needed.

Thirdly, keep Dick Muir as DOR, removed from the direct business of coaching, appoint Hans Coetzee as head coach, get rid of Johan Ackerman, he simply cannot cut the mustard, appoint Balie Swart over the forwards and appoint Carlos Spencer backline coach, get him out of the starting line-up and into coaching then alternate between Burton Francis and Herkie Kruger at flyhalve, this we call development, this makes the team grow, this should be the way forward.

Let’s not even discuss the fat cats at the top, who is mostly to blame for everything going wrong lower down, because it is something unlikely to change, meaning that the playing structure, the past of GLRU bringing in the money, just have to adapt as good as possible.

Finally, be prepared to play boring rugby at times, I can guarantee not ONE supporter will moan about this, as long as the team is winning. Tone down the adrenaline and fuse with some good sense, fire Earl Rose and stop feeling like the team needs him, it is simply not true.

Lions rugby is currently overflowing with young players, trying to break into the big time, use this energy, and apply it positively, albeit through well constructed structures. South Africa needs a strong Lions team, stop moaning about what I wrote earlier, read it again and accept the facts.

The cliché reads, that if the Stormers and the Bulls are both strong, so is the Springboks…imagine if we had 5 strong teams…

204 Responses to The Lions…a retrospective.

o,
    en as ienageen wil wiet waa ekke was
    ekt gewerk!! 😀

😆 rudi eish dit was mooi tette 😆

yes sharky_my_vyand
    hoesit broetsie?

hiyas ashwee our brudda from our mal kaapse mudda 😆 how you boet??

lekka broetsie
    hows things in the banana republic?

oh
    and lol
    good one!!

eish ons gly tans op daai skille 😆

flok
    hie’s ek alweer alleen oppi site

laat my dink aan daai karakter van casper de vries wat gesê het dat
    as hy soe alleen oppi plaas was
    het
    hy sommer “hand uitgeruk”!! 😆

sharky @ 187
    it will turn around bru
    it shouldve been the case 2 weeks ago when the sharks was robbed by that skaap******!! flok, ek word sommer van voor af weer kwaad!!
    but
    anyway bru
    things will turn around!! wish i could be as confident about the lions!!

Gbsrather let me be your reporter at Newlands, i assure you i’ll do a mighty fine job.

wezwp
    ok
    learn to spell first

Why don’t you justhou jou bek Ashley Johnsen. My Spelling is A ok.

wezwp
    😀 weer ñ antie of iets wat vir jou skoolgehou het nê?
    jaaaaaaaaaa jong, dan kom mens met ienage kak weg!! 😆

O flok, ek het gesê RUGBYKENNER…. hehehehe

Oppie ernstige kant, ek is nogals ernstig, Koning Paulus Maksimus kannie alles handle nie, die man is mos nou weer pappa en sy vrou hou hom aan ‘n kort leiband…. hehehehe

I stay in claremont Gbs. Grant10 comes to me all the time to drink Windhoek and talk rugby. When will you be coming to the most beautful city in Sa Gbs ?

ok guys
    i’m out
    was fun!!
    chat again tomorrow!!

195@ Wezwp – I come to the Cape every so often.

Can’t you get someone to klap that bra named Ashley that ou werk rerag op my ###.

You ever do some wine tasting. Constantia is a great and beautful place to visit. Come to Groot-Constantia and ask for me.

Hi all.. Am home from another day at the salt mine.

As cliched as this sounds there needs to be a total clean out at the Lions,there administration is a joke,until its run by professionals and not a bunch of clowns this will continue,does not matter who they hire to coach them. Look at that balls up with the contracts,that is the most useless thing I’ve ever heard in my life,someone who works at Home Affairs would be disgusted how amateurish that was..

Furthermore the Lions problems run so deep that its going to take at least 3 to 5 years to sort out that mess.. They need a core group of 6 or 7 players to build the team around,a full time coach,a complete new management team,new contracts for players :p and I would even go as far to say they need to move where they play because nobody wants to go to Ellis Park..

Watching the Ipl now.I saw the results that Kallis hit 89 off like 50 balls and chased down like 205,must have been great to watch,good to see he is reinventing himself in his old age..

wezwp @ 198
    aaaaaaaaaaaoooooowww my bra
    o’s skrie dan saam virrie stormers!!
    waa val djy dan nou yt? 😀

Total 48 users including 0 member, 48 guests, 0 bot online