Ruan Pienaar kicked an extra time penalty for the Sharks to snatch a 26-29 victory for the Sharks in Wellington earning his team their second win of the season.

The Sharks looked to have sealed victory going into the final 10 minutes with a try by JP Pietersen but the Hurricanes hit back with two late tries which when both were converted by Piri Weepu levelled the scores at 26 all.

Aaron Cruden however gave away a penalty just inside the Hurricanes half so Ruan Pienaar took the kick and sealed victory for the Sharks.

Pienaar finished with 19 points from five penalties and two conversions – seven goals from eight attempts – to lift the Sharks to their second straight win and consign the Hurricanes to their fourth straight loss.

“I didn’t think too much about it,” Pienaar said of his winning goal.

“Obviously I really wanted to kick it and luckily it went through the posts.

“I was just happy to get a win and now we can home and try to capitalize.”

The Sharks, who broke a five-match losing streak at the start of the season with a sixth-round win over the Highlanders, lifted themselves further from the bottom of the standings with Saturday’s win in Wellington.

The Sharks led from the fifth minute when 19-year-old fullback Lambie scored his first try in his second start in Super 14 rugby.

Hurricanes Flyhalf Willie Ripia kicked two penalties to cut the margin to 7-6 but penalties to Pienaar in the 35th and 40th minutes allowed the Sharks to take a 13-6 lead to halftime.

The Hurricanes changed their inside back combination at halftime, replacing Tyson Keats and Ripia with Piri Weepu and Aaron Cruden, strengthening their backline.

Weepu kicked penalties in the 42nd and 52nd minutes to make the score 13-12 before a further penalty to Pienaar put the Sharks 16-12 ahead.

Pietersen finished a brilliant counter-attack down the right flank in the 64th to score the Sharks’ second try and to give the Durban-based team a 23-12 lead.

The Hurricanes responded only five minutes later with a try to All Blacks center Ma’a Nonu, converted by Weepu, which restored a four points margin.

Pienaar nudged the Sharks further ahead with his fourth penalty in the 73rd minute before Vito and Weepu combined to equalize near fulltime.

The Hurricanes made the mistake of trying to run the ball through midfield late in the match, infringed and conceded the penalty which allowed Pienaar to decide the match.

“It was an excellent game but the sort of game that takes years off you as a player and a coach,” Sharks captain John Smith said.

Final Score Hurricanes 26 Sharks 29 Scorers
Hurricanes
Tries – M Nonu, V Vito
Pen – W Ripia 2, P Weepu 2
Con – P Weepu 2
Drop –
Cards –

Sharks
Tries – P. Lambie, JP Pietersen
Pen – R Pienaar 5
Con – R Pienaar 2
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Ian Smith (Australia)
Assistant referees: Kane McBride (New Zealand), Glenn Newman (New Zealand)
TMO: Shane McDermott (New Zealand)

Teams

Hurricanes – 15 Cory Jane, 14 Tamati Ellison, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Andre Taylor, 10 Willie Ripia, 9 Tyson Keats, 8 Rodney So’oialo, 7 Karl Lowe, 6 Victor Vito, 5 Michael Paterson, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Neemia Tialata, 2 Andrew Hore (c), 1 John Schwalger.

Reserves: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Jacob Ellison, 18 Bryn Evans, 19 Nick Crosswell, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 David Smith.

Sharks – 15. Patrick Lambie , 14. Stefan Terblanche , 13. Adrian Jacobs , 12. Riaan Swanepoel , 11. JP Pietersen , 10. Andy Goode , 9. Ruan Pienaar , 8. Ryan Kankowski , 7. Willem Alberts , 6. Jacques Botes , 5. Alistair Hargreaves , 4. Steven Sykes , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Bismarck du Plessis , 1. John Smit ( Capt )

Replacements: , 16. Tendai Mtawarira , 17. Wiehahn Herbst , 18. Wilhelm Steenkamp , 19. Jean Deysel , 20. Rory Kockott , 21. Waylon Murray , 22. Odwa Ndungane

75 Responses to Pienaar kicks Sharks to victory

59 – Super, I have been out most of the day. So only have seen some of the IPL. Not even sure who I have for a win with this game. Have to go check.

38 – Blue Bird, Sorry only saw this post now. So if you come back to read. Hope you see this.

Your cholesterol is fine. Nothing to worry about there. Shell Fish is very high in cholesterol, orgin meat, lamb is one of the highest in cholesterol too, much higher than read meat. Skin on chicken, hard cheese. I know. I watch my cholesterol but have once a week what I want to eat and the rest of the time I eat healthy. Well sort of…..hehehehehe.

Enjoy your meal BB.

Puma you told them about this place? Well invite them again, to hell with the complaints about something like that. We have a decent rugby conversation here. This is not one of those provincial sites where they go on and on about how good they are, polishing each others marbles.

The fact that we have bloggers from all the various teams here makes this a great alternative. I cant get myself to chat there anymore, i read some of the stuff but it always turn ugly. Some great views is expressed amongst all the crap there.

Okay out of here now. Cheers Super. All Out Rugby is on channel Supersport 206 tonight. Think the golf is on Supersprt 201.

Going to watch now.

Will do my team of the week later. Good to catch up Sharky, brudda you need to blog with us more…hahaha.

Cheers all.

Rajasthan Royals won by 17 runs

lol puma i mostly blog here boet

restaurant mostly very busy , so not as much time as i would like

63 – Super, My feeling too. I go there and there are some really nice people there and good rugby chats but between it all is such ugly stuff been written there. I it is a big put off. I never live my normal life with any of that. I am a laid back person. I HATE fights and arguments. Life is far, far too short for that. I enjoy a good laugh more. Yes I enjoy the banter here too and the debates about our teams and players. That is perfect and normal the way it should be. We all adults here. Good people here I don’t care what they say about this site. I enjoy it the most.

WE have some great articles here too. Not just rugby news but also about rugby it self and that history night on Tuesdays. Those sort of things I do enjoy a lot. My buddy Old Griquas enjoy him here very much and Irish also Walla enjoy him too. Everyone here are great really.

Okay Super, I am off to watch All out Rugby. Catch up later boeta.

super trust me i recruit lots on the other sites , get a shitload of flack for it but i wont stop

lol specially skoppie , transie and grant try giving me shit for it

Forgot, Ash is a fantastic person with the best sense of humour. One day would enjoy to meet him. Good bloke.

Now really out of here. Back later.

Forgot my Brudda….hehehe Sharky enjoy his posts a lot.

Okay off to watch All Out Rugby.

ciao puma catcha laters boet

super here is a fact , rugby-talk rules 😆

lol puma likewise bro

enjoy the cricket , i am gonna watch the golf a bit as young louis oosthuizen is leading by 3 after 11 holes on the final day

good to see our players doing great

as for Ernie eish great to see my favourite golfer back on form , was a long time comming

Sharky i must start watching the golf again , Ernie please go man go

Puma and Sharky-forever
    I wouldn’y hassle too much about the latest storm in a teacup around your heads on keo- see justrugby etc. Same with GBS. That is why the okes here moved away from there. As I said before – you take it in the beginning and then you get to a point where you ask yourself why you do.It is a bunch of small minds that resort to name calling and racism and personal attacks when they cannot argue on the facts. Stuff them.

This weblog appears to recieve a great deal of visitors. How do you promote it? It gives a nice individual spin on things. I guess having something real or substantial to talk about is the most important thing.

Total 45 users including 0 member, 45 guests, 0 bot online