As expected, the Bulls have named their strongest possible team to take on the Hurricanes on Friday at 19:10 at Loftus. Deon Stegmann returns to be the starting No 6 (openside flanker) and Derick Kuün reverts back to the bench.

Media Release by the Bulls:

Deon Stegmann returns to the Vodacom Bulls pack for their Vodacom Super 14 match against the Hurricanes at Loftus Versfeld on Friday night.

The Cradock-born player is the only change to the side that outclassed the Highlanders last week and swop places with Derick Kuün, who reverts back to the bench.

Bulls captain, Victor Matfield, who celebrated his 50th match as captain last weekend, will play in his 100th Super Rugby game, 91 of them for the Bulls.

He played for the Cats eight times early in his career.

“We don’t play for caps, we play to win trophies,” Matfield said of his pending achievement.

“Of course it is nice for me, but the bigger picture is what the Bulls must do to stay undefeated. All the teams are improving week by week, so we need to improve as well.”

Coach Frans Ludeke indicated that Bees Roux might be fit to play off the bench.

Roux suffered a gash to the head last week and was pulled out of the Highlanders clash and replaced by Rossouw de Klerk, who made his Super 14 debut in the process.

“We will have a look how he shapes up during the scrumming session. If he is OK, he will take his place. If not, Rossouw will slot in again,” Ludeke said.

The team (with caps) is: Zane Kirchner (30), Gerhard van den Heever (8), Stephan Dippenaar (6), Wynand Olivier (61), Francois Hougaard (7), Morné Steyn (63), Fourie du Preez (89), Pierre Spies (46), Dewald Potgieter (21), Deon Stegmann (29), Victor Matfield (99, c), Danie Rossouw, (92) Werner Kruger (32), Gary Botha (63), Gurthrö Steenkamp (56).

Replacements: Bandise Maku (12), Bees Roux (18)/Rossouw de Klerk (1), Flip van der Merwe (10), Derick Kuün (46), Jacques-Louis Potgieter (22), Jaco van der Westhuyzen (48), Pedrie Wannenburg (102).

In related news, Heinie Adams sustained a broken rib in the Vodacom Cup match between the Blue Bulls and the Lions. Accordingly he will not be able to join the Bulls on tour after this weekend’s fixture against the Hurricanes. 

Adams is out for four weeks and not available for the tour matches against the Western Force, Blues, Chiefs and Reds.

Ironically Adams sustained the injury for the Vodacom Cup side where he was picked to get some playing time ahead of the tour.

“Heini’s injury comes at a bad time, as he is a class player,” coach Frans Ludeke lamented.

“We still have two Springbok scrumhalves in Fourie du Preez and Francois Hougaard, but Heini added something extra,” Ludeke said.

Ludeke will decide on Monday whether Adams will be replaced for the tour. The Bulls leave for Perth on Tuesday evening.

My personable opinion about team selection:

I would have played Flip van der Merwe in the place of Danie Rossow, with Danie on the bench, simply because Flip has been so strong in the first 3 matches of the season. Somehow he has fit in better in the “Bakkies” mould than Danie.

On the defensive front, the 3 Bulls players who have been suspect in defence, Stephan Dippenaar (No 13), Francois Hougaard (No 11) and Gerhard van den Heever (No 14) have been retained. I have no issue with the attacking prowess of the 2 wingers and I certainly would not change them in the squad but I would have a few words with them every day regarding their defence and they would be doing serious work on defence this week.

Because of the defensive frailties shown, I would have played Jacques-Louis Potgieter on inside centre all week, with Wynand Olivier moving one position out to outside centre, to replace Stephan Dippenaar, Dippenaar to be moved to the bench. One can argue every which way but should Potgieter and Olivier be the centres, there should be a more solid defensive line. The other reason why I would move Wynand Olivier one position out would be to bolster defence around the wing channels, in other words he would be one position wider to help cover on the wings.

The fact is, I’m not the coach and this is not the selections done, so I have to live with the chosen selections and hope the team as a whole has beefed up defences.

Go Bulls, continue your unbeaten run!

43 Responses to Bulls team for Canes clash

Is Jean confirmed to back to Wp Wez and if so where does that leave young De Jongh?

If you were a betting man you would obviously have the Stormers in the top 3 winning the tournament.

Damn,

Wezwp, you must ask us Sharks how to get the champagne cork back on the bottle after it’s been opened.

Then again we at least waited for the final minute of the final, you streamer okes are already pouring the champagne, a bit harder to get the champagne and cork back in the bottle. 🙂

I dont see Jean going anywhere but Wp. We would then have to give let De jong play off the bench the way i see it.

Interesting.could cause problems with his development. I’m off,chat tomorrow guys. Take Care.

30@ Wezwp – Jinne, back to back Super 14 / 15’s for the Stormers….. hehehehe you are an optimistic fella, only a year and a half premature though!

Flok broer, I can’t even be that positive about the Bulls…. and they’re a year closer to achieving that…. and running well in the process.

Can you just imagine how close to bloody impossible it is… I mean, come on… it is week 5 of the world’s hardest Competition.

Flokken Baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaie water wat nog in die see moet loop!

Ja ja ek weet gbs. ons sal moet wag en sien wat gebeur.

GrootPienk 36,

Nee jong, die streamers het klaar die champagne bottels laat skiet….nuwe rekord, Streamers wen die S14 in die 5de week, hulle het nie eers nodig om 1ste te wees oppie log nie.

Eish, nuwe speelgoed jong, hulle kan duidelik glad nie onthou how dit voel om erens in die S14 te wees nie.

Sharks was in ’07 en ’08 en ’09 1ste oppie log teen die tyd, en steeds geen koppies nie.

You guys almost did it if it wasnt for Habana.

Stoooooooooorrrrrrrrmmmeeeerrrrs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Bulls youngsters are shaping nicely this year. They all can up on their defense, but I’m happy to see them do well at Super 14 level, especially after some of them didn’t have the best Currie Cup last year when they got the chance. I do think it’s easier for a youngster to get into a team with guys like Morne Steyn, Fourie du Preez, Victor Matfield, and Pierre Spies there to lead the way.

I would’nt play WO out of position…

He has shaped so well there and it’s his preferred position.
    Don’t try and fix something that’s not broken 😆

He has a lot to do with the Bulls great attack at the moment with his brilliant running lines for the Bulls at 12.

blouste_bees @ 42
    jislaaik broetsie
    waar was jy al die tyd?
    weer bietjie op vakansie gewees?

Total 50 users including 0 member, 50 guests, 0 bot online