The Sharks hosted the Chiefs at ABSA Park, Durban tonight in sweltering February heat and humidity and rain. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast on SuperSport 1 on TV in SA. The Chiefs scored a 1-point win over the Sharks, 19 / 18 in the most difficult conditions possible.

[cincopa 10553812]

Sharks: 6 Penalties Rory Kockott

Chiefs: 4 Penalties & 1 Conversion Stephen Donald, 1 Try Jackson Willison

Previous Super 14 results:
2009: Sharks won 22-15, Hamilton
2008: Sharks won 47-25, Durban
2007: Chiefs won 35-27, Hamilton
2006: Sharks won 30-21

The Sharks: 15 Stefan Terblanche, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Waylon Murray, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Monty Dumond, 9 Rory Kockott, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Johann Muller, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 John Smit (captain), 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Gerhard Mostert, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Jacques Botes, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Adrian Jacobs.

Chiefs: 15 Mike Delany, 14 Dwayne Sweeney, 13 Richard Kahui, 12 Jackson Willison, 11 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10 Stephen Donald, 9 Brendon Leonard, 8 Colin Bourke, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam (captain), 5 Kevin O’Neill, 4 Craig Clarke, 3 Nathan White, 2 Aled de Malmanche, 1 Sona Taumalolo.
Replacements: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Ben Afeaki, 18 James McGougan, 19 Culum Retallick, 20 Jarrad Hoeata, 21 Junior Poluleuligaga, 22 Tim Nanai-Williams.

Referee: Keith Brown (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Jonathan White (New Zealand), Christie du Preez (South Africa)
TMO: Johann Meuwesen (South Africa)

226 Responses to Sharks 18 (6) vs Chiefs 19 (6) (final score) – Game Thread

Eaaaarlyyyyyyyyyyyyy days…. this was only week 1..

Daar SAL nog baaaaie water in die see gepiepie word!

Cheers Puma,,dont be so downhearted..The Sharks will come back. They can still bounce back!

hele paar wedstryde die naweek gewen deur geelkaarte aan einde van die wedstryd. Skotte moes met 13 speel, en Sharks met 14. Geelkaart is ‘n doodskoot, so te sê game, set and match.

Enigste ligpunt wat ek van die Stormers kon sien is dat ons net een helfte nodig gehad het om die Lions te wen. Tweede helfte was maar ‘n klein pokkopie.

Dankie almal my rugby maraton naweek is nou verby ek het baie pret gehad Dankie.

215@ SuperBul – Gedoen

Kak discipline and the total inability to score tries will be the Sharks downfall again this year!

Superbal, You watching the crici? We doing well so far. See Petersen in for Prince. Petersen doing really, really well. Almost has a run a ball.

Remember he can ball too. So that is a bonus. Pity Prince was dropped. Maybe Duminy should have been as he too has not been making the runs but has being bowling really well. I would have kept Prince and played him in Duminy’s place for now. Our batting line up would have been looking even better.

See GS went out quick too. Never saw the start but he is gone.

We win this test we win the series.

So GO PROTEAS!!!

2nd paragraph – typo. meant he can bowl.

219 – Correction there. Just looked on Supersport and Prince’s name was not there. Now see it is Boucher that is out as has a injury. Prince still there coming in at 6th.

Our batting will be superb.

Hello Puma….

Not gonna ask how goes….tragic the loss yesterday, still angry, and yes I do blame the ref somewhat.

And it was not lekker to watch the game in ALL that rain, it couldn’t have been fun being on the field…eish man, sommer sad I am.

222 – Fires, Jeepers mate, my heart was sore I tell you. Thought we had it in the end after Rory got that last Penalty.

The ref was useless actually. Don’t like to blame the ref but he was and Plum said that we just could not understand what this kiwi ref wanted.

Bissie let us down too, felt so damn angry with him.

Thought of all the supporters there sitting in the rain just to be disappointed. Terrible weather for ruggas mate. We should still have won that one and let it slip in the end by a brain explosion to give away a penalty in the last 10 sec was brainless.

Think that is us a goner now. Our tour is just far too hectic. We play Saders, Brumbies, Tahs, Canes and Bulls all on their home turf. All of those teams are top teams in this tourney. Just don’t see us making a semi at this stage at all. Needed that win last night really bad.

My heart still sore about it. If we got thrashed it kinda would have felt better but to lose like that just breaks the heart man.

Just watching the crici now at least there we are right on top.

Ja old Bis, not the brightest of boys on the field, but I can for the life of me not understand how we got an inexperienced kiwi ref to blow the game….should he not have been tested in one of their local derbys?

I also hate blaming the ref, but from where I was sitting (almost out of the rain, but still wet..LOL) he seemed to be missing a lot of their mistakes and penalising us for everything and then some.

Btw, did was that last penalty actualy justified, I couldn’t realy tell, seemed to me the Chiefs knocked it but not too sure?

224@ Vuurtjie – Unfortunately that last penalty was 100% correct…. ball spluted out in the loose and was knocked forward by a Shark, then played from a totally off-side positionby Strauss the centre….

But the Duppies (hereinafter referred to as “The Doctor and the Mental Patient” ) cost the Tjarks big on the day.

There must be something wrong with the way their brains are wired, I’m sure….. always the same type of brainless mistakes / infringements by The Doctor and the Mental Patient…. always.

My heart goes out to you lot of Tjarkie supporters, to lose in the dying seconds, once again…. seems to be a Tjarks disease.

Yeah I saw the swine got that one right apparently, as for the three others of which two should have been yellows and one in the lead up to the Chiefs try, seems no one at SS is willing to mention that.

Duppies needs to get their heads out of each others behinds and leave their Veystaat manners for the farm.

Total 43 users including 0 member, 43 guests, 0 bot online