The Sharks coach, John Plumtree has announced that he has appointed John Smit as captain of The Sharks for 2010 season.

Courtesy from www.sharksrugby.co.za

In previous years, because of John’s commitment to the Springboks, it was felt it was better to appoint another player as captain to ensure continuity. However, this thinking has now changed and is welcome news for all the players and supporters.

John Plumtree commented: “It was obviously a tough decision to make, considering the exceptional work put in by Johann Muller and Stefan Terblanche over the last two years. John Smit is widely acknowledged as the best captain in world rugby and is an exceptional leader. With the three of them being good mates, he will continue to have the full backing of Johann and Stefan and all the players are very supportive of this decision.”

A veteran of 159 games for The Sharks, John was first appointed as captain back in 2001, at the age of 23. He successfully managed this role until 2007, captaining The Sharks on 56 occasions.

Smit added that, “I am very conscious of the fact that I can call upon the advice and input from two great leaders in Johann and Stefan, making my job so much easier. This is a wonderful situation to be in and I am confident that The Sharks will have a very good season this year. To be able to lead such a talented team is very rewarding for me.”

John Smit

• Position: Hooker / Prop
  • Physical: 1.88m; 120kg
  • Province: The Sharks
  • Born: 03.04.78, Polokwane
  • Province Caps: 61
  • Province Points: 60 [12t]
  • Province Debut: 1997 v Western Province
  • Super 14 Caps: 98
  • Super 14 Points: 35 [7t]
  • Super 14 Debut: 1999 v Waratahs
  • Test Caps: 93
  • Test Points: 30 [6t]
  • Test Debut: 2000 v Canada

59 Responses to John Smit named captain for S14

Snoekie i know we will manage without them. BUt i want them, we would really do some damage with them 🙂

28 – Puma

Agree, there is no reason to fight it now. The Lions are making many enemies in SA rugby at the moment. What has happened to good will?

29 – Would give anything to have had Gits play for the Sharks.

Brumbies going to do well with him there this year.

Hi guys. I must say although the official reports are that John Plum is staying I think its time for some fresh ideas,I am still convinced John Mitchell would be perfect for us,he is a hard man that would demand results,the pri madonna Aussies could not cope with him and would not accept mediocrity,I just think that some of the guys need a real kick up the ass like Ruan.Waylon etc and he’d the be best person to do it..

32 – Snoek, Agree. They will eventually let them go and there will be some bad feelings going about the two unions.

They can have Gits Puma,he has too much of an attitude problem and would just disrupt the team more than anything else..

30 – Puma

No clue, he is probably waiting for the rugby to start. I see we have reached 200 registered bloggers, this will be great to chat come rugby time.

34 – Howzit Winston, Yes Mitchell is a good coach but think Plum is staying from what I have read. I do like Plum maybe he needs more time being head coach. Pleased he came to his senses and made John Captain this year. That I think will make a difference this year.

Hi Winston

Plum is doing allright, but Mitchell may be the change we need. It wo’t happen though. Plum asked for a two year extension on his contract.

Winston i agree with you. Our boys need a hard man that takes no kuk.

Puma, a good captain is needed to steer the ship when the coach is not there to help.

hi guys , ok i am about to post a article that would answer some of the questions being asked\

37 – Snoek, Maybe. Always enjoyed Sharkey’s posts and articles.

Yip, 200 registered bloggers is fantastic. This blog has grown so quick.

You right once the rugga starts we will have plenty blogging here especially during the games. Most our blogger here cant blog from work. That is why we don’t have many on during the day. Never bothers me if there are only a few on here. Still really enjoy this site a lot.

Still have some mates though on Voldy so go over there a bit everyday. Enjoy Ranger, Charo and a few others and my kiwi mates there.

42 – Sharkey………hehehe. Talk of the devel..hahaha.

How you mate? Have not seen you about for ages.

41 – Snoek, For sure.

Now would you believe it. Talk of the devil, and he arives.

42 – Sharky, Look forward to it.

40 – Treehugs 😀

Interview with Kaplan on the Radio. He says that this year coaches will be notified if their players cheat, and the ref for the next game will be notified to keep an eye on that player during the next game.

This could be significant, don’t cheat boys.

36 – Winston, Gits still a great player though. He will never leave Oz to come and play here. That was just wishful thinking.

Does have a attitude have to agree with you there.

Hiyas puma bro , snoekie boompie my engel 😆 ^5 hope you are all well ???

Sharky, do you know the Meyer oke? Is he any good?

Hellooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo moepels!

What exactly is a ‘moepel’?

55 @ Carol – Hi… farking busy day here…

A “Moepel” is a cross between a “Muppit” and a “Poephol”…… hehehehe

Mmmmm, so what exactly is a ‘poephol’?

Busy Huh!! Get my text? 😉

Hey Skattebol…I have to fly….see you!! 😉

A very smart move.

Total 118 users including 0 member, 118 guests, 0 bot online