Coach Peter de Villiers and the selectors have made six changes, including two positional, to the Springbok starting XV that faced Italy last week for Saturday’s final test of 2009 at Croke Park in Dublin against Ireland.

The Official SA Rugby web site says the following:

In the front row, Tendai Mtawarira returns to the starting XV in place of Wian du Preez and BJ Botha starts at tighthead with captain John Smit moving to hooker in the place of Adriaan Strauss.

Victor Matfield returns to the starting XV, replacing Andries Bekker, Schalk Burger is back at flank with Danie Rossouw moving from the side of the scrum to number eight. There is one change to the backline with Wynand Olivier starting at 12 in place of the injured Adi Jacobs.

There are four more changes on the bench – hooker Bismarck du Plessis and prop CJ van der Linde return from injury, whilst Irish-based centre Jean de Villiers is recalled and flank Dewald Potgieter is included in the Test 22 for the first time.

Smit will equal Percy Montgomery’s record as the most capped Springbok against Ireland (six caps), while Jaque Fourie will equal Jean de Villers’ record as the most capped Springbok centre (43 Tests).

The Springbok team is: (test caps in brackets):

15 Zane Kirchner (3)
14 JP Pietersen (32)
13 Jaque Fourie (53)
12 Wynand Olivier (26)
11 Bryan Habana (56)
10 Morne Steyn (11)
9 Fourie du Preez (54)
8 Danie Rossouw (45)
7 Schalk Burger (54)
6 Heinrich Brüssow (12)
5 Victor Matfield (91)
4 Bakkies Botha (65)
3 BJ Botha (18)
2 John Smit (92) – captain
1 Tendai Mtawarira (21)

Reserves:

16 Bismarck du Plessis (31)
17 CJ van der Linde (57)
18 Andries Bekker (2)
19 Jean Deysel (1)
20 Dewald Potgieter (uncapped)
21 Ruan Pienaar (36)
22 Jean de Villiers (54)

596 Responses to Springbok Team to face Paddies

567@ Tripps – Het jy na # 524 gaan kyk??

As long as he doesn’t read this thread….he’s usually blogging on Voldy so he should not find out about it..he would get big-headed!

#572 meant for you Snoek!…

569 – Yes, big hundred please.

#570…wat van “Gooooooooooooooi Pommiessssssssssssss!”

Snoek what happens if you forget to put in you SuperBru predictions? Forgot to put my cricket prediction in. Daft had all the time but forgot.

Do we lose points or go to the bottom?

569 – Polla, You lucky. Enjoy it boet.

569 Polla have fun and the message is drop catches and bowl wides!! Heheheh

566 – Groot, I did and nothing there. Will check it again boet.

OK I’m out ….see you tomorrow boys and girls!! xxx

Great Cat!!

Your points stay the same, and other people will overtake you if they get the score right.

I know in the s14 they have default picks for the home team if they win, but not sure in the cricket.

#577 Thanks Puma, I will. My laaitie bowled to the Proteas and the Poms yesterday at the Newlands nets….I think they should pick him ahead of Roelof vd Merwe!…lol… KP couldn’t read his googly!

566 – GBS still nothing in that yahoo addie of mine. Must be a huge cat to take so long to get there…….. 😆

Cheers Carol.

579@ Puma – Fark man, change your Profile to your usual and correct Mail Addie, you can trust me to keep it quiet… nobody will get it… seraaaaas!

582 – Polla, Think he would have enjoyed that. Wish I was going. Looks great there. Great day in Cape Town and I really enjoy the cricket. Enjoy it boet.

583 – Puma

😆 Nearly fell of chair laughing.

581 – Snoek, Thanks. I will probably end on the bottom then not putting in my score. Would always go with SA. Probably would have said SA by 25 or 3 wickets. Something like that.

bwahaha@#583…..Anyway, enjoy the rest of the afternoon gents and ladie(s)…I am off like a bergie’s breath!…Enjoy the rugby tomorrow and GO BOKKKKEEEE!

Puma, i totaly missed out on the cricket on SB, only playing year end tour at the moment.

Cheers Polla, enjoy the cricket and the sun on your back.

590 – Snoek, You should have played. Think it is Tripps pool. Well I forgot to put in the prediction. Thought of it when doing the rugby but forgot about it.

589 – Polla enjoy. Proteas when I looked were 64/0 after 10 overs.

587 – Snoek 😆 It is still not there yet, just had another look………hehehe.

585 – GBS, I trust you mate but my private addie I use for work. I never give that one out.

593 – Puma

Check post number 524 (i think), the cat is there.

594@ Puma – Suffer baby, sufferrrrrrrrrr!

I won’t send you kakkas or spam you…. eishhhhhhhhh…. talk about mistrust…

You cut me deep!

Total 50 users including 0 member, 50 guests, 0 bot online