This year, the B-Factor is the buzz for the SA Rugby Awards. Heinrich Brüssouw and a host of Bulls players and Bokke players dominate the Nominations.

Heinrich Brüssow, one of the stars of the 2009 season, has been nominated 5 times and heads the list of nominees with three of his Springbok team-mates for awards to be made at the SA Rugby Player of the Year banquet which will take place at a glittering event at Vodaworld, Midrand, on Monday, November 2.

Apart from Brüssow, Fourie du Preez (4), Springbok captain John Smit (3) and Morné Steyn (3) have also been nominated for multiple awards.

In addition, Peter De Villiers and Paul Treu, the 2 National coaches of the 15-man and 7-man codes respectively, are rewarded as nominees for coach of the year.

It will be difficult to decide some of the winners in the categories, for instance, as Teams of the year there is the triumphant Super 14 winners, The Bulls, but also the Springboks, who won both the B & I Lions Tour and the Tri-Nations.

All the nominees are carefully chosen and deserve their honours.

All the nominations are (in alphabetical order):

SA Rugby Player of the Year
Heinrich Brüssow
Fourie du Preez
Victor Matfield
John Smit
Morné Steyn

Young Player of the Year

Heinrich Brüssow
Juan de Jongh
Francois Hougaard
Lionel Mapoe
Frans Steyn

Team of the Year
GWK Griquas – Vodacom Cup and Absa Currie Cup
Springboks
Springbok Sevens
Vodacom Bulls – Vodacom Super 14
Vodacom Western Province – Absa Currie Cup

Absa Coach of the Year
Allister Coetzee – Vodacom Western Province
Peter de Villiers – Springboks
Frans Ludeke – Vodacom Bulls
Dawie Theron – GWK Griquas
Paul Treu – Springbok Sevens

The Absa Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year
Juan de Jongh – Vodacom Western Province
Joe Pietersen – Vodacom Western Province
Sarel Pretorius – GWK Griquas
Stefan Terblanche – The Sharks
Luke Watson – Vodacom Western Province

The Absa Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year
Cecil Afrika – Griffons
De Wet Barry – BA Mighty Elephants
Ricardo Croy – SWD Eagles
Allistair Kettledas – Pumas
Braam Pretorius – Pumas

Castle South Africa 2009 Lions Series Provincial Player of the Year
Heinrich Brüssow – Vodacom Free State Cheetahs
Willem de Waal – Vodacom Western Province and Emerging Springboks
Mpho Mbiyozo – Southern Kings
Joe Pietersen – Vodacom Western Province
Dewald Potgieter – Emerging Springboks

Castle South Africa 2009 Lions Series Test Player of the Year
Heinrich Brüssow
Fourie du Preez
Tendai Mtawarira
John Smit
Morné Steyn

Vodacom Super 14 Player of the Year

Heinrich Brüssow – Vodacom Cheetahs
Fourie du Preez – Vodacom Bulls
Wynand Olivier – Vodacom Bulls
Pierre Spies – Vodacom Bulls
Morné Steyn – Vodacom Bulls

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year
Cecil Afrika – Griffons
Francois Brummer – Vodacom Blue Bulls
Jonathan Mokoena – GWK Griquas
Naas Olivier – GWK Griquas
Riaan Viljoen – GWK Griquas)

Supersport Try of the Year
Fourie du Preez – second try in the Vodacom Super 14 Final, Vodacom Bulls v Chiefs in Pretoria on May 30.
Jaque Fourie – Second Test in the Castle South Africa 2009 Lions Series in Pretoria on June 27.
Bryan Habana – Second Test in the Castle South Africa 2009 Lions Series in Pretoria on June 27.
Fabian Juries – Absa Currie Cup, Vodacom Free State Cheetahs v Vodacom Blue Bulls in Pretoria on September 26.
John Smit – First Test in the Castle South Africa 2009 Lions Series in Durban on June 20.

** Awards will also be made in the following categories – Coca-Cola Craven Week Player of the Tournament, Marriott Referee Award, Women’s Achiever of the Year, SAA Club Championship Player of the Tournament, SA U20 Player of the Year and Springbok Sevens Player of the Year

Personally, I would award top honours as follows:

SA Rugby Player of the Year
Fourie du Preez

Young Player of the Year

Heinrich Brüssow

Team of the Year
Springboks & Vodacom Bulls – Vodacom Super 14 (tied)

Absa Coach of the Year
Peter de Villiers – Springboks

The Absa Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year
Juan de Jongh – Vodacom Western Province & Joe Pietersen – Vodacom Western Province (tied)

The Absa Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year
Ricardo Croy – SWD Eagles

Castle South Africa 2009 Lions Series Provincial Player of the Year
Heinrich Brüssow – Vodacom Free State Cheetahs

Castle South Africa 2009 Lions Series Test Player of the Year
Morné Steyn

Vodacom Super 14 Player of the Year

Morné Steyn – Vodacom Bulls

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year
Jonathan Mokoena – GWK Griquas

Supersport Try of the Year
Fabian Juries – Absa Currie Cup, Vodacom Free State Cheetahs v Vodacom Blue Bulls in Pretoria on September 26.

141 Responses to SA Rugby Awards Nominations – Brüssouw and the Bulls & the Boks

Helloooooooooo

Sorry about the smileys fellas…. and girls…. I critically looked at what smileys actually did to LOAD TIMES of pages here on the blog, and determined that with our KAK WEBHOST it takes 4 TIMES LONGER to load a page when smileys are included.

Sooooo, until I find another WEBHOST who will not throttle our CPU USAGE, I will keep the smileys off.

Finding the host is not the problem, finding the time to migrate the site over to that host AND being off-line for 18 – 24 hours is the real problem.

@superBul – :poop: huh?

@Puma – see bro thats the diffs between the other supporters and us

the bulls guys will only nominate their own player as does the cheetahs guys

do we at the sharks feel one of our players have truelly stood out ?? no

but someone like j smit was nominated , at i see on keo tacitus is dirtying his undies because smitty was nominated

@grootblousmile – 121

Only find another host after the semi this weekend. Don’t want this site to be down during the semi finals on Saturday.

Pity about those smiley faces. There were many to work with.

What about the usual that you get on Voldy can we use those? There only about 8 or so you can use there. Maybe we can use them and it wont slow it down.

@Puma – we believe to give credit where its due

@sharky_forever – 123

I don’t worry about what they say over there. Someone is always having a go at someone there.

Smit is the best captain in the world. Pleased he got nominated but think the award will go to Fourie de Preez.

Should have had a special award for best Captain. Smith would get that one for sure.

@sharky_forever – 125

BIG SMILEY FACE..HAHAHA.

Miss those little things……hahaha.

Snorre been nominated for Springbok Coach of the year? hehe

117 @ isigidi – Have you got your little tape recorder to make sure you don’t misquote lulu. This time whe will have hard evidence.

whe? – wee? – we!

#121 GBS

Morning all. Ag, the smilies were a nice to have anyway, GBS and if they’re more trouble than they’re worth, then they must go – no problem.

As far as the awards are concerned, the try of the year can surely only go to Fabian who left 9 Bulls looking for ‘weiding’ on his way to the white stuff. Best individual try I’ve seen since Nokwe blasted two tries at Loftus all those years ago.

Why the best tries are always scored against the Bulls I’ll never know…

128@K9-MonsterLeeu
    you have other candidates, woef?
    btw
    how about adding to that irb coach of the year?

Ek stem saam met alles, ek verstaan net nie wat WP gedoen het om as span van die jaar benoem te word nie, hulle het nie eers bo aan die log geeindig nie. Die getalle moes seker maar volgemaak word.

@Rooipiet – 133

Have to agree there. Why are WP nominated up there? Sharks should have been.

@Snoek – O yes, my dictaphone is ready for action.
    I will record all and put in script form on a Newlands Press Conference thread Saturday. You will have the full comments here before the Rapport readers on Sunday.

Or how about Hamiltons. A non univercity club side winnig the club champs. Even Maties for winning the varcity cup would have made more sence.

@isigidi – Isi Harmse?

@Rooipiet
    Ek sou se Griekwas, hule het bo hul vermoens gespeel vanjaar vir n klein unie met beperkte fondse.
    Onthou, hulle het n groot borg verloor met Wildeklawer wat onttrek het (wonder wat daar gebeur het?)

@sharky_forever – 125

You must realise that winning the S14 was monumental for the BULLS, and that increased the intensity of hero worship at the Bulls.

Normally the average BULLS supporter is quite quick to give due to other teams. You get the odd eceptions, likewise at the Tjarks.

#139 Cosa

Ja, I see the objectivity of the Bulls and Sharks supporters displayed here all the time. Now if we can only get those blessed WP supporters to get their act together…

@fender – 140

Jy soek nou wors in ‘n hond se hok!

Total 52 users including 0 member, 52 guests, 0 bot online