Yes, we do have some other, not so important rugby on todayNothing to play for? Maybe but it is the beginning of the usual November stint up North for both team and you just know the two teams will want to start on a winning note. Sure, the Bledisloe Cup has already been cleaned after the All Blacks used it as a champagne receptacle for a while but the Wallabies always seems to pick up a notch when the play their neighbours and the neighbours, well they just don’t like losing, plain and simple.

The Wallabies had a poor season so far but not withstanding the coach still seems to be firmly set in his seat. As much as I like him you have to wonder how long before the knives come out, a poor showing this tour and we may find out how close we are.

The All Blacks coach used some smoke and mirrors, played a little bit of musical chairs and came out saying the moves set them up perfectly for World Cup 2011. His contract was renewed not so long ago but if you listen to the people at ground level the support for him is split. Some still see him as the man but other voice strong opinions about why he should never have been around after the dismal performance of 2007. The North has little to rattle the All Blacks and another clean sweep is on the cards. As for 2011, we will have to wait and see.

Back to tonight, like I said before there is nothing but a little pride and good start to play for but coach Deans had a lot to say about playing for the jumper, playing for the Country, pride and a few other words to wind up his charges. I would think a few players are also on notice, last chances and stuff like that. Expect them to come out firing. The All Blacks will play to win the game, as I said, they hate losing.

So what to look out for, again, the usual stuff. Has the Wallabie scrum improved even further in the little off season they had, can they build on a solid Tri Nations performance? Did the All Black coaches do enough to fix the line-out problems or will we see more of the same. With McCaw there the breakdown is always good to watch.
Players to watch: There are a few… already mentioned McCaw who has not shown his best this year in the black jumper. Mils Muliaina must be close to the last change saloon and a good performance is needed to pay back the trust the coaches have put in him. Rodney So’oialo would like to proof a point, why drop me? Digby Ioane is back after a long break, will he be anything like he was before his injury? Both flyhalves are usually worth the ticket price… Pocock managed to push George Smith to the pavilion, he will have to make sure to proof it was no mistake.

Results this century
2009: New Zealand won 33-6 at Westpac Trust, Wellington
2009: New Zealand won 19-18 at ANZ Stadium, Sydney
2009: New Zealand won 22-16 at Eden Park, Auckland
2008: New Zealand won 19-14 at Hong Kong Stadium
2008: New Zealand won 28-24 at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
2008: New Zealand won 39-10 at Eden Park, Auckland
2008: Australia won 34-19 at Stadium Australia, Sydney
2007: New Zealand won 26-12 at Eden Park, Auckland
2007: Australia won 20-15 at Cricket Ground, Melbourne
2006: New Zealand won 34-27 at Eden Park, Auckland
2006: New Zealand won 13-9 at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
2006: New Zealand won 32-12 at Jade Stadium, Christchurch
2005: New Zealand won 34-24 at Eden Park, Auckland
2005: New Zealand won 30-13 at Stadium Australia, Sydney
2004: Australia won 23-19 at Stadium Australia, Sydney
2004: New Zealand won 16-7 at Westpac Trust, Wellington
2003: Australia won 22-10 at Stadium Australia, Sydney
2003: New Zealand won 21-17 at Eden Park, Auckland
2003: New Zealand won 50-21 at Stadium Australia, Sydney
2002: Australia won 16-14 at Stadium Australia, Sydney
2002: New Zealand won 12-6 at Jade Stadium, Christchurch
2001: Australia won 26-29 at Stadium Australia, Sydney
2001: New Zealand won 23-15 at Carisbrook, Dunedin

As for a prediction, it is a very hard one as it always is with these two teams. I go for the All Black by 8 for no specific reason…well; maybe Rugby Princess and her very sharp stilettos may play a role in my prediction!

Australia: 15 James O’Connor, 14 Peter Hynes, 13 Ryan Cross, 12 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Matt Giteau, 9 Will Genia, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom (captain), 5 Mark Chisholm, 4 James Horwill, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.
Replacements: 16 Stephen Moore, 17 Matt Dunning, 18 Dean Mumm, 19 George Smith, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Drew Mitchell, 22 Quade Cooper.

New Zealand: 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Rodney So’oialo, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Tom Donnelly, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Neemia Tialata, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Corey Flynn, 17 John Afoa, 18 Jason Eaton, 19 Kieran Read, 20 Brendon Leonard, 21 Stephen Donald, 22 Zac Guildford.

Date: Saturday, 31 October 2009
Kick-off
: 17.35 (08.35 GMT)
Venue: Olympic Stadium, Tokyo, Japan
Expected weather conditions: Clear with scattered clouds later and with a high of 22°C, dropping to 20°C and a light westerly wind
Referee: Mark Lawrence (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Craig Joubert, Taizo Hirabayashi (Japan)
Television match official: Akihisa Aso (Japan)
Assessor:
Bob Francis (New Zealand)

148 Responses to Preview: New Zealand v Australia

Had ABs on my superbru by 12. So one point out not bad for a first time on the rugby there.

Puma @117
    I AM here, just got in in this morning, heehaaaaaa!
    Howzit?
    Another 260km or so, and I will be in front of the tv, with a cold Hansa and some biltong….another hour or so, at the speed this cousin of mine drives, no speed limits over here in the Namib!

G’day Pietman @ 114,
    Unbelievable reading all those names – thank you. I called my wife to read them too. We get the lump in the throat remembering those days. What would I give right now to have the luxury of having a beer and a chat once again with Tos (although I think he may be a teetotaller, from memory).

Healthwise, I’m fine. Just a dose of diabetes and one or two other ailments. Thank you for your concern. I need to get out and run a bit. After talking here tonight, I feel like running a few 100m stride-throughs, just for the sake of it.

I hope my rugby mates in RSA are all well and in good shape.

Best wishes from the winger!

Hello all.
    GBS ~ onthou om tissues saam te vat

The Game Thread for the BIG MATCH this afternoon will be up on the blog at 15:00 SA Time

Cheetahs u/19 23 / Lions u/19 6

@123 Yip, they are al doing well, all alive still and each about a 100 pounds heavier…hehehehehe!
    Except Jannie van Aswegen, who passed away.
    You remember him, the lock from Amasol, who captained the Gazelles to Argentina?

@ 127 yes, I do remember Jannie, very clearly. Sad losing one of our own!

127@ Pietiepedia – Hellooooooooooooooooo Pieteltjie, welkom weer op Afrika bodem!

128@ Old Griquas – You and Pietman are getting Loooooooooooooooooooooong in the tooth now!!

@ 128 watch it buddy. Don’t make me come over there!!!!!!

Ok boys, laters, let me take this last stretch to Swakopmund at speed, don’t want to miss the game!
    See you all laters, dunno what the internet is like down there, have a wife and family to greet and stuff, big thirst as well, been on the road almost 3 days now…
    But will do soonest.
    Cheerio.

131@ Old Griquas – Where would they pack your ZIMMERFRAME on the plane…. hehehe

Just joking, “oudste”…. I’m not exactly a youngster either.

It’s sad when it’s time when whittling your generation’s bush is at hand.

133 @ GBS too true about the FRAME on the PLANE.

I suppose we all have to go at some time or another to the big kick off in the sky!

Another try for the Cheetahs cubs…. Lions look done and dusted

132@ Pietman – Julle het seker op Windhoek geland…. geniet die Namib broer, en laat weet wat jou bewegings is…

Het julle bere al die braaivleis vure aan die brand gesteek, dop geskink..ect?

Dink aan ons hier in koue nat fekking pommieland.Hoop julle het almal a lekker agtermiddag

122 – Pietman

Good to hear you back here Piet. You had a long journey over. Enjoy the game. Beers on me boet. Well maybe wine for me and a beer for you.

WELCOME BACK HOME.

Lions u/19 has had 5 yellow cards in the game, the last yellow was a repeated yellow, so it’s turned to RED

Cheetahtjies 31 / Liontjies 6

The Lions have played with 13 players for large parts of the game.

GBS what time you leaving for Loftus? The parking there going to be a nightmare if you don’t go soon. Or do you have a reserved parking? Are you in a suite/Box?

140@ Puma – Leaving here at 13:30 (in 15 minutes time).

Kruppelbroer has the luxury of being allowed to be driven right up to the gate due to his disability with the leg… and he can’t stay on the feet too long, so we won’t go to the stadium until about an hour and 30 minutes before the game.

141 GBS

Well then you get almost right up to the stadium with the car.

Shame about your boet GBS. How is he doing? Must be tough on him.

GBS I am out of here now. Will post later during the game. Have mates coming over but will still post.

Enjoy it boet. Remember the camera and photo’s please.

May the best team win and hoping for a cracker of a final.

142@ Puma – He’s had 8 operations already since 31 August last year after that horific motorbike crash in Mozambique…. and is going in for another one this week.

This week they will replace a titanium pin, roughly the lengh of a ruler in the leg because the previous one was hurting him badly… the man has been through hell and has aged considerably.

144 – GBS

Shame man boet. Your brother must be in a lot of pain. Is it only the legs? Did he not hurt the back as well?

I feel for him, sad really to be in so much pain and so young. Is he younger than you? Pain is a horrible thing GBS. So hoping he has a great day out at the rugby.

Well I moan about my kak knees at least I can walk. Have a slipped disc in my lower back and going for a spinal block in two weeks time. Also having lots of pain there but I am surviving fine….hahaha. Proably will need to do a op on the lower back next year if this spinal block does not work.

Anyhows enjoy the game with your boet GBS. Remember that camera and lots of pics for us here tomorrow.

145@ Puma – He busted up his T7 vertabrae in the crash and had to have T6, T7 & T8 fused together. Back seems fine, but the right leg is a real problem.

He is 6 years older than me, looks 16 years older now though.

Fark, so you’re also an old crock now… wonky knees, bad back… what’s next, no boner any longer perhaps?

Hehehehe

Anyway folks, let me be off to Pretoorsdorp and Fortress Loftus!!

Enjoy the rugby and gooooooooooooooooi mieliessssssssssss

Nou die Blou!

I leave you in the capable hands of Swanie, SuperBul & Ed….

132Pietman

October 31st, 2009 at 12:51 PM

Jy is in my Land. My Pa bly nog in Swakop. Geniet dit. Hoe lank gaan jy daar wees?

Total 426 users including 0 member, 426 guests, 0 bot online