I cannot help but think that people misunderstand the importance of a franchise in the Eastern Cape and what it will do for transformation in the game of rugby.

I am not surprised however, transformation has grown over the years to be the most hated word amongst rugby supporters for the blatant window dressing it created amongst rugby unions and SA Rugby in large. This in itself can be laid in front of the door of SA Rugby’s administration but that is a discussion for another day.

A large portion of the blame can also go to the guys from the Eastern Cape themselves for continually punting the transformation line to give their cause (to establish a franchise) some form of credibility.

They have a point which I will illustrate a bit later but the way they ‘market’ the region for inclusion into the lucrative Super rugby structures has been done all wrong in my view.

Rugby is an elitist sport, enjoyed mostly by white South Africans. This is thanks largely to the history of our country in the isolation days but one should never blame the love for the game amongst predominantly white people on anything other than what it is, a way of life.

I, like many other white South Africans grew up with rugby from the day I could walk. It was a way of life. It dominated my home life, my social life (with friends and family) and even today, my professional life. From playing with my brothers, cousins (boys and girls), friends and mates in the afternoon, during breaks at school and of course, as a sport while I was in school.

Saturdays was all about rugby. We had knitted jerseys my mom made with our favourite players number on it, my parents friends came over, a braai would be lit, us kids would play rugby in the garden to the amusement of the parents and then everyone would sit in front of the TV when it was game time – it was about the only time the kids were allowed in front of the television in the house with the parents!

It formed part of who I was, my culture, it is what I associated with and felt comfortable with. I identified my heroes and dreamed of one day go and do what they do. I loved the game then, and I still do.

And it is in this where I believe people get it wrong on just what rugby could mean for the black population in South Africa if we do succeed in establishing a franchise in the Eastern Cape.

Although times have changed dramatically in the last 20 years, the traditional big 5 rugby unions does not have a large black supporter following. Apart from the Boland and Western Cape area black rugby struggles in most areas where there is little interest in the game.

The Eastern Cape has always been touted as the ‘base’ or ‘hub’ for black rugby players in South Africa, and rightly so, figures will show you that the biggest concentration of clubs and players are from this region.

Where the region or administration of this region fails in my view however is where they do not seem to recognise that creating a franchise will not magically see an influx of black players to top level rugby, nor will we suddenly see 9 black rugby players selected for the Boks within a year.

What we could however create for the guys here, is something they can associate themselves with. A team which becomes part of their lives, a culture. Where else should we create a culture or association for black people than right where they live? Where most of their ‘heroes’ play the game, a place which they call home, mine, ours.

The biggest transformation coup SA Rugby could wish to achieve will be for the people of the Eastern Cape to start associating themselves with a team, a region, a brand, and their own bunch of heroes competing against the best South Africa has to offer and possibly our Antipodean cousins.

Anyone who thinks the purpose of an Eastern Cape franchise is an immediate fix to increase black playing numbers at top level rugby is living in cuckoo land. Establishing a franchise in the Eastern Cape will in fact in my view, rid us of the social engineering and cosmetic application of transformation in rugby in South Africa, where players and supporters won’t join, follow and play the game for any other reason that they now can associate themselves with something, or someone.

The mechanics surrounding building a franchise is simple in my view and something we discussed many times. With the correct administration there should be no reason why the Eastern Cape cannot build a successful rugby franchise.

Our fanatical support for rugby was born out of a culture where rugby is a religion, we need to do the same with the Eastern Cape, but firstly we must give them something to play for.

92 Responses to Create a rugby religion

fender,

Ja man dit was ‘n flokop, ek het met Morne gepraat maar het vir jou gevra wie jy ondersteun.

Jy moet seker nog depressief wees na Saterdag. Bly net weg van Ed af, hy wil enigiets wat WP is moer. lol

Morne…do you perhaps have an older brother named Jacques?…

#60,

Was also born in the most beautiful place in South Africa, been all over though and from childhood I loved the underdog. Don’t know why.

Supported Free State from when I was 6 years old. Favourite players are also Rassie, Andre Venter and Os so that also influenced me I guess.

Talking about the ex-DJ, how do you feel about the work he’s doing in the Cape?

#61 Valk

No problem ’bout that.

Nah, I’m not the depressive type. There is a beautiful Kaapse saying that I like and it goes ‘More is nogge dag’. Sometimes you win, sometimes you lose…

Ja, and Ed ain’t alone. I often wonder why people hate us Capies so…

@morney from the same time as the chetahs and cats were married.the sharks made an offer to buy them out of the franchise and THEY.EP took it no one else.again they got them selfs in this hole

#63 Valk

I really can’t make up my mind about Rassie to be honest. But then again there are no quick fixes here given the complicated WP administration.

So, I’ll wait and see….

Indeed I do.

And why do you think the Sharks offered to buy them out?

They bitched because they had to go play in PE. The ‘partnership’ was impracticle and stupid. You ‘joined’ two team with different cultures in different provinces! Whereas the Eastern Cape deserved a franchise on their own – of which all this is about.

@ morney and the ec deserves it more than the other franchises because…..? once again they were one of the old test unions the bevooregte elite of sa rugga and they sunk themselfes

#67..Aaah OK..if this is the Morne I think it is…In our young and reckless days Jacques was my neighbour when he shared a house with Roy….I still bump into him at schools functions etc….Your opposite captain at interschools in 1987 is a very good friend of mine as well!

#67..or rather, the injured opposite Captain that did not play!

Where was it ever stated they deserved it ‘more’ than any other union?

It was and still is stated time and time again that they should fight their way into top recognition.

However, this does not stop SA rugby to create the franchise, establish it, so they can do this or at least get a shot of proving they belong amongst the elite in SA RUgby.

I am struggling to place it probably because Jaques is 3 years older than me!!!

But grew up mainly in Ermelo, moved to CPT and finished school here as did Jacques.

Cant recall a Roy however…

#73 Maybe I’ve got the wrong Morne , but the simalarities are great!…Did you not matriculate at Paarl Gim and captained them in 86 or 87?

good article morné
    TonyM @ 31 … well said

Hello friends, muppits, moepels & poephols…

TonyM, if you’re still here… what say you about Muir’s appointment over Heyneke Meyer at the Lions… shortsighted I would say?

Another thing TonyM, when we talked on the phone and on Skype, we discussed the Super 14 Franchise award.. how do you see the ARBITRATION thing influencing the award to Melbourne / Southern Kings ?? Do you still think only Melbourne stands a realistic chance to get it and that the Southern Kings thing is just playing for political eyes?

Come on friend, give us the real low down, you’re deeply involved in the trenches… spill them beans…

@mornay lets compromise and say that sa rugby had to demand a 6th team because none of the francises can afford to loose a spot.but in the end the kings will get a spot and another region will have its throught cut

Hahaha, no I think we got things messed up here – but the similarities are amazing!!!

I will never support the Kings getting a franchise or rather spot in Super rugby over another team without them having deserved it.

So I believe we are actually on the same page.

GBS,

I think Muir’s appointment is short-sighted. And yes, a quick fix which is something Muir is known to be able to achieve.

Lions however needs sustained success, and I doubt any Lion supporter would have been unhappy if Meyer said or asked to give him 2 years with the franchise.

Muir’s legacy at the Lions will leave with him, Heyneke’s would have stayed long after he left.

smallies @ 77
    hmmmm, you’re getting there, hehehe

soooooo why this fear amongst the big5 of losing their spot?

Ash,

Because they will lose a shit lot of money, and then lose players…

Administration will be exposed and they will not be able to cover up misadministration thanks to guarranteed Super rugby funds and sponsorship…

Just look what happened to the Valke when they lost a spot in the Currie Cup propper…

In fact, I was told earlier that if Boland does lose out this weekend and next and gets relegated at the expense of the Pumas, no Southern Coastal team (and Eastern Cape) will be in the Currie Cup propper apart from WP???

It seems for a region (Western Cape and EC to an extent) who has some of the best schools and clubs (not to mention the most players), it has become a culture to throw money at a problem (Rassie buying players, Chester telling his team he will give them a million bucks) rather than fix the root of the problem (administration and structures)?

Offering Boland a million bucks to stay out of relegation is the most stupid man management I have ever heard of.
    It perfectly tells the story of why they are playing promotion/relegation in the first place!!

TH,

Exactly…

The worst part is that their manager proudly goes on national TV with a huge smile on his face announcing this million buck incentive like he has come up with the business idea of the century!!
    What a bunch of clowns!!

tighthead @ 85
    its NOT a good idea? 😯

Hey Ash, I wouldn’t let the money go beyond numbers 1, 2 and 3.
    You just can’t trust those other buggers!!

I would support the idea of the Kings, but Cheeky Watson is involved,so no.

tighthead @ 87
    😀 was just pulling your … uhm … leg, of course
    anyway
    think boland stand to lose more if they’re not playing cc next season, hence the initiative
    you must feel for the smaller unions though. take griquas as an example … they’re losing quite a few players, and will have to build from scratch again. bigger unions (again) is winning all the way. they’re getting players for next to nothing, the smaller unions are stuck cause the money they get out of deals like that is not enough to buy bigger name players, so they’ll have to go back to developing unknown players.
    its a pity that the fedentia deal with boland of a few years back didnt work out, it mightve been a good indication whether that isnt the way to go!!

indien die kings as n streek span in die cc toegelaat word dan moet dit sommer n streek kompetiesie word.hou dan 6 streke en die top 2 gaan deur na s14 uitklop ronte.so kan die s14 en cc gelyk tydig gespeel word

Total 15 users including 0 member, 15 guests, 0 bot online