Login or Out / Register

For the best UK & European Rugby News, read Rugbyweek Simply Click here

Authors

Only Registered Users with the status of Author or Higher can see this page.

Journalistic Policy:

The basic Journalistic Policy is that we cannot blindly COPY & PASTE an Article and give the Author / Owner recognition. Although a lot of Web Sites do just this, it is in contravention of the Intellectual Property Rights of the Owner.

In short, it would ALWAYS be better if we could write our OWN ORIGINAL ARTICLES, by reading other News and using our own wording to word an Article on a subject. So, wherever possible I suggest we read a News Article belonging to someone else, then changing the sentences and wording and writing our OWN VERSION of the story.

Think about it, we often make comments on the Blog of numerous paragraphs. Our own Articles would therefore be nothing more than 2 or 3 such comments added together, yet be our own stuff. It would not take that long to write our OWN ARTICLES.

A lot has also been said about the number and quality of Articles (Posts or Threads) per day. We must strive for QUALITY over QUANTITY.

In this regard it must be noted that we are not only a Blog where we chat, we are indeed a NEWS PORTAL and accordingly we have to supply ALL RELEVANT NEWS, each contained in their own Article or Post. Bloggers naturally gravitate to the TOP ARTICLE (THREAD) or the busiest discussion, so I see no worry or concern regarding confusion about where bloggers will chat and enjoy themselves – it will not only reflect in the conversation but it will be displayed in the RIGHT HAND SIDEBAR, under Recent Comments.

As WEBMASTERS, we will determine where on the Home Page an Article is located, in other words how high up in PRIORITY it is listed.

When we started our Blog we placed some Non-Rugby related Articles, mostly under the Category of “Funny Stuff”. This has to be limited quite a lot, to only include Items of this nature AFTER communicating with a WEBMASTER (GBS & SuperBul).

Getting back to the issue of COPY & PASTE… I realise we are all busy individuals, with regular day jobs and in addition that none of us are seasoned journalists, therefore some COPY & PASTE would have to happen. What we can do in this regard is to write our OWN SHORT INTRODUCTION, and COPY & PASTE only relevant sections of already published Articles.

Where we do COPY & PASTE we must make damn sure we give credit to the source. The best way to use COPY & PASTE would be to put the COPIED parts in Inverted Commas, then give credit to the Authors. Only COPY & PASTE extractions of an Article, not the whole Article, giving a basic summary of the subject under discussion. We then add 3 or 4 paragraphs giving our own slant to the Article, with our own individual opinion.

Let me give you an example, using the following Article, first here is the original Article in BLUE, thereafter our Article in RED

Aus to call meeting with ref

2009-08-27 19:07
Matt Giteau (AFP)

Johannesburg – Australian playmaker Matt Giteau has been lined up in the crosshairs of Pierre Spies and any Springbok predators lurking to exploit the low trajectory of the No 10s kicks that have been frequently charged down in recent matches, throwing the Wallabies into turmoil.

Australia coach Robbie Deans acknowledged this week that Giteau’ kicks were a source of concern, particularly without the back-up boot of Berrick Barnes, who was on Wednesday ruled out Saturday’s Test in Perth due to concussion.

Giteau himself, who had two kicks charged down in the second half of Australia’s defeat to New Zealand in Sydney last Saturday, admitted that his boot was an issue of concern that he had worked on this week.

“Yeah. I do need to step up a lot and feel that in the last two Tests I have not kicked as well as I would have liked,” he said.

The Wallabies on Wednesday announced a side without injured lock Nathan Sharpe and Barnes, but robust flanker Rocky Elsom overcame an ankle injury and has been cleared to start in the No 6 jumper.

The only significant change to the Springbok team was Ruan Pienaar coming in at fullback for Francois Steyn in a selection that coach Peter de Villiers described as six of one and half a dozen of another.

Scrumhalf Fourie du Preez will play his 50th Test on an occasion where South Africa finds they are favourites to beat the Wallabies on home soil.

“I am happy to get here and of course winning the Tri-Nations is important to us, as we’ve only won it twice. But we are still a long way from winning it again, what is required is to know that while we may lose some games, we need to believe we will win more than we lose.

“Everybody likes winning rugby and Test rugby is not about just passing the ball to wings. Very few wings score tries in Test rugby running around their opposite numbers.

“I believe what we need to play is total rugby. In the post ELVs the game slowed down a bit and defences became tighter, with teams having time to align defences a little more.

“We didn’t make the rules and initially, at the Bulls, we struggled. But this year we got on top of them,” said Fourie.

Deans, however, said he would call a meeting with referee Bryce Lawrence in an effort to nullify South Africa’s kick, charge and bash tactics that have established South Africa as the No 1 ranked team in the world.

The Australian coach acknowledged that they were concerned about South Africa’s chasers, notably Bryan Habana and JP Pietersen, encroaching over the offside line before pursuing and smashing opponents under mortar bombs launched from the boot of Du Preez and Morne Steyn.

The Australians also want to try and convince Lawrence not to penalise players for obstruction when they surround the catcher, as they were at Newlands two weeks ago and again in Sydney last weekend.

What we are really concerned about is what he (Lawrence) thinks, said Deans.

Australia’ other big concern, particularly in the absence of Sharpe, is countering the lineout threat of the two best locks in world rugby in Victor Matfield and Bakkies Botha.

Chisholm, however, who has only played three club games recently, gave a remarkable insight into how Australia plan to counter Matfield’s astute lineout nous.

“First and foremost the main thing we have to do is slow the lineout down. (At Newlands) we gave Victor (Matfield) and South Africa too much time to see and feel what we were going to do. Now we have to quicken that aspect of the game up,” he said, indicating that there would be many quick throw-ins on Saturday.

Wallabies wants to talk to Ref

It appears that Robbie Deans wants to call a meeting with the Referee for Saturday’s match, Bryce Lawrence, to nullify certain aspects of the Bokke game. They are very concerned about SA’s kick, charge and bash tactics and the fact that the Bokke are the No 1 ranked team in the world.

(split the Article here with the INSERT MORE TAG)

Matt Giteau (AFP)

In an Article by News 24 on 27 August, written by XYZ the following was reported

The Australian coach acknowledged that they were concerned about South Africa’s chasers, notably Bryan Habana and JP Pietersen, encroaching over the offside line before pursuing and smashing opponents under mortar bombs launched from the boot of Du Preez and Morne Steyn.

The Australians also want to try and convince Lawrence not to penalise players for obstruction when they surround the catcher, as they were at Newlands two weeks ago and again in Sydney last weekend.

What we are really concerned about is what he (Lawrence) thinks, said Deans.”

But there is much more that Deans should be concerned about, News 24 goes on to say that Australian playmaker Matt Giteau has been lined up in the crosshairs of Pierre Spies and any Springbok predators lurking to exploit the low trajectory of the No 10s kicks that have been frequently charged down in recent matches, throwing the Wallabies into turmoil.

Australia coach Robbie Deans acknowledged this week that Giteau’ kicks were a source of concern, particularly without the back-up boot of Berrick Barnes, who was on Wednesday ruled out Saturday’s Test in Perth due to concussion.

Giteau himself, who had two kicks charged down in the second half of Australia’s defeat to New Zealand in Sydney last Saturday, admitted that his boot was an issue of concern that he had worked on this week.

“Yeah. I do need to step up a lot and feel that in the last two Tests I have not kicked as well as I would have liked,” he said.

In addition, the Bokke have the feared line-out and lock supremos of Victor Matfield and Bakkies Botha and the pocket dinamo fetcher Heinrich Brussouw (with Schalk Burger on the bench), whereas Nathan Sharp of the Wallabies is injured and not available and Rocky Elsom is returning from an injury cloud. Australia’s  big concern is countering the Bokke lineout threat. Chisholm, however, who has only played three club games recently, gave a remarkable insight into how Australia plan to counter Matfield’s astute lineout nous.

“First and foremost the main thing we have to do is slow the lineout down. (At Newlands) we gave Victor (Matfield) and South Africa too much time to see and feel what we were going to do. Now we have to quicken that aspect of the game up,” he said, indicating that there would be many quick throw-ins on Saturday.

The Springboks is a settled side with only one starting change, Ruan Pienaar, in the place of Frans Steyn.

In addition, Fourie du Preez will be playing his 50th Test on Saturday and had the following comment

I am happy to get here and of course winning the Tri-Nations is important to us, as we’ve only won it twice. But we are still a long way from winning it again, what is required is to know that while we may lose some games, we need to believe we will win more than we lose.

Everybody likes winning rugby and Test rugby is not about just passing the ball to wings. Very few wings score tries in Test rugby running around their opposite numbers.

I believe what we need to play is total rugby. In the post ELVs the game slowed down a bit and defences became tighter, with teams having time to align defences a little more.

We didn’t make the rules and initially, at the Bulls, we struggled. But this year we got on top of them.”

The Wallabie problems are amplified by the fact that Berrick Barnes, the mid-fielder and back-up boot is also injured, he was ruled out on Wednesday due to concussion suffered in the All Blacks Test last week.

In summary it would appear that the Springboks are in a very favourable position against an injury depleted Wallabie side, who are struggling and who have been winless in this year’s Tri-Nations up to date. The only thing hampering S A could be the complacency factor.

I predict a win for South Africa, by 10 or more, claiming the Tri-Nations Cup with weeks to spare in the competition.

We have to be just as careful PUBLISHING PHOTOS, those are also protected under Intellectual Property Rights. When a Photo is used, like in the above Article, note that we gave credit to AFP.

So, let’s see the budding Journalists you have hidden inside…. let it bubble to the surface !

Make Articles interesting by using BOLD or Italics or COLOURS or Font SIZE ! Let’s make some attractive Articles, with Proper Paragraphs, correct spelling ect.

Our content must be about 70% English, 15% Bilingual and 15% Afrikaans, to cater for everybody.

WHO WRITES WHAT AND WHEN:

We are about 18 Writers / Authors, so the tasks can be devided quite logically:

KingPaul   : Responsible for Cape News and Cape Game Threads and Game summaries

GBS, Tripples, SuperBul   : Responsible for Pretoria  & Joburg News and Game Threads and Game summaries

Snoek & Sharky_forever   : Responsible for Sharks News and Game Threads and Game summaries

Loosehead   : Responsible for Cheeahs News and Game Threads and Game summaries

Everybody : Responsible for International Matches and Game Threads and Game summaries

Guest Writers   : Tight Head (Front Row matters and general Interest pieces), Morne (General Interest pieces and Technical Analysis and News), TonyM (Inside Information at SARU & Unions) and Rugby Princess (NZ Perspective or NZ ear on the ground)

Game Threads have to be published and running at least an hour before K/O of the match, and actual score updating must be done in the heading of the Game Thread whilst te game is on.

As soon as possible after the match, a match summary must be given IN THE ACTUAL GAME THREAD of what transpired in the match.

Game Threads for International Matches will be put up by GBS or SuperBul. If neither GBS or SuperBul is available, they will ask for assistance in this regard. Similarly, a match summary must be given as soon as possible after the match.

Once a week, preferably on a Friday Morning, a Weekend Preview Thread must be put up for The Curry Cup or Super 14 (Thursday), in which all the matches for the weekend is discussed. A seperate Preview Thread must appear for International matches, also by morning of the Friday before the Test.

TRAINING VIDEO:

GBS is busy preparing a Traning Video, to fine tune the little bits and pieces which have not gone quite smoothly in Articles, for instance getting rid of the FORMATTING of COPIED & PASTED Articles and Adverts connected to it OR inserting the “INSERT MORE TAG” correctly OR assigning Categories OR allocating Body Titles.

The video will be inserted here !!

Well Gentlemen and Ladies, that’s it…. if you need clarity you can phone GBS on his Cell: +27 83 555 6752 or send a Mail to webmaster@rugby-talk.com

Happy writing !!

Grootblousmile

(webmonster)