Southern Kings (6) 23 / Vodacom Bulls (0) 7 (Final Score)

The Southern Kings hosted the Vodacom Bulls in Port Elizabeth in a warm-up match for the Bulls to prepare them for the upcoming Super Rugby Competition. Similarly this game was the first measure for the Southern Kings to see how they might progress in a Super Rugby Competition from 2013.

This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1 and CSN.

This was the 1st live coverage of South African rugby for 2011, this year is going to be busy, so strap yourselves in, kiss the wife a last few times, get the cold ones and snacks ready…. rugby is upon us!

Summary:

Handling mistakes cost the second stringers of the Bulls and with a fired up Kings side, they were up against it in the end, the Kings winning by 23 / 7. There were far too many 50/50 passes, forced passes and butter fingers and a lack of patience showed by the Bulls.

The Kings absorbed the Bulls forward pressure well, earned a few good penalties from a strong scrumming platform and unlike the Bulls, took their chances at goal. The Kings looked composed and knew what to do with turn-over possession.

The speedsters of the Kings also converted 2 chances well to score tries when it mattered.

The Kings seem to be on the way up, and that is good in the South African context. The new acquisitions in their squad has suddenly brought out a hard edge, a core of players, who can take them forward with style. I say this knowing full well that it’s early season and one should be careful not to make hasty assumptions.

We must however remember that this was not the Bulls best side, for instance they were playing with effectively their 6th and 7th choices at lock (after Bakkies, Victor, Danie, Flip and Juandre) and with their 3rd and 4th choice scrumhalves (after Fourie du Preez and Francois Hougaard).

1 Player in the Bulls squad for the match, Werner Kruger, would be in the Bulls starting 15, with maybe 3 or so players who might make the bench for the Bulls starting 15… so it’s not all doom and gloom, but rather indicates a worry in depth at key positions.

Last season the Bulls also had a very mediocre run in their warm-ups, yet they came out firing in the actual Super 14 Competitian and as history will tell, won the competition in fine style.

There is still a lot to fix in the Bulls but we should not take anything away from a very game and motivated Kings side.

The Bulls might have learned from this game that Louis Fouché should be ahead in the pecking order over Francois Brummer at flyhalf, after Morné Steyn.

Kings: 3 Penalties & 2 Conversions Monty Dumond, 1 Try Mathew Tayler-Smith, 1 Try Siyanda Grey

Bulla: 1 Conversion Louis Fouché, 1 Try Courtnall Skosan

Vodacom Bulls:

15 Jaco van der Westhuyzen, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Stephan Dippenaar, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Sampie Mastriet, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Ruan Snyman, 8 Gerrit-Jan van Velze, 7 CJ Stander, 6 Derick Kuün (c), 5 Cornell Hess, 4 Fudge Mabeta, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Henry Bantjes, 1 Dean Greyling.
Replacements: Hans van Dyk, Frik Kirsten, Tendayi Chikukwa, Okkie Kruger, Dustin Jinka, Louis Fouché, Bradley Moolman, Courtnall Skosan.

Southern Kings:

15 Tiger Mangweni, 14 Norman Nelson, 13 Siyanda Grey, 12 Matthew Tayler-Smith, 11 Paul Perez, 10 Monty Dumond, 9 Jacques Coetzee, 8 Darron Nell, 7 Mpho Mbiyozo, 6 Devin Oosthuizen, 5 Barend Pieterse, 4 Rory Duncan (captain), 3 André Schlechter, 2 Hannes Franklin, 1 Jaco Engels.
Replacements: Jaco Fourie, Ronnie Uys, Riaan Vermeulen, Ross Kennedy, Lungelo Payi, Marlon Lewis, Shane Gates, SP Marais, Frank Herne.

134 Responses to Southern Kings vs Bulls – Game Thread

118: bedaar ou sharkie, ek maak net ‘n grap.

Laat ek dit so stel: “Stefan is die vinnigste fikste speler in die ouderdomsgroep 50 tot 80 in die Sharks rugby aftree-oord”

Klink dit beter ? 🙂

121@ bdb:
    Tjarks het ook maar diepte probleme in sekere posisies…

Slotte….
    Scrummie
    Na Lambie is hulle maar dun op Flyhalf… met J-L Potgieter wat maar bra kak geword het.
    Senter… dis maar average spelers daar
    Heelagter… Na Ludik, wie het hulle om oor huis toe te skrywe?

Hulle het goeie loosie diepte, goeie hakers, goeie vleuels….

GBS, elke span het maar hier en daar meer diepte, soos die Sharks het die 2 beste hakers, Stormers die beste senters en die Bulle die beste slotte en skrummies. Die aanwending van jou spelers op die regte tyd en plek gaan die verskil maak.

Sharkie, daar is net een manier wat ons kan uitvind wie is die stadigste oudste agterspeler: ‘n 100m resies tussen Oupa Stefan en Moses Jaco … sonder hul rystoele !

@ sharky_forever:
    Hoor wie praat, jy sal seker die artikel wat ek beplan baie geniet 😀 hou die plek dop

ok ek stem nie heeltemal saam nie

sharks diepte tans better as bulls sin, hier is the span en spelers soos vir elke possie

15 ludick,lambie,stefan
    14 jpp,odwa,vulindlu, mark richards(7’s bok )hoffman
    13 stefan,adi,Jlp, Vulindlu, wynand pienaar
    12 bosman,lambie,Jlp,adi,swannepoel
    11 mvovo,jpp,wynand pienaar
    10 lambie,jlp,bosman,Hoffman,ruan meyer,guy cronje
    09 mcleod,hoffman,ruan meyer,ross cronje

thats backline and there is no shortage there

forwards to me there was a shortage but has now been filled

01 beast,smitty,van staden
    02 bissy,burden,smitty,
    03 jannie,van staden,herbst, smitty
    04 sykes,mostert,skeate alberts
    05 hargreaves,skeate,Anton bressler
    06 daniel,deysel,engelbrecht,ojiambo
    07 alberts,deysel,kanko,engelbrecht,ojiambo
    08 kanko,alberts,daniel,engelbrecht

i dont see to many short comings there,

VRYSTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT! Would have klapped both these teams[ at least we would have 1 win for the season]

125: Nie geweet Lambie is deel van ‘n drieling nie ? Speel sy boeties ook so goed ?

125@ sharky_forever:
    Without renaming ONE player 14000 times in 15 different positions, go list them again, ONCE ONLY… and you’ll soon see you’ve got some mediocre players in backup depth positions…

Case in Point… scrummie…. there’s McLeod and then a few mediocre scrummies in tow.

Same with Centers… name your 2 starters…. the rest are mediocre if Lambie plays flyhalf as a starter, so too fullback… ect.

Haal die flippen brille af man…. jeeez, jy’s mossie dom nie!

😆 😆 😆

I think that the Sharks have too many all rounders [ as displayed by sharkey_fornever’s] team above.
    Why spend heaps of cash buying J-LP, Bosman and Ludick if you are not going to play them? Lambie has to start, so one of them will miss out every time. But what is lambie’s starting position? 10/12/15? Or dies he play off the bench as he can cover all three positions.

Ruan Pienaar, Brent Russell…..anyone remember them?

125@ sharky_forever:
    Hi there sharkman, nice big squad there on a quick count I think I counted about 50, surely the Super 15 squad will be trimmed down to around 30 or so? 😉 Jokes aside I see you have mentioned quite a few players who are unknown to me, I guess these must be youngsters coming through the ranks, just like at the Bulls I wonder will they be ready for this level from the start? What can you say about Engelbrecht and Odiambo be interesting to hear more about their pedigree, I only saw him play once but to be honest I thought you made a mistake to let Michael Rhodes go, if he gets enough chance at the Lions think he could turn out to be a big player, pity he stopped south of the Jukskei. Am a bit concerned that our (Bulls) backup loosies maybe not ready yet, hope am wrong.
    Also I think Sharks and Bulls have a big difference between first choice props, after Beast and Jannie and Gurthro and Kruger respectively, the only thing you have a bit more choice at hooker am sorry we let Maku go. So, maybe Smit will play quite a lot at prop this year, is that good for the ‘Boks?

Hi bullscot, lol yeah i tried showing the versatillity but yes i can answer some of the questions you ask

1) Vulindlu is a strong center come wing, fast , has a few years experience now
    2) Hoffman comes from WP , played flyhalf a long time of his career to although he is a scrummy with a good boot,good player
    3) Wynand pienaar, center/fullback, big strong fast junior bok was one of the real stars in the skarks under21 last year , this kid is a bigtime player
    4) Ojiambo a 6ft4 kenyan was wing and lock but plays klank now , also a junior bok very fast
    5) Guy and Ross cronje flyhalf and scrumhalf twins , junior boks and have both played for the sharks at stages
    6) Anton Bresler , lock a very good footballer , junior bok and has done duty for the sharks
    7) Mark Richards, wing fast and bok 7’s has played a few times for the sharks
    8) Engelbrect veristile loose forward from SWD , on trial at the Sharks , so not to sure , i know however the Bulls also tried getting him and he opted to move to the Sharks recently
    9) Tiaan Meyer , scrummy come flyhalf, like all the players above Sharks acadamy and played for 3 years for the Sharks under 21’s then got loaned to the Puma’s last season and was a big success there, he is now back with the Sharks for the super 15 and as i have it will then again play curry cup for the Puma’s

131@ Bullscot:
    There’s 36 players in Tjarkie’s list, but he makes it sound like 63… hahaha

I also believe the Bulls are one quality backup prop as well as a quality loosie short, then also one great center and possibly a wing / fullback utility.

@ bdb:
    Nog nie daaroor gedink nie, ooo nee, ek onthou nou my vrou se kollega trou Saterdag en ons is genooi. So dit is definitief uit. Gaan jy?

Total 43 users including 0 member, 43 guests, 0 bot online