Emirates LionsHighlandersLions (17) 42 / 30 (6) Highlanders (Final Score)

The Emirates Lions and Highlanders did battle in a Super Rugby 2016 Semifinal at

Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg at 15:00 SA Time (13:00 GMT, Sunday 01:00 NZ Time).

• Penalties – Elton Jantjies (3)
  • Tries – Elton Jantjies (1), Rohan Janse van Rensburg (1), Courtnall Skosan (1), Jaco Kriel (1), Lourens Erasmus (1)
  • Conversions – Elton Jantjies (4)

• Penalties – Lima Sopoaga (2)
  • Tries – Matt Faddes (1), Lima Sopoaga (1), Waisake Naholo (1), Joe Wheeler (1)
  • Conversions – Lima Sopoaga (2)

Emirates Lions
Highlanders
29 July at 15:00 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Ruan Ackermann, 7 Warwick Tecklenburg, 6 Jaco Kriel (Captain), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Dylan Smith
  • Replacements: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Corné Fourie, 18 Jacques van Rooyen, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Steph de Witt, 21 Dillon Smit, 22 Howard Mnisi, 23 Jaco van der Walt
  • Team: 15 Ben Smith (Captain), 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Matt Faddes, 12 Malakai Fekitoa, 11 Patrick Osborne, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 James Lentjes, 6 Elliot Dixon, 5 Tom Franklin, 4 Alex Ainley, 3 Josh Hohneck, 2 Ash Dixon, 1 Daniel Lienert-Brown
  • Replacements: 16 Greg Pleasants-Tate, 17 Aki Seiuli, 18 Ross Geldenhuys, 19 Joe Wheeler, 20 Liam Squire, 21 Dan Pryor, 22 Te Aihe Toma, 23 Marty Banks

Assistant Referees: Ben O´Keeffe (New Zealand), AJ Jacobs (South Africa)

111 Responses to Super Rugby 2016: Semifinals – Emirates Lions vs Highlanders – Live Game Article

Guess I better make sure I have no plans for next Saturday morning.

What does a ticket to NZ cost?

The Final is a bigggggg ask, a massive one!

The Hurricanes are the only New Zealand franchise to never have won a Super Rugby title… and the Emirates Lions have had a meteoric rise in 3 short years…

90 @ grootblousmile:
    Top 2 on the overall log.

91 @ Scrumdown:
    Hahahaha

Plenty money…

Elton Jantjies gets the Man Of The Match award…

Elton bought to tears.

91 @ Scrumdown:
    Hahahaha

Plenty money…

Surely Emirates must offer us a decent discount.

So, the Final is at Westpac Stadium, Wellington, New Zealand… probably at 09:35 SA Time on Saturday 6 August 2016.

I only picked the Lions to win by 5 points, on Bru…

The commentators in the Studio says Jantjies new nickname is “Briljantjies”!!

Delighted

So, our rugby day ends early today, hey!

What will I do with a whole Saturday evening all to myself…. hahaha

Cheers guys.

I am going to sit on the stoep with a quiet dop.

Mer en soek tomorrow.

Good luck next week Lions.

Time to start partying.

Keep well gents.

Guess I can go tidy the Braai Room, clean a spare bedroom and get it ready to receive visitors… hang some curtain rails and curtains, put some lampshades up and the big tube lights in the kitchen, maybe hang a few bathroom, shower, 2nd bathroom and guest toilet horizontal Blinds…

102 @ Scrumdown:
    Tjorts… enjoy your chat with the Captain!

103 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    Cheers GB&I… have a good one!

@104.

You do all of that.

Im gonna hit the bars !

Hey GBS! How’s things? It’s been a long time.
    Go the Wallabies (with fingers crossed and eyes wide shut)

Congratulations Lions! Hope it goes well in the final. Must have been a night of big celebrations for the Lions fans but an early one with no alcohol for the players as they need to focus on getting to playing in NZ in the best physical condition possible. Any news on when they are flying out there?

Hello Bully

I personally did not go overboard.

I had a couple of quiet reflective drinks, but have a big golf game today so nothing too heavy to drink.

The team will in all likelihood fly out tonight, on the same flight as the Highlanders.

A massive challenge now awaits the Lions, but it is not insurmountable.

Now should they win next week, then I will drink like there is no tomorrow.

Haven’t been to a SR final since 1994 when TVL lost to Queensland at Ellis Park. 22 years is a VERY long time. Sh1t, some of the Lions players weren’t even born.

However the streets here in Kempton were VERY busy with Lions supporters in their cars adorned with flags and regalia, fuelled I’m sure with not insignificant amounts of alcoholic beverage.

And why not? It has been a damned long time since they had anything like this to celebrate.

Total 56 users including 0 member, 56 guests, 0 bot online