rugbyfunCompassionate players and officials from New Zealand, South Africa, Argentina and Australia are looking for ways to send aid to their beleaguered northern brethren.

After the opening weekend of the 2016 SIX Nations saw standards of play so far below the heights reached by the likes of the All Blacks, Wallabies and Argentina in the World Cup, there is concern for the plight of the home unions, France and Italy.

“Did you see those matches?” said Keith Waters of the New Zealand Rugby Union. “It was so tough to watch. As a rugby man and a human being, how can you stand by and see Scotland trying  so hard to score a try and not feel your heart torn asunder?

“Something needs to be done to help those guys. The rugby world can’t stand by and let people play like that.”

Concern was first raised in Auckland at halftime of the France – Italy match, where neither side were able to put together much coordinated, constructed play of any note.

Within 25 minutes of the Calcutta Cup match between Scotland and England, the unions of Australia and New Zealand had put in an emergency call between each other to discuss what action and aid could be considered to help their northern cousins.

“We had to check our television signal twice to make sure we weren’t getting a broadcast of a match from 1987,” said Waters. “Then, when we realised it was a live broadcast of an actual game from 2016, we checked to see if the pictures were being broadcast at the correct speed or being slowed down because they were coming all the way from space or something.”

It is believed Argentina and South Africa were unsure whether the situation was serious enough to intervene but changed their mind during the Ireland v Wales stalemate on Sunday.

“Once we saw the level of skill in a match between was the 2-times defending champions against the tournament favourites we had to get involved,” said CJ Botha of the South African Rugby Union. “The SIX Nations teams are harrowingly trapped in a previous decade of dull, slow and brainless rugby and I wouldn’t feel a true member of the rugby community if I didn’t help out somehow. It’s the poor fans I feel most for.”

It’s not yet clear how the southern nations will help the SIX Nations to rebuild themselves and salvage some dignity, but ideas include a Crowded House fund raising concert to pay for millions of pamphlets explaining in basic English what an offload is (complete with diagrams).

Argentina are believed to be keen on sending calendars reminding the European teams that it is actually 2016.

Waters added: “I can’t stand on the sideline and see Scottish 3-quarters puffing their little heart out and trying so hard but getting nowhere. It brings tears of despair to our eyes. We just want our friends in the north to know help is coming. We are there for you.”

theeastterrace

109 Responses to RBS 6 Nations 2016: Southern Hemisphere to the rescue!

@ MacroPolo:
    Op sy “level”, natuurlik. Wink

@ MacroPolo:
    Onthou, hy hou die wereldrekord vir die beste syfer in T20.

Net jammer manne soos hy en Miller/.Riley Rossouw kan nooit daai tipe vertoning vir die Proteas lewer as hulle die kans kry nie.

Wonder if Broad bowled him out of the English ODI/T20 team tonight.

Morris just hitting a 6 and probably win the game for us.

2 runs from 26 balls needed.

What a bloody top innings. I dont want to jinx it but klusener type stuff.

Scores are level….England must bowl us out to win the series.

Argh

Immy! Shot.

Morris motm without a doubt

@ MacroPolo:
    Never Klusener like stuff, bru. No six over cow corner, for example. Just good cricket.

Bowled. DRRRAAAMMMMAAAA…..

Tahir have to win it…or draw the match and have England win the series….

What fucking drama….

Tahir has won it for us…Like Ntini’s leg g;lance in the 438 game.

WELL FUCKING DONE…PROTEAS. NOT MANY PEOPLE BELIEVE IN YOU. BUT I”M STILL STANDING STRONG BEHIND YOU.

haha … one could not have scripted a better end even if one tried …

Great knock by Chris Morris …

@ MacroPolo:
    Rabada took a four/fer

@ Angostura:
    Hi Ango…how are you doing in this new year…2016.

All the best to you and all those that are close to you.

@ Nama:
    Ok bru

@ Nama:

Hiya Nama
    We are all well, thx
    Best wishes to you & your loved ones … & your favourite teams and players, ook 🙂

Can remember a time when Willie Morris, tall, lanky off spinner of Noord Transvaal, gave troubles to some WP players, except Pete Kirsten , of course.

Only a few players from Noord Transvaal that I can recount/respect: Lang Willie Morrie (off spinner), Gerbrand Grobler (left hand bowler/full back), Lee Barnard (No.3 batsman(c)/FH )

@ Angostura:
    You do know that my team will make the play-offs and your team WON”T. Wink

Chris Morris MoM

Well done, boy.

I see the Proteas won.

Not that I ever doubt that they will pull the series back to 2 each after being 0-2 down.

It is just like WWF wrestling…. first a beating and than the predictable comeback… amazing that people still pay to watch this.

So, it’s 2-2 now.

For some people it is prove that cricket is corrupt. After losing the 1st two games, all of a sudden SA win the next two, to ensure a “sell out: at Newlands on Sunday.

“Talk” to you on Sunday whe SA clinch the series.

@Bullscot

Hello mate,I’m in England at the moment and have to watch a recording of the game as I was out,so I can’t or couldn’t post any cricket scores for you.Sorry ou maat.

Anyway great knock from Morris,and just like I said we needed a guy that can blast us to victory towards the end.No chance in hell that Morne Morkel would’ve done what Morris did tonight.Chris Morris has now surely cemented his place in our ODI side,right???

Anyway DEADWOOD Duminy runs out AB and then succumbs once again to spin bowling.Die doos kan net nie leer nie kan hy???Amper altyd LBW of spin???Daar is iets fout met sy technique of iets.

@Nama…thanks for posting the scores buddy.

Wat dink jy gaan gebeur die naweek teen die Jaguares?Gaan ons jong manne van die Kaap se gatvelle afgetrek word of wat?Gaan die Jaguares die Stormers so bietjie van ‘n rugby les gee???

@ Nama:
    @ MacroPolo:
    @ Angostura:
    Hi all thanks a lot for talking about the cricket here, not always had best signal but when have it certainly helped to keep in touch with what was happening with the game. Phew looks like it was tense for a while. Approve

@ provincefan:
    #77 no worries provincefan. Hope you are enjoying your time in England, are you here on holiday? I say here because am also in England tonight. Catching train tomorrow morning to Cardiff lekker lekker can’t wait never been and heard the atmosphere there is about the best. Are you going to be able to go watch any 6 Nations games while you over?

#13 Hi robzim thanks a lot really looking forward to the whole match day experience going to meet up with great friends who have also travelled down from different parts of Scotland. If Scotland win it will make it even better!

Ireland leading 9-3 at H/T. Feeling a bit lonely here – in years gone by, plenty of interest in the 6N by RT’ers. Even GBS conspicuous by his absence!

France pull it out of the hat, Pretty boring stuff, but for the last 15 minutes in which the frogs were by far the stronger side.

Principality lid shut. Bulscots hairs on the back of his neck must be rigid right now with all those Welsh voices signing in unison!!!

1st 5 minutes, and Scotland could be in for a long evening. Can’t see them coming away with anything less than their 9th straight loss in a row to Wales in the 6N at the moment – but, here’s hoping!

Davis in for Wales. TMO, but setting the tone?

Try Stands. Wales looking good.

Wales 7/0 Scotland 7 min

Finally, a stunning try to Scotland. Lovely chip, and Seymour’s on hand.

Wales 7/7 Scotland 13 min

Seymour having one of the best aerial games I have seen in a long while.

Wales 7/10 Scotland 30 min

Total 28 users including 0 member, 28 guests, 0 bot online