JJ Engelbrecht

The Blue Bulls Company (Pty) Ltd on Thursday confirmed the release of JJ Engelbrecht to the Ospreys in Wales.

Engelbrecht, who played 65 times in the Vodacom Bulls jersey since joining the team in 2012, was due to link up with his Pretoria team mates upon returning from Japan, where he is playing for Toyota Industries Shuttles.

The Ospreys offer resulted in a release request by Engelbrecht, which has been granted by the BBC with immediate effect.

According to the BBC High Performance Manager, Xander Janse van Rensburg, the decision to release Engelbrecht was based on the depth they have in the midfield, where the likes of Jesse Kriel, Dan Kriel, Burger Odendaal, Jan Serfontein and Dries Swanepoel will be contesting starting spots.

“We decided to release JJ as we have good depth in the outside backs. We want to thank him for his contributions on and off the field over the last couple of seasons. He will be a massive asset to Ospreys no doubt,” Janse van Rensburg said.

Engelbrecht scored 45 points in his 65 appearances and also scored 5 Test tries in 12 appearances for the Springboks.

Announcement from the Ospreys:

Ospreys Rugby are delighted to announce the signing of South African international JJ Engelbrecht, subject to work permit.

South African international JJ Englebrecht signs until the end of the season

• Capable of playing centre or wing, he has 12 caps (5 tries) for the Springboks
  • Has scored 9 tries in 65 Super Rugby appearances for the Bulls
  • Played every game of the 2014 and 2015 Super Rugby seasons, not missing a single minute of the 2015 campaign
  • Will arrive in Ospreylia later this month

In what has been described as “a major coup” for the region, 1 of the Southern Hemisphere’s most exciting backs is set to arrive at the Liberty Stadium this month on a contract that runs until the end of the season.

The 26-year old, full name Johannes Jacobus Engelbrecht, has been capped 12 times by South Africa, scoring 5 tries, having established himself as a hard running centre / wing combining pace and power at 1.9m tall and 95kg.

Andrew Millward, Rugby General Manager, said:

“For the Ospreys to secure such a quality player is a major coup and we are looking forward to welcoming him to the region.

“Clearly, with the enforced retirement of Andrew Bishop and the long-term injury to Ashley Beck, we’ve found our midfield resources stretched at times this season. JJ is a much needed, quality addition to the squad, who not only brings experience at the highest end of the game, but also a real dynamism in the wider channels.

“He fits the mould in terms of what we are looking for in his position. All successful teams need significant strength in depth and we’ve been talking about adding depth to the squad for a fair while. Clearly, supplementing our current options with a quality player like JJ will help us as we look to compete on 2 fronts in 2016.”

From Port Elizabeth, Engelbrecht 1st made an impact in the Currie Cup with Western Province where, as a 20-year old, he was among the replacements in a memorably tight contest against the 2009 British & Irish Lions.

With a growing reputation in his homeland he was snapped up by the Bulls in 2011 and made his Super Rugby debut the following year with his international bow coming that same summer.

He has been a mainstay of the Bulls’ Super Rugby squad over the last 4 seasons, not missing a single game in either of the last 2 seasons and playing every minute of their 2015 campaign in the 13 shirt. In total, he has made 65 appearances for the Bulls, scoring 9 tries.

Off the back of last year’s Super Rugby season he headed to Japan for the 2015 / 2016 campaign with Toyota Industries and will arrive at the Liberty Stadium this month following the conclusion of the Top League season.

thebulls & ospreysrugby

59 Responses to JJ Engelbrecht flying off to the Ospreys

No sport is safe from money anymore.

http://m.bbc.com/sport/tennis/35319202

29 @ robzim:
    Oh, I agree.
    But when I said during the Newlands test that the only winner was Newlands Cricket Ground because they were assured of getting play for 5 days to sell their goods.
    Others disagreed and considered it a great test and awesome knocks from Amla etc.
    the pitch at Newlands was a joke and was only prepared for one purpose, and that was to ensure patrons for 5 full days

Here’s what I think:

Faf I don’t care for cause personally I think he’s got an attitude problem which is much harder to address and fix then his batting.And when he got back from India with his “I need time out to recuperate” just made me like him even less.Ever since CWC 2011 where we lost to New Zealand, he just followed that with “oh well I’m off to the IPL, so who gives a toss” attitude. So he can ship-out and we give Rilee a go.

Bavuma I’m not sold onto either, scoring a hundred at Newlands,yeah great,but then who didn’t score runs?Even Faf manage to score runs and he’s kak. The lad has got talent no doubt,but let him have go at Sri Lanka or the West Indies not top teams like India, England or Australia.

I said before Stiaan should drop down the order and yet management keeps playing him as an opener. The one game in India where he batted at either 5 or 6 he scored the most runs of our meager total of 112,which was 37.Again showing he’s more suited batting there than opening.

Graeme Smith said the players are not happy with Domingo and rightly so cause Domingo is just a freeloading poephol enjoying the fruits of labour Kirsten build getting us to the top.

33 @ provincefan:
    Hi provincefan overall a poor performance by the batsmen, in particular you don’t sound keen on Faf. There was a time where he bowled a bit as well, did this stop due to injury? Think part of the problem with the batting in the tests is the fact that they play in tournaments like the IPL whereas while I could be wrong I think very few if any of the England players play in the IPL as their England contracts look after them better.
    In the past you would hear players complaining about being tired (mentally I think more than physical) from all the travel and cricket they were playing and then all of a sudden when the IPL started and there was lots of money on offer the players were off playing there as well. Wonder where they find the energy to do that…

33 @ provincefan:
    Share your thoughts on v Zyl not batting as an opener, said as much during the Kingsmead test and in fact at one point advocated he is dropped for Cook or down the order, and thought the wickets he took maybe meant he deserved a shot in Cape Town but batting down the wicket so to be used more as an allrounder, but since Durban he hasn’t been used or done much as a bowler either. How can someone like myself who knows far less about the game than the selectors etc and who mainly has been following SA games through the internet have suggested similarly to yourself that v Zyl should not be opening yet they just keep playing him there and he continues to fail to deliver. If his only place in the order in their eyes is opening then surely he should be dropped as he has failed in this role according to the stats.

@ provincefan:
    Regarding your thoughts on Bavuma; I was annoyed to see he was run out in the first innings in Joburg as I have no time for run outs in tests, the only time I may feel a bit more lenient about them is if a team is chasing the runs to win. In the past have said that would even consider dropping anyone for the next test if they are run out but that may be a bit harsh but there must be some form of reprimand for run outs in tests. Anyway it was a pity Bavuma was run out as he was in the mid 20s and who know how many more runs he could have gone on to score. So I find it odd that you suggest he should be dropped yet at the same time you advocate v Zyl be accommodated by being pushed down the order due to a score he got in India. Looking at the numbers for this series, I know they are not much good as the batsmen have been woeful overall, but Bavuma is only behind Elgar, Amla and de Villiers in terms of runs scored and average. He has scored almost twice as many runs as v Zyl, with an average nearer triple than double v Zyl’s and at a higher strike rate. I know it is generally harder opening but even so those stats show clearly who is making better use of their opportunities.

@ Bullscot,

It is unfair to compare the batting avarages of van Zyl, who is a middle order batsman by trade but is being played out of positionby the selectors, to those of Bavuma who is selected in his preferred position.

Van Zyl’s test average as a middle order batsman is over 50 and the selectors are destroying his career by insisting to select him as an opener where he clearly is struggling at the moment.

@Bullscot

How you mate,all good?

On the point of Bavuma I’ll say this…

He bats better than Stiaan and Faf,but Stiaan is lousy cause of where he’s been selected to bat which is an opener.I’ve even said on this forum that the man should bat at 5 cause he averages in the 60’s when he bats there.If anyone should get the chop then it’s Faf,cause he simply occupies the crease so he can retain his spot in the side.So to me he’s got an attitude problem and is selfish and for that he should just f/off cause all he does is dig a big hole for his teammates to fall into.They should just hand him a shovel instead of a cricket bat.

I’d replace the bliksem with more positive minded man Rilee Rossouw,who I reckon will go out there a score runs.QdK will come back eventually and then there is Theunis de Bruyn,David Miller,etc… I hear Stephen Cook has been called up for the last test,so that’s good news.

Still having said all this,did you know that the Proteas haven’t had a test batting coach in nearly 2 years?I just found that out which is so disappointing considering the quality batsmen that we’ve lost since 2014?I know they had Mike Hussey come in,but was he coaching ODI batting???So no proper coaching in batting and hence no guidance for our batters either,as most of our batsmen( 60% that is,have less than 10 tests experience in them)and CSA management reckons they should just know what to do when they go out there and bat.

So to sort this mess out CSA has brought to cricket,I suggest all the sponsorship people should stop sponsoring this mediocre system we have in management,selectors,coaches,etc and we’ll see how the real changes will start to kick in.

I will just say something on politics and not just transformation and quota thingy,but on the Supersport Series which I think got adjusted politically.It simply means that in some cases,not all,there are players who play ahead of say Indian,Coloured or White players that maybe shouldn’t have been there…i.e. Viljoen and Abbott…their batting and bowling figures maybe getting enhanced and we then see these figures and say that they should be selected for the test team cause they must be so good having those stats,yet the system gives out a false information,so when these players do come up against TEST quality players,then reality kicks in.The same applies to Dane Villas and JP Duminy.Politics takes on several shapes and forms,not just about “you black and I’m white”,but the buddy-buddy money-grabbing/power-grabbing nonsense too.

I always believe in picking the best players from top to bottom,and you’ll solve most problems in our sport.Bring people in that has a background in professional level cricket and throw those who doesn’t out.Also bring in players where there is true leadership at work and we’ll get the right results.

some are saying the captain is the major influence on a Test side’s performance. I’ll simply ask this question: how is it explained that an under-performing England cricket team is forced into making changes and a new coach is appointed(in 2015). In the first series they play, under the new coach, they are rank underdogs but proceed to win the series(Ashes). A year later they tour SA to take on the “world’s No 1 ranked Test team”, once again as rank underdogs and win convincingly with one Test to spare. I could use the word ‘thrashed’ but it sticks in my throat like a wishbone. Please someone convince me the coach plays a minor role in a Test team’s makeup. I’ll wait up for the answer.

@ provincefan: I agree with most of what you’re saying. The rot always starts at the head. CSA have done a lousy job for many years and its finally starting to show where its most visible. At Test match level against a top tier nation. Beating the W Indies told us nothing. The tour of India shone the spotlight on the cracks in our system and this England series merely confirmed what many suspected. Smith, Kallis and Co served to cover the cracks but once they departed, the raw wounds were exposed. Simple as that. Management can run for cover but they can’t hide.

37 @ robzim:
    Hi robzim you can tell I have not been following SA cricket too closely for a while, but I did acknowledge that it is generally harder opening, even so that and bearing in mind he is not meant to be opening there is still quite a big gap in the numbers there. Perhaps the selectors know that he is not a natural opening batsmen and that is why they have given him quite a few chances to let him try and get some form in that position, but it hasn’t worked, wonder if they will give him a chance lower down for the next test or drop him completely.
    By the way sorry for you about your football result this weekend, thought you would at least come away with a draw, would have been nice if your last two results had been the other way round why did your guys have to play so well against us Happy We are still at the top but only just and dropping 4 points these last 2 games has not helped, would have been far happier with more of a cushion up there, especially ahead of Manchester City who for me are too close for comfort and must still be favourites, we seem determined to do it the hard way if we are going to do it at all.

38 @ provincefan:
    Howzit provincefan yeah all good thanks hopefully the same on your side. I appreciate all the insights from yourself and the others about the cricket as have become a bit far removed to know much about the goings on over there with SA cricket but of course when playing India and England the old interest was ignited. Didn’t realize Stephen Cook has been called up for the last test will be good if he gets a chance to try get a partnership going with Elgar, oh where are the days of his dad and Fothers opening we could do with something like that now. Although having been one who advocated his inclusion I note he is getting on a bit as well so could only be a short term measure. The U19s did well to win their World Cup where are all those players now, maybe they need to work really hard with top coaches with them and try and get them up to international level as soon as possible, Rabada from that squad has come in and is starting to show signs of being a good player I think.

nortie wrote:

29 @ robzim:
    Oh, I agree.
    But when I said during the Newlands test that the only winner was Newlands Cricket Ground because they were assured of getting play for 5 days to sell their goods.
    Others disagreed and considered it a great test and awesome knocks from Amla etc.
    the pitch at Newlands was a joke and was only prepared for one purpose, and that was to ensure patrons for 5 full days

Hey norty boy!

Listen properly.

Let’s just say you don’t know too much about test cricket. This post above tells me everything I need to know.
    When was the last time a team scored over 600 runs in the first innings of a test match and was hanging on by their fingernails to avoid defeat on the 5th day?
    On a belter of a wicket? A snorefest? And Amla’s double ton didn’t keep us in the game?

Don’t make me laugh.

The thing about a test team is that the captain and coach have to challenge each other. I don’t see too many synergies at present – the confidence has gone – one can see it in the body language. The captain can only do so much. Just sorry Gary Kirsten departed so soon – he epitomises the coaching job. He was also able to select who he wanted working with him – at this level it becomes a mental thing rather than technical.
    Can’t see Domingo able to do that. Not going to happen.
    Also our franchise cricket has gone for a loop.

Happy 33rd birthday, Stephen Moore!

Make-A-Birthday-Wish

43 @ IAAS:
    Hanging on by their fingernails?
    Jeez bud, all England had to do was ensure they scored 84 or more then they were golden 😆

45 @ BrumbiesBoy:
    Since when do you celebrate the birthday of the Reds’ favorite son’s birthday 😉

@ IAAS: Exactly. Technically Gary was NOT the best at his trade. Mentally, he probably was. Even right up there with the very best. I don’t get that good warm feeling from the incumbent and its seems, neither do the players. We also don’t have too much to choose from for the captain’s berth either. AB’s sadly not the answer either. Cupboard’s bare.

nortie wrote:

45 @ BrumbiesBoy:
    Since when do you celebrate the birthday of the Reds’ favorite son’s birthday

Watch this space on 20/01/17!!! Overjoy

“Phangiso sanctioned for drunken flight incident”…FIRDOSE MOONDA @cricinfo.com…South Africa news 19/01/16.

So hy was toe maar so bietjie dik gesuip en unruly volgens Moonda,maar hy het toe sedertdien om verskoning gevrae en toe nou belowe hy sal dit nie weet doen nie.Ook maar goed hy het dit vinnig gedoen want dan kan ons hom speel in die T20 toernooi.Net oppas Phangiso om nie te veel drankies in te neem voor jy op die vliegtuig klim.

@ provincefan:
    Ek is verbaas firdosa moonda het nie probeer veegoed wat hy gedoen het nie.

SANZAR is about to introduce a radical new bonus point system to this year’s Super Rugby competition, with teams no longer getting the bonus point for scoring four tries, SuperSport.com reports.

The radical proposal, which mirrors a system being used in the French top 14, will now see teams needing to score at least three more tries than the opposition to score a bonus point.

Its already tough enough forbsa teams to score three tries, not to mention four, now we mifht have to score 6 or 7 tries for a bp… Ouch

Well maybe its a good thing, but will be tough at first.

I believe with the new bonus point rules, our teams will try to defend even harder and rely more on better counter attacking systems than “throwing the ball around”.

@ MacroPolo:
    Hi Macro not sure I agree with that as you say it rewards the team who has not scored 4 tries. Guess they are trying to get incentives for games to be more competitive or stop a team from relaxing once they have the 4th try. In France think you only get a losing bonus point if you lose by 5 points or lesd are they adopting this as well in Super Rugby?

@MarcoPolo

According to Sports24 Chris Cloete signed up with EP Kings for SR 2016…

Ons sukkel om ‘n damn decent opensider aan te skaaf en daar neuk ou WP rugby ‘n goeie geleentheid vir een in sy moer in.Kolisi en Burger nou ons enige keuse en dit maak my sommer mal want hulle is nie eens meer die moeite werd nie.Ons wil met bruises ouens sukkel wanneer ons met fetchers behoort te werk.Kan net nie verstaan wat die knapies in die Kaapies management meer dink nie.Kon Chris op ‘n loan deal gekry het,maar dit was toe seker nie deel van hulle plannetjie nie…

@ provincefan:
    man dis n moeilike een, ek glo ook Chris moet n regverdige geleentheid gegun word, veral na die currie cup waar hy gewys het hoe goed sy algemene spel is, hy is ook n 120% speler en gee altyd alles, dit sal wel moeilik wees om die begin span te kry en hy sal min speeltyd gekry het by die Stormers en selfs die Leeus.

Notshe, Carr, Elstadt, Schalk, Kolisi sal almal voor in die tou staan, en Fleck/Smal sal braaf moet wees om Cloete bo hulle te kies. ek glo ook PSDT is WP om 7 ook te dek, ek sal ook nie verbaas wees as hy n paar wedstryde op flank speel nie.

Ek sien Jacques Vermeulen is nog n flank/slot, ken hom nie.

MacroPolo wrote:

Ek sien Jacques Vermeulen is nog n flank/slot, ken hom nie.

Jacques Vermeulen…gewese SA skole en SA onder 20 verlede jaar..van Paarl Gymnasium…. n baie goeie klassieke nommer 7 flank wat dit nog baie ver behoort te bring… hy is amper iets soos n Elstadt met meer vaardighede maar is natuurlik nog baie jonk.

Die probleem bly by fetcher en ek dink ook hulle het groot fout gemaak om Cloete te laat gaan…. hy bied iets heeltemal anders as enige van die beskikbare flanke.

Ek het sy profile gesien. Maar soos ek se, ek weet glad nie hoe hy speel nie

Total 28 users including 0 member, 28 guests, 0 bot online